check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

4 A/C BEDROOMS - SUNNY POIPU BEACHES - PATHS TO SAND AND POOL

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 14 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 - 14 nights

Description

Poipu House Rental Photos and Description

SUPERIOR LOCATION-BEACH CLOSE BAYVIEW ESTATES-4 BR SNGL LVL HOME-TROPICAL GARDEN

We often start our day with a short stroll to the beach to drink our coffee while my boys, Ridge and Rad Kai, boards under arm, do 'dawn patrol' (a surf before school at Shippy's). The green belt path to all the Poipu beaches provides the safe feeling we love on Kauai, knowing the boys are so close. I had just completed the spa room of my dreams with the lava rock shower garden adorned with orchids! Kevin landscaped it, listening to my dreams and surpassing them all, and I fell in love with his heart and creative expression, then married him. True story. You get to enjoy this gorgeous property, sewn with love and care... We hope you will cherish your time here and can't wait to share it with you and yours!

Why the Owner Chose Private Homes: I raised my children for 10 years on the ocean front and thought I could never move. To my delight all three teens were off the charts excited to move to Bay View Estates. They could walk to all their favorite beaches in just a few minutes! Being at the famous 'green belt' opened their lives to the tennis courts, pool, spa, the Grand Hyatt amenities, Shipwreck cliff jumping and hiking. I especially love the resort lifestyle! Before I built my own lava shower and water features, I would walk two minutes to the Anara Spa where I would start my day in the steam, sauna, Jacuzzi and pool. I added my favorite scents and favorite amenities to my own 'Tropical Hideaway' for you now to enjoy. A spa atmosphere...

The Unique Benefits of this House: Secluded get away areas. Lava Rock Orchid Shower Garden. Lava Rock walls and gated private entry. Hammock between coconut and avocado trees. Banana, Mandarine, Coconut, gorgeous tropical flowers and extensive lawns are kept manicured for your enjoyment. Tiki Torches and festive ferry lights are available to encourage romance and fun with ambiance. A/C is included in all four rooms for your comfort. Two King beds, Two Queens, Bunk beds, and Twin airbeds assure there is a special place for all to land after a fun filled day in paradise...

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
DEBI JOY
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 5, 2016
Call Manager

About DEBI JOY

MY HUSBAND KEVIN AND I LIVE IN BAYVIEW ALSO SO WE ARE CLOSE IF YOU NEED US.

CHECK OUT OUR MELE LANI WITH 3 SUITES AND A POOL!

RAISING A DAUGHTER AND TWO SONS ON KAUAI HAS BEEN SOOO ENJOYABLE. A PEACEFUL ENVIRONMENT WITH OUTDOOR ACTIVITIES IN THE BEST NATURE HAS TO OFFER! THEY ARE SO THANKFUL TO CALL KAUAI HOME.

DEBI JOY purchased this house in 2004

Why DEBI JOY chose Kauai

OUR GUESTS CONFIRM THAT THEY LOVE HOW PRIVATE THEY FEEL, YET HOW CLOSE THEY ARE TO EVERYTHING THEY LOVE TO DO. FOR US ALSO, THE NEIGHBORHOOD OF BAYVIEW ESTATES IN SUNNY POIPU OFFERS THE PERFECT BALANCE FOR OUR RESORT HOME AND ADVENTURE.

What makes this house unique

EVERY DAY BEGINS WITH AN ADVENTURE AS IT ONLY TAKES 5 MINUTES TO BE INFUSED WITH THE ENDORPHINS COMING FROM THE WAVE ACTION. ADD TO IT A 15 MINUTE HIKE TO THE TOP OF SHIPWRECK CLIFF AND THE EXHILERATION AND THANKFULNESS OVERFLOWS ALL DAY!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

4 A/C BEDROOMS - SUNNY POIPU BEACHES - PATHS TO SAND AND POOL
average rating of 4.285714 based on 28 reviews
5

Premier Spot!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Debi's house was pure pleasure . We are a family of 10 and we had a week of amazing vacation. Not the least of what made the stay so wonderful was Debi Joy herself. She is extremely easy to communicate with and there in an instant to help you if you have any needs. We were really glad we got to meet her and she's clearly the reason her home is so beautiful and comfortable. The location of this house could not be beat, within walking distance to two very nice beaches as well as other scenic sites. The yard and grounds are beautiful and the outdoor shower practically a necessity after a long day at the beach. In-unit washer and dryer were a bonus, allowing you to pack less. A shed packed with beach toys, floats, mats, snorkel gear, and chairs really made the trips to the beaches that much more fun. The dining room table easily accommodated all 10 of us and even a guest one night. We enjoyed many meals around the table and definitely saved a lot of money by cooking in. The gas grill was excellent. Food, drinks, beaches, pools, and family made this a vacation we'll always remember.

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
San Clemente, CA
5

A great Experience

  • 5 of 5

This property is the best vacation property and in the best location we have ever experienced. The facility easily accommodates 10 plus people and has all the amenities you need for a long or short term stay. They spared no expense to provide a comfortable and functional facility for our vacation needs. The amenities on the property were actually better than what the owners listed. The photos were accurate and the owners went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and unforgettable.

The location speaks for itself. It is on the most beautiful island in Hawaii. We were walking distance to beaches, high end resorts, shopping, and excellent restaurants. I have grown a new respect for this state we call Hawaii and especially for this beautiful Island they call "The Garden Island."

I highly recommend this property!!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 2
1

Not at all what we expected!

  • 1 of 5

We stayed the first week of November and we felt totally misled by the glowing reviews. Our experience mirrors the review by Jon B. The first red flag is the 11 pictures out 24 that show the house, with several repeats, and only one bathroom is shown.

First the positives, a nice open living space and dining room, and new air conditioning in the bedrooms. It would have been unbearable without AC, since 2 out of the 4 bedroom have no cross ventilation without the doors left open and the ceiling fans would be minimal comfort.

That's it for the positives.

The kitchen and bathrooms are old, outdated and cruddy. The kitchen is totally enclosed, away from the living/dining room and there are broken doors and drawers falling off the cabinets. They were so gummy dirty it was hard to enjoy any time in the kitchen. The "new" dishwasher has mold/mildew inside and several electrical outlets were broken. The sliding screen door from the kitchen was broken.

The level of maintenance is minimal, after all, this house must be a real money maker and why bother to provide a better experience if some renters seem ok with it?! Upon our arrival the floors were dirty (we had a 10 month old crawler), windows, screens and window sills were filthy, outside glass door in the "spa" bathroom was shattered, no twist rods for any of the old, hard to pull up blinds, and lights burned out. The owner was responsive and had the floors and windows cleaned, screen door replaced, lights replaced and brought twist rods that we installed. Our first day and half was spent dealing with all this.

Outside the landscaping is also just ok, not lush like in the pictures, and one large palm frond came crashing down a few feet from our 4 yr old. Outside furniture still has old, mildewed cushions. You do not have use of the garage, its full of the landlords stuff, and we had to ask that they move a, stored, covered car left in the enclosed driveway so we could maneuver our cars.

Finally several old, lumpy beds are unbelievably uncomfortable. They need to be replaced asap.

The landlord was nice and responded to the basic cleaning and repairs but stated many times that "good help" was difficult to find in Kauai. The real issue is they appear to not want to put the resources into the house to upgrade it. I toured a house around the corner that I almost rented but for the lack of a second king bed and for a comparable price I could have had a lovely, clean and updated house.

  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wailea, HI
3

The location for us was great , House does not look like photos, and needs a lot of repair.

  • 3 of 5

House does not look like photos, and needs a lot of repair. Grease hanging from exhaust fan in kitchen, no hot water for showers or dishwasher which had black mold inside of it not every room with air conditioning, especially bedroom nearest the kitchen. Not happy very leery to use home away again. Drawers in kitchen hanging all over, and two glass door shattered in rear garden area. No hot water, come on!!

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Plenty of room, beautiful surroundings and everything we needed

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I took our son, his wife, our daughter and her friend for a week in Kauai to celebrate our retirement. This house turned out to be perfect for our family. Everyone had a bedroom and bathroom, the living area was large and easily accommodated us if we were inside watching television or playing cards. The kitchen was large and contained everything we needed to prepare our own meals. The outside patio was our favorite place to meet each evening and have a drink before dinner. The bedrooms are now air-conditioned and that made the stay comfortable - without air conditioned bedrooms, we would have been very uncomfortable because the weather was humid and warm. The walk to the Hyatt and the beach is pleasant and easy. Overall we found the accommodations to be very comfortable and the location to be perfect for everything we wanted to do. The few times we had questions, the owner responded immediately. I recommend this place for families as the rooms are large enough that everyone has privacy and space to spread out.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

What Larry Said below... Ok, but dated

  • 3 of 5

Re-reading the summary of the property, nothing was misrepresented. Location was tremendous, house was roomy, and yard was nice and quiet. However, there was several items that should have been better based on "getting what you paid for." I had to chuckle when I read Larry's review below, as he hit several items that were problematic. Arrived at 4p.m. to 89 degrees in the house; I had forgotten that there was no a/c; it was in the listing. But why are all the windows shut when you have screens? Had an issue with "strobe-like light" in the refrigerator; I was concerned that it meant something more, like losing power. Got 2 calls back pretty quickly on it, one indicating it was a known problem. If it is, why not tell me in advance? Screen off kitchen was broken, not allowing us to keep the screen door open at night. Issues with remotes (acknowledged by caretaker), 2 overhead lights and 1 fan, which didn't work all week. Living Room furniture was awful. We had to rewash all silverware and many dishes. Beds were good overall. More responsiveness (I got callbacks, but no visits or anything done) and care (some $, not much) needed to maximize this property, which could be a fantastic place to stay!

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I wanted to write a response to this review not because anything our guest said was misrepresented but because we, as homeowners and hosts, have heard the the issues presented and are continually fixing the things we believe will make Tropical Hideaway an unforgettable experience. Here is a list of actions we took following this review. -A new (very comfortable) sectional in the living room. We tossed the old couch! -New screens -Wifi does not need a password, it simply connects when you turn it on. -We took away the hassle of fan remotes and replaced them with a simple switch for convenience. -A new oven -New outdoor furniture -The "flickering light in the fridge" is replaced, and the fridge is working beautifully. -And now introducing A/C!!! This coming October 2016 air conditioning units will be placed in each bedroom for an all around comfortable, fun, relaxing, tropical experience. Our home is an all around amazing place to spend your Kauai holiday. Of course, we are always looking to improve our home for our guests. However, we doubt there will be anything but laughs, relaxation, and fond memories following a stay at Tropical Hideaway.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Lihue
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Stevenson's Library at the Grand Hyatt
Nearest Golf
50 Metres
Poipu Bay Golf
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Grand Hyatt world class restaurants
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
Shipwreck and Poipu Beach ECO

Tropical Hideaway is a Resort home in Bay View Estates.

It is located at the End of a short streets cul-de-sac and is bordered by gate, wall, fence and plants for additional privacy.

It is adjacent to the greenbelt path access that joins our guests with all the Poipu Beaches, a POOL and Jacuzzi, Tennis courts, Anara Spa, and World class restaurants shops and entertainment at the Grand Hyatt.

Favorite Island activities include: Diving, SNORKEL, Kite boarding, walking, whale watch, stand up board, body board, skim boarding, floating, KCF GYM, bird watch, wind surfing, shopping, kayaking, boating, parasailing, shelling, wildlife viewing, spa, GOLF.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Poipu House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Dec.
Dec 7 2016 - Dec 15 2016
2 night minimum stay
$472
 
 
Holidays
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 9 2017
14 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 10 2017 - Jul 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$550
 
 
Mid Summer
Jul 16 2017 - Aug 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
$599
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$525
 

Additional information about rental rates

Outclean $280 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Poipu House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Town ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • PC
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Master Suite
    Rainforrest Room - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , Indoor shower opens to outdoor rain shower in orchid garden.
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Shared bathroom for surf room and Plumeria Sunshine room.
    Bathroom 4 - outdoor shower , Tropical garden rain Shower (See photos).
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Suite - 1 king , Spacious Suite with private garden lanai and walk in closet.
    Rainforrest Suite - 1 king , Opens from BR & Bath to Lava Rock Garden & Rain Shower
    Surf Room - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen bed and Bunk Bed with twin mattress up,Full Futon down
    Plumeria Sunshine - 1 queen , Queen bed
  • Small Child chair futon in 4th bedroom. 'Ready Rentals' has baby and child furnishings if you so desire. Some baby conveniences you may use at your own risk include play pen(s) and umbrella stroller(s).
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Tropical garden, courtyard with fish pond and waterfall for serene water sounds. French doors open onto Orchid Garden with shower off newer rain forest suite.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties