Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lakefront Log Cabin with Incredible View

Bedrooms 1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

This cabin is located in a historic camp that included visits from Hollywood legends from the 50's! The privacy and beauty is amazing. Fishing is great! Enjoy water sports on the lake that rarely has another boat on it.

Your cabin is a private log cabin with stone fireplace and private lakefront beach. *** We have multiple cabins***

The property is only 5 minutes off the Trans Canada Highway and 45 minutes east of Kenora. (Vermillion Bay) Restaurants, gift stores, grocery, service stations, LCBO, and more are only 10 minutes away. A great family getaway! A great place for a true family getaway.

Only 45 minutes from Lake of the Woods.

Do you need more room? Ask about additional cabins available onsite.

Keywords: Cabin, Log Cabin, Camp, Retreat

More Details

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 14, 2017

About The Owner

We have three boys and one daughter.....Three are in college and one in 2nd grade....Mrs. King is stay at home wife and I am a apparel manufacturer.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2004

Why The Owner chose Canada

I bought this property because it is the prettiest property and most peaceful place I have ever seen!

What makes this cabin unique

The uniqueness of this property is simple. Privacy that not many ever enjoy. It's like going back into time with a log cabin with fireplace and an incredible lake view built at the end of World War II.


Kenora, Unorganized Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Free Long Distance
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Kitchen
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Your cabin is part of a historic camp featuring a private log cabin with stone fireplace and private lakefront beach. Great fishing, hiking, hunting and only 3 other property owners on 25 miles of lakefront. Complete privacy. Perfect for families. Was a Hollywood getaway in the 1950's /1960's!


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

Lakefront Log Cabin with Incredible View
average rating of 4.076923 based on 13 reviews

The best trip my friends have ever had

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I came to the camp and were overwhelmed by the beauty of the surroundings and the kindness of Steven and Larry. Both were very friendly and provided all the necessities we needed such as a barbecue, boats to use, gas, utensils, canoes, firewood for the fireplace and more. Steven and Larry and truly kind-hearted people and we were blessed to have been given the opportunity to experience the camp. The lake is tranquil, the trees are lush and we were lucky enough to catch aurora borealis in the night sky on our final night there. The cabins are very well-maintained and each provide linens as well as all the pots and pans/forks/knives required for cooking. The cabin is clean and there is a full bathroom with shower for us to use, very comfortable. There is even a heater for us to use at night in case it gets cold. My friends can't wait to come back to the camp, we just had so much fun!

  • Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We sure enjoyed having you all and hope you will return again soon! Thank you again! Steven King
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Bad Experience

  • 1 of 5

Many of the amenities advertised on the web site when we booked our cabins were either not available or non-functional:

1. Commercial Kitchen (60 year old stove with an oven that the caretaker told us does not work)

2. Water trampoline (broken)

3. Washing Machine (broken)

4. Paddle board (missing)

5. Flat screen TV

During our stay we only asked once about these amenities that we had driven 16 hours to enjoy. We actually tried to avoid the staff once we saw how confrontational they were when we pointed out the missing amenities.

Then on the day before our agreed upon departure date, which was confirmed by the owner via email and text messages, the staff informed us that a wedding party was coming and we had to be packed up (24 people, 3 boats) and gone in 3 hours. This was a very stressful and shocking end to our vacation. The owner attempted to make things right by buying us hotel rooms for the night.

Our decision to write a negative review was made after the owner, even when presented with copies of text messages and email exchanges that confirmed a checkout day of July 23rd (we were forced to leave on July 22nd) and a payment that reflected a week, still refused to admit his mistake. The staff also stated that the owner had overbooked the cabins in the past and that prior guests had complained about the missing amenities. When we originally posted our review the owner responded with outrageous lies - saying that we had trashed the cabins and stolen things. We did not trash the cabins, break dishes, steal soap, break locks, or try to "steal" a day!! It is sad that the owner would lie so outrageously when faced with a negative review. My extended family group is made up of respectful, hardworking people. We teach in our community schools, serve in hospitals, work in farm businesses, and are active members of our local churches. We swept the floors, wiped the tables, vacuumed, took out the trash, washed all of the dishes, and left the cabins in very good condition even after we were only given a few hours of notice to leave.

Since this review doesn't allow us to paste in pictures of the text messages and e-mails to prove the agreed upon checkout date, we will be submitting a complaint with VRBO to show them the pictures.

Vacations are supposed to be a happy time, but we are left with a heavy heart.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ladies and gentlemen, We have had over 2000 guests stay with us over the last 10 years and this group was the first ever to write a negative review. I am a well educated, family man, and business owner who respects every guest, and every person I come across. However, I have never had anyone come to my property and treat my staff and belongings like this deplorable group. The authorities were notified as well as this respected website to warn any property owner in the future never to allow them near their home or properties. Every word in this review is either not true or twisted. What they did to my property is inexcusable. How they treated my staff was despicable! So either every person who has written these incredible reviews for ten years are all wrong or.........THIS family is!! I will let the good people who visit this site decide. Thank you for reading!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful property, amazing staff, great location!

  • 5 of 5

We had a 5 night stay at this property and couldn’t be happier. The property is beautiful, the lake is huge and impressive, and the privacy is hard to rival. We stayed in the small but charming Lakehouse cabin and we barely saw or heard the other guests. (The property is private but not all individual cabins enjoy the same level of privacy.) You couldn’t get closer to the water without being in it and the view was magnificent! We saw loons, ducks, turtles, and otters from our kitchen table. Even the bad weather was amazing – watching a thunderstorm cross the lake from the comfort of a cozy cabin was exciting and memorable. During the sunny times we really enjoyed the free access to a canoe, motor boat, fire pit, and an amazing wild blueberry patch (fresh picked blueberries for breakfast every morning, yay!). Our well-behaved dog was welcome to roam leash-free (hard to find in the resort cabin world!), and we could leave him in the cabin for an hour or two when we went out on the water.

Not everything was perfect. The paddles for the canoe are in a sorry state. Out of 4 paddles 1 is useable, 2 are broken, and 1 is sized for a child. (This problem was solved when caretaker Doug went above and beyond to offer his personal property – his own paddle – to us.) Also, the otherwise well stocked kitchen includes only table knives, not paring knives suitable for cutting vegetables nor steak knives suited to the T-bones we cooked on the convenient propane BBQ. But these small inconveniences were minor, overall it was pretty awesome.

The best part about this property is the caretaker Doug. He has this magical ability to be completely unobtrusive (most of the time we marveled at the quiet and privacy), while also being there exactly when you need him. We only saw Doug when we needed something. He would appear out of thin air right when we required help dumping rainwater from the canoe or finding more gas for the motorboat. Once we mentioned casually that we planned to roast marshmallows in the outdoor stone stove in a few minutes. 10 minutes later we walked over to find that Doug had lite a fire for us, brought chairs over, and set everything up. It is hard to have privacy and be pampered at the same time, yet Doug manages it.

We also enjoyed the surrounding area – good hiking trails in Blue Lake Provincial Park (6 minutes’ away), and a BBQ joint less than 5 minutes’ drive away. After a long day outside it was great to enjoy BBQ!

K & M Breward

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review. As the owner, I read and take every review seriously to better improve our guests experience. Your kind words are very much appreciated and thank you for mentioning our staff as they do an amazing job! Look forward to having you next year and will hold the dates you already requested for 2017!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing View!

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at the King's Lakefront Log Cabin. Sadly the weather did not cooperate, but we were able to sneak in a canoe trip around the lake before the rain hit. Our cabin was absolutely perfect with an amazing view of the lake! The camp site is very secluded and quiet and the people were very personable and kind. We will definitely be returning for another visit!

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you and we hope to see you again very soon! Steven King
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect For A Partial Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5

My family converged on this fantastic old fishing camp knowing we'd be in for a treat. It was everything we hoped for to celebrate my mom's 75th and two parts of two families each driving a ways to get there.

The location was between Dryden and Kenora, and just north of Vermilion Bay in the forest.

Steven and his property manager "Lew" (his spelling) took first class care of us. Our family of 4 stayed in the main lodge, with a beautiful fireplace and old commercial grade gas oven originally from the late 40's if memory serves. I can tell you right now, bacon has NEVER tasted better than on that griddle. :-)

We had access to two motorboats, a canoe, a BBQ, a firepit and used all of it. We successfully pulled three walleye out of the lake (with Lew's guidance and experience), and did them up on the BBQ for a fresh caught fish meal the like of which my kids had never had, but LOVED. So did everyone else.

The accommodations dating back to the 40's, are rustic but superbly maintained. There is wifi there, but it's of the cellular variety, and our mileage varied day to day with that. Since it was mostly a device free holiday it wasn't a big deal. Cell phone calls weren't a problem with Telus, but Rogers was a bit weaker, though still reliable. Not sure about Bell since none of our party had phones on that network.

The lake is beautiful. My kids appreciated the trampoline/tube not far from one of the docks, and we ALL loved the quiet of it all. It's so peaceful, and so relaxed that we just had a great time - and so did our dog. She was tired for a week after all the swimming and chasing sticks.

Blue Lake Provincial Park close by is an easy hike for the young and moderately fit - it's only 3 kilometres away, about a half hour walk including our 11 year old. The lake lives up to its name - it's blue, unlike the brownish tinge of most Northern Ontario lakes. That brownish tinge is caused by mineral deposits and tannins from fallen trees, not anything you need to worry about, but it was nice for the kids to swim in the blue water and there's a lovely beach and day area. It's popular though - so depending on the season, I can see it being busy with regulars as well as tourists.

Good thing we had our own lake. :-)

Couple of tips: gas and food are both cheaper in Dryden than in Vermilion Bay although it certainly does in a pinch. I'd highly recommend it. The pictures are accurate depictions of the facility. Beautiful!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Winnipeg, Manitoba

A cute little place

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I stayed in cabin number 3 from August 7th - August 10th. Over all it was an ok stay. The cabin we stayed in had a double bed and two singe beds. The double bed was so hard and springy we couldn't sleep on it! So my husband and I slept on the two single beds for our vacation.

The plumbing there was really not great. Had tons of air in the pipes so it was next to impossible to wash our dishes without getting water all over us and the cabin. We still had a great time though!

The view from our cabin was wonderful! Spent a lot of time outside and down by the dock.

Steven King is the owner and he was wonderful in asking if we needed anything before the trip. Also his assistant Alexis was amazing. They only had a public BBQ for everyone to use and we wanted to ask for our own private one. She let us use a charcoal grill for our personal use and that was really nice.

Overall it was a good time and we would really like to come back, but new beds really need to be put in the cabins and the plumbing was just awful. I would not reccomend this cabin for a romantic getaway as in no way was it romantic. The bathroom tub had rust in it and sleeping on two separate beds was not what we had in mind. The cabin needs some fixing up inside but outside view was awesome!

Our goal was to have a quiet relaxing vacation and we did get that. I would return if there would be some tlc given to the cabins (well #3 anyways).

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Owners response: Our guests comments and suggestions are vital in producing the best experience we can offer. Our guest in this case is 100% correct! Because we were 100% capacity, our only option was the cabin they stayed in. On our schedule presently, we are going to replace each and every mattress in this cabin as it is being totally renovated(the last cabin renovation) this fall 2015. There is no doubt the other five premium cabins are amazingly better than this one but by next summer, this one will be on par with the entire camp! We do have two(2) main fire pits that each have a propane BBQ and three(3) additional charcoal grills guests can use or even take to their cabin. We haven't had any issues brought to my attention regarding guests using these BBQ's but there are times when we have to be considerate of everyone on the property and that is our goal. Our camps water comes from a standpoint 30 feet below the ground and this summer we had installed a backup pump so guests would never be without water even if main pump broke. In adding this second pump, we encountered a vacuum in our lines that will be corrected once we close camp down and can pressurize each water hose replacing with winter fluids . Next year, there should be any issue whatsoever. We thank you for your comments as I always take them seriously to address any issue and make your stay exceptional. Steven King-Owner We sure hope this guest returns next summer and sees the improvements.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1



Rates & Availability

Kenora, Unorganized Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
May 1 2017 - Sep 9 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $182.95

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send Email Send Email

You might like these similar properties