Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Close To Beach - Dream Vacation

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,350 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths, sleeps 8

A curtain rises on this superb Hampton rental. To those who cannot afford the Hampton mansions, this low-priced rental presents itself to the discerning renter. Located just minutes from Sag Harbor, Noyac Bay beach and Long Beach you are close to all that makes the Hamptons a world class destination without paying those high prices. Home is surrounded by flourishing trees on one acre of secluded land. 3 bedrooms (sleeps 6), den, 2 ½ baths, kitchen with breakfast nook, central air, living room with stone fireplace. Wireless internet. Hanging plants, bird feeders and wind chimes grace large wraparound porch filled with wicker furniture and hammock for two as you bird watch or nap. Backyard has oversized multi-level decking with awning and hot tub along with a lovely screened in, furnished gazebo. Hot tub is a favorite attraction, especially at night when you can look up and see the stars. We also have back yard fire-pit surrounded by chairs, great place for night time fun. No pets, no smokers, no party groups, no subleasing, responsible people only please. This prime location has it all . . . don’t let this one get away.

Attractions:

Beautiful Hampton beaches / Noyac Bays

Historic Sag Harbor shopping/people watching

golfing (optional)

whale watching (optional)

Museums

Library

Hampton Classic Horse Show (August 2 – Sept 5)

Hampton International Film Festival (Oct 6 – Oct 12)

October Fest / Harbor Fest (in Sag Harbor in the fall)

Antique shopping

3 hour Sunset Romantic Boat Cruises (from Sag Harbor- summertime)

concerts in the park (summer in Sag Harbor)

Annual outdoor Art Exhibitions / sales

Book discussions from East Hampton Library

Hampton Fairs and Festivals

Winery Tours

Easthampton walking tours

Restaurants/night clubs/dancing

You can rent a bicycle, rent a kayak rent, 3 hour Sunset Boat Cruises (from Sag Harbor-summertime), horseback riding, whale watching & The International Hampton Classic Horse Show (August 29 –Sept 5th), golfing, fishing, hiking, antiquing, winery tours, museums, Harbor Fest (Sept 7 – 15th. Just relax and get away from it all, the choice is yours. No pets, no smokers, no party groups, no subleasing/timeshares, responsible people only please. Don’t let this one get away.

Keywords: house

More Details

Owner
Richard & Laurie McGee
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2017

What makes this house unique

beautiful wooden setting, close to lovely bay beaches with many amenities and facilities found in top resorts.

Map

Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Montaulk Highway
Car: recommended

The east end of Long Island is known for its fabulous wineries and antique shopping. Dine at waterfront restaurants with sunsets that are absolutely unforgettable. Walk to Noyac Bay beach or drive 2 minutes to Long Beach (ocean 20 mins away). Nature walks at Elizabeth Morten's Wildlife Sanctuary where birds eat from your hand and Trout Pond with deck walkway ½ around pond–it is fed by fresh water springs is only a few minutes away as are several golf courses. The villages of Sag Harbor, Southampton, Shelter Island, Watermill and Bridgehampton are each about 4 - 8 miles away. There are bicycle rentals, kayak/canoe rentals, boating, horseback riding, whale watching, sunset romantic boat cruises and concerts in the park (both summertime in Sag Harbor), annual outdoor Art Exhibitions / sales, Harbor Fests, Farmers Market, book discussions from East Hampton Library, golfing, fishing, hiking, museums or dancing the night away at one of the many clubs. There is something for everyone. Just come and get away from it all making our home your choice location to do it all (at a reasonable price).

Ski: -

Amenities

Sag Harbor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2350 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Large master bath with double jacuzzi tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , sink and toilet
  • 2 full baths upstairs with bedrooms and 1/2 bathroom on first floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , This 4th bedroom is a den with a new queen size sofa bed.
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

4/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
Close To Beach - Dream Vacation
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
5

Wonderful Experience

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed for 5 wonderful days and enjoyed the amenities of both Sag Harbor and the McGee's. The home is clean and comfortably furnished while the outside is like a resort. Great deck with awning, screened in gazebo, wrap around porch, and a large hot tub. The nearby beach was within walking distance and was clean and uncrowded. We are looking forward to the next time we can take advantage of the McGee's hospitality.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
1

Beware, owners will go after your Refundable Damage Deposit money for little to no cause.

  • 1 of 5

The place had a lot of charm, but it's jam packed with pieces of furniture and decorations leaving little room to navigate without having to move items out of the way. And if you move items out of the way, the owner will use it as an excuse to go after your deposit. The house was fairly clean but certainly not deep cleaned - there was plenty of dust under the beds, hefty chest of drawers in master bedroom taking up space, both showers are grubby and don't drain well, closets are cluttered with owners' stuff (e.g. full size mattress in a small bedroom built-in-wardrobe). That said, there's plenty that makes the place enjoyable and livable for a week family vacation.

I was truly planning on leaving a positive review until we were hit with unfair charges and angry phone call. Once we returned from our one week vacation, I received a very aggressive phone call from the owner barraging me with complaints on how we didn't leave his cluttered place clean enough. It instantly ruined any positive memories I had from this vacation. The owner yelled at me for three straight minutes about the greasy oven and two towels left on the deck, and then just slammed the phone at me. That was unexpected to say the least, but that wasn't the end of it. Few days later, we found that a third of our Refundable Damage Deposit money was deducted by the owners as a cleaning fee, which has never been agreed on or discussed before.

We treated the place the same way we would treat our own, with full respect and left it in the same condition it came in. Prior to renting, we specifically asked the owners about cleaning the house when we move out. They told us: leave everything as is, do not clean anything, we are taking care of cleaning. However, they never mentioned it is going to be taken care of on our expense, using the Refundable Damage Deposit money.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have already documented this three times and just sent pictures as well as the rental contract which they signed. These renters left our house in a deplorable condition with filth and food everywhere. In one of the bedrooms alone, they left a galloon bottle of water open which went all over the rug causing us to rent a blower to dry the wall to wall rug and padding. It is still damp. I did not charge them for all the breakage, dishes, wine glasses and a CD shelf player that they left out in the rain. Please, please refer to all the documentation I have supplied to three previous Homeaway Security people. We never told them they did not have to clean the house but in fact told them (as is documented in their signed contract) that I just sent to Security that they had to leave the house in the same condition they received it or they would be charged a Exit Cleaning Fee. We only told them they did not have to wash the sheets. Olga asked us if there was a cleaning fee and we told her YES if the house was not returned in the same condition it was received by them. Please, Please look at the tons of documentation I have supplied to you over the last week. We have NEVER received a negative complaint in 7 years of renting our house thru Homeaway. Our house was professionally cleaned prior to their taking charge of it. It took us TWO DAYS to put it back in order after they left. The grease on the kitchen countertops alone took the cleaners a whole bottle of Dawn (full strength) to clean. They only started to complain when I told them I had to charge them a cleaning fee. Up till then and at the time they left, they sent us an email stating what a lovely house we had and how beautiful it was decorated and what a great time they had. This email is all documented and attached in the three responses I gave to Security over the last week. This is not fair to us as we bend over backwards to accommodate our renters as you will see stated in our prior 5 Star Reviews. Please do not allow them to discredit us in this way. It is unfair as we are honest people and provide a clean, lovely house for people to rent. Thank you for your consideration and just help us to put this terrible situation behind us. If you need any other info, PLEASE refer to the prior documentation we have sent and attachments with pictures taken upon them leaving the house and their rental agreement we have sent. We do not deserve the review that they posted. Thank you. Laurie & Richard McGee
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

A charming place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for the weekend with friends to celebrate my 50th birthday. It was charming . The owners thought of everything porch swing, double hammock , deck dining seating for 10. It was well maintained and very clean. The owner was very kind and accommodating , met us at the house, gave us a tour and even provided firewood for the fire pit and indoor fireplace. They thought of everything right down to a sewing kit! Beautiful place to go and just relax! Great value

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Amazing house, location& vacation! Loved it.

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from over a week stay at this house and it was fabulous. The house was left very clean and fully accesorized with everything we needed including the kitchen (lots of utencils, etc), the outdoors part was charmin, the hot tub new and clean, the outdoor dining large and comfortable, the location was great with the beach and bay just minutes away, supermarket near by, great nature sanctuary for the kids 5 min drive away, and Sag Harbor no more than 10-15 min away. Our kids just had the best of time as well as we did - very relaxing, spacious and charming.

The landlords, Richard and Laurie were very helpful and responsive on every level, and we felt very welcome.

We highly recomend it to any family or visitors!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2012
  • Stayed: August 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500

June, July and Aug rental fees are as noted plus utilities

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties