check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Ocean Front Home with Pool and Spectacular Views Tax # TA-208-028-8768-01

27 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 nights


Captain Cook House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeping Porch Sleeps 6

Aloha and Welcome to Ocean Song!

This vacation home is located right on the edge of the crystal clear waters in the Kealakekua Bay. Situated at the end of a plumeria lined lane, Ocean Song offers privacy and seclusion in a lush tropical setting and is the ideal place to renew, refresh, and relax! Whether you'd like to sun by the pool, kayak the coastal waters, tour the sacred Pu' uhonua O Honaunau City of Refuge, or simply enjoy your favorite book in a hammock under the swaying palms, Ocean Song has it all! Our new waterfront ironwood deck allows you to enjoy Hawaii's year-round perfect temperatures day or night, rain or shine. This fully-furnished outdoor lounging area is the ideal place to enjoy a mid-day BBQ, an afternoon nap, or sunset cocktails. Also, our on-island house manager is just a phone call away and is dedicated to ensuring your stay with us is exactly what you hoped it would be. We look forward to your visit!

Ocean Song is a great location for day trips:

Volcano National Park ~ 2.5 hours drive

Ka'u South Point Green Sands Beach ~1 hour drive

The famous Painted Church ~10 min. drive

Captain Cook's Monument ~35 min. paddle across Kealakekua Bay

Coffee plantation tours ~15

'Two Step' swimming area (the best snorkeling in the around)~ 5 min. drive

Hookena Beach ~ 25 min drive.

Tax # W72049539-01

More Details
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible

Property Manager
LaRissa Morris
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 6, 2016
Call Manager


based on 27 traveler reviews

Ocean Front Home with Pool and Spectacular Views Tax # TA-208-028-8768-01
average rating of 4.851852 based on 27 reviews
West Hollywood, CA


  • 5 of 5

Gorgeous and relaxing. We didn't want to leave the house.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Beavercreek, OH

The property is nice but it's not well serviced and maintained.

  • 2 of 5

As soon as we arrived, the house was very warm and humid inside since there was no AC. Due to the warm weather inside, we found a lot of gecko lizards inside, i counted more than six. Since my wife cant stand lizards and she's phobic about them, we had to leave. So we left and went to a hotel in the city. The owners only refunded half of the stay even though we didnt stay more than a hour due to bad maintenance of house cleanliness.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mohammed A., I am so sorry that our property didn't suit your needs. I understand that a phobia can create challenging circumstances and, despite our usual 60 day cancellation policy, it is for this reason that we chose to refund you for 50% of your stay. The tropical climate of Hawaii makes it a prime environment for the abundant growth of foliage, fruit, and critters. We regularly work to reduce the presence of unwanted critters, but we choose not to chemically control for the presence of Geckos (although we do catch and release them outside with frequency). These small colorful geckos are viewed as "lucky" on the island, eat mosquitos and other small bugs, and are often seen as a unique and exciting part of visiting the island. Again, I understand that a phobia of these creatures is not something that your wife can just turn off, but it is important to know that they are regular visitors to open air homes on the island. In response to some of your other comments, I'd like to provide some clarification. Because our property is ocean front, we rely on the day time winds from the ocean and the night time winds from the mountains to cool the home. This is common practice on the island and very few homes in the bay have AC. We do not attempt to lead people to believe that we provide otherwise, as evidenced by the fact that the home is not advertised as having air conditioning. I am also sorry to hear that your impression of the home was that it's not well-serviced or maintained. We work hard to keep up our property and improve it each year. We strive to supply all of the little details, like coolers, ocean toys, a fully equipped kitchen, fans, etc to support our guests in having the best vacation possible. Additionally, we also employ a gardener, a pool crew, a house manager, a cleaning crew, and a maintenance crew to ensure regular upkeep and maintenance. We did have the maintenance crew come and remove Geckos from the home following your complaints. Again, I regret that our home did not meet your expectations and I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your 3 day Big Island stay at the Sheraton.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We have stayed here before, and we still say wow

When we walk in the door . Larissa is always very nice and easy to get in touch with. This is a great house and we will be back to ocean song on our next trip to the big island. The house has everything you need. Ice chests , chairs , rafts , snorkelling gear. The kitchen has everything you need. The pool is perfect with the best view. The hammock is my favorite. We didn't need to leave the house to see the most amazing sunset. The house has lots of Windows in the backyard where you can enjoy the view . Very quiet neighborhood . Can't wait to come back

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Songs of Paraise

  • 5 of 5

Kealakekua Bay is a beautiful part of the world and Ocean Song is an exceptional place to experience it. Very relaxing, quite and peaceful. Great for walks and the locals are very kind and friendly. The house is very open and very well kept. It was the first vacation house I stayed at with a Weber grill and filtered drinking water and the views and patio area make lasting impressions.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA

A special gem

  • 5 of 5

The minute you walk into Ocean Song you know it is deeply loved and cared for. What an amazing place! I'm usually not so good at writing reviews, but our last day in this magical respite has inspired me. My family and I have so appreciated and enjoyed our stay. There is everything you need here to fully relax and enjoy (even a yoga mat!). The land and sea are just amazing. Deep thanks to the owners and caretakers for sharing this beautiful place.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Surrey, British Columbia

Awesome location and house

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here with my wife and 2 daughters for a week during March. I would absolutely stay here again.

This is a fantastic property and location. The ocean view is amazing and the near constant ocean breezes made the deck area and house completely comfortable. We spent a big part of our time just chilling on the deck and enjoying the sounds and sights.

The pool is exactly as pictured and is a great way to cool off after a hot day out (or have a dip to wake up in the morning). The entire property is very spacious and private. The propane barbecue is large and in great shape. We used it almost every night.

You can go snorkelling directly off of the lava rocks accessible through the garden path and there are a fair number of fish to see. Or you can get in your car and drive 10 minutes to Two Step at Honaunau Bay for some of the best snorkelling on the island.

Unfortunately you can no longer just kayak into the adjacent Kealakekua Bay due to new rules to protect the wildlife. Only a small number of private outfits are able to take guided tours in right now. Being able to push off a kayak right from the house and explore the bay would have been fantastic.

Only negative part of the experience was when some of the campers on the beach 300 m away started blasting music at 5 AM for some reason. That only happened one time during the week and was easily muffled by shutting all the windows.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Kailua Kona
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Napo'opp'o and Higway 11
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Keei Beach
Car: necessary

Other Activities: swimming with the dolphins


Rates & Availability

Captain Cook House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Oct 15 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $300
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 13.42%

Guests agree to pay for any damages caused by their negligence or willful destruction even if in excess of the collected security deposit. Guests take full responsibility for their safety while using the bicycles and beach gear
Damage or loss to any of the equipment will be the responsibility of the renter.
Full refund will be given if canceled 60 days before arrival.Cancellation fee 125.00.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Captain Cook House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom master - toilet , shower
    Bathroom hall - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom garage - toilet , shower
    Bathroom outdoor - outdoor shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom Master - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • The house has a outdoor queen size bed.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Binoculars
  • Gated Community
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear
  • Wood Deck
  • 14 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • botanical garden
  • library
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties