check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Osiris Alviz-McCarney

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, french, spanish, italian

Cartagena in the Old City Elegance with Magnificent Ocean Views and Sunsets

20 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

San Diego Apartment Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 6

Enjoy a newly built apartment and your own private rooftop terrace with beautiful ocean views fanned by the Caribbean breeze. Ideally located in the heart of the historic old city within the walls that once surrounded a Viceroy's compound. You will be enchanted by the splendor of the sea and the charm of the colonial streets full of magic and color. The owners have 20 years experience in the hospitality industry and know how to provide the comfort you deserve.

Within walking distance of historic sites, fine dining, lively nightlife, the convention center, Pegasus pier, the Heredia theater, shopping malls, five star hotels and just 10 minutes from the airport, Bocagrande and the beaches.

Perfect for honeymooners, couples and families seeking to spend a memorable vacation or executives attending an international convention.

The complex has two swimming pools, one just for adults and another for the children, a fitness room, two indoor Saunas and three Jacuzzis with one located on a shared terrace with sea and sunset views. The tropical gardens are cool and relaxing with the peaceful sound of falling water.

The apartment is located in the most exclusive area of Cartagena, providing peace, tranquility and relaxation. The complex has a full security system with closed circuit cameras and a receptionist 24 hours a day.

La Casa del Virrey Eslava is one of Cartagena?s most significant historical sites and has retained it?s 17th century colonial facade. Renovated in 2009, the complex is completely modernized inside without breaking the harmony of its historical value. This was the residence of Viceroy Sebastian de Eslava who commanded Spanish colonies from here as the king?s appointed Viceroy of New Granada from April 24, 1740 until November 6, 1749 .

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Osiris Alviz-McCarney (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, french, spanish, italian

About Osiris Alviz-McCarney

Born in Cartagena, Osi's is still deeply rooted in this enchanting city. She owned and operated the Bridge Water Inn (Florida) for 12 years and knows how to treat guests to a comfortable and memorable stay. Osi's team of support staff are all from Cartagena including some family members. Presently she is living in France with husband Steve, a solar energy pioneer and team leader for a project fashioning the future of vaccination delivery.

Osiris Alviz-McCarney purchased this apartment in 2010

Why Osiris Alviz-McCarney chose San Diego

If you have ever known the charm of the old city of Cartagena you will know that this is one of the world's special places. Someday we plan to live here amid the enchanting and lively, colonial city, enjoying our private ocean view and breezes. We welcome you to our future home!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great stay in this apartment. The location is excellent and the apartment was exceptional. Osiris and her maid (Maria) are fantastic hosts and made us feel extremely welcome. We stayed for a week and travelled with a young baby - the apartment was very well equipped with all the things you'd want. It felt like a home. We would highly recommend Osiris and this apartment - will stay here again for sure.
Aug 2015
  • 1 of 7

Reviews

4.9
based on 20 traveler reviews

Cartagena in the Old City Elegance with Magnificent Ocean Views and Sunsets
average rating of 4.95 based on 27 reviews
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

I thought this place was gorgeous and spotless! Close to restaurants and markets as well as walking distance to all the attractions that we planned to see. The amenities were great - a pool in the shade, a gym, a shaded roof with an ocean view and washing machine as well as AC in the living area and bedrooms. There were only two of us but there is plenty of room for more to stay. The complex is very secure and serene with plants and water throughout. I wish I could stay in such a lovely home every time I travel! Definitely recommend!

  • Submitted: May 28, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Ashley, You were such a great guest that the apartment will always welcome you. Please keep us in mind for future visits. I thank you for choosing us. Regards.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful apartment with poo and gym

  • 5 of 5

My family including three boys aged 17 - 24 stayed in the apartment for 8 days and loved it. The location was perfect and we could walk everywhere. The two pools were wonderful and always empty. The boys said the gym was amazing too. The apartment had everything we could want and was very clean and tidy. We enjoyed drinks on the sun deck. The owners were so helpful and did so much to help us as we didn't speak Spanish. They even sorted car hire, and gave so much good advise and help. I would recommend it to anybody looking for a rental in Cartagena. Having a pool made such a difference after a long day of walking. The whole complex is beautifully looked after and gives a feeling of peace in a very busy town.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, We are so happy you and your family enjoyed the facilities and the city. Remember you have a home away from home in Cartagena any time! Regards and thanks.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home away from home in the walled city, with lots of stairs!

  • 5 of 5

The location is about as good as it gets in Cartagena. I stayed with my wife, 2 young children, and our nanny. We were warned that it might be tough with small children as there are flights of stairs separating each bedroom and the terrace. It was fine for us because our nanny was there but note that it could be risky for unsupervised children. The pools were great, the security staff were very polite and professional and the apartment itself was clean, comfortable, and suited our needs perfectly. Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying with us and you and your family are always welcome.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic location

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time to Cartagena and had debated what part of town to stay in. The location of this townhouse is perfect for those looking to explore the walled city - close to great shops, restaurants etc. The amenities of this complex were top notch - 24 hour security, gardens, 2 pools, gym, steam room, sauna, roof top Jacuzzi's - all impeccably maintained. The unit itself was clean, well equipped and modern. We especially enjoyed the rooftop patio with great views of the ocean and sunset. To note, this is a townhouse with many stairs and might not be suitable for some guests. We would not hesitate to recommend this unit and would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, Thanks for taking your time to review my property and please come back anytime, you know my home will be open for you and your group. I am very happy you enjoyed it. You will be always welcome!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This place is simply incredible

  • 5 of 5

This place was so much more than expected. Pictures made no justice.

Great location, exclusive, beautiful. The complex has great amenities, pools, sun decks, spa.

The house is super comfortable, modern, and we loved the rooftop.

We would definitely come back and stay here.

Also, consider hiring their house lady. She was very helpful and a good cook. Ask her to make you "arepas de huevo"

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is true, the pictures do not do it justice and you cannot say enough about Maria. Thanks and you are welcome anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Jose, Costa Rica
5

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at this Unit. The owner was very helpful and the Apartment lived up to and exceeded our expectations. Nicely appointed with fully equipped kitchen and a lot of decorative touches that gave it a "homey" feel. Great location, friendly staff. Absolutely no complaints. We really appreciated the internet phone that allowed us to make free calls to the US. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Doyle, I am very happy you enjoy and like our place. You are welcome to be back. Pura Vida.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
13 Miles
Aereopuerto Rafael Antonio Nunez
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Hotel Santa clara
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Marbella and Bocagrande
Car: not necessary

Heart of Old City, 10 Min to Beaches, Convention Center & Airport

Other Activities: boating, health/beauty spa, gym.

All mayor restaurant are walking distance as well the historic attractions beside the condominium is a historic site that few has a chance to know. One block distance you will find small convenient store call "Carulla" where you can do groceries and also is our famous coffee house Juan Valdez and across a juice bar call "Pan de Bono" a very local site.

The complex has 24 hours security and a peace that you will enjoy as soon as you entrance.

One block behind our complex you will find "La cevicheria" where you can find great ceviches but I also recommend our maid Maria's recipe. I recommend walk and walk all the plazas and colonial street where you will be with the locals that are always happy and smiling.

Cartagena has some beach 10 minutes to Bocagrande or 10 to Marbella either one you choose be prepare for the informal seller if you want not get involve just ignore them. I recommend go to the Rosario Island a day trip that included lunch and will bring you back around 4PM, Maria can help you with reservation to a good tour.

I also recommend a city tour take will take to the Castillo de San Felipe the major fort that Cartagena has. I work with a person that has a SUV and can give a private tour up to 4 people, just let me know and I will put you in contact with him as well he offers pick up and drop off at the airport.

There are several ATM at plaza de la Aduana and is safe area since is inside the walls, take the same precaution as if you were in any cosmopolitan city. Cartagena offer several international festival so check at your arrival what is going on, where must of them are in December (Classic music festival) end ofJanuary "Hay Festival" a very good festival (my favorite) where writers and deep thinkers are invite to discuss different themes or political, economic situations.

There is also the International festival of cinematography (FICCI) the oldest of South America with a FREE entrance to so many movies than you can not see them all(Feb). Let's d not forget our Cartagena Party where we celebrate our independency from Spain but also the beauty contest to choose our next Miss Colombia and join the Colombian to celebrate our parade with as many contestant aspire to be Miss Colombia.(most add my husband love it!)

In the Condominium enjoy the jacuzzis, sauna, pool adults and also we for children, the gym our just the garden with the water walls that bring so much calm and peace.

I must add that Maria the maid is included in the price as she will come everyday at the time you request to CLEAN the apartment but if you need any additional services as cook, wash cloth, iron, you must agree with her a fee.

Please feel free to ask any question, I will be more than happy to answer you.

Photos

Rates & Availability

San Diego Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season
Jun 1 2016 - Nov 3 2016
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Miss Colombia Pegeant
Nov 4 2016 - Nov 12 2016
3 night minimum stay
$325
$2,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
High Season
Dec 16 2016 - Dec 25 2016
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$400
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
End of the Year
Dec 26 2016 - Jan 3 2017
7 night minimum stay
$600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Middle Season
Jan 16 2017 - Mar 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
$2,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$245
$1,600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $200

Prices are available in COP at the exchange of the reservation time.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

San Diego Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Covered Parking
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Full 1 - toilet , shower , bidet
    Full 2 - toilet , shower , bidet
    Half 1 - toilet
  • Bathrooms are modern and new.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • The bedrooms are locate in the second and third floor, each bedroom has a queen bed and a sofa sleeper. Both bedrooms have a balcony facing the garden and waterfall.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • Steam Shower
  • Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Daily Maid Service
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • volcano
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Catering Available and Maria the maid can be hire for additional $25 USD a day to cook the three meals for you if you want to test our regional meals, I strongly recommend her. She can go with your list of supermarket items and money and bring supplies home. Maria is a very honest person that cook and clean superb! Also for the same fee she will do you laundry and iron if you need it.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties