check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Ground Floor Beachfront

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

Description

Kihei Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

This ground floor, tropical oasis is only steps from the ocean and lies between two beautiful beaches with another protected beach in front. The sunsets and 180 degree ocean views from your lanai are amazing!.

We just got a brand new queen sleeper couch in the living room that is very very comfortable and easy to work.

Also just added a new 55" flat screen TV for your viewing pleasure!

Miles of warm, calm, shallow ocean right in front of you make this a great place for those who don't swim well, as well being great for snorkeling, paddle boarding and kayaking. You can see turtles, dolphins, whales and other interesting sea life. You are also close to great surf spots.

Special amenities are:

1. Large oceanfront lanai with eating and sitting area with great ocean view. Fronting the lanai and before the beach is a smooth, green lawn with chaise lounges for those who want to sunbathe without the sand.

2. Well equipped kitchen with large refrigerator and ice machine, cappuccino machine, coffee grinder and coffee maker

3. Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom.

4. Comfortable bedroom with king size bed and TV for movies and DVD/CD player.

5. A full size in-unit washer/dryer.

6. Large TV, DVD/CD player and WIFI in living room.

7. On site award winning restaurant in front of ocean.

8. On site ocean front pool with lounge chairs.

9. Sixth floor rooftop deck with barbecues and picnic tables. You can see all over the island.

10. Oceanfront barbecues and shuffleboard.

11. Close to all of Maui's famous South Shore beaches...some of the best on the island.

12. Walking distance to shopping and public transportation.

13. Night time, see-through security shutters.

Keywords: Beachfront, Jacuzzi, Views, Well Equipped,

More Details
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible

Owner
Uma Silbey
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 9, 2016
Call Owner

About Uma Silbey

I have been living in Maui for nine years and loving every one of them! I am a Maui artist working with jewelry and carved stones, showing my work in island-wide craft shows as well as selling on my own web site and galleries, wellness centers and gift shops worldwide. I've published four books and have also recorded over 18 music and guided imagery CD's. I live upcountry in Haiku where I have a small macadamia nut and tropical flower farm and lots of gardens growing local produce. I spend lots of time at the beach where I love to swim, snorkel and catch waves. When you're visiting, feel free to ask me for recommendations about my favorite places on the island.

Uma Silbey purchased this condo in 2007

Why Uma Silbey chose Maui

I chose this condo because of it's fabulous location. It's hard to find a condo that's any closer to the ocean than this one is. Not only that, but it's close to all of Kihei's restaurants and entertainment, but well away from it's noise and activity, so you've got the best of two worlds...privacy, peace and quiet with amenities!

What makes this condo unique

I stay at this condo myself when I want to get away from the rain in Haiku. It's almost always warm and dry. Since I love to be in the ocean I especially enjoy being able to just step off my lanai and into the water. I especially like the sunset views and the rooftop deck. There are only two Maui condos that I know of that have the rooftop deck. From here you can see all over the island and it's great for having gatherings. Every evening as the sun sets someone blows a conch shell for the most lovely sunset 'salute.'

Guestbook comments from the owner

Where to begin! First off, Uma wasn't kidding when she said that the pictures don't even do the view justice. These aren't stock photos of a perfect Hawaiian sunset, taken from SOMEWHERE on the island of Maui; they are in fact EXACT pictures taken RIGHT from that Lanai. You could not possibly get any better- we woke to that sunrise and that sunset every day, and we left the island feeling 10 years younger. Uma's place is super clean, super convenient, and comfortable. The house was very well stocked with cooking supplies/utensils, allowing you to dine in in case you didn't want to eat out every meal. This property wasn't lacking in anything, and we were certainly overly satisfied and would recommend her whole-heartedly to future guests. Uma also took the time to suggest nearby gyms, restaurants, and other things that she thought we would enjoy, as well as extending the invitation to meet her at her art shop up the road. All in all, it made for a very personalized, very intimate, very PERFECT father-son trip; I have to say this is the BEST father son trip we've been on- have done Alaska, two other of the Hawaiian islands, etc- but the setup here was ideal for an older guy who didn't want to go up and down stairs to access the water. 62 size 10 steps from being able to drop your cellphone into the water, I'm not kidding you on that. Still gushing about this place, again, would recommend without a second's hesitation.
Dec 2015
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

Ground Floor Beachfront
average rating of 4.483871 based on 35 reviews
2

The saving grace to this condo was the awesome view from the lanai and steps to the beach.

  • 2 of 5

After a long delay with our flight we were quite disappointed when we got into the condo. Beside the fact that the bathroom was very small, the shower glass doors were covered with a soap scum film that you couldn't see through and half the lights were burnt out. Some of the towels were fraying on the edges and a couple of beach towels had holes in them. Our socks turned black within a half hour so we kept our shoes on the whole time. The kitchen was a bit lacking especially if you wanted to make use of the barbecue since there was only salt and pepper and a ziplock bag of unmarked spices that we didn't want to take a chance. We have rented other condos before where they are well stocked and could expect to be reasonably clean and stocked with the basics. The kitchen also had a couple of burnt out lights too. Overall the condo needs an update and the housekeeping is lacking as well. You can tell from the sheets and the towels that the owners haven't tried to freshen up the place. The location of the condo was close to some good restaurants and convenient to sightseeing excursions. Even though it didn't have air conditioning the fans and the breeze from the open shutters on the lanai kept it comfortable but we wouldn't stay here again. It was a disappointment especially since we were celebrating our 30th anniversary and had been to Hawaii before.

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, I am sorry that you did not find our condo satisfactory. I would like to reply to your complaints, however. My housekeeper does a complete cleaning between guests, even steam cleaning all of the floors (that are tile.) The dust you spoke of enters all of the condos and hotels that are on the South and West side when there is a lot of wind blowing. This is red dust from the beaches which looks black on the bottom of feet and socks. We provide a broom to sweep this (and anything else) up. If this or any other cleaning is an issue, I provide the phone number of my cleaner who can come over and clean. It is not true that we do not "freshen up" or care for our condo. Last year we purchased a brand new sleeper couch as well as another side couch. This year we purchased a large screen TV, new 800 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets for our king bed, re-grouted the tub and shower, purchased new beach towels and another towel set for the bathroom, as well as other decorative items. (The bathroom towels can always be changed to the other set if the one there isn't a set that is preferred. We tend to use the set that is embroidered with a Hawaiian floral design.) We generally only provide salt and pepper since we were getting complaints about "used" spices and condiments being left in the condo. We had new light bulbs in the cupboard over the fridge that can replace burned out lightbulbs. If we are called, we will drive over and replace lightbulbs with the new ones that are in the condo. The "soap scum" on the shower doors is actually etching in the glass. My cleaner always cleans the shower doors. Last but not least, if there is any problem with our condo, we leave our guests a phone number of our resident manager as well as for myself. Since I and my partner live on the island, we can always handle any problem. Just yesterday, for example, we found that the prior renter lost a key set and we drove over to get new keys to replace the set that was lost so our guest would have two sets. I do wish that you had contacted either my cleaner or myself to handle these problems that you mentioned. It is of utmost importance to use that our guests are happy and enjoy their stay in our wonderful, oceanfront condo. Aloha, Uma
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

I loved being on the ground floor just steps from the ocean. The view was amazing...we watched the sunset from the couch!! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic location, a little gem in Kihei!

  • 5 of 5

A while back, my husband and I decided to take a trip to Hawaii for our 25th anniversary. Neither of us had been there before but friends familiar with the islands steered us to Maui. When I saw the photo of the view from the lanai for this condo, I booked it. It was exactly what I wanted -- ground floor right on the ocean -- and it was the right size for us. When we arrived at the condo it was clean and tidy, and the complex was quiet and relaxed. And I was so impressed with how well manicured the grounds are. We used the community grills through the week to cook a few of our own dinners, and if you time it right, there's access to the roof, which is a great place to watch the sunset. (We met a few neighbors during the week and we really enjoyed getting to know them, very friendly!) Every morning we sat on the lanai with our tea and enjoyed the sunrise before heading out on our next adventure. I was completely in love with the view! (I wish I could post photos here, it truly is amazing.) Also, through our time there we found Kihei to be a nice central location, and really convenient to just about everything on the island. I would love to book this condo again -- Uma, we hope to be back! We were blessed to stay in your lovely home. Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect spot for the best ocean view! Very quiet, and relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

Being on the ground floor is the easiest walk right out to the beach, for lounging, swimming and snorkeling. The grass was great to walk on, very soft! Our patio was very quiet and felt really private since most people have to walk to the front of the condos to get to their rooms. As a 1 bedroom the condo was pretty roomy! Parking was so convenient, we always got a close spot.

Lovely place to stay!

Aloha,

Dave and Kathy

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Ground floor condo in a great location

  • 4 of 5

This review is a bit late, as I left a previous review but it never went through.

This condo is in a great location, ground floor with a nice lanai, and just steps to the ocean. Actually, there is a sea wall directly in front of the condo, but a few yards to the North is a protected fish pond and beach, and to the South is an open beach. Beautiful sunsets are visible each evening.

The condo is small, but perfect for two people and adequate for four. We had a very nice time here, close to shopping and dining, Indian restaurant on the premises, and a beachfront location. I gave a four star rating only because it could probably use a little updating. But for the price it's really a great deal.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Laguna Hills, California
5

AMAZING VIEW!

  • 5 of 5

I booked this property nearly a year before my vacation, so it is easy to say that I forgot most of the property details by the time I came to the island. I was with a friend, and we opened up the email with check-in instructions, and noted the unit number. My friend said he hoped that it was a unit on the top floor. I laughed and said I think we are on the first. We did some scouting, and found our unit. We walked in, and the storm shutters were closed, so the place was pretty dark. The first thing we did was open the shutters, and I was completely shocked. I had no idea how beautiful our view would be! We walked off the lanai, straight onto the grass overlooking the beautiful beach! Needless to say, we spent most of our "home" time out on the lanai, just watching the amazing view, and feeling the wonderful breeze.

Thank you Uma, this has been an unforgettable experience. While I have been to Maui several times before, I never had a stay quite as relaxing as this one. I do believe I mentioned several times during my stay that I will be booking my future Maui vacations around the availability of this rental property.

Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kihei Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season
Nov 15 2016 - Dec 14 2016
3 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
Holiday Season
Dec 15 2016 - Jan 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
high season
Jan 6 2017 - Apr 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
regular rate
Apr 16 2017 - Nov 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $95
Tax Rate 13.42%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • nude beach
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers