Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Beautiful Custom Log Cabin - Majestic Mountain Views

Bedrooms 4
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

Cabin, 4 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Enjoy the peaceful, majestic, picturesque, views from our custom built log home, 'OWLS ROOST'.

'OWLS ROOST' offers a 180 degree panoramic view of Grandfather Mountain, Valle Crucis and a beautiful western sunset. Our home provides a warm and cozy setting for your enjoyment and relaxation.

'OWLS ROOST' is conveniently centrally located between Blowing Rock, Boone, and Banner Elk. It is also close to Linville, Sugar Mountain, and Beech Mountain.

Our home has two bedrooms on the first floor and one full bath. The living room and dining room have vaulted ceilings and a large stone fireplace. The kitchen has all the amenities and is well stocked with all of the essential cooking utensils. The third floor has the master bedroom and full bath with a large jetted tub. The third floor also has a loft area with a sleeper sofa.

The lower level has a den, game room (ping pong, foosball, and the original arcade game of Super Mario). The lower level has a bedroom with twin beds, a full bath and a washer and dryer.

The house is wired with Wi-FI.

The house offers two covered decks and a third open deck with a large Hot Tub.

'OWLS ROOST' is the perfect vacation get-away no matter what season. Experience four distinct seasons where you can enjoy: skiing, skating, snowboarding, sledding, hiking, shopping, fishing, rafting, and much much more.

Keywords: Beautiful Custom Log Home Located in Valle Crucis, North Carolina

More Details

Margene Patrick
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 30, 2017

Why Margene Patrick chose High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains

We built our log cabin after numerous trips to the mountains. The scenery, weather, activities, and restaurants offered the perfect, restful, get-away for us. Our children loved the area and always found plenty of things to do.

What makes this cabin unique

We looked all over the mountains before deciding on where to purchase a lot. We were always pulled in the direction of Valle Crucis. The vintage setting and the close proximity to nearby towns was a major factor in our location pick.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

Beautiful Custom Log Cabin - Majestic Mountain Views
average rating of 4.8636365 based on 22 reviews

Girls Wilderness Getaway Success!

  • 5 of 5

This was a last minute rental for a bachelorette getaway that was a bit off the beaten path. The cabin turned out to be exactly what we were looking for.

The drive up the mountain was a little intimidating for 8 Florida girls in a minivan, but if we were able to make it - anyone can. When we arrived we were extremely pleased to find that the cabin was exactly as described on HomeAway. It was well kept, clean, and cozy. It was secluded enough to feel very private, but not too far from the comforts of home. The cabin has a full kitchen - fridge, microwave, oven, toaster, and dishwasher. Although WiFi was available, we had a really hard time getting and staying connected. Our cell reception was also quite limited. Margene did leave a phone number for their internet provider, but we took this opportunity to stay 'unplugged' for the weekend and just enjoy our surroundings.

We enjoyed the wonderful views from the patio every morning and evening. The tranquil and relaxing atmosphere was a nice (and welcomed) change of pace from our regular routines. We were even lucky enough to see a few family of deer, chipmunks, rabbits, and hummingbirds.

Our group found plenty of things to do within just half an hour to an hour from the cabin: hiking, zip lining, rafting, shopping, and even an amusement park. There is literally something for everyone.

We're giving this cabin a 5 star rating because it was everything we wanted and more. Margene was easily reachable whenever we had a question, the cabin was great, and the surrounding areas were awesome.

If you're looking for a relaxing getaway, the Owls Roost is the place for you.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Randleman NC

Owl's Roost

  • 5 of 5

The owners were very helpful in every way. The house was amazing, with beautiful views all around, tiny little trinkets that complemented the owl theme. Plenty of room for a big family and friends! Will be staying here again next year.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful House...perfect weekend

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I recently got to spend a weekend at Owls Roost with 3 other couples and it was absolutely perfect. The house really is at the top of the mountain with beautiful views. The covered porch was a perfect spot for early morning coffee as well as evening game time. All of the rooms were very cozy, clean and beautiful. My husband and I had the basement room with 2 twin beds that we just pushed together and stuffed some blankets in the crack - it was perfect. The owner was wonderful, sent instructions when she said she would and promptly returned our deposit check after we left. We would absolutely come back if we ever visit Valle Crucis again.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Mountain House!

  • 5 of 5

Amazing house with tons of privacy! We looked at a bunch of different homes to rent in the area, and found "Owl's Roost" ...The house was very relaxing and has everything as advertised. The hot tub and wrap around upper deck was our favorite! Beautiful views, and tons to do in the valley. We will definitely come back! Tons of owls, so fun!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Chapel Hill, NC

Top of the mountain, but average house

  • 3 of 5

We specifically wanted a house with an outdoor hot tub to enjoy the views while relaxing in the tub. When we got there, there was something clearly wrong with the hot tub (half full, leaking with huge pointy icicles forming underneath deck). We let the owner know and she apologized and as a gesture agreed to send $50. So when she never sent the money, it was like insult to injury. Bad enough that we did not have use of a hot tub for our stay but now she doesn't even bother to follow through on her measly $50 gesture. Seemingly a disingenuous owner.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Valle Crucis, NC has had a very cold and harsh winter this year. Because of the weather conditions, our hot tub is inoperable at this time. Our repairman has found frozen pipes that cause the hot tub to leak. We will have the tub fixed when the weather warms up. We have given all our renters, who have expressed a desire to use the hot tub, a refund. We now advertise the house without a hot tub. We hope all our future renters will understand. Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
Louisville, KY

Beautiful setting

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful and spacious cabin on the top of the mountain! Would gladly stay here the Spring or Summer! We had snow while we were there and the trip down the mountain was treacherous, to say the least. It is by far one of the best stocked homes we have rented in terms of kitchen supple. Unfortunately, after we booked, we learned we needed to bring all our own sheets and towels. As we were meeting friend who were flying in, that fell on me and my wife to make beds for six and to bring down enough towels for showers and for the hot tub. That all then had to be laundered when we got home. We often struggle in rented cabins as our son is highly allergic to dogs and cats. He did not have any issues at all so I would highly recommend the place to families who have someone who struggles with allergies.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our beautiful mountain house is located at the top of a ridge. When you are in the mountains, the drive is steep. Our website states that a four wheel drive is recommended during the winter months. Our roads are maintained during the winter. At this time, we do not supply linens. We will consider supplying them in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0



Rates & Availability

Banner Elk Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $125
Tax Rate 12.75%

We accept checks only. A deposit is required and about a month before your rental, the balance is due.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing


Banner Elk Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • Large jacuzzi tub in master bedroom
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) At this time, We do not supply sheets and towels.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • tennis
We highly recommend four wheel drive during the winter months. We have a steep mountain road that is maintained during the winter.

Partner Offers