check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Brant Westfall

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english

Luxury La Jolla Shores Home - Steps to Beach

15 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

La Jolla Shores Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Fantastic La Jolla Shores Location!!!! Located in a private gated complex of only 3 units. This beautiful, first floor, single level, fully furnished home is just steps from La Jolla Shores Beach, Kellogg Park, fabulous restaurants, shops, the world famous La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club, Blacks Beach, and La Jolla Cove. Just a ten minute walk from La Jolla Village and a short drive to Torrey Pines Golf Course, Scripps Insitute of Oceanography, Downtown San Diego, PetCo Park, San Diego Bay, Mission Bay, Sea World, and the San Diego Zoo. The immaculate interior offers 3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, open and light filled living areas, private back patio, wood flooring, cozy fireplace, and a gourmet kitchen. Elevator and two secured parking spaces.

La Jolla Shores is a beach and popular vacation/residential community of the same name in La Jolla, San Diego, California. The quaint La Jolla Shores business district is a relaxed, mixed-use village encircling Laureate Park, on Avenida de la Playa in the village of La Jolla Shores. The village has several fine dining restaurants as well as plenty of casual dining places, shops, and a few galleries. You can take surf lessons and rent surfboards, boogie boards, paddle boards, and wetsuits from Surf Diva. Kayak, snorkel, and bike tours and rentals are available at San Diego Bike and Kayak.

The beach is approximately one mile long and stretches from the sea cliffs just north of La Jolla Cove to Black’s Beach south of Torrey Pines State Park. The Shores meets the Scripps Institution of Oceanography campus and Kellogg Park (with a playground right next to the beach), encompasses the Scripps Pier and borders the San Diego-La Jolla Underwater Park Ecological Reserve to the south. The beach is a popular launch point for kayakers and has a swimming area only and a surfing only area.

!!!***PLEASE CHECK CALENDAR BEFORE INQUIRING. THE CALENDAR IS CURRENT AND IS UPDATED EVERYTIME A RESERVATION IS TAKEN***!!! FOR THE QUICKEST REPONSE TO RATES AND QUESTIONS PLEASE SEND EMAIL. THANK YOU!

Keywords: Beach rental, beach, near beach, close to beach, sandy beach, near sandy beach, close to sandy beach, near La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club, close to La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club, La Jolla Shores, near Scripps, close to Scripps, near Scripps Forum, close to Scripps Forum, near UCSD, close to UCSD, near Torrey Pines Golf Course, close to Torrey Pines Golf Course, near Sea World, close to Sea World, near San Diego Zoo, close to San Diego Zoo, near LEGOLAND, close to LEGOLAND, near downtown, close to downtown, near Village, close to Village, near La Jolla Cove, close to La Jolla Cove, near Children's Pool, close to Children's pool, near restaurants, close to restaurants, near shopping, close to shopping, near surfing, close to surfing, near diving, close to diving, near swimming, close to swimming, near airport, close to airport, family, romantic, getaway, elegant, luxury, away from it all

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Brant Westfall (Property Manager)
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.7
based on 15 traveler reviews

Luxury La Jolla Shores Home - Steps to Beach
average rating of 4.733333 based on 15 reviews
Charlotte NC
5

Condo La Jolla Shores

  • 5 of 5

I have two teenage sons one who I just took to college as a freshman he is a moderate surfer and wanted to go to Southern California for his graduation present I also have a sixteen year old son who wanted his brother to teach him how to surf. We decided to try La Jolla as my husband had recently been out there on business we live in Charlotte NC. Brant talked me into this condo because of the location to La Jolla Shores and everything so close by like restaurants and Surf Diva. It was absolutely the perfect location in La Jolla shores and the nicest condo I have rented in the past several years. It was truly a dream vacation for me and my family. The surfing was amazing especially Windan Sea which was ten minutes away and La Jolla shores was a great place for the younger brother to learn how to surf. We loved our clean condo that had everything we could possibly need including five surf boards and a wet suit. At night we ate at all the wonderful Italian restaurants right around the corner they were all wonderful. We definetly recommend this fabulous condo to anyone it was perfect for the four of us, can't wait to get back next summer I have already told all my friends on the east coast.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic Memorial Day Weekend Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this condo over Memorial Day weekend. My brother-in-law (Navy Veteran) and family came to visit Southern California and greater San Diego was our destination of choice. All told we had four adults and three young children. This place was EXACTLY WHAT WE NEEDED.

Friday was our travel day from Los Angeles and we arrived here(after stopping at In'N'Out of course) to a CLEAN, COMFORTABLE, SPACIOUS place. We own mid-size Honda cars so we caravaned down in two cars and arrived here with TWO PARKING SPACES available! The kitchen had all the items we needed, which was important since our families enjoy preparing food. The beach was literally 'STEPS AWAY' so we unpacked and headed over right away before returning to have a BARBEQUE. The bbq was on the patio surrounded by bamboo!

Saturday we toured the USS MIDWAY. During the tour we actually met a WWII Navy Veteran involved in storming the beach on D-Day(June 6, 1944). Wow!! We made the drive up to MT. SOLEDAD on our return to the condo. This place had EASY ACCESS TO AND FROM INTERSTATE 5 so traffic really wasn't an issue during our stay.

Sunday was BEACH DAY for our families so we packed up our gear and walked 'AROUND THE CORNER', literally. Our three children had a blast playing on the beach and in the ocean. After the beach we had another bbq on Sunday and this time my wife's uncle stopped by to supply us with fresh fruit and meats. Needless to say, the kitchen and bbq worked well, again, with many people prepping and cooking all the food. The dining room table was large enough to hold our large spread of goodies which made our last night there very ful-FILLING (pun intended).

As a parent of an almost two year-old child, the set-up of this place was very "child-proof " in that there weren't many things our child could grab or break, etc. The place was very toddler-friendly and the place is gated.

In all, we snapped hundreds of photos and will always cherish our memories of our fantastic Memorial Day 2015 vacation! We were lucky to have stayed at such a nice place and are greatful to VRBO/the owners on making this a great, smooth, no-worries experience. :)

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tucson, AZ
5

This Condo Made Out Trip

  • 5 of 5

This condo was an outstanding value for its amenities and location. You cannot beat it. It was wonderful to walk into a very clean and welcoming home after a full day's drive. Having the underground parking was such a blessing given the pack jammed streets. Location was perfect. The beach is around the corner, local shops were a few steps away, and San Diego attractions are within a 20 minute drive. Received our deposit back in a timely manner. Highly recommend staying here when you visit San Diego.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Hollywood FL
5

PERFECT PLACE & PERFECT LOCATION

  • 5 of 5

This condo exceeded our expectations. This condo was so cute and comfortable that we tried to book for an extra 2 weeks. The location is a stones throw from what I was told was the prettiest beach in San Diego and I have to agree. There is also a great children's park adjacent to the beach. The parking is under the building but we rarely ventured very far. We highly recommend the restaurants less then 5 minute walk from Condo. The kitchen has everything you could need and we did cook in as well as barbecued on the back patio. We plan on returning and renting again. We highly recommend this rental.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not recommended

  • 2 of 5

I have vacationed in La Jolla Shores for 20 years. During that time, I have owned and rented property so I am very familiar with the rental market.

We arrived at 4:00 p.m. to find the cleaning crew still working on the property. There was no toilet paper, hand soap or tissues. I texted the owner who said she would “send some over to get us started.” I’ve never rented a property and expected to bring toilet paper, hand soap or tissues.

There is a sign on the refrigerator listing arbitrary “fines” that are clearly outside the terms of the rental contract. Although I was charged a cleaning fee in the rental agreement, apparently the cleaning crew doesn’t really clean. Fines were listed for not stripping the beds [a job that the cleaning crew should do], fines for not emptying all the garbage cans [again, cleaning crew], fines for not cleaning the BBQ grill [cleaning crew]; fines for not removing the dishes from the dishwasher on the last day. This probably explains why the dishes had food and lip prints on them. Prior tenants just replaced the dirty dishes in the cupboards rather washing them in the dishwasher as they left and then have fines levied against them.

A list of the properties other problems: the air conditioning blows hot air; the refrigerator freezes the food; you can’t take a shower in both bathrooms at the same time because the hot water flows to only one bathroom at a time; the television in the master bedroom does work and isn’t connected to any cable network [as stated in a previous renter comment] and the patio pictured in the listing is in the back of the condo off the master bedroom wedged between three buildings and offering no privacy. Renters should be aware that the property is squeezed between three other condo buildings and there is noise day and night from barking dogs, remodeling and construction crews and unhappy children.

I was going to contact the owner but I found a couple of notes from previous tenants in the visitor book that recounted the same problems and the owner’s lack of interest. In other words, there are far too many problems to believe there is any management or oversight of this property.

I texted the owner when I left asking when my security deposit would be returned. Her response, “I usually get around to it within two weeks.” It actually took three weeks and clearly “getting around to it” seems to be something the owner hasn’t done with this property.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were shocked to see this review. It is unfortunate that the cleaning crew was still there when this guest arrived @ 4:00 and they did not restock supplies. That crew has been replaced. The only time during your stay that we had any correspondence was pertaining to the supplies, which we addressed immediately and profusely apologized for. In regard to this renter's other derogatory remarks, the condo does not have air conditioning, and was not advertised as such, a subject never inquired about prior to signing contract. Every vacation rental company has a list of check out instructions, including fines for not following them. As per the contract, we have three weeks to return deposits and try to get them back as soon as possible. This guest not only received it before the 3 week deadline but also cashed it so we do not understand that issue. Since this guest said she lived in La Jolla Shores for 20 years, she should know that it is a beach community, with many summer visitors ... mostly families with young children. La Jolla in general is a very "dog friendly" town with many shop owners and residents leaving out water and sometimes treats for them. Given her familiarity with the "Shores" she should also know that the building is the same distance apart as all others. This is not a single family residence, and was not advertised as such. In fact, this building has only three units, which is far less than most in the immediate vicinity. If this guest wanted "peace & quiet" she obviously chose the wrong location. It is a community catering to active, fun-loving people, both residents and visitors. If you look at all of the previous reviews, you will see how many people love our condo and the location. In fact, the family that visited right after this family thanked us for such wonderful accommodations and locale. It is unfortunate that there isn't a site to check out and review renters. We would have declined this guest, as well as our realtor, who handles approximately twenty properties will decline her in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
5

Great getaway blocks from beach/park

  • 5 of 5

We were really taken back by the comfort of this rental. We had everything we could need. A small convenience store around the corner for quick essentials and 5 minutes into La Jolla to stock the fridge at Von's. We cooked breakfast and dinner spent late morning and afternoons on the beach after a short walk. There was more than enough room for our party of 3 adults and 3 boys (ages 8 & 9). The carport had more than enough toys for the trek to the beach. Really couldn't have enjoyed it more. We didn't even miss the fact that we couldn't figure out how to get the TV to work (watched DVD's instead). And with our area swollen with Memorial Day revelers it was even more comforting knowing we didn't have to fight for parking spaces or walk for miles.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
San Diego International Airport
Nearest Barpub
50 Metres
Piatti Ristorante
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Torrey Pine Golf Course
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Solana Beach Coaster Station
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Hwy 5
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
Piatti Ristorante
Nearest Ski
150 Miles
Big Bear Mountain
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
La Jolla Shores
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

La Jolla Shores Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Off Season
Sep 6 2016 - Nov 18 2016
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,750
$6,000
 
 
Thanksgiving Break
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 27 2016
7 night minimum stay
$2,250
 
 
Off Season
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 16 2016
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,750
$6,000
 
 
Christmas Break
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 1 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,250
 
 
Off Season
Jan 2 2017 - May 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,750
$6,000
 
 
Early Peak Season
May 27 2017 - Jun 23 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,250
$8,000
 
 
Peak Season
Jun 24 2017 - Sep 4 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,750
$12,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,750
$6,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $175 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 11.05%

Reservation fee of $500 is due once the rental agreement has been signed. Rent, tax, and cleaning fee are due 60 days prior to arrival.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

La Jolla Shores Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1350 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , King in master bedroom.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • King bed in master (1), Queen in guest suite #1 (1), Twins in guest suite #2 (2), Queen air mattress (1), pack-n-play, bedding, and high chair available.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers