Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Margene Patrick

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Beautiful Custom Log Cabin - Majestic Mountain Views

21 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 4 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Enjoy the peaceful, majestic, picturesque, views from our custom built log home, 'OWLS ROOST'.

'OWLS ROOST' offers a 180 degree panoramic view of Grandfather Mountain, Valle Crucis and a beautiful western sunset. Our home provides a warm and cozy setting for your enjoyment and relaxation.

'OWLS ROOST' is conveniently centrally located between Blowing Rock, Boone, and Banner Elk. It is also close to Linville, Sugar Mountain, and Beech Mountain.

Our home has two bedrooms on the first floor and one full bath. The living room and dining room have vaulted ceilings and a large stone fireplace. The kitchen has all the amenities and is well stocked with all of the essential cooking utensils. The third floor has the master bedroom and full bath with a large jetted tub. The third floor also has a loft area with a sleeper sofa.

The lower level has a den, game room (ping pong, foosball, and the original arcade game of Super Mario). The lower level has a bedroom with twin beds, a full bath and a washer and dryer.

The house is wired with Wi-FI.

The house offers two covered decks and a third open deck with a large Hot Tub.

'OWLS ROOST' is the perfect vacation get-away no matter what season. Experience four distinct seasons where you can enjoy: skiing, skating, snowboarding, sledding, hiking, shopping, fishing, rafting, and much much more.

Keywords: Beautiful Custom Log Home Located in Valle Crucis, North Carolina

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Margene Patrick (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why Margene Patrick chose High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains

We built our log cabin after numerous trips to the mountains. The scenery, weather, activities, and restaurants offered the perfect, restful, get-away for us. Our children loved the area and always found plenty of things to do.

What makes this cabin unique

We looked all over the mountains before deciding on where to purchase a lot. We were always pulled in the direction of Valle Crucis. The vintage setting and the close proximity to nearby towns was a major factor in our location pick.

Reviews

4.9
based on 21 traveler reviews

Beautiful Custom Log Cabin - Majestic Mountain Views
average rating of 4.857143 based on 21 reviews
Randleman NC
5

Owl's Roost

  • 5 of 5

The owners were very helpful in every way. The house was amazing, with beautiful views all around, tiny little trinkets that complemented the owl theme. Plenty of room for a big family and friends! Will be staying here again next year.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful House...perfect weekend

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I recently got to spend a weekend at Owls Roost with 3 other couples and it was absolutely perfect. The house really is at the top of the mountain with beautiful views. The covered porch was a perfect spot for early morning coffee as well as evening game time. All of the rooms were very cozy, clean and beautiful. My husband and I had the basement room with 2 twin beds that we just pushed together and stuffed some blankets in the crack - it was perfect. The owner was wonderful, sent instructions when she said she would and promptly returned our deposit check after we left. We would absolutely come back if we ever visit Valle Crucis again.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Mountain House!

  • 5 of 5

Amazing house with tons of privacy! We looked at a bunch of different homes to rent in the area, and found "Owl's Roost" ...The house was very relaxing and has everything as advertised. The hot tub and wrap around upper deck was our favorite! Beautiful views, and tons to do in the valley. We will definitely come back! Tons of owls, so fun!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Chapel Hill, NC
3

Top of the mountain, but average house

  • 3 of 5

We specifically wanted a house with an outdoor hot tub to enjoy the views while relaxing in the tub. When we got there, there was something clearly wrong with the hot tub (half full, leaking with huge pointy icicles forming underneath deck). We let the owner know and she apologized and as a gesture agreed to send $50. So when she never sent the money, it was like insult to injury. Bad enough that we did not have use of a hot tub for our stay but now she doesn't even bother to follow through on her measly $50 gesture. Seemingly a disingenuous owner.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Valle Crucis, NC has had a very cold and harsh winter this year. Because of the weather conditions, our hot tub is inoperable at this time. Our repairman has found frozen pipes that cause the hot tub to leak. We will have the tub fixed when the weather warms up. We have given all our renters, who have expressed a desire to use the hot tub, a refund. We now advertise the house without a hot tub. We hope all our future renters will understand. Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
Louisville, KY
4

Beautiful setting

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful and spacious cabin on the top of the mountain! Would gladly stay here again...in the Spring or Summer! We had snow while we were there and the trip down the mountain was treacherous, to say the least. It is by far one of the best stocked homes we have rented in terms of kitchen supple. Unfortunately, after we booked, we learned we needed to bring all our own sheets and towels. As we were meeting friend who were flying in, that fell on me and my wife to make beds for six and to bring down enough towels for showers and for the hot tub. That all then had to be laundered when we got home. We often struggle in rented cabins as our son is highly allergic to dogs and cats. He did not have any issues at all so I would highly recommend the place to families who have someone who struggles with allergies.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our beautiful mountain house is located at the top of a ridge. When you are in the mountains, the drive is steep. Our website states that a four wheel drive is recommended during the winter months. Our roads are maintained during the winter. At this time, we do not supply linens. We will consider supplying them in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

great weekend...lets ride!!!

  • 5 of 5

I had a great time at Owl's Roost! location to Valle Crucis and Boone was perfect. I was there for the BSG century ride. The house was fully stocked and surpassed my expectations! I would strongly recommend this property for all occasions and look forward to returning there again.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Boone Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Holidays
Mar 15 2016 - Dec 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $125
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 12.75%

We accept checks only. A deposit is required and about a month before your rental, the balance is due.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • Large jacuzzi tub in master bedroom
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) At this time, We do not supply sheets and towels.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • tennis
Notes:
We highly recommend four wheel drive during the winter months. We have a steep mountain road that is maintained during the winter.

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

Contact the Owner

Request to Book

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote