check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Catherine

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english, german

Cozy Downtown Bungalow, Sleeps 8

30 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

East Colorado Springs House Rental Photos and Description

Charming 2 Bedroom + Bonus Room, 1 Bath, Large Fenced Yard,

Early riser? Walk to one of the many local coffee shops downtown or sit on the front porch swing while taking in the mountain view. Either way, after a wonderful night's rest on one of the comfortable beds, you will be sure to start your day off right. As you walk into this classic 1905 bungalow, you will be instantly taken with the original details: wood floors throughout, original wood trim, pocket doors, and more.

There are two main bedrooms: one king with two closets including an original built-in, one queen bed. Linens are provided.

The bathroom is newly remodeled (October 2015) and has double sinks, and a bathtub/ shower combination.

The living room, with a picture window that faces the mountains, has a queen sleeper sofa and loveseat as well as a 40 inch television, BluRay player and a Wii. There is a large selection of movies to watch as you unwind from a busy day of sightseeing. We have also provided games and many books to choose from. If you prefer to watch something on TV, there are over 100 channels to choose from. The house is equipped with wireless internet.

The kitchen is fully stocked with all you will need for cooking at home. The kitchen has wonderful cabinets that are original to the house, but is equipped with modern day conveniences such as a brand new (July 2013) dishwasher, refrigerator and electric stove.

A small family room is off the kitchen with a double sleeper sofa, a 32 inch television, and a BluRay DVD player.

Step outside on the covered back patio to enjoy the beautiful Colorado weather for an evening of grilling on the propane grill. There is seating for six at the outdoor dining table as well as an additional lounge chairs in the yard. The yard fully fenced, and large enough for kids and dogs to roam freely. There is a propane fire pit as well.

A bonus sunroom has a single bed and makes for a nice guest room.

The front porch is a great place to start and end your day, offering mountain views and peacefulness in this quiet, tree-lined residential neighborhood.

There is a full-sized washer and dryer with laundry detergent provided.

About the area: The house is located in an established neighborhood that is close to all area attractions. Staying in this central neighborhood, you can get to Garden of the Gods, The Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, Pikes Peak, Cave of the Winds and historic Manitou Springs and Old Colorado City within minutes.

*Looking for a larger house? Check out our other property, a 5 bedroom, 2 bath in Old Colorado City. Property #3799346 on Homeaway.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Catherine (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english, german

About Catherine

Currently living in the Austin, Texas area, we are a family of five (three kids, mom and dad) who love to travel. I am originally from Michigan but have lived all over as a child (including Colorado Springs!) thanks to military. My husband is from Munich, Germany. He has lived in the U.S. for eleven years now and is an electrical engineer.

Catherine purchased this house in 2012

Why Catherine chose Colorado Springs

My husband and I travel as often as possible with our three kids. We typically travel to Europe once a year, but we also try to take at least one vacation per year in America. Wherever we travel to, we often end up renting a house or apartment instead of a hotel. For many years now, we have had a dream of owning a vacation home that we could share with others. Having family in Colorado Springs, we thought this would be the perfect spot. We love the mountains, the dry air (we live in humid Texas!) and the variety that downtown Colorado Springs offers.

What makes this house unique

I've always loved older homes. When we looked at this house, the realtor pulled out an old skeleton key from the lock box and I fell immediately in love! Walking through the house, with all of the original charm, I felt like it was a dream come true to find a house in such good condition with many of the classic details that a bungalow built in the early 1900's had.

Reviews

4.8
based on 30 traveler reviews

Cozy Downtown Bungalow, Sleeps 8
average rating of 4.766667 based on 30 reviews
Walnut Creek, CA
5

Comfy and serviceable.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in this lovely house. Just the right size for our group. We appreciated the well outfitted kitchen. Our only suggestion would be to add a knife sharpener. We especially appreciated the laundry and the outdoor grill. Everything worked very well and we were very comfortable there

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dallas, TX
5

Spectacular home!!

  • 5 of 5

I had the pleasure of staying here for 3 nights while on my house-hunting trip in Colorado Springs. It is a beauty!! Immaculate, gorgeous and so much space. The huge kitchen was well stocked with spices and dinnerware, and it was a great surprise to find soap, shampoo & conditioner in the bathrooms! The beds were so comfortable, and the TV's were great - my son stayed the the huge basement area and really enjoyed Netflix on the big-screen TV. The front porch is a wonderful place to enjoy the mountain view and historic neighborhood; ample back parking was so convenient. You simply cannot pick a better area to stay while in Colorado Springs - literally 10 minutes from Garden of the Gods, and just around the corner from a big grocery store. A few streets over - Old Colorado City restaurants and shops. I ordered from Borriello Brother's pizza during my stay - love them! Catherine was absolutely wonderful in making my stay so comfortable, and was very prompt to answers questions. During a stressful house-hunting trip, it was such a relief to come back to relax in this lovely large house. I highly recommend this beautiful home!

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great location for the firefighter memorial

  • 4 of 5

Catherine Was Great To Work With. House was as stated. Even supplied toiletries which is not normal when renting a house. Perfect for our stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great Home!

  • 4 of 5

The house was perfect for our family vacation. It has plenty of room and was clean. Catherine was great to work with and very quick to respond. The house is very close to all of the local attractions.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Overall, I was disappointed.

  • 2 of 5

The 1920's bungalow was straight out of the 1920's, and even though I loved the quirky layout, it was lacking some modern conveniences we've come to expect. There was very few electrical outlets. Only 1 bathroom is normally hard with a larger group, but the bathroom had not had any updates in 50 years?? The mirror was pitted and damaged, no mirror lighting to apply makeup, and the water pressure was non existent between 6am-8am each morning. The plaster was coming off the walls as well. The furniture in both the bedroom and living room is really uncomfortable and cheap.

There was a king bed in a room that should have had a queen and a queen bed in a room that should have been a twin. No A/C in the porch bedroom. In addition to this, the house was really dirty when we arrived, but the owner sent someone out the next day to clean it again. Then we couldn't get the TV's to work because some previous renter had rewired the TV's to accommodate other devices, and had not switched them back. The best part of the house was the dining room table and the front porch swing. The owner was very responsive to my frustration and phone calls.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so disappointed to hear that one of our guests was so unhappy with our house. Within 24 hours of her checking in, I offered to completely refund her stay AND find a more appropriate house or hotel to her liking for her. She declined that option and decided to stay. The cleanliness she refers to was because she went around lifting rugs to find dirt. She looked into air vents to find dirt. And one table had dust on it. Without questioning her, I sent the cleaners again make her more comfortable. For the water pressure, the city installed new pipes for the entire street and it has taken them some adjusting to get it right. Of course, we want our guests to have water pressure. The city came out within 24 hours to look at the issue. When we checked, the water pressure was fine. I asked her to let me know if there were any additional issues, but I did not hear from her again about there being any problem. Other renters have since stayed and had no issues. As with all of our guests, we jump quickly if anything needs to be addressed. Comfort and usability is not something we take lightly. Yes, our house is old (1905, in fact!)which is one of the things I love most about it, but it is a bit unfair to say it is still from the 1920's as there is air conditioning, brand new stainless appliances in the kitchen, the bathroom has indeed been updated in the last fifty years and is getting another remodel this fall. There is in fact a makeup mirror in the bathroom, it just doesn't have lights so that was another complaint form Mary. The porch room does not have air conditioning but that is a bonus room, not even counted as a bedroom on our listing for that one simple reason. There is a heater that works great in the winter and a fan that can be used should extra space be needed for guests. The furniture was indeed not cheap and was all purchased new three years ago. As for being uncomfortable, I guess that's a matter of opinion because we have so many guests go out of their way to let us know that the beds are some of the most comfortable beds they've slept in. I really wish I could have made her happy on her stay because we want all of our renters to have an enjoyable time, but I don't think this house was a proper fit for her, despite what I did to help. I do wish she would have taken me up on my offer to stay elsewhere though since the house just didn't fit her needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Helotes, TX
5

Cozy bungalow

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here for a week with my dog and greatly enjoyed my stay! The home is very cozy and well equipped with pots, pans, glasses, towels, laundry soap and softener. The neighborhood is quiet, and within walking distance to a lot of great little shops and restaurants. There is a great view of Pike's Peak from the front porch and my dog enjoyed running around in the snow in the backyard!

All in all pleasant stay and no complaints. I will definitely be staying here again when I go back to the Springs.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Garden of The Gods
"Great hiking and views!"
Wimberger's Old World Bakery
"Authentic German breads, pretzels, fresh meat and cheese, strudel and more. We stock up when..."
Cheyenne Mountain Zoo
"This zoo is small but very beautiful! You can feed the giraffes, get an excellent hike in as..."
Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Colorado Springs
Nearest Motorway
1.6 Miles
I-25
Nearest Restaurant
0.6 Miles
Raven's Nest Coffee
Car: recommended

The house is within walking distance to the heart of downtown Colorado Springs where you can enjoy nightlife, shopping, restaurants, people watching, coffee shops and parks. Tucked away into a quiet residential neighborhood with turn of the century houses which makes for near perfect walks as you can look at all of the different architectural features of the many different homes in the neighborhood. If you need to get away from city life, you can easily be in the mountains within a 15 minute drive. And headed to other parts of the city? With our central location, you can get just about anywhere you need to go in the vicinity within twenty minutes. The house is located only a little over an hour away from Denver.

Photos

Rates & Availability

East Colorado Springs House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak 2016
May 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
Fall 2016
Oct 1 2016 - Nov 18 2016
1 night minimum stay
$100
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 26 2016
3 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
Summer 2017
May 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
USAF Graduation
May 29 2017 - Jun 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$100
$700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning (1-4 people) $100 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $30
Tax Rate 9.63%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Cancellation policy: 50% refund up until 30 days prior to check in; no refund if canceled within 30 days of reservation.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

East Colorado Springs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Red Room - 1 king , 1 baby crib
    Blue Room - 1 queen
  • All new mattresses and furniture. Ceiling fans and regular fans provided for both bedrooms. *White Room - 1 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch Furniture
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Yard
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Smoking allowed only outside.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties