Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

LAKE SAWYER WATERFRONT RETREAT 4 Bedroom Lakeshore front, covered deck Sleeps 10

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,041 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

WATERFRONT w/Mt Views 4 Bedroom[5 Queen/Full sized Beds+Twins] 2.5 Bath Sleep 10

WE ARE REMODELING AGAIN- WE ARE OFFLINE UNTIL MARCH 30 --- NEW WALK-IN SHOWER ON THE MAIN FLOOR WITH HEATED FLOORS AND STONE SURROUND. - IT IS LOOKING GREAT - YOU CAN RESERVE FOR AFTER APRIL 1 THANKS

This Unique Property is close to conveniences, like Costco and Walmart, yet private and secluded from the noise of the City. We are in the town of Black Diamond, which is adjacent to the City of Covington and due east for SeaTac International Airport nestled in the foothills of the nearby Cascade Mountains.

The Property has an open floor plan with access to the party deck with only a few steps to the water. As the deck is covered rain or shine it is the perfect place to read a book, watch the fishermen or the wild geese or grab a canoe or kayak and go fishing or play on the water. We require the use of our many life jackets as safety is most important.

We will upload a new video once construction is complete

BEDROOM #1: This light an open bedroom is upstairs and has a spectacular view of Lake Sawyer and Mt. Rainier peaking over the trees and greenery, with a backdrop of the hills and trees in the distance. Truly breath-taking. For your privacy just close the new designer shutters and the room gets darker. There is a ceiling fan and summer fan when it is warm or just use the central air conditioning. This room has a queen bed with a sunburst window.

BEDROOM #2: Is also on the second floor and has a view of the lake with a private deck. This room also has a queen bed.

BEDROOM #3: This is the main floor Suite with a queen bed and private full bath. All the bedrooms have flat screen TVs and Comcast Xfinity Cable as well as WIFI connection to the Internet.

BEDROOM #4 This is the largest bedroom located on the entry level. It has french doors that open right out to the lake, with a private patio. This room has 2 full-sized beds and extra twin mattresses. There are plenty of linens for the extra Twins in the linen closet.

LOFT: There are two twins in the loft just outside the two upstairs bedrooms.

RV Parking - The driveway is long enough that you can back in your RV right through the gate and back it up to the door. Even after that there is room for several (probably 6 or 7 more) other vehicles.

This lake side Retreat with Awesome views is a perfect place to get away for a relaxing stay - this waterfront oasis is a 2,040 SF lake house, and rests serenely on Lake Sawyer where the grass goes right to the water's edge and is a sanctuary for your senses, with spectacular lake and Mt Rainier views all behind a private gate.

Change is Good - Our contractor is finishing updating the house again, with more to come (every year we change something - this round we are changing a small tub shower combo in the main floor full bath into a walk-in shower with stone work and glass doors and we went crazy and added heated floors so the tile will be warm.

The living room opens to a large deck that is completely covered with a breakfast table and chairs. We have two new barbecue grills so you can cook with different temperatures on side by side grilles all under cover.

Bring your ski boat or fishing boat right to the yard.

It is a really fun place for you and your family and friends to play, so much that you will not want to go home. You will be right on the water, the lawn flows right down to the water, where your boat can be docked.

This waterfront get-away comprises two-levels. The house has a FULL BATH en-suite for this main floor QUEEN BEDROOM. The house can sleep up to 10 guests.

The MAIN level features a spacious great room, with a stone-faced gas fireplace with a 55' wall-mounted flat screen TV with Comcast cable complemented with comfortable seats and large dining area that seats 10 with large picture windows. The glass doors open to the lake and provide access. The house is perfect for entertaining and allows you to cook to your heart’s delight in the convenient kitchen or on the deck BBQ and enjoy dinner lakeside on the deck.

The UPPER level features TWO private QUEEN BEDROOMS, BOTH w/ lake view – a getaway unto itself, one with a private deck. The loft features a foosball table and air hockey, as well as sleeping space, and a half Bathroom. The second bedroom (Queen size bed) and third bedrooms (Queen Sized Bed) both with amazing lake views. More can be accommodated utilizing the loft area with extra twin beds or inflatable beds. Use the open space in the great room to accommodate more.

There is also a washer and dryer. New Stainless Steel Dishwasher and Oven and Range....Enjoy Comcast TV in the Great Room.

The lake access area features a spacious deck to soak up the sun, take a dip in the lake, or catch fish off shore (the lake gets a summer stock of trout and a famous bass hole is right in front of the house) with a fire pit by the water.

Enjoy peace and quiet, tranquility in this beautiful lake front community, with motor boating, skiing, canoeing, Kayaking, hiking trails, parks, tennis courts, mountain bike trails, and golfing are all nearby. We do not provide food, daily maid service or disposable kitchen products. We are 45 minutes from downtown.

For those returning you will love the changes, but we keep the comfortable feel.

This home is privately owned. NO SMOKING / Sorry NO pets... Must be at least 25 years old to rent..

NOTE: This home has air conditioning. Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice

Keywords: Waterfront Home, Retreat, Lakefront, Cabin, Lakehouse, Lake Sawyer, Estate

Outstanding Golf courses nearby Jade Greens, Washington National

More Details

Owner
Pam Millard
Member since: 2010
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2018

About Pam Millard

On January 2, 2017 I have commenced managing this property and am excited for this opportunity to provide quality vacation rentals for our guests - I'm Pam if you have any questions just email me directly. Ken is the builder and is available to assist if you need help.

Pam Millard purchased this house in 2017

Why Pam Millard chose Black Diamond

Our family purchased this home and just love to spend time here. But we have an active family and are not able to be here all the time and want to allow others the same opportunity.

What makes this house unique

This property is unique. It is magical to sit in front of the fireplace reading a book and watch the sunrise. Then catch a fish right of the lake side or just relax. Then take your boat or your jet skis around the lake then to return to roast marshmallows on the fire pit. This is the relaxed life you deserve.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Russ



A quick note to let you know how much I enjoyed staying at your Lake Sawyer cabin. Everything I needed or even thought about needing was readily available. The lake view was fantastic. So enjoyed watching the geese, ducks, birds and other wildlife. Activities available were marvelous from the air hockey and other games and books to the kayak for enjoying a peaceful ride on the lake. Thanks again for the opportunity to enjoy a special time of relaxation and fun. VB
May 2011
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Black Diamond House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2041 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , AMAZING VIEW
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , AMAZING VIEW AND DECK
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , ATTACHED BATHROOM
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , GREAT VIEW WITH FRENCH DOORS AND WALK OUT PATIO TO THE LAKE
    Loft - 2 twin/ single , ADDITIONAL INFLATABLE BEDS
  • Queen size Beds (3), (1) Full and (2) Twin or Single Beds (3) Plus air matteresses
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
12% Complete
9% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
LAKE SAWYER WATERFRONT RETREAT 4 Bedroom Lakeshore front, covered deck Sleeps 10
average rating of 4.4848485 based on 35 reviews
HERRIMAN, UT
5

We had such a wonderful time, even with the rain😂?

  • 5 of 5

The house was awesome! Beds were great. View is amazing. A lot of things to do at the house. Thank you for making our Stay so awesome.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you - you guys were excellent guests. Please come again
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fort Collins, CO
5

Hidden Gem

  • 5 of 5

We loved out stay at Lake Sawyer Waterfront Retreat. We have a large family and it's hard to find places where everyone can be comfortable. This place was perfect! There were 7 beds (3 queen, 2 double, and 2 twin) so everyone had a place to be without having to share a space. The kids spent all their time on the lake using the kayaks/canoe. The home had everything anyone would need. I appreciated the use of a washer/dryer as everyone got wet a lot from the rain. It's very close to Maple Valley which made shopping very convenient. I was the most surprised at how quiet it was. We spent a lot of time on the deck just relaxing, listening to the birds and watching the sunset. I highly recommend this place!

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was very nice

  • 5 of 5

The owner is wonderful, always prompt to get back to you, accommodating, the House is nice and warm, loved the atmosphere of peace.

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
-
3

Nice place to stay with a few too many disappointments

  • 3 of 5

This house is a nice place to stay but it took some time to get over the initial disappointment. The view is nice, and the photographer did a wonderful job of making this place look palatial, but it's actually just nice - with all kinds of mix and match dinnerware, glasses and silverware. A sharp knife and a pair of kitchen scissors would go a long way. If you like a thick gel mattress pad on your bed, you might get a good night's sleep, but no one in our party did. The living room furniture is comfortable and the long dining table is nice, but if anyone is sitting at the dining room table there's no room to move.

  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
3

surprised

  • 3 of 5

There was a water leak all over the floor of the kitchen when we arrived. It was taken care of promptly though. There was garbage under the sink, dirt in the bath tub and large stains on the carpet. Some spot cleaning would help. Don't expect the whole carpet to be cleaned. Just surprised and disappointed by the lack of attention to detail. It would be helpful to have a sensor light at the front door for when guests arrive after dark. I had to use my phone flashlight to see the lock. Turning the heat on the day guests arrive would be nice also. Because of the water problem and the cold house, we left for 2 hours until both could be remedied. It was a beautiful spot and things went pretty well otherwise. You might want to consider converting one of your bathtubs to a shower for older guests.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that you were disappointed. I apologize that the waterline leaked during your stay. Please remember that the maintenance man was there and gone within an hour, and cleaned up everything, removing the used materials that the cleaners had left; they usually don't make such mistakes. Again, I apologize. We have the carpets in the entire house cleaned quarterly, and they were cleaned just after you left, so I am sorry for the bad timing. The debate between a tub with a shower, or just a single shower (omitting the tub) is a difficult one, as many people still prefer the option of having both. We, therefore, have kept both full baths with the tub/shower combination rather than changing one or both to a stall shower only. Your idea for a motion sensor light is a good one! We will have the serviceman make the change!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great view and location. In good shape.

  • 5 of 5

Great stay and Lake access is perfect.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you please come again
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
22 Miles
Seattle-Tacoma International Airport

We provide a welcome package that tell about rentals, resturaunts and shopping that we send upon your reservation

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $245 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.6%

The Security Deposit is only a hold placed on your credit card no actual cash is required $1,000

Cleaning fee is $155 for small groups and $195 for larger groups over 9 people.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.