check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jay Reynolds or Cynthia Reynolds

Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Cute/private 1-bed 2 blocks to Zilker Park & Barton Springs, 2 miles to Downtown

43 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Barton Hills Condo Rental Photos and Description

1 large bedroom with King bed + queen pull-out in living room, sleeps 4

Located on the edge of Barton Hills, just 2 blocks from Zilker Park and Barton Springs Pool, The Sweet is a perfect spot for a couple, or small family, coming to enjoy what Austin does best: get outdoors!

We provide the beach towels, now you just have to stroll down the hill and take the plunge into the clear spring fed waters of Barton Springs. At 68 degrees year round, it will certainly refresh you all the way to your core! If swimming isn't your thing, there is the Garden Center, Nature Center, hike and bike trails, greenbelt trail, great lawn, frisbee golf, and the playground and kidee train for the little ones. And if you're not traveling with bikes, don't worry, we've got you covered. We've got several options for bike rentals right in the neighborhood!

Austin at it's best: Austin is also known for it's dining excellence. Within a short distance are several of Austin's move famous eateries. Chuy's Tex-Mex and Shady Grove and are all within a mile, and Austin's most famous sushi restaurant, UCHI, is just over a mile away. If espresso is your thing, look no further than Austin Java Co, about a mile away.

Recreation activities nearby are plentiful. During the summer there is live theater Thursday - Sunday nights at the Zilker Hillside Theater and there are also performances Wednesdays - Sundays most weeks at Zach Scott Theater just under a mile away. Live music is all over Austin and one of Austin's most storied venues, The Saxon Pub, is about a mile away! And then there is live music with a great dance flood and karaoke at the popular High Ball next door to the Alamo Drafthouse for watching movies while being served food and beverages - all just over a mile!

Needless to say, if you know Austin I'm just preaching to the choir. But if you've never visited here then you are in for a real treat!

Come stay and play in the heart of Austin...you probably won't want to leave :)

City of Austin License # 007840. We support responsible registration and licensing! We collect and pay out Hotel Tax. Please check out STRREGSTHATWORK.com.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Jay Reynolds or Cynthia Reynolds (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Jay Reynolds or Cynthia Reynolds

Peach and Cynthia Reynolds - Own Kaleido Properties real estate company in the Zilker Park/Barton Hills area for almost 30 years! Peach, the Broker in the family, is an avid golfer and likes to do anything outdoors as well as garden in his Zilker area home's backyard. Cynthia is a real estate agent and works with Peach in their business and now manages all 7 of their vacation rentals along with their son, Jay. Cynthia loves to cook the vegetables that Peach grows and taking long walks and bike rides!

Jay Reynolds or Cynthia Reynolds purchased this condo in 2004

Why Jay Reynolds or Cynthia Reynolds chose Austin

Our family has lived and worked in the Zilker neighborhood for more than 30 years and we love sharing it with others!

What makes this condo unique

Walking to Zilker Park is the best perk of the neighborhood. We love spending time outdoors and especially cooling off in Barton Springs on the hot summer afternoons!

Guestbook comments from the manager

We spent two weeks in The Sweet and couldn't have been happier. The location was perfect -- easy to walk to the park, and even a convenience store and mailbox close by. The apartment was nicely decorated and very completely furnished, with every kitchen convenience imaginable. The Reynolds were most accommodating, even letting us come a day before our time, with only a few hours notice, when I messed up our travel schedule. They answered all our questions promptly. When our travels bring us back to Austin, we will certainly try to stay here again.
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.7
based on 43 traveler reviews

Cute/private 1-bed 2 blocks to Zilker Park & Barton Springs, 2 miles to Downtown
average rating of 4.6511626 based on 44 reviews
5

Girls' Weekend

  • 5 of 5

The Sweet is a perfect place to relax and enjoy Austin. It is very inviting and feels like home. The front porch is very cozy to enjoy your morning coffee or a glass of wine in the evening. The Sweet has everything you could possibly need - comfortable furniture, great location, and very helpful owners. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely Condo, great place to stay in Austin

  • 4 of 5

We came to Austin for a junior golf tournament. It was a last minute invitation, so hotel rooms were scarce. I found this little gem of a place on VRBO. It turned out that we spent a lot more time there than anticipated, as the tournament was a total rain out. It was so much nicer hanging out in this great little condo than a hotel! Fully stocked house, owners were super helpful and friendly. The king bed was extremely comfortable, and so was the queen sofa bed (which was a nice surprise!). The only reason I did not give a 5 star review was the parking situation. This place is in a very hilly area of Austin, and the parking spot was on a steep incline. OK if you have an SUV, but for a car like mine, that has a low front bumper, it was very dicey. And when the pavement was wet (which was the whole time I was there), I skidded getting in and out of the parking spot. I actually had to use low gear, and certainly parking brakes are a must. Otherwise the stay was great, and the price was right on. The parking issue will certainly not stop me from renting here again. Definitely would recommend!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We wish there was something we could do about our driveway, but at least there are options for parking: you can drive down the hill on the side of the building and park right next to your door, or in the space reserved at the street level which has a hump getting in and out. I have found that I can use that spot with my Prius which is very low. I learned it's best to come in from an angle rather than straight from the street. Anyhow, we have several other condos in our 6 unit complex that have easier parking spots to get in and out of, so I recommend trying one of those next time. We look forward to having you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston, TX
5

Perfect location and accommodations

  • 5 of 5

In Austin for a concert @ BassHall. This location was the perfect location not only for the concert but for everything Austin. Owners are easy to communicate with and very responsive. Thank you so much for allowing us to have a wonderful and stress free time in Austin.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

The Suite is even nicer than it looks like in the pictures. Great Austin location. Ms. Reynolds greeted us shortly after our arrival and answered any questions we had. The property was exceptionally clean, well maintained, and comfortable. We will be back soon.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing place to stay in Austin fun or work

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at the Zilker vacations "Sweet" spot on my own for a work trip but also was able to visit family in the area who loved coming over to visit to hang out there and also spend time in the surrounding neighborhoods. The place itself is perfect for an individual or family. It has one bedroom, and a foldout couch in the lovely living room, and a great porch to hang out on. The owners care about the people that stay and it shows in the detailed care they've taken of the place and the work they do to make sure he guests have everything they need. They provided great lists of activities, had up to date local newspapers and magazines with recommendations and were always willing to help should I need anything.

Nearby the house is pretty much everything "sweet" about Austin. You have the massive Zilker park, with miles of hiking / biking / running trails (and several bike rental places nearby), and you have the amazing neighborhoods south of downtown and also downtown moments away from the front door.

When I read reviews I look for those too good to be true...But I really did love everything about my stay there, and because we're in the area visiting family regularly, we'll definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Christmas comfort

  • 5 of 5

We have chosen this unit three times due to the comfort, location, amenities, and proximity to Barton Hills family members. This time we were delighted to have the Zilker Tree in our sights as we returned each evening.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Austin Bergstrom International
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Several
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
several
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
MoPac (loop 1)
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
several
Car: not necessary

Welcome to The Heart of Austin! All of our properties are located within a block or two of Austin's crown jewel, Zilker Park! You honestly don't need a car if you're on the fence, just rent some bikes and you'll have easy access to just about anything you'd want to do in the area. Barton Springs Pool, Zilker Botanical Gardens, The Barton Creek Greenbelt, the Great Lawn (home of ACL), Chuy's Tex-Mex, Shady Grove, the Saxon Pub, Flipnotics Coffee Space, Casa De Luz, and so many more awesome places that are less than a mile away. Come Enjoy :)

Golf: I (Jay Reynolds) am a ex-professional golfer and instructor! So if you're interested in playing golf, taking golf lessons, or just going out to hit a few balls, we can certainly make that happen!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Barton Hills Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall Sale
Sep 7 2016 - Sep 28 2016
2 night minimum stay
$99
From
$119
Fri,Sat
$650
 
 
ACL Week 1
Sep 29 2016 - Oct 3 2016
4 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
ACL Week 2
Oct 6 2016 - Oct 10 2016
4 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
F1
Oct 20 2016 - Oct 23 2016
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
SXSW Interactive
Mar 9 2017 - Mar 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
SXSW Music
Mar 16 2017 - Mar 20 2017
4 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$119
From
$139
Fri,Sat
$750
$2,250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $150
Cleaning Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 15.0%

CANCELLATION POLICY – You can cancel outside of 30 days prior to your arrival and receive a FULL 100% refund of your deposit. If you cancel inside 30 days, you will be refunded 75% of your reservation amount. Once we have charged your full balance, you are responsible for the full amount, unless we can rebook it. For special event policies, contact us.
NO DEPOSIT if you book directly through us!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Barton Hills Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 576 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • River ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Full 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Bathroom is in through the bedroom and has hard tile floors and tub surround. There's also another large closet in the bathroom!
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , full body standing mirror
    Bedroom 2 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen Size Pull-out couch in the living room
  • Quality mattress, feather pillows, large closet, large dresser, standing mirror, standing fan with remote, blinds and curtains for room darkening and iPod-dock sterio/alarm clock. The pull-out couch in the living room has a memory foam topper. We also have a floor mat available.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Tennis ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 1 bicycles
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Highchair, booster seat, pack n' play, gate, floor mat and bed side rails available upon request and subject to availability. We also have several other discounts available to our renters, including discounted bike rentals, dry-cleaning, massage (in-home), as well as a baby sitting service available should you want a night out without the kiddos.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers