When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.Learn more
This cabin is located in a historic camp that included visits from Hollywood legends from the 50's! The privacy and beauty is amazing. Fishing is great! Enjoy water sports on the lake that rarely has another boat on it.
Your cabin is a private log cabin with stone fireplace and private lakefront beach. *** We have multiple cabins***
The property is only 5 minutes off the Trans Canada Highway and 45 minutes east of Kenora. (Vermillion Bay) Restaurants, gift stores, grocery, service stations, LCBO, and more are only 10 minutes away. A great family getaway! A great place for a true family getaway.
Only 45 minutes from Lake of the Woods.
Do you need more room? Ask about additional cabins available onsite.
Keywords: Cabin, Log Cabin, Camp, Retreat
We have three boys and one daughter.....Three are in college and one in 2nd grade....Mrs. King is stay at home wife and I am a apparel manufacturer.
The Owner purchased this cabin in 2004
I bought this property because it is the prettiest property and most peaceful place I have ever seen!
The uniqueness of this property is simple. Privacy that not many ever enjoy. It's like going back into time with a log cabin with fireplace and an incredible lake view built at the end of World War II.
My friends and I came to the camp and were overwhelmed by the beauty of the surroundings and the kindness of Steven and Larry. Both were very friendly and provided all the necessities we needed such as a barbecue, boats to use, gas, utensils, canoes, firewood for the fireplace and more. Steven and Larry and truly kind-hearted people and we were blessed to have been given the opportunity to experience the camp. The lake is tranquil, the trees are lush and we were lucky enough to catch aurora borealis in the night sky on our final night there. The cabins are very well-maintained and each provide linens as well as all the pots and pans/forks/knives required for cooking. The cabin is clean and there is a full bathroom with shower for us to use, very comfortable. There is even a heater for us to use at night in case it gets cold. My friends can't wait to come back to the camp, we just had so much fun!
Many of the amenities advertised on the web site when we booked our cabins were either not available or non-functional:
1. Commercial Kitchen (60 year old stove with an oven that the caretaker told us does not work)
2. Water trampoline (broken)
3. Washing Machine (broken)
4. Paddle board (missing)
5. Flat screen TV
During our stay we only asked once about these amenities that we had driven 16 hours to enjoy. We actually tried to avoid the staff once we saw how confrontational they were when we pointed out the missing amenities.
Then on the day before our agreed upon departure date, which was confirmed by the owner via email and text messages, the staff informed us that a wedding party was coming and we had to be packed up (24 people, 3 boats) and gone in 3 hours. This was a very stressful and shocking end to our vacation. The owner attempted to make things right by buying us hotel rooms for the night.
Our decision to write a negative review was made after the owner, even when presented with copies of text messages and email exchanges that confirmed a checkout day of July 23rd (we were forced to leave on July 22nd) and a payment that reflected a week, still refused to admit his mistake. The staff also stated that the owner had overbooked the cabins in the past and that prior guests had complained about the missing amenities. When we originally posted our review the owner responded with outrageous lies - saying that we had trashed the cabins and stolen things. We did not trash the cabins, break dishes, steal soap, break locks, or try to "steal" a day!! It is sad that the owner would lie so outrageously when faced with a negative review. My extended family group is made up of respectful, hardworking people. We teach in our community schools, serve in hospitals, work in farm businesses, and are active members of our local churches. We swept the floors, wiped the tables, vacuumed, took out the trash, washed all of the dishes, and left the cabins in very good condition even after we were only given a few hours of notice to leave.
Since this review doesn't allow us to paste in pictures of the text messages and e-mails to prove the agreed upon checkout date, we will be submitting a complaint with VRBO to show them the pictures.
Vacations are supposed to be a happy time, but we are left with a heavy heart.
We had a 5 night stay at this property and couldn’t be happier. The property is beautiful, the lake is huge and impressive, and the privacy is hard to rival. We stayed in the small but charming Lakehouse cabin and we barely saw or heard the other guests. (The property is private but not all individual cabins enjoy the same level of privacy.) You couldn’t get closer to the water without being in it and the view was magnificent! We saw loons, ducks, turtles, and otters from our kitchen table. Even the bad weather was amazing – watching a thunderstorm cross the lake from the comfort of a cozy cabin was exciting and memorable. During the sunny times we really enjoyed the free access to a canoe, motor boat, fire pit, and an amazing wild blueberry patch (fresh picked blueberries for breakfast every morning, yay!). Our well-behaved dog was welcome to roam leash-free (hard to find in the resort cabin world!), and we could leave him in the cabin for an hour or two when we went out on the water.
Not everything was perfect. The paddles for the canoe are in a sorry state. Out of 4 paddles 1 is useable, 2 are broken, and 1 is sized for a child. (This problem was solved when caretaker Doug went above and beyond to offer his personal property – his own paddle – to us.) Also, the otherwise well stocked kitchen includes only table knives, not paring knives suitable for cutting vegetables nor steak knives suited to the T-bones we cooked on the convenient propane BBQ. But these small inconveniences were minor, overall it was pretty awesome.
The best part about this property is the caretaker Doug. He has this magical ability to be completely unobtrusive (most of the time we marveled at the quiet and privacy), while also being there exactly when you need him. We only saw Doug when we needed something. He would appear out of thin air right when we required help dumping rainwater from the canoe or finding more gas for the motorboat. Once we mentioned casually that we planned to roast marshmallows in the outdoor stone stove in a few minutes. 10 minutes later we walked over to find that Doug had lite a fire for us, brought chairs over, and set everything up. It is hard to have privacy and be pampered at the same time, yet Doug manages it.
We also enjoyed the surrounding area – good hiking trails in Blue Lake Provincial Park (6 minutes’ away), and a BBQ joint less than 5 minutes’ drive away. After a long day outside it was great to enjoy BBQ!
K & M Breward
We had a wonderful stay at the King's Lakefront Log Cabin. Sadly the weather did not cooperate, but we were able to sneak in a canoe trip around the lake before the rain hit. Our cabin was absolutely perfect with an amazing view of the lake! The camp site is very secluded and quiet and the people were very personable and kind. We will definitely be returning for another visit!
My family converged on this fantastic old fishing camp knowing we'd be in for a treat. It was everything we hoped for to celebrate my mom's 75th and two parts of two families each driving a ways to get there.
The location was between Dryden and Kenora, and just north of Vermilion Bay in the forest.
Steven and his property manager "Lew" (his spelling) took first class care of us. Our family of 4 stayed in the main lodge, with a beautiful fireplace and old commercial grade gas oven originally from the late 40's if memory serves. I can tell you right now, bacon has NEVER tasted better than on that griddle. :-)
We had access to two motorboats, a canoe, a BBQ, a firepit and used all of it. We successfully pulled three walleye out of the lake (with Lew's guidance and experience), and did them up on the BBQ for a fresh caught fish meal the like of which my kids had never had, but LOVED. So did everyone else.
The accommodations dating back to the 40's, are rustic but superbly maintained. There is wifi there, but it's of the cellular variety, and our mileage varied day to day with that. Since it was mostly a device free holiday it wasn't a big deal. Cell phone calls weren't a problem with Telus, but Rogers was a bit weaker, though still reliable. Not sure about Bell since none of our party had phones on that network.
The lake is beautiful. My kids appreciated the trampoline/tube not far from one of the docks, and we ALL loved the quiet of it all. It's so peaceful, and so relaxed that we just had a great time - and so did our dog. She was tired for a week after all the swimming and chasing sticks.
Blue Lake Provincial Park close by is an easy hike for the young and moderately fit - it's only 3 kilometres away, about a half hour walk including our 11 year old. The lake lives up to its name - it's blue, unlike the brownish tinge of most Northern Ontario lakes. That brownish tinge is caused by mineral deposits and tannins from fallen trees, not anything you need to worry about, but it was nice for the kids to swim in the blue water and there's a lovely beach and day area. It's popular though - so depending on the season, I can see it being busy with regulars as well as tourists.
Good thing we had our own lake. :-)
Couple of tips: gas and food are both cheaper in Dryden than in Vermilion Bay although it certainly does in a pinch. I'd highly recommend it. The pictures are accurate depictions of the facility. Beautiful!
My husband and I stayed in cabin number 3 from August 7th - August 10th. Over all it was an ok stay. The cabin we stayed in had a double bed and two singe beds. The double bed was so hard and springy we couldn't sleep on it! So my husband and I slept on the two single beds for our vacation.
The plumbing there was really not great. Had tons of air in the pipes so it was next to impossible to wash our dishes without getting water all over us and the cabin. We still had a great time though!
The view from our cabin was wonderful! Spent a lot of time outside and down by the dock.
Steven King is the owner and he was wonderful in asking if we needed anything before the trip. Also his assistant Alexis was amazing. They only had a public BBQ for everyone to use and we wanted to ask for our own private one. She let us use a charcoal grill for our personal use and that was really nice.
Overall it was a good time and we would really like to come back, but new beds really need to be put in the cabins and the plumbing was just awful. I would not reccomend this cabin for a romantic getaway as in no way was it romantic. The bathroom tub had rust in it and sleeping on two separate beds was not what we had in mind. The cabin needs some fixing up inside but outside view was awesome!
Our goal was to have a quiet relaxing vacation and we did get that. I would return if there would be some tlc given to the cabins (well #3 anyways).
|Refundable damage deposit||$188|