check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Dottie Nelson

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Beautiful New Home in Forest-like setting

16 Reviews
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Burney House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrms, 1 half bath plus extra room, sleeps 5-7

The Stonehouse Cabin is nestled on 10 acres in a beautiful forest of Pine, Oak, and Cedar trees on the edge of the small town of Burney, California. The cabin-architectural style and the welcoming front porch disguise the luxurious interior of this home built in 2008. While it feels like you are in the forest, the location is very central and within walking distance of pools, parks, and shopping. It is ideal for families, fishing enthusiasts, couples, etc.

The cabin features the latest in modern conveniences while maintaining a classic 'cabin' feel. From the beautiful stone fireplace, to the hardwood pine floors to the rustic wood railing, the decor and amenities make guests feel right at home. The downstairs area features the living room, kitchen, dining area, Master bedroom (king size bed), second bedroom (twin bed) and bathroom. The upstairs loft has two twin beds (which can be converted to a king)and a full bathroom. An additional guest room (queen bed) with 1/2 bathroom is located off of the 2-car garage and can sleep 2 more guests. There is an inviting front porch where you can sit and take in the beautiful surroundings.

Located in the heart of the Shasta-Cascade region, The Stonehouse Cabin is a great 'base camp' location for the many outdoor activities offered in the area. The town of Burney is located near the recreational areas of Lassen Volcanic National Park, Mt. Shasta, and Macarthur Burney Falls Memorial State Park. The cabin is only 15 minutes from Burney Falls!

Possible recreational activities include fly fishing, boating, bait fishing, kayaking, water skiing hiking, biking, golfing, cross country and downhill skiing and snowmobiling, in addition to spectacular site-seeing in the surrounding areas.

The Stonehouse cabin is perfect for families with small children, couples vacations, fishermen groups, and adults just wanting a retreat in a beautiful mountain setting.

The center of town is just a short walk away. Burney offers convenient shopping, restaurants, and even a movie theatre. Just steps away from the Stonehouse Cabin is the Burney Community pool, a neighborhood park and the high school play field.

So come enjoy the beautiful, serene nature setting of the Stonehouse Cabin. You will truly have a vacation to remember!

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Dottie Nelson (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Dottie Nelson

We have family in the immediate area, have visited frequently for over 30 years, and only recently built the Stonehouse cabin.

Dottie Nelson purchased this house in 1990

Why Dottie Nelson chose Shasta Cascade

We think Burney and the Intermountain area is the best hidden gem in the state!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great time! The cabin was perfect and we got to spend a lot of time at Mt Shasta, Lassen National Park and Burney Falls. It was a great adventure. Thank you so much for building such a great place and choosing to share it with others. We'll definitely be back!
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

4.8
based on 16 traveler reviews

Beautiful New Home in Forest-like setting
average rating of 4.8125 based on 20 reviews
4

pleasant stay

  • 4 of 5

Very nice property, quit and feels like your in a forest. But you are just blocks from town, very convenient. Close to many top fishing and scenic locations. Clean and very modern and well appointed.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home tucked away in the woods

  • 5 of 5

The home was very charming and clean with all the modern conveniences. We enjoyed our weekend away and felt like we were in a forrest. Yes, there is a school and field to the far left but during our time there, when school was out, we had nothing bu peace and quiet. Even the sprinklers on the field could barely be heard outside and not at all inside. This is a great place to stay if you want to explore Burney Falls or Mt. Lassen park.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tracy CA
5

4th of July Burney

  • 5 of 5

The house is great! Very clean and well outfitted. You are so close to town (groceries etc) but feel like you are in the woods! We had a great time and plan on coming back. This house is great for a family. Two things I would recommend is adding another bed to the loft and a nice gas grill :) Will definitely rent again

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vacaville
5

FANTASTIC!!! I'll be back for another stay.

  • 5 of 5

Our stay: Memorial Weekend 2016

For starters, the comminication with the owner was outstanding. Super fast response, very nice directions and recommendations.

Our family had such a wonderful time. The cabin is very close to the main drag with easy access to restaurants and Safeway grocery store, yet tucked away in a quite and private area. Burney falls was no more than 10 minutes away and made for a nice day trip, hike and picnic.

The cabin offered great parking, plenty of space, comfortable beds, beautiful wood floors...it was a great vacation away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

the Hess'

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! Sounds like you discovered all of the great things Burney and the greater area has to offer, and it is nice that you found the cabin a comfortable and inviting place to come home to. Please come back again!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Spot

  • 5 of 5

What a great time we had, sitting in front of the fire, playing cribbage, watching it snow and not another house in sight! The cabin was well equipped with all the nessecities and we also enjoyed a short walk into town for a few groceries. We are looking foreward to our next opportunity to stay at this hidden gem!

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Redwood City, California
5

Summer getaway

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed at the cabin this past weekend and had a fantastic experience. We decided to rent this beauty based on the reviews and was not disappointed one bit. The cabin is super clean, cozy, spacious and far-enough removed from the surrounding neighborhood to feel like you are out in the woods with no one around. It's quiet and convenient to many tourist spots. We spent a lot of time at Burney Falls State Park, Lake Britton and Lassen Volcanic National Park. Can't say enough good things about this place. It was one of the best rentals we have stayed in. We would love to come back here again to this gem of a spot! Thank you so much!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! And it is great to hear that you took in so many of the great outdoor activities nearby. Burney is truly a hidden gem vacation destination, without the crowds. Come back again and explore some more! Our welcome mat is out for you!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Redding, California
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Fall River
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Burney
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Mt. Shasta
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Burney House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2016 - Nov 28 2016
3 night minimum stay
$325
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $125
Pet Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 10.0%

$250-$325/night
Rates are based on occupancy of no more than 5 guests. Charge for additional guests is $50 per person per day. Subject to Shasta County Occupancy Tax.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Burney House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Town
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Adjacent to Master Bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upstairs loft
  • All Towels and toiletries provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , adjacent to garage with 1/2 bathroom
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , can convert to king bed
  • There are 3 bedrooms in the main house and an addition bedroom and half-bath adjacent to the garage. All linens and bedding are provided.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties