check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

'Cottage in the Forest'

37 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kilauea Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

'Cottage in the Forest'

This beautiful little cottage is tucked into a small forest, with a view of the Hanalei Mountains. Where you will awaken each morning to the symphony of sounds and sights of a peaceful rural mountain setting.

Our three and a half Acre Property is located at the end of a cul-de-sac.

Enjoy the endlessly fascinating interaction and play of the resident birds and animals. Chickens, Ducks, Peacocks, Goats, Dogs, Cats and Horses, all co-exist on our property and provide hours of entertainment.

All this is only a five minute drive to beautiful Kalihiwai Bay, where Kalihiwai River enters the ocean. It is our favorite beach, great for boogie boarding and surfing. Also a five minute drive takes you to Anini Beach, a very long beach with a double reef, where you can spend your days: Wind Surfing, Kayaking, Sailing or just enjoying the Ocean environment. Anini also has a large Beach Park.

You will be only 15 minutes from the world famous Hanalei Bay and the Princeville Resort, where you will find the 27 hole Makai Golf Course, the world class Prince Golf Course, and the Princeville Shopping Center. There are two Horse Riding Stables very near by, and the North Shore boasts many hiking trails.

The accommodations are light, airy and beautifully furnished. The claw foot tub in the bathroom is especially charming and looks out a corner picture window on to a private garden.

We love it here and love sharing the unique charm and quiet country atmosphere. Best of all, we are only minutes from some of the best beaches in the world.

Keywords: Guest House, Cottage, on 3 Acre Property.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Owner
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About The Owner

I love sharing this special place on the planet with people who appreciate all of nature and her creatures.

Susan Gailey (R)

808-651-1626 cell

License # RB-17513

The Owner purchased this cottage in 1997

Why The Owner chose Kauai

It is at the end of one of the most beautiful roads on the North Shore of Kauai. Rural and Private.

What makes this cottage unique

Unique and Private Rural Location.

At the end of a beautiful 3 mile road that is perfect for walking, jogging, biking or horseback riding.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We are BLISSED OUT!

Aloha & Mahalo
Oct 2014
  • 1 of 35

Reviews

4.9
based on 37 traveler reviews

'Cottage in the Forest'
average rating of 4.864865 based on 72 reviews
5

Magical!

  • 5 of 5

This place is a piece of paradise.... from the drive in the tropical decor to the view from your bed. It was perfect for the 2 of us celebrating a wedding anniversary. It had everything we needed and more...it felt like home! The beautiful setting, attention to detail, the landscaping, the interior...everything is wonderful. Susan is friendly and accommodating..makes sure your stay if perfect. It is very tucked away and private. We only played on the North side of island while staying at the cottage and the location was perfect! We have stayed in resorts, condo's beachfront rentals in the past and both of felt this was amazing...fyi if you love chickens, roosters, peacocks, dogs and a goat....milk thee goat will make your day with his daily visit. Looked forward to coming to the cottage each night. Will def. be back!! Mahalo Susan for creating this place!!

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Top Choice!

  • 5 of 5

I recently stayed at Susan's cottage for my second time and so glad I did! Although I have had many other wonderful accommodations on the island, I always seem to want to return to the "cottage in the forest"..... and for good reason! Aside from being affordable and spacious, everything is always perfectly clean, orderly, and comfortable! Susan pays such wonderful attention to details to make your stay the best it could be. Everything about her property makes you feel right at home. The location is fantastic and allows for easy access to local sights/businesses but yet feels far enough away from civilization ....just enough to have a peaceful and relaxing stay. I can't recommend this place enough..... And I can't wait to return and stay here again!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect little peaceful hide-away

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely wonderful little spot for singles or couples that want a cozy little home away from home. I was a tad frustrated looking for rental listings at a reasonable price that weren't condos, so when I came across this one, I took a leap and booked it. Boy was it one of the trip highlights. Susan takes great care of the cottage, and it was in immaculate shape when I arrived. The kitchen was more than well-suited for cooking meals, washer and dryer for doing laundry, and while the clawfoot tub was a bit of a challenge for folks like me that are used to stand-up showers, I got used to it quickly and rather enjoyed it. With the fans on, the place stayed comfortable for sleeping in the evenings, even for someone like me who's a slave to air-conditioning back home. Grounds were beautiful, loved the horses, Milk the goat, the peacocks, and chickens that said good morning everyday and welcomed me back after a day of adventuring! Earplugs were provided for the roosters but I sleep pretty heavy and wasn't bothered by them. :) Towels and beach gear were provided, which was super convenient. WiFi was more than adequate for my needs. Also a small stock of non-perishable kitchen as well as bath essentials (seasonings, salts, shampoos and the like) leftover from previous vacationers. Susan was also very responsive to any questions I had, which made things easier than some places I've stayed.

From a location standpoint, you're in a great spot for doing anything along the north coast. Lots of grocery/restaurant/shopping options nearby as well as a ton of more natural destinations (hiking access, beaches, scenic drives, etc). This was my first trip to Kauai so I was compelled to drive around to the other side of the island a couple times to see Waimea Canyon and a few other destinations, about an 1 to 1.5hrs depending on traffic on the way down. It was a bit of a hike but I personally didn't mind because I really didn't want to stay in resorts/hotels/condos with the crowds. The north end felt a little more low-key, which was just right for me. Felt safe as a solo traveler the entire time. Will DEFINITELY seek this place out on my next visit!

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks! Reviews like this make us feel really good. : )
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this cottage to start our trip and wished we had stayed here the whole time. The cottage was amazing tucked away and had everything you could need. We loved watching the animals and enjoying the piece and quiet. Susan was a great host! We would love to come back.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was the highlight of our trip! Susan is very friendly and accommodating, the grounds are stunning, the cottage is perfectly built, tastefully decorated, and contains everything you'd need! I would recommend this place to anyone traveling to Kauai. We hope to return.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yea!! We're happy when you are happy! : )
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Minneapolis MN
5

Perfect hideaway!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the cottage the second half of our trip and it was a great getaway! We loved being tucked away from all the business and felt completely safe and able to relax. Susan was a great host and helpful with anything we needed. No joke the roosters are CRAZY. Thankfully Susan did provide earplugs for the night. Otherwise we had a relaxing stay watching the peacocks and birds and feeding Milky the goat. We would highly recommend this location for your stay on the North side of Kauai.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kilauea Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Anytime
Sep 12 2016 - Dec 16 2016
3 night minimum stay
$140
$3,000
 
 
Christmas Season
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
$160
$3,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$140
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Tax Rate 4.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kilauea Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beautiful Claw Foot Tub, Outside Shower, Gas Grill.

Partner Offers