Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Front Home with Pool and Spectacular Views Tax # TA-208-028-8768-01

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeping Porch Sleeps 6

Aloha and Welcome to Ocean Song!

This vacation home is located right on the edge of the crystal clear waters in the Kealakekua Bay. Situated at the end of a plumeria lined lane, Ocean Song offers privacy and seclusion in a lush tropical setting and is the ideal place to renew, refresh, and relax! Whether you'd like to sun by the pool, kayak the coastal waters, tour the sacred Pu' uhonua O Honaunau City of Refuge, or simply enjoy your favorite book in a hammock under the swaying palms, Ocean Song has it all! Our new waterfront ironwood deck allows you to enjoy Hawaii's year-round perfect temperatures day or night, rain or shine. This fully-furnished outdoor lounging area is the ideal place to enjoy a mid-day BBQ, an afternoon nap, or sunset cocktails. Also, our on-island house manager is just a phone call away and is dedicated to ensuring your stay with us is exactly what you hoped it would be. We look forward to your visit!

Ocean Song is a great location for day trips:

Volcano National Park ~ 2.5 hours drive

Ka'u South Point Green Sands Beach ~1 hour drive

The famous Painted Church ~10 min. drive

Captain Cook's Monument ~35 min. paddle across Kealakekua Bay

Coffee plantation tours ~15 min.drive

'Two Step' swimming area (the best snorkeling in the around)~ 5 min. drive

Hookena Beach ~ 25 min drive.

Tax # W72049539-01

More Details

Owner
LaRissa Morris
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 22, 2017

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

Ocean Front Home with Pool and Spectacular Views Tax # TA-208-028-8768-01
average rating of 4.7419353 based on 31 reviews
1

VOG on BIG ISLAND--residents told not to mention -- will hurt tourism.

  • 1 of 5

The house was beautiful and very comfortable. The view from the back lanai cannot be marched. The pool was perfect and quite large. We were able to use it once before the VOG (volcanic emmisions) started and I started coughing. A visit to the island hospital a few days later found I had beginning pneumonia. The haze grew worse so I had to stay indoors until we left for home. Travelers should be warned to avoid this island. I am never ill.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Federal Way
5

Ocean Song

  • 5 of 5

Ocean Song is amazing, one of the most dramatic, picturesque, ocean settings I have ever encountered! The home and outside space are very comfortable, the owner and staff have made sure that you have everything you need, just sit back and enjoy! What a treasure!

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Outstanding location! 4 miles from Place of Refuge and walk to Napo'opo'o beach.

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely and comfortable property. Private and somewhat remote, be ready to bring food for at least a couple days at a time to avoid the drive uphill into Captain Cook when you really just want to relax.

Situated right on Kealakekua Bay, the Place of Refuge and Two Step are easily accessible by car. We had exceptional snorkeling at Two Step and paddled with dolphins in the bay!

The neighborhood is very quiet. The pool, patio and outdoor grill are all in great condition.

Our one regret was that we only booked 5 nights because we could have stayed forever! Highly recommended for the slightly adventurous traveler. We can't wait to go back.

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gorgeous and serene!!!

  • 5 of 5

We throughly enjoyed our stay at the Ocean Song. The grounds and the views are simply amazing! The property is well maintained and the house has everything you might need for a day at the pool or the beach, well equipped!!! We had a bit of an issue with millipedes, talked to some locals and I guess it is their season. We called the maintenance and he showed up on the same day and sprayed the yard and around the house. That helped a bit. The property manager is great, and very quick to respond. We were able to check out later in the day as our flight was not until the evening. All in all it was a great stay and we highly recommend the home!

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Hollywood, CA
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Gorgeous and relaxing. We didn't want to leave the house.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Beavercreek, OH
2

The property is nice but it's not well serviced and maintained.

  • 2 of 5

As soon as we arrived, the house was very warm and humid inside since there was no AC. Due to the warm weather inside, we found a lot of gecko lizards inside, i counted more than six. Since my wife cant stand lizards and she's phobic about them, we had to leave. So we left and went to a hotel in the city. The owners only refunded half of the stay even though we didnt stay more than a hour due to bad maintenance of house cleanliness.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mohammed A., I am so sorry that our property didn't suit your needs. I understand that a phobia can create challenging circumstances and, despite our usual 60 day cancellation policy, it is for this reason that we chose to refund you for 50% of your stay. The tropical climate of Hawaii makes it a prime environment for the abundant growth of foliage, fruit, and critters. We regularly work to reduce the presence of unwanted critters, but we choose not to chemically control for the presence of Geckos (although we do catch and release them outside with frequency). These small colorful geckos are viewed as "lucky" on the island, eat mosquitos and other small bugs, and are often seen as a unique and exciting part of visiting the island. Again, I understand that a phobia of these creatures is not something that your wife can just turn off, but it is important to know that they are regular visitors to open air homes on the island. In response to some of your other comments, I'd like to provide some clarification. Because our property is ocean front, we rely on the day time winds from the ocean and the night time winds from the mountains to cool the home. This is common practice on the island and very few homes in the bay have AC. We do not attempt to lead people to believe that we provide otherwise, as evidenced by the fact that the home is not advertised as having air conditioning. I am also sorry to hear that your impression of the home was that it's not well-serviced or maintained. We work hard to keep up our property and improve it each year. We strive to supply all of the little details, like coolers, ocean toys, a fully equipped kitchen, fans, etc to support our guests in having the best vacation possible. Additionally, we also employ a gardener, a pool crew, a house manager, a cleaning crew, and a maintenance crew to ensure regular upkeep and maintenance. We did have the maintenance crew come and remove Geckos from the home following your complaints. Again, I regret that our home did not meet your expectations and I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your 3 day Big Island stay at the Sheraton.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Kailua Kona
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Napo'opp'o and Higway 11
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Keei Beach
Car: necessary

Other Activities: swimming with the dolphins

Photos

Rates & Availability

Captain Cook House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$475
$3,325
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $300
Tax Rate 13.42%

Guests agree to pay for any damages caused by their negligence or willful destruction even if in excess of the collected security deposit. Guests take full responsibility for their safety while using the bicycles and beach gear
Damage or loss to any of the equipment will be the responsibility of the renter.
Full refund will be given if canceled 60 days before arrival.Cancellation fee 125.00.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Captain Cook House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom master - toilet , shower
    Bathroom hall - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom garage - toilet , shower
    Bathroom outdoor - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom Master - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • The house has a outdoor queen size bed.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Binoculars
  • Gated Community
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear
  • Wood Deck
  • 14 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • library
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Partner Offers