check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Greg and Carol Guile

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Ocean Views, Ground Floor, ~A~/C's, Recent Remodel, WI-

11 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom 1 Bath, Full Kitchen, Ocean view

Ocean view, comfortable and updated condo. As of April 2016, new black out curtains in the bedroom. As of December 2015, new higher end sofa/sleeper, recliner chair, art work, shower curtain and curved rod. As of November 2014, dishwasher, new flat screen tv in the bedroom to match the one in the living room and blender for your tropical drinks! As of April 2014 remodel included NEW: KING size Sealy bed with linens, some pillows and bedspread, flat screen tv, DVD player, DVD movies, high end lanai furniture, bath, hand towels and wash cloths, entire unit painted, refurbished cabinets in bath and kitchen and hardware, glassware, beach towels, beach chairs, beach mats, art, professionally cleaned carpets and lending library.

2012 updates included: new counters in kitchen and bathroom, cabinet doors, tile kitchen, hall and bath flooring and tile shower, appliances (fridge with ice maker!), living room and both air conditioning units. Like us on Facebook at KonaMakaiGuile

We know you have many choices of places to stay while in Kona. We would like to thank you for considering ours as your vacation rental and enjoy a welcome gift of Kona coffee upon your arrival. In addition, we do supply a hotel sized starter bottle of shampoo and conditioner.

Unit amenities: fully stocked kitchen with coffee pot (new) rice cooker, crock pot, serving dishes, pots, pans, blender, coffee grinder(new), mixer, crock pot, bowls, plates, silverware, various unit utensils, BBQ utensils, washer and dryer in unit.

Two lanais, one off bedroom with a small ocean view and a larger one off the main area with ocean views to enjoy with a meal or your morning coffee. Both have views of the ocean and the complex's extensive landscaping.

Complex amenities include: beautiful landscaped grounds, several varities of flowers and plants, ping pong table by the ocean, ocean view pool with jacuzzi, weight room, lending library, kitchen area, BBQs, tennis courts and lounge chairs to relax and enjoy an up front ocean view.

Walk or drive to beautiful beaches. Kahaluu Beach is approximately five miles and an excellent snorkeling spot down Alii Drive, where turtles are a typical site. Great food, beautiful sights and the heart of downtown Kailua-Kona (less than one mile) or take the bus that runs every hour. There's even snorkeling available at the complex's ocean front for the adventurous! Watch the whales and spinner dolphins in season from the pool lounging area. Please review the book from our mangement company that tells of other beaches, golf course, dining, etc., nearby.

This unit has everything you could want for your next Hawaiian paradise vacation. Tax ID# W67115597-01

Keywords: Vacation, Rental, Condo, Condominium

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Greg and Carol Guile (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Greg and Carol Guile

We are long time Oregonians. We've been to the other islands and didn't like the crowds, so we visited the Big Island and loved the laid back, friendly atmosphere. Hawaii is a great escape from the Oregon weather.

Greg and Carol Guile purchased this condo in 2014

Why Greg and Carol Guile chose Kona Coast

We searched for a vacation investment property on the Big Island because we enjoy its laid back lifestyle. We searched many complexes and found ourselves continually being drawn back to Kona Makai because of its extensive landscaping, pool, ocean front, amenities, etc.

What makes this condo unique

Only complex I know with ping pong, BBQ and the pool with an ocean view!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Relaxing stay. All the conveniences of home including washer/dryer and a dish washer. Enjoyed cooking down by the pool and visiting with other guests/residents as we watched the sunset each night. We heard that the snorkeling is great at the shore access by the pool, but the surf seemed rough for us beginners. Only negative was the walk uphill to the parking lot (luggage, groceries, gear, etc). There are a couple of wagons available to borrow to assist with carrying heavy items. Having air conditioning was wonderful since we are used to a cooler climate (Oregon). Such a relief to sleep in a cool bedroom. The lanai is nice for coffee in the morning. The gardens are lush and beautiful and attract lots of birds and a few geckos. Made for great pictures. Couch is not a futon but still a comfortable bed. Very helpful and responsive owner. Plan to come back next year.
Apr 2015
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.5
based on 11 traveler reviews

Ocean Views, Ground Floor, ~A~/C's, Recent Remodel, WI-
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 12 reviews
California
4

Great stay in Hawaii

  • 4 of 5

We had a great experience staying at this property. The condo was clean and well stocked with everything we needed. The check-in/out process was simple and easy. Great location, walking distance to good beaches and local restaurants/ nightlife spots

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Grants Pass, Oregon
4

All the conviences of home

  • 4 of 5

Relaxing stay. All the conveniences of home including washer/dryer and a dish washer. Enjoyed cooking down by the pool and visiting with other guests/residents as we watched the sunset each night. We heard that the snorkeling is great at the shore access by the pool, but the surf seemed rough for us beginners. Only negative was the walk uphill to the parking lot (luggage, groceries, gear, etc). There are a couple of wagons available to borrow to assist with carrying heavy items. Having air conditioning was wonderful since we are used to a cooler climate (Oregon). Such a relief to sleep in a cool bedroom. The lanai is nice for coffee in the morning. The gardens are lush and beautiful and attract lots of birds and a few geckos. Made for great pictures. Couch is not a futon but still a comfortable bed. Very helpful and responsive owner. Plan to come back next year

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, OR
5

Great Big Island experience

  • 5 of 5

We spent Christmas through New Years at this property, and it was a fantastic experience. The condo was well stocked with everything needed to be comfortable for a week. The fully stocked kitchens and communal bbq area made prepping and eating dinners easy and enjoyable. The condo (and entire complex) was quiet and peaceful. Easy walking access to restaurants/nightlife in town, and a quick drive to several awesome beaches for snorkeling. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, OR
5

Beautiful Big Island

  • 5 of 5

Our condo at Kona Makai was the perfect location for our holiday . Ideally located with great access to town, beaches, grocery stores, etc.. We enjoyed the deck with the tall chairs and table to view the landscaping and ocean . The pool was perfect to cool off in the afternoon where we met very nice people. Cocktails by the ocean at sunset and barbecuing our dinners were wonderful. The staff was very efficient and managed beautiful , clean grounds. Parking never a problem. Perfect place to relax and enjoy Hawaiian life.

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Southport
4

Nice Condo

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for a month and had a good time. Condo newly updated with nice furniture/flat screen Tv's. Beautiful gardens, well maintained property. Condo best suited for two people of 50+ age group.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Pure Paradise

  • 4 of 5

Our twenty-five day at this condo unit was absolutely wonderful. It was conveniently located about one mile from the downtown area with a coffee shop within blocks. We enjoyed the well-equipped unit, outside BBQs and our meals on the lanai with the partial ocean view. The kitchen had everything we needed. The king size bed was clean and comfortable with new bedding and we could go to sleep listening to the sound of the ocean. We enjoyed the flat screen TVs and air-conditioning units in the living room & bedroom. The internet service was upgraded while we were there and it was faster and more accessible. This is a great lower unit with easy access and upgrades. The grounds are beautiful with flora and fauna. We would recommend it to our friends.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Keahole-Kona International
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Best:Huggos where you drink w/ your feet in sand!
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Hale Kehau
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Hwy 11
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Many in town-The Kona Inn & Lava Java are great!
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
There are many near, but Kahului Bay is best
Car: recommended

Less than one mile to town for shopping, dining, local farmers market, snorkeling and swimming. Covered parking, pool, spa, tennis, extensive landscaping, ping pong. Very sought after resort.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jul 1 2016 - Oct 1 2016
5 night minimum stay
$135
 
 
Iron Man
Oct 2 2016 - Oct 15 2016
7 night minimum stay
$160
 
 
Full Off
Oct 16 2016 - Dec 17 2016
5 night minimum stay
$125
$3,240
 
 
Christmas
Dec 18 2016 - Dec 31 2016
5 night minimum stay
$150
$998
 
 
2016
Jan 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$135
$3,645
 
 
Spring
Apr 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
$120
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $131
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 13.41%

Thank you for considering our unit for your Hawaii vacation.

Our management company will contact you immediately for a deposit. Sixty days prior to your arrival, they will collect the balance. Credit card transactions are charged a processing fee from the credit card company, or you may pay by check for no processing fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Updated tile floor and shower, new towels, counters, cabs
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , New bed as of April 2014
  • New King size bed (2014), Sleep Sofa or Futon (12/2015)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties