check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Josy or Karen Ryan

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

A 'Stones Throw' to the Beach from This Charming House

25 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Opal Cliffs House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

PETS ARE WELCOME BUT RULES ARE STRICTLY ENFORCED AS SHOW IN THE HOUSE RULES. The pet must be reported in the original request and a $50 charge per pet will be applied. If the pet is not reported the charge will be deducted from the deposit.

The location of this property is between the harbor and Capitola. A few short blocks away is Pleasure Point where the surfing spectacles are endless. Our small street is quiet and friendly and parking during the high seasons is limited to homeowners and their guests. The tasteful furnishings will make entertaining a pleasure.

A short drive down the Monterey Peninsula brings you to world class golf courses and the charming seaside towns of Carmel, Pacific Grove and Monterey. In the other direction a short drive takes you into the beautiful Santa Cruz Mountains with small towns nestled in the redwoods along the way. The world famous Santa Cruz Beach and Boardwalk are 10 minutes away and will give those who enjoy the excitement of roller coasters something to talk about back home.

30 MINUTES TO SHUTTLE FOR A T & T GOLF TOURNAMENT IN JANUARY. BOOK EARLY AND SAVE!

Keywords:

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Josy or Karen Ryan (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Josy or Karen Ryan

A family from the South Bay Area with daughter (property manager) 5 minutes from the beach house and available in an emergency

Josy or Karen Ryan purchased this house in 1984

Why Josy or Karen Ryan chose Santa Cruz

loved the area and the house

Reviews

4.8
based on 25 traveler reviews

A 'Stones Throw' to the Beach from This Charming House
average rating of 4.8 based on 25 reviews
5

Quiet and relaxed area, totally enjoyed our stay

  • 5 of 5

Will definitely stay again with our family including our two little dogs.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sacramento Area
5

Perfect house! Perfect location!

  • 5 of 5

Very accommodating owner. A block from the beach. Warm outdoor shower for post beach rinse off. Updated yet cozy interior. Two great decks. Great place overall!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location and management

  • 4 of 5

We had a great experience in this beach house. It was recently remodeled, and the owner/manager was great to make sure we had fantastic vacation.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

SUPER FABULOUS BEACH HOUSE!!

  • 5 of 5

GREAT location! Clean & beautiful home! I recommend this place to EVERYONE who visits Santa Cruz!

We were here for my sister's wedding & this home far exceeded my expectations. It accommodated my parents & kids with plenty of room leftover (thank goodness!). And Karen, the owner, is a true professional! Thank you for the beautiful flowers, tasty wine & thoughtful card! What a warm welcome!

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Boise idaho
4

Denise

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed the location of the house and access to the beach was very close. Close enough to walk back to house for bathroom breaks or grab drinks etc. Great patio front and back. Wonderful outdoor shower. I was surprised, however, at the lack of beach accessories. No beach towels, toys, blanket etc... met a lady on the beach who was vacationing and their rental house had beach chairs, toys and wet suits. Went to goodwill and purchased stuff for under $20 so not a big deal but would be a great gesture from owner if some things were left at house for renters use. Other than that, no complaints and would rent again.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Davis, CA
5

The perfect vacation home within a stones throw from the beach

  • 5 of 5

My family and I spent this past Christmas and New Years with our pets at this charming house. The house was comfortably furnished and equipped with everything that we needed to cook and celebrate the holidays in a beautiful, relaxed setting. The beach, which is amazingly close, can be accessed from a number of angles, or you can just watch the sun set over the water either from the back porch or just down the road at a bench overlooking the water. The neighborhood is quiet, and it provided a lovely area to soak up some rays while getting exercise.

The owners are very friendly and accommodating. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the house, and I hope that we can make it back sooner rather than later!

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Shadowbrook
The Hook
Pizza My Heart
Oneill Wetsuit Outlet
Capitola City Beach
"Best place for people watching, activities and beautiful beach. Maybe a whale or two?"
Capitola Begonia Festival
Gayle's Bakery
Nearest Point of Interest
Mr. Kong's Market
Nearest Point of Interest
"Twin Lakes" Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
The Tide Pools
Nearest Point of Interest
Sunny Cove
Nearest Point of Interest
Amazing Sandwiches
Nearest Point of Interest
Bench at the Cliff
Car: recommended

Short Drive from San Francisco and San Jose Airports

Other Activities: kayaking, boating, health/beauty spa

Photos

Rates & Availability

Opal Cliffs House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall, Winter, Spring
Sep 8 - May 25
3 night minimum stay
$285
From
$285
Thu,Fri,Sat
$1,750
 
 
High Season-Summer
May 26 - Sep 7
3 night minimum stay
$375
From
$375
Thu,Fri,Sat
$2,275
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$375
From
$375
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,345
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $150
Pet Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 11.0%

Quotes are good for 48 hours only. All holiday bookings are at High Season rates. New Years, Easter,Memorial Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas. Confirmation of the reservatiion is final when the $300 deposit plus VRBO fees are remitted.


*In the event of cancellation:
*Full refund 45 days in advance
*50 % refund 30 days in advance
**No refunds except cleaning, tax and deposit with less than 15 day cancellation.
***We have no control over the Occupancy tax imposed by the County of Santa Cruz. As of July 1, 2013, the rate is 11% of the rental charge. This charge will be assessed to the tenant.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Opal Cliffs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Queen size Beds (1), Full size (1), 2 twins 0Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1) average size 'pack and play'
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
an outdoor Shower, Front & Back Deck, rooftop deck for wider views.

Partner Offers