Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Ground Floor Beachfront with Jacuzzi and Cappuccino Machine

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

This ground floor, tropical oasis is only steps from the ocean and lies between two beautiful beaches with another protected beach in front. The sunsets and 180 degree ocean views from your lanai are amazing!.

Our well equipped kitchen features sunset and ocean views and even has a cappuccino machine and grinder for your use.

Our updated bathroom features a jacuzzi tub as well as a shower with good water pressure.

We just got a brand new queen sleeper couch in the living room that is very very comfortable and easy to work.

Also just added a new 55" flat screen TV for your viewing pleasure!

Miles of warm, calm, shallow ocean right in front of you make this a great place for those who don't swim well, as well being great for snorkeling, paddle boarding and kayaking. You can see turtles, dolphins, whales and other interesting sea life. You are also close to great surf spots.

Special amenities are:

1. Large oceanfront lanai with eating and sitting area with great ocean view. Fronting the lanai and before the beach is a smooth, green lawn with chaise lounges for those who want to sunbathe without the sand.

2. Well equipped kitchen with large refrigerator and ice machine, cappuccino machine, coffee grinder and coffee maker.

3. Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom.

4. Comfortable bedroom with king size bed and TV for movies and DVD/CD player.

5. A full size in-unit washer/dryer.

6. Large TV, DVD/CD player and WIFI in living room.

7. On site award winning restaurant in front of ocean.

8. On site ocean front pool with lounge chairs.

9. Sixth floor rooftop deck with barbecues and picnic tables. You can see all over the island.

10. Oceanfront barbecues and shuffleboard.

11. Close to all of Maui's famous South Shore beaches...some of the best on the island.

12. Walking distance to shopping and public transportation.

13. Night time, see-through metal privacy/security shutters.

Keywords: Beachfront, Jacuzzi, Views, Well Equipped,

More Details

Owner
Uma Silbey
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 15, 2017

About Uma Silbey

I have been living in Maui for 15 years and loving every one of them! I am a Maui artist working with jewelry and carved stones showing my work twice a month under the banyan tree and inside the Lahaina Arts Society Courthouse Gallery. I've published five books and have also recorded over 18 music and guided imagery CD's. I live upcountry in Haiku where I have a small macadamia nut and tropical flower farm surrounded by palms, ferns, trailing vines, and lush, green, nature. I also spend lots of time at the beach where I love to swim, snorkel and catch waves. When you're visiting, feel free to ask me for recommendations about my favorite places on the island.

Uma Silbey purchased this condo in 2007

Why Uma Silbey chose Maui

I chose this condo because of it's fabulous location. It's hard to find a condo that's any closer to the ocean than this one is. Not only that, but it's close to all of Kihei's restaurants and entertainment, but well away from it's noise and activity, so you've got the best of two worlds...privacy, peace and quiet with amenities!

What makes this condo unique

I stay at this condo myself when I want to get away from the rain in Haiku. It's almost always warm and dry. Since I love to be in the ocean I especially enjoy being able to just step off my lanai and into the water. I especially like the sunset views and the rooftop deck. There are only two Maui condos that I know of that have the rooftop deck. From here you can see all over the island and it's great for having gatherings. Every evening as the sun sets someone blows a conch shell for the most lovely sunset 'salute.'

Guestbook comments from the owner

Where to begin! First off, Uma wasn't kidding when she said that the pictures don't even do the view justice. These aren't stock photos of a perfect Hawaiian sunset, taken from SOMEWHERE on the island of Maui; they are in fact EXACT pictures taken RIGHT from that Lanai. You could not possibly get any better- we woke to that sunrise and that sunset every day, and we left the island feeling 10 years younger. Uma's place is super clean, super convenient, and comfortable. The house was very well stocked with cooking supplies/utensils, allowing you to dine in in case you didn't want to eat out every meal. This property wasn't lacking in anything, and we were certainly overly satisfied and would recommend her whole-heartedly to future guests. Uma also took the time to suggest nearby gyms, restaurants, and other things that she thought we would enjoy, as well as extending the invitation to meet her at her art shop up the road. All in all, it made for a very personalized, very intimate, very PERFECT father-son trip; I have to say this is the BEST father son trip we've been on- have done Alaska, two other of the Hawaiian islands, etc- but the setup here was ideal for an older guy who didn't want to go up and down stairs to access the water. 62 size 10 steps from being able to drop your cellphone into the water, I'm not kidding you on that. Still gushing about this place, again, would recommend without a second's hesitation.
Dec 2015
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • nude beach
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

Ground Floor Beachfront with Jacuzzi and Cappuccino Machine
average rating of 4.5142856 based on 39 reviews
4

Loved the ground floor easy access to beach

  • 4 of 5
Verified Stay

Very comfortable and great location. Quiet peaceful and enjoyable. Enjoyed our stay very much

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Absolutely loved the place!!

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

This is not a place to be taken for granted. When we travel, we usually treat our accommodations as a home base from which we journey to explore our surroundings. Uma's condo is a place that makes you not want to leave: to slow down, relax, and enjoy your surroundings. The sunrise and sunsets can not be described. Watching whales breach off the oceanfront patio with a coffee is tremendous. Uma, we thank you so much for allowing us to enjoy Maui that much more! Full star recommendation from us!

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Derek, I am so happy that you enjoyed our condo so much. I very often sit on the lanai myself, watching the whales or the sunsets with a mai tai in hands. Nothing is more relaxing! Hope to see you back in Maui soon. Aloha, Uma
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Spectacular Views

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

The condo is just as it looks. We had a great time watching the whales from the lanai and of course the sunsets. Good central location for the Kihei area and close to all shopping. Would recommend to anyone that wants to visit the area

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, I hope you had a wonderful vacation here. Thanks for the good review. I really try hard to have a perfect condo for my guests! Aloha, Uma
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic quiet location and steps from the ocean!!

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

The moment we walked in we were so happy with the condo! Went right out to the Lanai and the view was amazing! We had rain almost the whole time we were there but the view of the ocean and the few steps to the beach more than made up for it. The condo was clean and beautiful! We were able to watch turtles swimming around right off the beach. Lahaina and some of the islands best beaches were a short beautiful drive away. Great central location. We would love to come back to this condo in Kihei. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, I am so happy you lived my condo and had a wonderful Maui visit! I really try to make my condo a special place to stay! You were the first to try out my new Hunter ceiling fans, fancy glass bathtub enclosure doors, and other new things. Aloha, Uma
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

The saving grace to this condo was the awesome view from the lanai and steps to the beach.

  • 2 of 5
Verified Stay

After a long delay with our flight we were quite disappointed when we got into the condo. Beside the fact that the bathroom was very small, the shower glass doors were covered with a soap scum film that you couldn't see through and half the lights were burnt out. Some of the towels were fraying on the edges and a couple of beach towels had holes in them. Our socks turned black within a half hour so we kept our shoes on the whole time. The kitchen was a bit lacking especially if you wanted to make use of the barbecue since there was only salt and pepper and a ziplock bag of unmarked spices that we didn't want to take a chance. We have rented other condos before where they are well stocked and could expect to be reasonably clean and stocked with the basics. The kitchen also had a couple of burnt out lights too. Overall the condo needs an update and the housekeeping is lacking as well. You can tell from the sheets and the towels that the owners haven't tried to freshen up the place. The location of the condo was close to some good restaurants and convenient to sightseeing excursions. Even though it didn't have air conditioning the fans and the breeze from the open shutters on the lanai kept it comfortable but we wouldn't stay here again. It was a disappointment especially since we were celebrating our 30th anniversary and had been to Hawaii before.

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, I am sorry that you did not find our condo satisfactory. I would like to reply to your complaints, however. My housekeeper does a complete cleaning between guests, even steam cleaning all of the floors (that are tile.) The dust you spoke of enters all of the condos and hotels that are on the South and West side when there is a lot of wind blowing. This is red dust from the beaches which looks black on the bottom of feet and socks. We provide a broom to sweep this (and anything else) up. If this or any other cleaning is an issue, I provide the phone number of my cleaner who can come over and clean. It is not true that we do not "freshen up" or care for our condo. Last year we purchased a brand new sleeper couch as well as another side couch. This year we purchased a large screen TV, new 800 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets for our king bed, re-grouted the tub and shower, purchased new beach towels and another towel set for the bathroom, as well as other decorative items. (The bathroom towels can always be changed to the other set if the one there isn't a set that is preferred. We tend to use the set that is embroidered with a Hawaiian floral design.) We generally only provide salt and pepper since we were getting complaints about "used" spices and condiments being left in the condo. We had new light bulbs in the cupboard over the fridge that can replace burned out lightbulbs. If we are called, we will drive over and replace lightbulbs with the new ones that are in the condo. The "soap scum" on the shower doors is actually etching in the glass. My cleaner always cleans the shower doors. Last but not least, if there is any problem with our condo, we leave our guests a phone number of our resident manager as well as for myself. Since I and my partner live on the island, we can always handle any problem. Just yesterday, for example, we found that the prior renter lost a key set and we drove over to get new keys to replace the set that was lost so our guest would have two sets. I do wish that you had contacted either my cleaner or myself to handle these problems that you mentioned. It is of utmost importance to use that our guests are happy and enjoy their stay in our wonderful, oceanfront condo. Aloha, Uma
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

I loved being on the ground floor just steps from the ocean. The view was amazing...we watched the sunset from the couch!! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kihei Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
high season
Jan 6 2017 - Apr 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
regular rate
Apr 16 2017 - Nov 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $95
Tax Rate 13.42%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers