Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Eleven Feet from the Ocean with Unobstructed Moloka'i View

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Hawaii Tax I.D. W55325517-01

Please click on the video!

(Check-in 4PM Check-out 11AM)

Aloha!

A beautiful ocean, beach front location where you can forget all your stresses and be at peace. This two bedroom, one full and half bath, ground floor, corner unit condominium is in a delightful location. 11 feet from the ocean. Eight paces to the ocean steps & you are on the beach or taking a dip in very swimmable water! You can sit out on your large, semi private travertine tiled lanai sipping your morning coffee or enjoying a romantic dinner with the surf as your back ground music.

This quiet location is ideal for those who want to get away from it all. At the same time, it is wonderful for families that want a more natural environment that is less commercial, but has a convenient location.

The two reefs, off shore, are a great snorkeling location & at low tide a shallow lagoon forms, great for younger children(see photo) who love to find crabs, small trapped fish and have fun in the shallow water. A wider, sandy beach is only 200 feet to your right from the access steps or a short walk on the street to the public park. At the park you will find:grassy areas under shade trees and play structures for little tykes.

The condominium was completely remodeled in November and December of 2010. It is constantly being cared for and replenished (linens, beach gear, etc., and in 2016 a new 48" SMART T.V. Blu-Rey was added. The complex is also under new management and doing well by this quiet, little boutique resort with it's classic Maui style and low density population.

A developer/contractor and design team have brought about a design concept that is modern, fresh and has a quiet beauty that reflects the environment. Elegant materials such as travertine, sea glass mosaics, granite, bamboo, brushed steel/nickel and ceramics and a punctuation of rattan and island florals that come together to achieve a wonderful ambience.

Lanai: Travertine tiled, tropical vegetation on both sides and full ocean front. Sunsetter blinds on the lanai can be brought down to offer late afternoon shade.

The living room: Wall to wall patio slider and louvre windows so that you are never without your ocean view or sounds of the surf or watching the sun set. Furnished with a blend of tropical influences and modern clean lines it is the perfect retreat. We have installed a new 2016 addition 48" SMART T.V. Also a Blu-Ray and I Home for your convenience.

PHONE: Free long distance to the main land & Canada. Hi speed internet available. A.C if desired.

Dining seating: casual bistro set, situated off from the kitchen. The kitchen granite island also offers more seating. Lanai dining: round teak table will seat 4-6 and there are a couple of kitchen stools or additional chairs in the bedrooms if needed.

The kitchen: Beautiful custom bamboo cabinetry, brushed metals and ocean inspired granite:Sea Foam. New stainless appliances, all the utensils, cook ware and dishes you would ever need to make the great ocean front lanai into your private dining room at sun set. Coffee maker, French press, blender, toaster and microwave and George Forman grill.

Basic supplies and seasonings, all there to help. BBQ's available on the grounds at the pool area.

The bedrooms: A queen with its dark rattan, large ceiling fan, louvers and quiet soothing green tones. Vanity area, good closet space & plenty of drawers. The twin with its cute bamboo accents, large ceiling fan and louvres. Beds are side by side, but can easily be pushed together or put in an "L" shape if you have a travel crib and want to sleep three little ones. In case you have two additional in your party, there are two hotel style fold away cots. Both bedrooms have top down bottom up blinds and louvre windows allowing the breezes through.

Bathrooms: The spa influenced full bathroom with it's walk in shower (with granite seat & grab bars for anyone needing extra help) is accented in travertine, sea glass and Sea Foam granite. Vanity drawers & med cabinet to store all your items away. A hair dryer is also included. Half bath adds extra convenience.

Beach towels/chairs/cooler/umbrella/boogie boards and snorkels(may vary)are also available for your convenience and stored away in a large utility closet.

The grounds are lush, established and wonderfully tropical. There is a pool with ice and vending machines, handy for the kids. The open air laundry room operates until late evening. Iron & ironing board supplied in the unit. You will need to save your quarters.

Location, location, location!! 5 minutes from Historic Lahaina and The Cannery Mall and wonderful downtown restaurants. Minutes drive from beautiful Kapalua. Stores, including: a super market in walking(1/10 ml) distance, a farmers market. Other super markets and shopping centers all within a 5-10 minute drive. Casual restaurants are close by too. An 8 minute walk to the right of the complex takes you to 'The Beach Walk'. This is a public walk way that goes along the dunes and through the large resorts on Ka'anapali beach all the way to Black Rock. On the other side of Black Rock you will find more golden beach with activities available.

Between December and April the hump backed whales come through on their way to the Pailolo channel. Whales can be seen from the lanai and it has been reported that calves have been born! Whale watching and boating excursions leave from Lahaina. The double band of reef outside your lanai is habitat to turtles and marine life including rays which glide past. WE have a couple of resident turtles that you may see each day of your visit!

The reef also breaks up the surf so you can enjoy quieter water for swimming and snorkeling . About two hundred feet up from the condo is a wide,r sandy beach with play structures(great for youngsters)grassy areas and shade trees..

We hope you will spend time with us and enjoy "your" little piece of paradise.

Mahalo!

mscooperation

Keywords: Ocean Front, Condo, Beach Access

11 feet from water

More Details

Owner
Doug Wallway
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 26, 2017

About Doug Wallway

We are a developer/contractor, interior design team. We live in the Truckee, Tahoe area of California. We have built/remodeled high end homes and many condos, including beautiful lake front properties. Our passion is designing and building & we love doing it in beautiful places. We feel very blessed and fortunate to have this opportunity!

Doug Wallway purchased this condo in 2010

Why Doug Wallway chose Maui

We were visiting the beautiful island, Maui for a wedding and rented at The Maui Sands. We really enjoyed the location, the low density and the ambience of the Maui Sands resort. While there, we discovered there was a unit for sale & bought it! It is an older two story complex that is right on the water. It is quiet & has a more local feel than the high rises. We really enjoy the uncommercial & quiet beauty of this location.

What makes this condo unique

We love the ocean & its sound! We are only 11 feet from the surf and it is what we have always wanted. It is an older Maui style building with charm and since we don't go to the ocean to hear hotel/pool noise and looking at other guests' balconies this place is perfect. Seeing the wild life in it's natural habitat is wonderful too. Location is central and close enough to the shops & restaurants for when you need them. The setting is so beautiful you will want to stay home for dinner and the sun sets are amazing!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hello Doug & Gay,



Thank you for the well equipped condo, we really enjoyed it



We met and chatted with the lady who does the house keeping, charming and helpful woman!
Dec 2010
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Lahaina Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom - toilet , Extra half bath w/vanity & large med cabinet for extras.
    Full Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Large walk in twin head shower with granite seat and grab ba
  • 1.5 Main bathroom has a walk in shower with a granite seat, two shower heads & grab bars, ideal for anyone needing a little assistance.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Master - 1 queen
  • Queen size Bed (1) Plenty of fresh cotton linens and pillows. All mattresses are protected and pillows have protector cases. Fold away beds : two twin roll away beds with mattress protectors and linens
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
A few steps (11 feet) from the water, swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, water play in lagoons & WHALE WATCHING right off your lanai!. Short 8 minute walk or two minute drive Ka'anapali Beach and 'beach walk', more beach next to complex. Laundry room on grounds. 2 fold away cots. Ground floor unit with wonderful access to the ocean. Close to the farmer's market & 5 minutes walk(1/10 mile) to a super market.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(55 traveler reviews)

Eleven Feet from the Ocean with Unobstructed Moloka'i View
average rating of 4.836364 based on 56 reviews
5

Exceeded Our Expectations

  • 5 of 5

We cannot say enough about the view. Waking every morning to an unobstructed lapis and turquoise colored sea followed by gorgeous sunsets every evening enhanced the magic. Moreover, it was fabulous to watch the paddlers zip by every morning and evening....a real treat.

I admit I was a bit concerned about the rocky beach. However, we took a quick trip to the store and bought $10 water shoes....and that took care of our trepidation. Although we took a day trip out to Lanai for snorkeling....we all agreed that the snorkeling in front of the condo was just as good. There is a 5 foot green sea turtle that inhabits the waters just beyond the second break and we "adopted" her....it was a real highlight of the trip to swim with her (at a respectful distance) day after day. Another important point about the water in front of the condo.....it is deceptively shallow. So, even not-so-strong swimmers can stand in the sand .... even if they venture out 50 yards.

Although we opted to eat lunch and dinner out, the kitchen was well stocked for those who chose to cook. Another highlight of the condo is its location. We zipped into Lahaina and Whalers Village for meals, but also went to the up country for horseback riding and to visit the lilac farm - both a change of pace and worthwhile diversions from snorkeling. Also, there are several food stores close by as well as an ABC store.....We failed to bring an underwater camera and were able to buy one just minutes from the condo.

The property was amazingly quiet. Usually, the only sound we heard was the crashing of the waves. Surprisingly, we never went into the pool; there was just no need. We were pleased with how well stocked the condo was with beach towels, snorkeling gear, beach chairs, and paddle boards. (We failed to notice the snorkeling gear and rented some for the week......so, be sure to check out the supplies before investing in anything.)

My only regret is that we booked our stay for one week instead of two. I have no hesitation highly recommending this property.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mary, Thank you for the fabulous review. It was very detailed and informative. Please do stay longer next time and ask for the returning guest discount. Doug
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
5

A week in paradise!

  • 5 of 5

We'd like to thank you again for sharing your home with us. We had an amazing time. The condo at Maui Sands was perfect! The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed, and the snorkel/beach equipment was so convenient! We felt right at home. The location of the condo was so close to Ka'Anapali and Lahaina. My husband was so excited that he got to swim with a sea turtle in the waves right off the lanai. We hope to return some day soon :-).

Mahalo! Brian & Andrea

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mont-St-Hilaire
5

Wonderful Vacation at Maui Sands 4A

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I and family had a wonderful two weeks at Condo 4A at Maui Sands. All the amenities needed for a great vacation were available, fully stocked kitchen and bedrooms, beach gear and of course, the incredible views off the lanai. We saw whales and turtles almost every day. A return trip is being planned!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us and for your review and don't forget to remind us to give you our return guest discount when you book your return visit
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great unit, awesome location!

  • 5 of 5

We were extremely happy with our stay in Maui Sands. The location is perfect - we've been to Maui several times before and this location was surprisingly close to everything we love. I loved hearing and seeing the ocean right outside the window. I sat on the lania for hours just relaxing and watch whales breaching and splashing - it was amazing!

The unit is very quiet - we only heard the people upstairs a few times, but overall they were fairly quiet and it was not bothersome. It's also very spacious - great layout and tons of space for our family of 4.

The weather was not the best during our stay - we had no breeze so it was uncomfortably hot at night for us. The ocean was pretty rough right outside the lanai but it calmed down on the last day of our vacation so we were able to check it out - it was miserably rocky. Definitely bring water shoes. We were so thankful to take advantage of the couple pairs available in the unit.

So many great options within walking distance - restaurants, beaches, etc. We grabbed dinner several times from the places across the street and my husband loved walking to the coffee shop each morning. We loved walking to the beach right next door as it had an area of shallow water protected by a seawall that was perfect for our children to play in. We walked there nightly to splash and watch the sunset - that was one of the best parts of our whole vacation.

The unit had everything we needed and was very well organized. The only negative thing I can say about this unit is the ants - there are warnings all over the kitchen about the ant problem and not leaving food/crumbs out. This proved to be quite an issue for us with 5 yo twins and it was really just annoying to be constantly dealing with ants.

Doug and Gay were extremely responsive and a true pleasure to work with. Thank you both!

I highly recommend this unit and look forward to coming here again!

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We really appreciate your time. The weather patterns have been really challenging these past several months in the islands with the "atmospheric river" (which is what has caused the devastating storm conditions in CA and the Pacific NW)We wish we could always guarantee great weather, but we also experienced tremendous humidity and rain back in November/December. There is usually nice sand between the two reefs and so we are thinking the storms may have taken some sand away and of course, it will come back, it' nature doing it's thing. The wider, sandy beach 200 feet north from us is a great spot, for sure! We keep a selection of water shoes for adults and children. For future guests reading this review and response: The building is professionally sprayed for pests every 3 months without fail. The tiny(dust speck sized) ants are really good at finding spills or crumbs! We don't have a problem, its just that they are great opportunists! We have a polite notice in the kitchen and also in the guest information packet. If food is left they will find it and so parents need to have children eat at the counter or table and clean up any crumbs or juice(yum) at the time. (Raid is always on hand too). Living in the tropics is wonderful, but can have challenges and perhaps the massive rainfall has driven some pests inside(temporarily) We are on schedule in a week for the next professional treatment(all the complex) The local casual dining is great for families, do take-outs and enjoy the sunsets and relax on the lanai with your cocktail, life is good! We do hope you will back and please let us know ahead of time so we can offer you a return guest discount. Your business is greatly appreciated! Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Well appointed, tastefully updated condo

  • 2 of 5

This was our second stay at this condo. We returned primarily for the beautiful view you see in the image the owner uses as his feature photo. Sadly the view and the enjoyability of the lanai is now negatively impacted by extremely moist conditions causing the seawall that keeps the ground in front of the condo (and eventually the condo I presume) from falling into the ocean. When we arrived, the grassy area in between the condo and the ocean was a large 15 foot long x 9 foot wide puddle in the morning that turned into thick, watery mud by early afternoon. A few days later, the entire area was roped off with bright yellow caution tape (designed to alarm and capture attention). After that, the beautiful relaxing view that we came back and paid a premium price for was no longer available as every time we looked out the windows from the condo, we looked first at the caution tape impeding our view. We were also told we could not walk on, or in any way use, the area in front of the lanai because it was dangerous to do so. In fact we were told by the manager onsite that the owners were in the process of applying for emergency permitting to begin construction in an attempt to remedy the problem. She also told us that there would soon be a "loud, stinky machine" in use adjacent to the condo. We thought perhaps she said that so that we would be less disappointed about the bright yellow caution tape and instead glad that it wasn't the machine we were having contending with. When we talked to the owner about what was happening he urged us to go enjoy the ocean views at one of the two decks on the property that those who have paid 1/2 the price of the ocean front units go to enjoy the ocean. He also said that the caution tape was low enough that it didn't obstruct the view and that there were other areas on the grounds for our 4 /12 year old son to play. We gave our stay a 2 star review for 3 main reasons:

1) The owner did not inform us of the issue; 2) The owners attitude regarding this issue, specifically his lack of concern that our stay at his condo was greatly effected in a multitude of ways by the seawall problems; 3) The owner has not disclosed the state of his condo as it relates to the deteriorating seawall on his VRBO listing so that those who are considering booking this condo can make an informed decision.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Lili, Gay and I appreciate the title you gave to your review of our condo. We exchanged in excess of 40 emails with you trying to satisfy your specific needs most of which were weather related and out of our control. To help you out, our neighbor offered her grassy area a few feet from our lanai for your boy to play on. Consequently, we were very surprised that you gave us less than a 5 star review. Not based upon our unit, but for 3 reasons which are not supported by the facts. The neighbor, cleaner, property manager, our reviews and our emails to future guests can verify these facts. 1) You said we did not inform you in advance of the situation with the muddy grass and the caution tape. a) As you stated, the tape was put on the grass at ground level after you arrived, so you knew about it before we did. b) We received a 5 star rating from guests who stayed there just 10 days before you arrived and they said they could see whales breach from the living room with no mention of muddy grass. 2) You said we lacked concern about how the situation was affecting you. a) We are having trouble understanding how the caution tape on the ground was taking away your enjoyment of seeing the whales breach, and viewing Molokai and the crashing surf from the living room and lanai. b) Nevertheless, without being asked to do so, we gave you a 5% refund shortly after you checked out, to compensate you for the weather related conditions and you responded by asking us for a 50 % discount which indicates a possible hidden agenda. c) The guests that checked in the day you left gave us another 5 star review saying that they sat on the lanai for hours just watching the whales breaching with no mention of the caution tape or muddy grass affecting their view. 3) You said we have not disclosed as you described it, "the deteriorating seawall” on our Vrbo site. a) We have, in fact, notified up coming guests as to the weather related situation and neither of the last two sent us any emails or called us with concerns about the situation when they were there or since, but as mentioned above one of them gave us a 5 star review. We are keeping near term future guests apprised of the situation as needed. b) There are repairs needed at this time inside the seawall in three locations none of which are in front of our condo. There is the possibility of repairs being needed to our portion of the seawall in the future and in that case we will notify any guests who may be affected.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved our stay!

  • 5 of 5

The property is perfect for a Maui vacation. Doug has stocked the unit with everything you need to enjoy a proper beach vacation. You can listen to the ocean all day, see whales breach from your living room, and watch the moon set over the ocean. The view is stunning! Would highly recommend this unit for families or couples looking for a relaxing spot on the beach.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jerry, thank you very much!! We enjoyed having you and appreciate your time in writing our 5 star review. We know the weather wasn't perfect, but we are thrilled you enjoyed our home and the beautiful island. Please let us know if you want to join us again and remind us so we can do the return guest discount before you book. Many mahalo's!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Kapalua (island flights mainly)Kahului for most
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Lahaina
Nearest Golf
1.5 Miles
Kapalua & Ka'anapili
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
Sugar Train
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Honoapi'ilan Hwy
Car: recommended

Fantastic whale watching & marine life while you sit on your lanai or look out from the unit. Whales, occasionally dolphins can be seen out further and a couple of resident turtles frequent the reef right in front of the lanai. You really can't get a better spot for viewing nature at it's best!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lahaina Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter 2017
Jan 16 2017 - Apr 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
$350
$2,400
$9,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
low season 2017
May 1 2017 - Dec 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$300
$2,000
$8,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Chrismas and New Year
Dec 16 2017 - Jan 15 2018
5 night minimum stay
$400
$2,700
$10,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
winter 2018
Jan 16 2018 - Apr 30 2018
5 night minimum stay
$350
$2,400
$9,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$300
$2,000
$8,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
cleaning $140
Tax Rate 13.25%

For stays over 10 nights, the rate for the 11th and additional nights goes down by $25 per night.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable