check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

DeAnne Black

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english

Mountain Top Vineyard House on Private 60 Acre Vineyard

32 Reviews
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Sonoma County House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Bath, (Sleeps 7)

Come “Live the dream” at Black Knight Vineyard House located on top of Taylor Mountain.

Majestic view, tranquil, private, vineyards to explore.

********June 3-5 special******** contact for more information

Private 60 acres, 32 of them is vineyards, 3 mountain tops to climb with unique 360 degree views of wine country and distant mountains.

Rejuvenate in the private six-person Spa that has 50 jets plus it has a lounging seat. It is kept at an inviting 100 degree year round and overlooks the valley.

The 1600 sq.ft. vineyard house offers: A Full Kitchen, Living Room, Den, 3 bedrooms, and 2 full bathrooms plus hot-tub and pool.

The full-kitchen is completely outfitted for cooking and entertaining. An extensive collection of wine and cookbooks to inspire any chef.

Master Suite has a full sitting and dining area A California king bed, a full bathroom with rain shower and Jacuzzi tub.

There are two bedrooms with queen European pillow beds. One has a private deck that leads to the pool and hot-tub.

The den can convert to a private bedroom for any extra guests with a full size futon.

There is a 42” High-definition Direct TV located in the family room. In the master suite a 32” Also, an extensive collection of DVD’s, books and games for all ages.

Numerous outdoor dinning areas. In the backyard is a stainless steel grill with searing plate for the master outdoor chef.

Watch the rescued horses graze in nearby pasture or greet the neighboring cows that occasionally take shade under trees in the backfields. Deer, California quails, ducks, a Hoot owl, wild turkey, chickens and 2 lovable Labs can easily be found.

Our chickens provided fresh eggs. In-season pick: blackberries, peaches, apples, apricots and plums. Lavender, Rosemary and Bay are located around the property and in the backyard of the vineyard house.

The Petaluma Wind gap provides a constant and cool breeze also occasional fog that is picturesque.

Solar power is powering the vineyard house.

WIFI

Quite hours (10:00 P.M.-7:00 A.M.) to be observed by all guests

This Bennett Valley location has all the romance of the country and a vineyard but is also only minutes to Santa Rosa, Rohnert Park and Glen Ellen. This central location is ideal for day excursions to all of Sonoma valley and Napa Valley wine tasting. A quick drive to 101 and you can also be on your way to San Francisco for the day and evening. It does not come more convenient or more centrally located.

Relax and enjoy the magnificent views of the valley below and the mountains in the distance. Come “Live the dream” at Black Knight Vineyards.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
DeAnne Black (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english

About DeAnne Black

We purchased this property seven years ago after searching for more than two years. The entire family felt it was time to perhaps create something for the family. The kids(3) and I also required that it be something that my husband (a business turnaround specialist)loved for a change. He has been a wine fanatic for his entire life. We had a family meeting and agreed that we were all in for the adventure in Wine. For my part, leaving the design painting business was an easier choice since the market was slowing rapidly.

The first year was more work than anyone expected. With 60 acres of land, 25 acres of grapes, two houses, two huge barns and a couple small barns, we had more to do than we could get to. One of our top priorities was to rehab the grandmother’s house on one of the secluded peaks. It was redesigned right from the begining as a vacation rental.

We wanted this place to be a representation of our life. It is filled with furniture and art collected all over the US and the World. It is so peaceful here that it just called out for a spa. We especially like the spa perched on the top of the hill overlooking the valley to the west. Comfort was also high on our list – We think you will agree that it has turned out great and is unique.

DeAnne Black

DeAnne Black purchased this house in 2007

Why DeAnne Black chose Sonoma County

From the start we were interested in some type of vacation rental or B&B as part of the business. About half of the properties we considered had potential for a vacation rental. Our bigger decision was were to start with the wine business. It is a complex business and very capital intensive. We choice to start with grapes since great wine must start with great fruit.

Sonoma is one of the top wine regions in the world. It is also one of the most beautiful locations in the US. We are privileged to have one of the best views around and we can share this with you.

The bonus of this location is that while we have a peaceful, rural vineyard, we are very centrally located with easy access to Santa Rosa, Rohnert Park and ALL the wine areas.

It really is the best of all worlds.

What makes this house unique

As our guest you are welcome, and encouraged, to explore the vineyards. Walk, run, picnic or bike, it is a new vista on each of the three peaks on the property.

Many guest are looking forward to sampling the wine region and the wines of Sonoma a second to none. Our central location is excellent for multiple day trips in different directions, all easy to get to.

Napa is 30 mins awasy and San Francisco is 45 mins away and a direct route over the Golden Gate Bridge.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a wonderful time here - just wound up being one night. Perfect for two couples. Three of the four of us did the first Levi's Grandfondo in Santa Rosa. Needless to say, the cold pool, hot tub and sauna were all food for the bones and muscles! The view is amazing! We also enjoyed hearing the wind among the trees. A walk through the vineyard is a must. Another great view up above the Merlot & Pinot grapes. If you are lucky - Mitch will let you barrel taste his private stash! Yummy - We loved the Zin he had in a 1/4 barrel. We enjoyed talking with DeAnne and Mitch and hearing their story of how they got here - cheers to them for taking a risk we have all thought about.



We hope to return!
Nov 2009
  • 1 of 8

Reviews

4.8
based on 32 traveler reviews

Mountain Top Vineyard House on Private 60 Acre Vineyard
average rating of 4.8125 based on 40 reviews
Kansas City
5

Aniversary +++

  • 5 of 5

thanks to our new Vineyard family of Mitch and DeAnne and the dogs and Chickens and Roosters....Russell Crow..I still chuckle......we went to celebrate our anniversary and ended up joining a new family.

I call it the Sonoma equivalent of working on a dude ranch! We were given a tour of the property, learned a ton about the region and specifically the vineyard and how the natural makeup of the area attributed to creating such rich and complex grapes. Had a little work-out doing the "press-down" twice/day on the 2015 Merlot and loved every second of it. Oh and of course, enjoyed watching the sunset and moon rise while

sampling some of the most wonderful wines! I have never tasted a Chardonnay like this in all of my samplings...even in Australia....so different...but so perfect!

We stayed in grandmas house...and boy does gramdmas house have a great view !!! A couple of things might differ slightly from the pictures here, but the best ones of the vineyard and valley views especially from the Hot Tub are True to life!! If you are looking for a 5 star-antiseptic hotel..this isn't it! The home is "real", "comfortable", "functional" and a place to come home to every night after your day's adventures.

We loved being part of something that we know will continue to grow into Mitch and DeAnne's dream as the years progress and we look forward to being the first members of the Black Knight Vineyard Wine club...hint hint DeAnne !!

cheers to you DeAnne and Mitch and best of luck chasing your dreams!

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Best part of our trip!

  • 5 of 5

A group of 8 of us booked the house for our getaway to wine country and this experience absolutely made our trip! The views from the house were spectacular - whether looking out on Sonoma County or down at the vineyard. DeAnne was a fantastic host - she invited us to help harvest the grapes, offered us a private wine tasting from their selections, and gave us more knowledge than we ever would have gained just going to the wineries in town.

The space was definitely tight for 8 people (the futon really only sleeps 1 comfortably, so someone had to sleep on the the couch), but the experience made up for it. We even decided to grocery shop and eat in to enjoy the property more instead of eating out every night. Overall, our stay at Black Knight Vineyards was incredible and I will be recommending this to everyone I know planning a trip to Sonoma.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not very impressed

  • 2 of 5

Rented the home with another couple for a wine getaway. Location looked good on VRBO. Could not wait to relax in the jacuzzi and grill some food and just plain relax with some great wine. When we got to the home we found the owner cleaning the pool. It was green and had so much algae that it needed to be shocked. You could not swim in it. Pine cones and debris all around the pool area and deck. We went to fire up the gas grill, and found it to be very dirty with a birds nest inside. Cleaning? So we swept the patio area spent 20 minutes cleaning the grill and made dinner. House was not very clean. Most of the glasses were dirty and dishes needed to be washed by hand. The bedrooms were clean and the bathrooms were fairly clean but not like a hotel. The outdoor furniture was very dirty and dusty. We sat on dirty chairs at night and looked at the view of the valley.We opened the cover to the Jacuzzi and it was not clean, therefore we did not use it.

The location is pretty remote and not very close to the vineyards. We were never offered a tour of vineyard and when we inquired we got a let me get back to you in a couple of days. Not very impressed. Never tried the wine. One might think they would offer a bottle on the house, but no such luck. Dogs were cute but bothered us a lot and owners thought we wanted to play pinecone with them which we did not.

The security deposit was a total mixup, with us giving them a check, they cashed it and forgot to tell us then we sent another and they generally had no idea what transactions each of the other partners did. Not a good value for the money and the cleaning consisted of mother daughter cleaning team. Please let a professional clean the home.

We liked the view and the general layout of the home. Rooms were pretty nice but it needed to be a lot cleaner. They need to go see other VRBO homes. We really wanted to see the wine operation, but felt the owners had no desire to show us, so we hit up some awesome vineyards near Healdsburg and had a blast. What a disappointment, as we really wanted to have a great experience.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate the time that you took to write this review. Every one of your observations has already been addressed and we respect your detailed input. I regret that you did not call me immediately. I would have gladly rectified whatever concerns you had while you were visiting our vineyard We are sorry that your experience with us was not what you were expecting. We are a very small family run vineyard. So many friends and others ask us about living “the dream” that we decided to open our vineyard to others to “share the dream”. We offer the experience of living on a working vineyard, run by family members. The family consists Mitch and I, our three daughters (all attending a university), plus two Labradors that are our constant companions and chickens that provide the fresh eggs. The vineyard guest house, nestled on the mountain top offers stunning and breathtaking views: the valley below; the nearby mountain tops; spacious skies; grazing animals and of course our vineyard itself. This natural beauty is what our guests have enjoyed and continue to enjoy when staying at our vineyard. Our vineyard house provides a tranquil respite, which is enhanced by all of the natural wonders, including the natural occurring, unexpected surprises and accompanying creatures that nature bestows upon us. We do everything in our power to make the house, grounds and facilities clean and enjoyable for all our guests. I personally check all areas. Thank you for mentioning that you saw me cleaning the pool, as I was aware of the algae issue, and was diligently attempting to rectify the problem. I apologize that you happened to come at a time when I was working with nature to achieve just the right balance to make the pool algae free. The trees provide that wonderful shade and Petaluma gap breezes, a natural side effect is blowing leaves, pine cones and dust. The Petaluma breezes are what make the vineyard so comfortable all the time. The vineyard dictates our constant attention; we try to include our guest when at all possible. This year bloom was six weeks early, harvest requires lots of preparation. We always respect our guest privacy, often filled with opportunities of great dinning leaving little time for private tours. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to meet with you again. It would be our pleasure to walk with you on our vineyards as we further discuss the clones, micro climate and share the fruits of our labor: Our Wine
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
5

30th Birthday Bash

  • 5 of 5

I looked at many rental houses (East Coast to West Coast) and I finally decided to book this one! It was not only a great house but also the perfect location. My 5 guests (some I've known since elementary school) and I couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at Black Night Vineyard. We all were very comfortable. The weather was a little cool but being in the hot tub every night for sunset was perfect. The owners were so wonderful. We all played tennis ball, stick and pinecone with the owners' two Labradors, who were very cute and playful. Also in the mornings we walked outside where you can see and hear the rescue horses from the neighboring property. Each morning we had fresh eggs and we even picked blackberries, which were all over the vineyard. Our last night in California we had a glass of wine in our hotel and I wish I was drinking some of Black Knight's Pinot Noir instead. My palette for Chardonnay and Pinot has definitely changed after buying some of the owner's wine. The owners were so nice. My friends all said that their favorite experience was learning more about the vineyard and the wine making process at Black Knight from the owners, and of course I agree with them!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 3
Texas Gulf Coast
5

Lovely Escape and View from Above!

  • 5 of 5

We (5 adults & 2 children) stayed at Black Knight the week of the 4th of July, 2014 (sorry I'm late!). Wonderful views, gracious hosts and lovely place to stay. The new master suite was a nice little oasis for hubs & me, with its own bath, seating & eating area, and patio overlooking the vines on the hillside of the property. The front yard, with its view and lounge chairs, quickly became our go-to place to read, relax, enjoy the view & the wine. There's a pond on the property downhill of the winery, and you could watch all the various animals at the watering hole. A family of quail ignored us and wandered around the yard and slope down to the pond. I'm sure they love eating the grapes. The pool side of the house, where the BBQ grill is, is on the shadier side of the house, with hills and cows (and deer and quail), and was nice in the July heat. We used the pool (unheated, and a bit chilly with the shade), but did not use the hot tub with the kiddos.

The house is nicely appointed, with all the pots, pans, serviceware, plates & cutlery that you would need. Stacked washer/dryer in the hall closet was great with the kids (and those of us who spill on our shirts ...). The layout worked well for us, with the separate master suite and the two other bedrooms with adjacent bathroom. The bathroom is a bit dated, but very functional. We did use the den for the 4 year old's bedroom. Only issue was the TV noise bothering him as he was going to sleep (the two spaces are adjacent with folding doors), so we remedied that by taking the wine outside and enjoying a peaceful (sans kids) sunset! There are lots of games, movies, magazines, books, etc., and DeAnne put together a great "tourist" folder with tasting room coupons, maps, etc.

Fault Line Chardonnay is delicious. We managed to enjoy a bottle or two ....! Check-in & check-out went smoothly. Plenty of parking (we had 3 cars). Great location -- you seem so remote and far away, yet it was 10 - 15 min into Santa Rosa, and about 20 min to Sonoma. This is the third house in Sonoma that we've rented, and it was by far our favorite because of the view, the amenities and the solitude. We'd return in a heartbeat!!

  • Submitted: May 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 4
5

Amazing location, great hosts

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the house at Black Knight Vineyard this past weekend and couldn't have asked for a better experience. Nothing could top having my morning cup of coffee while watching the llama and sheep up the hill with the vineyard view in every direction and the sounds of birds everywhere. The hot tub was great and the beds were super comfy. And to top it all off DeAnne & Mitch with their daughter and dogs were superb hosts. I think we may have to go back again on our next wine country adventure.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 3

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Santa Rosa
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Willis Wine Bar
Nearest Ferry
25 Miles
San Rafael
Nearest Golf
1.5 Miles
Bennet Valley Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
Route 101
Nearest Beach
25 Miles
Bodega Bay
Car: necessary

Over 300 wineries are at your reach from this central location. Every direction affords a different, yet exciting adventure in wine country from this convenient location.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Santa Rosa House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Summer
May 31 2016 - Aug 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$395
From
$435
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 1 2016 - Sep 6 2016
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Late Summer
Sep 7 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$395
From
$435
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Harvest Special
Oct 1 2016 - Nov 7 2016
3 night minimum stay
$345
From
$375
Thu,Fri,Sat
$2,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
$400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $55 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter Holidays
Dec 21 2016 - Jan 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
$2,100
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $55 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$275
From
$310
Fri,Sat
$1,720
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $15
Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Cancellation over 30 days before check-in get 90% refund
Cancellation under 30 days before check-in get 25% refund plus any amounts we are able to re-rent.
Cancellation under 7 days before check-in get 10% refund.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sonoma County House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Town ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Gourmet Kitchen
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Full Jacuzzi tub, Rainfall shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King size beds (1) European Pillow Top in the new Suite available starting September 1., Queen size Beds (2) Enjoy the European Pillow Tops and designer pillows in the Willow Room and Bordeau Room., Double Beds (1) Convertable futon in the Den. Den can be closed off as a third bedroom., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) This 8 inch futon is a very comfortable double. The room can be set up as a additional bedroom upon request.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch Furniture
  • Small Cooler
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • In Ground Pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Private Pool ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Your are welcome and encouraged the explore the 60 acres of mountaintop vineyards. With three separate peaks, the view is constantly changing. Enjoy the views and privacy all around on the three decks or enjoy a walk in woods or hilltop senic overlooks.

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties