check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Laughing Gecko Guest Suite - Best deal in Waikoloa.

33 Reviews
Bedrooms 1
Property type house

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more




Waikoloa Village House Rental Photos and Description

House, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

If you are looking for a good, affordable place to stay in Waikoloa Village on the Kohala Coast this rental may be right for you. It's in a residential neighborhood close to the entry to the Village, shops, restaurants, pool and golf course. Guests have free access to the Waikoloa Village pool, tennis courts and discounted rates at the Waikoloa Village golf course (check rates at the Waikoloa Village web site). This is a private home at the end of a small cul-de-sac that has a guest suite with it's own private exterior entry. The guest suite cannot be accessed from the home (and vice versa) and guests do not share the interior of the home.

The rental comprises a bedroom with an en-suite bath and a big walk-in closet. There is a large shaded patio with outdoor seating and dining table exclusive to the rental. The space is accessed by a private gated entry off the main driveway. The uncovered patio is shaded and screened but not waterproof when raining. This guest suite is the only rental on the property. You do not share with anyone else.

There is a small outdoor bar with a coffee maker, microwave and mini fridge. There is no cooking permitted and disposable plates, cups, utensils only may be used. This rental is suitable for short stays of a few days only where guests want a nice, affordable place to come back to after a day at the beach or exploring. It is not suitable for longer stays or hanging out at all day.

There is no living-room, laundry, kitchen / cooking capability, A/C, BBQ or ocean view. This is Tropical Hawaii and it's hot and sunny. It can be warm in the day and temperatures do cool off at night. There are fans. There is no A/C. If you are sensitive to temperature please do not book this unit and then complain it's too warm for you.

Think of it like a hotel suite at a fraction of the price. There is a comfy bed, a nice bathroom, a walk-in closet, a large patio with exterior seating, beach chairs and cooler, and off street parking. There's a ceiling fan and floor fan, TV, wireless internet, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, towels, toiletries and paper goods.

This is not an oceanfront resort setting and it's not a luxury condominium. This is a nice, safe residential neighborhood with a comfortable, clean bed/bath. There are people and children and pets in residential neighborhoods, and being Hawaii, there are chickens, turkeys and chuckers too. The garden is organic. No pesticides are used in the yard for the health of all our island creatures and fish so, yes, being the Tropics, there may be bugs. We do spray inside and offer insect spray just in case an unwanted guest wanders in. Renters should keep screens closed. Leaving screens open is an invitation to light loving guests to come in.

If you are looking for a great deal ($66/n) for a few days while you explore the island please consider this option. If you are looking for the cheapest place you can find and then will find yourself disappointed that it isn't the Four Seasons ($950/n) please do us all a favor and pass this one up. If you are looking for something fancy at a bargain price, this isn't it.

For your protection and ours all guests are checked in and approve a property condition report prior to taking occupancy. Our guaranty to you; if you are not satisfied that the condition of the rental is as described on this website you are free to not check in and will receive a full refund.

Keywords: ohana, guest, suite, one, bedroom, ground floor, house, vacation, rental, golf, two, Hawaii, Big, Island, beach, furnished, affordable, pool, tennis, waikoloa, village, lanai, kohala, coast, golf, vacation, holiday, big island

More Details
  • alternative lifestyle
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 21, 2016
Call Owner

About Bookings

Ali Blackmore is a Zimbabwean who has traveled the globe, living in eight different countries over four continents. Dual careers in real estate and design have traveled with her and continue on Big Island, Hawaii where she works as a real estate Broker & designer specializing in Kohala Coast property. A lifelong real estate investor, Ali knows a good property when she sees one and bought Laughing Gecko because it is one of the locations in the Village. If you are visiting Big Island to look at or buy property Ali would be delighted to assist you with your search and purchase.

Bookings purchased this house in 2005

Why Bookings chose Kohala Coast

As a Hawaii resident living and working on the Big Island I wanted to find an elegant and private home in a convenient central location. This property fits the bill. Waikoloa Village is a good central location with easy access to the resorts and beaches, Waimea, Kona and Hilo. The property location within the Village is superb. Located on a small cul-de-sac with attractive neighboring homes, the property is within easy walking distance of all shops, services, golf course, swimming pool, tennis courts and grocery store. Because the home sits on a double lot the property has large gardens and generous separation of space from neighbors.

What makes this house unique

As this rental is located on the property of a private home with large gardens the setting is private, peaceful and 'far from the maddening crowd,' yet convenient to everything you need. The price is unbeatable for private accommodation. This is not a house share. The rental would best suit a single person or couple looking for an affordable getaway to retreat to after enjoying the best of recreation and dining the Kohala Coast and upcountry Waimea have to offer.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you! The ohana was perfect! So clean and quiet here. My stay was great! Aloha, Travis.
Dec 2015
  • 1 of 6


based on 33 traveler reviews

Laughing Gecko Guest Suite - Best deal in Waikoloa.
average rating of 3.878788 based on 39 reviews

Perfect fit for our needs

  • 5 of 5

We ran into a couple of snags (nothing to do with Ali but we were a bit stressed) and Ali was very helpful and welcoming. Her kindness helped us relax more and enjoy our stay. I would highly recommend staying in any of her properties....she pays attention to details and makes sure needs are met. Thank you for all you did for us, Ali. Sincerely, Elisabeth and Steve

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. we are faced with challenges sometimes. When my son graduated high school his English teacher in his speech advised his students, "we are made or unmade, not by what happens to us, but by our reaction." I never forgot that. i glad i was able to increase your enjoyment of your stay despite the challenges we both faced at the time. kind regards, ali
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A lovely room in Waikoloa.

  • 4 of 5

A lovely clean room in a quiet neighborhood. I spent two nights here for it's accessibility to Kona and Waimea, it was great with a kitchenette outside ensure the room stayed smelling fresh.

Ali was available by phone to answer my questions, I will return to this property for sure... Thank you Ali!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Mattie, Thank you. I'm so glad you had a good stay. It is a convenient central location between Kona, Waimea and Kohala, as well as the resorts. Regards, ali
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good cheap spot if you're a resort person

  • 3 of 5

Overall the place was ok. The patio area is nice and beach chairs and sunscreen are provided. The room is decorated nicely. My biggest problem was the location. This is my first time on the island, and I didn't realize that the beaches closest to here were the resort beaches. Had I known then what I know now, I would have stayed in Waimea for an extra two nights. If you like golfing and want close access to the resorts without the cost, this might suit you. Another unfortunate problem is roaches. I'm not sure if it's a Hawaii thing, but the roaches outside kept getting inside. Yuck. Also the room gets pretty warm. Just a heads up.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Mellissa, Thank you for your review and pointing out that this ohana is NOT at the resorts; it's in Waikoloa Village which is app. 7 miles up the hill. The resorts can be expensive and accommodation at this low rate is not available there so, yes, this is a great affordable option for people who like to hit the beach and not their wallets. It's been warm for sure, as this is the hottest time of year, and there is no AC in this unit so if guests prefer cooler Waimea is better at app 3,000' elevation much farther inland. Hawaii is the tropics and there are bugs and they come out at night. We work very hard to keep them outside where they belong, but, they are attracted to light and it's advisable to keep screens closed. Thankfully, here on the 'dry' side these little critters are far, far fewer than the lush tropical 'wet' side of the island. It's a "Big Island" and there are many locations and climates to stay. For visitors unfamiliar with the various areas we welcome questions for clarification because our goal is for everyone to fully enjoy their stay and make the most of their visit. Aloha. ali
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Pictures are deceiving

  • 3 of 5

Was surprised when we entered in to a residential neighborhood and our place was just a side bedroom of a house. The back area which was also the kitchen (outside) was bordering two other backyards so it felt like we had no privacy. Main light was out. Towels were old and stiff. Pictures and welcome book said there was a bbq but we were disappointed to find there was not one. Overall a fine place to spend a night or two. Wouldn't recommend more or if you are planning on having any down time

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, and thank you for the review. It does say right in the description on VRBO that this is a guest room in a private house and there is no BBQ. The photos also clearly show the house and the 2 neighboring homes. The directions also mention parking in the driveway in front of the garage. There are roll down shades on the lanai that, along with substantial tropical foliage offer complete privacy. The home next door is occupied by a single older gentleman who never goes in his yard. As it is a residential neighborhood it could be a family with a couple of children playing in the yard every day; but it isn't. It's doubtful you saw anyone during your stay. I checked with the housekeeper and she showed me the towels she provided for you. They were almost new; one set dryer fluffed and the other line dried. Line dried towels can be less fluffy. The ceiling light is out because the fixture cover is stuck and can't be opened to replace the bulb so the whole fan/light will be replaced. Thankfully there are 5 other lights in the suite. I also found the housekeeper had put a beautiful flowering orchid in the room for you, and that one cupboard that was fine on check in was broken on check out. It happens. You are right, this is a great option for a couple of nights as a place to sleep after a relaxing day out on the beach or exploring. It's a nice bedroom & bath with a lovely outdoor patio. It is not suitable for longer stays as there is no kitchen or laundry. To put it in perspective, a Motel 6 room in Oakland industrial is $90/n + tax. This is a comfortable guest suite with added patio, beach gear, mini kitchen with supplies, and off street parking in Hawaii (which has the highest median real estate prices in the US and the highest cost of living) and we offer this for $65/n. You could get a room at the Hilton close by for $250 + Tax. It won't have the patio but you will be closer to the beach, etc. Kind regards, ali
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quick getaway

  • 3 of 5

Good place to stay for couple of days especially if you're looking for a clean bed/bathroom.

It was perfect for us to get away from east side of the island for sunshine.

The extra fan in the unit helped out a lot.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Lisa, Thank you. We think so too!Glad you enjoyed seeing some sun over on the West side! ali
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Aspen, CO

Just Awful

  • 1 of 5

I have to hand it to the photographer, they made it look good. The bargain price and flowery description lured us in. While the other reviews here contain the same language it sure wasn't our experience. We didn't expect very much -- our needs are simple and we usually camp but decided to splurge for our anniversary. We were disappointed enough that we forfeited our entire rent and went somewhere else. For a few dollars per night more, we found something much nicer and we agreed it was even worth the forfeiture. I've never written a bad review of anything in my entire life so I'm not one of those permanently disgruntled people but felt I should warn others. I'll spare the specifics as there are too many to list and I'm sure there are excuses anyway, you get what you pay for likely being among them.

  • Submitted: May 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi John. Specifics. You asked for a long stay. I advised against it. But you stayed before, knew the unit, said it was perfect for you, and insisted. The manager met you on arrival. You sent this text next day, "Hi Ali, THE UNIT IS NICE. We met (mngr) and she got us all set up. I'd like to discuss land listings." Ref to 'all set up' because you asked for extra towels, etc and she obliged. Ref to 'land listings' because you asked for a free valuation on your land and I obliged. Next you sent this text "Grace developed the need for a root canal. We have to go back. You should re-list your rental. Do whatever you can about our reservation/payment. If nothing, we understand business." I relisted & said I would refund any re-rented nights. Then the manager said you hadn't left. I queried and you sent me this text (quote) "We're heading for the airport in the morning. The unit was JUST PERFECT FOR US. EVERYTHING WE NEEDED." You left and sent me this text, "We're packed and leaving. Everything is as clean as we could possibly leave it." Contrast to the manager's report: 2ppx2n - 7 towels used, pillow cases too soiled/discard, sheets badly soiled w blood & unknown substance, large spill (pepsi?) over floor & under bed, area rug moved to cover spill & flipped to hide large stain. Walls spattered w stains. Large stain on outer shower curtain above head height/replace. You emailed for a refund. I replied I would refund any nights re-rented and offered a discount if you returned. You replied contradicting prior comments, "The biggest disappointment was your horrible rental unit. We considered coming back but your fixed up storage room at the back of someone's house was such an awful place we'd rather go somewhere else. The unit was misrepresented. You did tell us that most people only rented for a couple nights. Just because it's cheapest place in Waikoloa doesn't justify it. It really shouldn't be a vacation rental on VRBO at all. It doesn't look like you get much business at all for that unit. So we'll ask again -- ". Then you posted your review. I did re-rent the unit for 1 night and I will refund 1 night. Dear Reader - return guest, accepted condition w compliments, reconfirmed satisfaction, mistreated the place, left, posted a bad review because he did not get a refund. We recommend travel insurance for the unforeseen, whether it be a dental emergency, or simply because your partner may not like your choice and want to move.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
Nearest Golf
0.01 Miles
Waikoloa Village course
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Queen K
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
A Bay
Nearest Point of Interest
Highlands Shopping Center
Nearest Point of Interest
Robert Trent Jones Jr. Golf Course
Nearest Point of Interest
Post office and drive through coffee shop.
Nearest Point of Interest
Banji's restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Subway sandwiches
Nearest Point of Interest
Swimming pool and tennis courts
Car: recommended

Observatories, star gazing, volcano watch, whale watch, swim with dolphins, jungle hikes, botanical gardens, zip line, coffee farm tours, rodeo, waterfalls, helicopter tours, historic towns, caving.


Rates & Availability

Waikoloa Village House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Year end holidays
Dec 15 2016 - Jan 15 2017
1 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $55 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $50
Tax Rate 13.42%

Rates quoted are for up to 2 person occupancy only. Maximum occupancy is 2 person.
Cancellation 60+ days from booking full refund less $35 processing fee.
No monthly bookings. Typical stay 5 nights or less.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Waikoloa Village House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • shower over tub, sink, toilet
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1)
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Tennis ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • non smoking only ...
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
A private guest suite in a tranquil setting walking distance to the golf course and all services, grocery store, etc. A quick 10 minute drive to Hawaii's best beaches and resorts. This is suitable for no-cook meals; continental breakfast, salad, etc. There are no laundry facilities. There is a laundrette in Waimea.

Partner Offers