check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Dhorea Ryon

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish

2 bdrm house on the Beach!

40 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

La Paz House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 3-5)

The Little House at the Beach is the perfect getaway and the best deal in Baja Sur. There is a reason we have been classified as a 5 star accommodation. Experience the sun, sand, beautiful sunrises and sunsets that you will never forget. This two bedroom, 2 bath casita is your home away from home. Sit on the front porch and watch the waves roll in or watch the plentiful variety of birds coming for their morning meal. The 4 ft pool is safe for children and the yard totally fenced. Here you are free from the hustle and bustle of city life. Private entrance to the roof deck where you can enjoy suntanning or star gazing. A Telescope is located on the deck. Use the 2 kayaks to explore the bay.

Experience the tranquility of La Paz that most guests seek and you will know why many return to La Paz year after year and some like myself just don't leave.

Things to do during your stay:

Included in your rental package are the use of two kayaks and an exercise area complete with free weights plus a 200 dvd collection and a large selection of paperbacks. Wifi is available on the property and you are hardwired in the casita.

We have space for your trailer or boat.

You can stroll the local beach or head to the incredible rock formations at San Juan del La Costa.

If you enjoy Bird watching, this is the place to be. There are 60 species of birds that have been sited in this area. Don't forget your binoculars.

Take the boat tour to Isla Espiritu Santos and see the colonies of sea lions up close. The scenery is unbelievable and it is a trip not to be missed.

If you are into snorkelling, there are a variety of excellent places to go.

Take a day trip to Todo Santos for sightseeing and souvenir shopping.

Check out the wind and kite surfing at La Ventana.

Spend the morning or afternoon shopping in downtown La Paz. Dine at one of the many local restaurants, or just walk the beautiful Malecon.

Or just lie around the pool and suntan!!

Hope to see you soon!

Keywords: CASITA, TWO BEDROOM, 2 Bathrooms BEACH, PATIO, OCEAN VIEW. Children, some dogs, alternate lifestyle friendly.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Dhorea Ryon (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish

About Dhorea Ryon

I am originally from Vancouver Canada, I relocated to La Paz in 2005 and quickly immersed myself in volunteer activities. While here you will enjoy your privacy and will want to return, many times over.

Dhorea Ryon purchased this house in 2003

Why Dhorea Ryon chose Baja California Sur

I purchased my home in La Paz in 1999 and added the spacious casita in 2008. I found the city to be extremely clean and safe. I love the climate.

What makes this house unique

Sun, sun and more sun and a variety activities that will keep you as busy as you want to be.

Reviews

4.7
based on 40 traveler reviews

2 bdrm house on the Beach!
average rating of 4.725 based on 40 reviews
5

Higly Recommended!

  • 5 of 5

We just spent the most wonderful time at the Casita on the beach! the house is in perfect shape, very clean and has everything you may need, it is truly like your "home away from home"; the pools are awesome, the garden, the view of the sea and La Paz at night...it cannot get any better. Dhorea is a wonderful host, she is was always available and very accommodating on our needs (keep up the good work!).

  • Submitted: May 30, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Very Comfy Beach House

  • 4 of 5

This house was furnished very comfortably, and located only steps from the beach. There are also 2 pools to choose from. The owner was very accomodating and happy to help with recommendations, etc.

Everything we needed was available to us, including an electric juicer and blender for smoothies and coctails.

It was fully-fenced for our dogs, and there is a cool observatory and exercise area on the roof.

The location was a little further from La Paz center than we preferred, but it was an easy 15-minute drive.

I would recommend this to friends.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely Affordable Casita

  • 5 of 5

It was exactly as advertised, the sun, sand and accommodations were great. Dhorea was very welcoming and made sure we had all we needed.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

nice place rental policies and owner interaction not so great

  • 2 of 5

I will try to separate this review into two parts because we overall liked the place but had a bad experience with the rental policies towards the end of our stay. We give the location and home four stars and the rental policies one star and then round up to two stars overall for good measure.

The Property: Great location on the bay, we also really enjoyed having the use of the kayaks. You definitely need a car as it is not close to shops or restaurants. La Paz is great and the malecon is about a 20 minute drive from the home. The owner has put together a nice binder to orient you to restaurants and shops both nearby and in La Paz. This is a great launch pad to see La Paz and the surrounding beach areas. Beautiful and peaceful location.

Rental Policies and Owner Interaction: The owner was flexible with arrival time and received us personally. The owner has three large dogs on the property that are not friendly and bark a fair amount. The owner kept these dogs away from our children except for the last day when one of the workers brought one of the dogs to the front of the home where our children were playing. The owner lives in the home behind the unit and came by pretty much every day with one concern or another. We personally would have preferred a little more privacy, others may prefer a more engaged host but we really just wanted family time. The owner did not perform any sort of inspection with us when we arrived or left but retained our entire damage deposit for reasons that included a ripped piece of printer paper in the three ring binder of information on la paz and a disposable styrofoam cooler whose handle fell off when we picked it up. The owner also alleged that my children wet a bed they never slept in and broke two lamps we never used. So I would say buyer beware with this one, it is priced well but be prepared to have your deposit withheld and calculate that risk into the total price.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Most people have been very happy in this casita. I greet you and hand over the keys and then unless you need something you do not see me. I have only two large dogs. My dogs are always segregated from the visitors unless they ask to meet or to walk them. The dogs never ever enter the large fenced yard that the casita sits in. One of the dogs is a large rambunctious puppy who will jump up on people and because of this I keep him away from the guests. The dogs are in the house most of the time and there is not excessive barking. To get an idea how people view and enjoy this casita please read the other 37 or so reviews!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Extremely satisfied!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the casita on the beach. We had everything we needed for our stay, and we loved using the kayaks. The rooftop deck was a great place to do yoga in the morning. Dhorea sent us to the best restaurants and places to shop. She was very helpful. You absolutely need a car when staying here, and we rented one in La Paz from Europcar for a fair price.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time staying here. Relaxing by the pool was the best.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
La Paz, Baja California
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Big Ruby's Cantina, Mez.Verde, Blue Marlin
Nearest Ferry
25 Miles
Pichilingue Baja Ferry
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Carretera 1 ( 3 minutes)
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Kilometres
Two Italian Restaurants are located very close by
Nearest Beach
In front of the casita
Car: recommended

DIRECTIONS AT THE END OF THIS WRITE UP!

This casita is located in a colonia called Comitan. You have the option of experiencing everyday life or you can live like a tourist! Wonderful 2 bedroom 2 bathroom casita (one king, 1 double and a single bed) Sleeps 5 people. The kitchen is totally complete. There is a barbeque and a cooler for own use which can be taken off the property. For your nightime entertainment there is a 200 dvd library as well as english Satellite (Starchoice) tv plus a big choice of paperbooks and hardcover books. Private entrance to the romantic roof deck where you can see absolutely incredible views, day or night.

Families are welcome and we are dog friendly.

DIRECTIONS

From San Jose (Cabo)

The airport is located in Cabo San Jose NOT Cabo San Lucas. There are 2 ways to get to La Paz. One way is going thru Los Barriles. This is a winding highway. The other way is to drive thru San Jose to Cabo and then drive towards Todos Santos and onto La Paz. It is 4 lane half way. You can easily and safely stop in Todos santos for lunch or dinner. It is only 45 min to La Paz from TS. You want to make sure you are not going to drive in the dark and if you do so watch for cows, goats etc. Whichever way you come will take you to center point that leads into la Paz.

You will be on a 6 lane highway and as you get closer, traffic becomes heavier. Watch on your left for a large rust coloured University UABCS. A short while later you will come to a majr intersection. Turn left here. Turn left again at the next major intersection (Walmart and Home Depot will mark this intersection. Stay in your left lane, go up over an overpass and go straight.

IF YOU GET MIXED UP DO NOT HESITATE TO ASK FOR HELP. PEOPLE ARE GREAT. TELL THEM YOU ARE GOING TO CENTENARIO. ASK TO USE THERE PHONE (OFFER THEM 10 OR 20 PESOS) MOST WON'T TAKE IT

From La Paz Centro

You pass the entrance to airport...keep going straight. You will go thru Chametla and finally Centenario. As you come to the far side of Centenario, you will see a Pemex where you are forced to go left or right (attached to the Pemex is the Ardilla restaurant) Stay RIGHT for 1 block, turn right at the first paved road, go straight until you can turn at the first gravel road (there are handmade signs for restaurants and hotels) Turn right at this gravel road, proceed 2 streets until you see Calle 2, turn left and proceed to the beach. On your right you will see the little house on the beach. It is beige. Tel 612 128 8235 or cell 612 137 1463. See you soon! You are looking foor the Col Comitan

You are safe in La Paz. Don't hesitate to call if you are lost or concerned. Ask the rental for a map to get to La Paz and a La Paz map.

Safe travels

Photos

Rates & Availability

La Paz House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$57
$342
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $76
Tax Rate 16.0%

To reserve we require a deposit of 50% sent to dhorearyon@hotmail.com.
The balance is due on arrival. Cancellations made more than two months from arrival will be refunded in full minus paypal fees. Less than 2 months notice: if we can re-rent we will refund 75% of your deposit. We try extremely hard to re-rent and are usually successful.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

La Paz House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Very nice, private bath with a large shower.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Very nice new large walk in shower
  • Lots of extra towels, hair dryer, soap, hairspray, mini first aid kit, twin tips for your ears, nail policy remover etc
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Big bed, lots of extra blankets and your own full bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Lot's of sleeping areas and each bdrm has it's own bath
  • Kingsize bed (1) Nice comfy new mattress with quality linens and extra blankets, single and double bed are in bedroom (2) each have extra linens, blankets and pillows and your own bath. We can also accommodate your extra guests or family in our 2 bed full bath studio for $40usd per night. Please see VRBO 728138
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • 24 garden chairs
  • 7 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
La Paz is full of things to do and we list them all in the welcome book. Use this wonderful casita to have a restful vacation or use it as a base while you explore the incredible sights of La Paz and it's surrounding areas.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties