check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Secluded, Charming Home on Hurricane Mt in Keene. Pets Welcome!

19 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 nights


Keene House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This cute home is located in the heart of the Adirondacks, about 20 minutes from Lake Placid. A great place to getaway if you want some peace and quiet - no neighbors to be seen, just the mountains across the road. Located on 2.4 acres, there is plenty of room to wander and explore. Situated on Hurricane Mt, it's a great place to relax after a day of hiking, skiing, shopping or doing nothing on the large deck overlooking the view!

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Forrest Crooks
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 12, 2016
Call Manager


based on 19 traveler reviews

Secluded, Charming Home on Hurricane Mt in Keene. Pets Welcome!
average rating of 4.736842 based on 19 reviews

What a lovely place!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for us. Comfortable, clean, well-equipped, on a beautiful treed lot. Very bright, big windows, wonderful view. The road is really quiet, and there are a lot of trails within a very short driving distance. Ideal location for serious (my partner) and not so serious (me) hikers.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Carlisle, OH

Nice but has a rodent problem

  • 1 of 5

When I first arrived I found the rental home a very pleasant and beautiful location. It wasn't until later that we discovered a rodent problem which got worse as our one week stay progressed. First we found rodent droppings in the kitchen drawers which we cleaned up. Then some food was partially eaten. So we moved our food off the floor. The last day we found 3 mice in the trash can inside the cabinet. After that we put all our food in our cars and put all the trash in the trash can outside. This only caused the mice to move to the living room in search of food. When we complained to the owner she only said she never had this problem before and after we left she blamed the problem on us being messy! I will never stay here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Laurel, After reading this review I now understand how mice may have been inclined to come in. I never thought to ask you if you were keeping food on the floor; that is something I definitely would have advised against in any situation as the house is on the base of a mountain in the middle of the woods. You stated that I said that I have never had this problem before and that is incorrect. The book in the house that welcomes renters and gives ideas/hints about the house and area states: "You will want to put all of your food in the fridge or cupboards as you are in the woods and mice will be in to share your food if it is lying around!" Those directions are left out for all to see upon entering the house. You even emailed me a question about something on that page on your first night there. I did contact two groups of renters who had stayed before you and neither had any problems with mice. The woman who cleans said that both parties left the house in very good condition. When the cleaning woman went up to clean after your group it was a very different story. She sent me pictures of garbage bags hanging from my cupboards, food and dirty dishes in the sink and remains of food on the counter. All of this would bring in mice. This is why I suggested that the mice were attracted by the food left out and would not be refunding you money like you asked. And my biggest question was why I was never contacted about this problem until your last night there? I would have immediately called in an exterminator to come and find out what was going on. You had emailed me that you didn't see any mice the first few days but as time went on, it became a problem, which also indicated to me that it was an issue with all the food/garbage around the house. Because I was concerned about having a potential rodent issue, I called an exterminator who came in two days after you all left. He did not find an issue. He stated that yes, he did catch three mice but did not see any evidence that this was a problem that had been ongoing. He also suggested that this was probably due to garbage being left out. I am sorry that you had this issue, as it is certainly not a pleasant issue, but I do wish that I had been contacted immediately so I could have sent someone to the house to take care of it as soon as it started.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful late summer week in the Adirondacks

  • 5 of 5

First and most importantly: this house was immaculately clean on arrival. I was also impressed by how well appointed it was: not one but two coffeemakers (standard and K cup), cupboards filled with spices and cooking staples, plenty of games to play, etc. A gorgeous deck where you can sip coffee and enjoy the view. The house's location is ideal if you want privacy and enjoy the outdoors. We split our time between hiking the various nearby mountains and doing more "touristy" things in Lake Placid which is only about a half hour away. Our only complaint? No air conditioning; it was fairly humid the first day we were there but thankfully even without AC the three downstairs bedrooms were relatively cool. Other than that: PERFECTION!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect rental for an Adirondack vacation

  • 5 of 5

I wanted a rental home that had a true Adirondack feel, and this fit the bill. It is in a secluded area yet only about 20 minutes away from Lake Placid. It is on a quiet road and you can't see any other houses. It was the perfect size for my family of 6. It was clean and modern and nicely decorated. The kitchen was large and had everything that we needed and I appreciated having a table that fit 6 people. Plus there is a bar with 4 stools for more seating. The living room was spacious and had cathedral ceilings and a gorgeous view of mountains. We loved sitting on the deck to relax and enjoy the view.

We had an issue with wifi when we first arrived and I contacted the owner who responded within minutes and helped me to solve the problem. (Just so you know, if wifi isn't working just unplug it for several minutes and plug it back in. That fixed the problem and we had great signal.)

We enjoyed Ausable Chasm, Lake Placid, Whiteface Mountain, the Rail Bikes, and the Wild Center and all were within about 45 minutes of the house. I highly recommend the ADK cafe in Keene. Their food was delicious.

I would stay at this house again.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Southport, CT

Great location to explore the high peaks!

  • 4 of 5

We found this a wonderful location to explore the high peaks region of the ADK. In fact there are 4 great peaks to explore right in the immediate vicinity of Hurricane Road. We were traveling as two couples with two dogs and we had plenty of space for all. The house has all the comforts of home, including a TV, wifi, a great, fully-equipped kitchen and grill. We loved sitting out on the deck and enjoying the beautiful view after a day of hiking. Our only comment would be that the floors were not well sound-proofed, so if you have people who get up early and others who want to sleep late, that could be a bit of a problem. Forrest is a pleasure to rent from. He pays attention to details and is very relaxed and accommodating. We hope to rent again from him.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This was the first time we ever rented a home away from home for our vacation~ Such an incredible experience~~ The serenity of the mountain home, the cleanliness and conveniences that were offered were waaaay above any expectations we had! Hope to return one day in the near future!!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

Located in the heart of the ADK's, there is plenty of outside activities to do. Numerous hikes just miles from the house, Lake Placid is 20 min away with lots of shops and sightseeing as well. The AuSable River is about 5 min away with lots of fishing and swimming.


Rates & Availability

Keene House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Property Damage Protection $59

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Keene House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • The downstairs bathroom, located next to the bedrooms, has a tub with shower and toilet. The upstairs bathroom has a shower and toilet.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • There are a total of three bedrooms. Two bedrooms have queen beds and the third bedroom has two twin beds. Each bedroom has a dresser and a closet.
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
There is a large deck on the front of the house and a small porch on the back with a grill, recycling bins and chairs. There is a full laundry room - washer and dryer with iron and ironing board as well.

Partner Offers