check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kirby Thwing

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Country Home with Babbling Brook and Pond View

36 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Hawley House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, bath and a half, sleeps 9

3 Bedroom house, know as Flight's End, is for rent by day(two day minimum), weekend, week or month. Great for romantic get away or a family outdoor vacation. Not a party house. Fifteen minutes to Charlemont, Ashfield and Shelburne Falls.

House is located on a brook and across the road from a private pond (not suitable for swimming). Fifteen minutes to Berkshire East for skiing and zip line tours or Zoar Outdoor and Crabapple Rafting for rafting, kayaking, rock climbing, zip line tours, etc. Kenneth Dubuque State Forest is a 5 minutes walk. Good for hiking, biking, horseback riding, xc skiing and snowmobiling.

Drag a lawn chair over to the pond, fetch a glass of wine and watch the antics of geese, ducks and maybe a beaver while the sun sets beyond the pond. The babbling brook has places where kids can play in an old swimming hole, catch minnows, and build rock dams. House sleeps 8-two rooms with double beds, one room with a queen bed, and bunk beds and a fold out couch in the basement for young people.

New equipnment and furnishings: House has a new Energy Star washer, dryer, dishwasher and new carpeting in the living-room and dining-room. Wi-Fi satellite internet is available and reaches the back yard and the nearby pond and brook areas.

We have a new gas grill, a small fire pit and a folding picnic table along with many outdoor chairs.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Kirby Thwing (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Kirby Thwing

My grandparents bough the properties in Hawley in the 1920 and I spent summers in Hawley as a youth and my kids grew up spending vacations in Hawley, and now the grandkids come to visit.

Kirby Thwing purchased this house in 1986

Why Kirby Thwing chose Massachusetts

I bought this house for my parents to live in and planned to retire into it when they no longer needed it. I retired while they were still in it and I bought the house of my aunt and uncle, just up the road.

My cousin lives next door to me and just up the road from this rental house. He is a wealth of information about the area and the countryside. He'll be sure to stop by if you are outside.

What makes this house unique

What is unique about this area is its quiet. No stores, no street lights, no stop signs. But, there are plenty of birds, turkeys, moose, bear, deer, rabbits, hawks. You get the idea i think. The stars are very bright at night and the brook can be heard from far-away. Trees, stone walls, ponds abound. Hawley's population is a whopping 320 hearty souls. Just sitting and enjoying the sights and sounds of nature is rejuvenating.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Lots of Geese and ducks on your partially snow-covered pond. Your wonderful "Flight's End" Retreat is so clean and fresh and peaceful. The brook was a cascade of white water . It was music to our ears each night - Great "White noise" for sleeping. Your fields were bare but there was still lots of snow on the wood roads for skiing. . We saw a moose!!..down on one of the pools in the Deerfield River. What a thrill!! Can't wait until our next visit next fall.
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 10

Reviews

4.7
based on 36 traveler reviews

Country Home with Babbling Brook and Pond View
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 46 reviews
5

Our lovely stay at Flights End

  • 5 of 5

We spent 3 weeks in September 2016 at the house on Pond Road, Hawley, MA. It was delightful to be in the north woods. We got to see a flock of about 40 geese land in the pond. Only one stayed behind and squawked at us for several days. We also saw several wild turkeys. The house was very comfortable. Beth and Lark were great to get to know. It was so quiet and relaxing. The weather temp was perfect. We visited with friends and listened to one preform in the area. Had delightful meals at Elmers and connected with another New Orleanian. We also also recommend the Lake House Restaurant in Ashfield. All in all the atmophere was perfect and just what we wanted.

Ray and Bev Nichols and our GSD Rocco

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

ok

  • 3 of 5

The owner was very nice and it was a nice location. My son had a lot of fun chasing the beaver in the canoe. The house itself was ok, but was listed as sleeping 8. There was a bedroom in the basement that had cinderblock walls and a bunk bed but was much to musty to stay in. my kids ended up sleeping on the floor in the pond room.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful, Restful and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our week at the Country Home. It is set in a peaceful, restful location. The Pond across from the house is a lovely place for a quiet coffee or a glass of wine in the evening. A great place for kids and family time - kayak on the pond, watch the birds and insects, try to catch frogs, play in the stream, croquet in the yard, camp fire in the evenings. The house and garage are clean and well equipped with everything you might need. The yard is pretty and well kept. We did need to use the fans provided in the warm weather. It is also worth bringing some groceries with you. If you need some time away from the hustle and bustle of life, this is a perfect location.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home in a peaceful setting

  • 5 of 5

The house itself was wonderful, it had everything we could need and plenty of space. We greatly enjoyed the duck pond and paddled out on the kayak that was available to us. Owners were very accommodating and easily reachable. A great escape to enjoy the outdoors and wilderness. We loved our stay and hope to return again in the near future!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Baltimore, MD, USA
5

Peaceful retreat great for 3 generations

  • 5 of 5

We were extremely happy with our stay at Flight's End. It is beautiful inside and out with views of the woods or the pond out every window. The highlight of the stay for our 3 and 5 year old was the "Creek walk" down the "Babbling Brooke." For the grandmother it was the beaver in the newly dubbed "Beaver Pond" that we discovered in our first outdoor exploration. For the mother it was the fragrant scents that came in when opening the window upon arrival and seeing her children's excitement when exploring both inside and out. We'd love to come back and make use of the canoe, Kayak, children's slide, books and puzzles. Our main regret is that our stay was too short. The one shortcoming is that the basement area with the children's bunkbeds was damp and unfinished but we had enough space in the rest of the house that we didn't end up needing to use it. We are grateful for a most wonderful stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wolcott,CT. usa
4

beautiful location quiet

  • 4 of 5

the property was clean well stocked. the owners were very helpful and nice, brought us wood to make a fire at the fire pit. Anything we needed they helped to provide since we were having a small bridal shower. would definetly go back the foilage would be nice there! It really sleeps only 6 adults comfortably. The downstairs are bunks in a partailly finished basement maybe children would think it be fun, not too young maybe even young teens. It is not good for more that 6 adults in our opinion. Love the yard

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Hartford, CT
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Shelburne Falls, Ma
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Ashfield, MA
Nearest Train
45 Miles
Springfield, MA
Nearest Motorway
25 Miles
I-91 Greenfield, Ma
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Shelburne Falls, MA
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Berkshire East, Charlemont,MA
Nearest Beach
120 Miles
Cape cod, MA

Surrounded by state forests and flowing rivers for kayaking, tubing, fishing and zip lining.

Great fishing in the area rivers and streams. Boating available on several area ponds, lakes and rivers.

Fifteen minutes to Shelburne Falls and great shopping, dining, sightseeing, the Bridge of Flowers and the Glacial Potholes. Greenfield, Amherst and Northampton are less than an hour away. Historic Deerfield and Magic Wings Butterfly Conservatory are 30 minutes drive.

Other Activities: kayaking, tubing, zip lining, shopping, boating, cross country skiing, snowboarding, snowmobiling, wildlife viewing, horseshoes, and a brand new mountain coaster at Berkshire East.

Ski: Berkshire East Ski Resort in Charlemont offers the full range if skiing experience from beginner to expert-Just 15 minutes from rental home

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hawley House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$135
$800
$2,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $50
One time cleaning fee $60

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hawley House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Accommodation Type:
  • Guest House
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1150 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
  • Washer/dryer are in the half bath on the first floor. Wall mounted hair dryer in 2nd floor full bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • First floor bedroom - 1 double
    2nd floor south bedroom - 1 queen
    2nd floor north bedroom - 1 double
    Cellar bunk room - 2 child bed , 1 sleep sofa /futon , bunk beds in cellar
  • 2 bedrooms on second floor with a full bath on same floor. 1 bedroom on first floor with a half bath and the washer/dryer. 1 bunk bed in basement for children.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
  • 12 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
There is a pond across the street and a brook in the side/back yard. Household heat is supplemented by two solar hot air heater panels, one on each floor

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties