About the property
- Chalet1800 sqft
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay3 - 4 nights
3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, queen sleeper sofa, sleeps 10, pet friendly
Enjoy the best of WV mountain fun in Snowshoe Resort. Free private on call shuttle service exclusive to North Westridge homes. Bright, airy floor plan with cozy wood burning fireplace, vaulted ceilings and stunning sunsets. Great room features well-appointed kitchen , dining room area with spectacular layered mountain views, and large sitting area with queen sleeper sofa, comfortable seating and huge picture windows. HD televisions with cable in family room and each bedroom. Super fast wi-fi (fiber optic). Luxury mattresses will ensure restful sleep after an exciting day of adventure. Main level spacious master king bedroom and queen guest room share full bathroom. Upstairs, two queen beds enjoy bonus reading area which can also be set up with a pack-and-play (high chair also available) and another full bathroom. All bedrooms offer private, wooded views for glimpsing deer and other wildlife. Other features include 2 DVD players, free local and long distance phone service. Large deck and Weber gas grill.
Great escape to a home away from home: Why crowd into condos, when you can have your own house with the amenities of home? Great, picturesque setting to give you plenty of space, but convenient to all the adventure. Enjoy the panoramic views, peaceful quiet and natural wildlife, and yet be a short ride to the excitement of the Village and slopes just a 3 minute ride away on the free shuttle. Our home sits on an acre, with empty one acre lots on either side of it so you really do get the feeling of privacy.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few hours
- Calendar last updated:
- Mar 14, 2018
Sports & Adventure Activities
We had a wonderful stay for a fun snowboarding weekend. The pictures on this website don’t even do this cabin justice! We surely enjoyed the amazing views coupled by the attention to comfort that the owners make very obvious. The cabin was cozy and felt like home!
A few things that we loved: an abundance of towels, VERY comfortable mattresses, extra blankets galore, wonderful stemware for the wine drinkers, stocked firewood, excellent water pressure in the showers, and the fact that we were able to bring our dogs. The location with the on-call shuttle was awesome too. At one point, we had the shuttle driver just drop us off at the end of the road so we could drop right in to Cupp Run!
Thank you for having us at your lovely cabin. We look forward to coming back next year.
Thank you for the lovely review! We are so glad that your family (including the dogs!)enjoyed your stay at our home. Having the free private shuttle service makes it very convenient to get around the resort quickly while still allowing us to enjoy the comfort and privacy of our cabin. We look forward to having you back on your next visit to the mountain!
All the best,
We really enjoyed our stay in this amazing little cabin. The shuttle to the slopes was easy to access, the kitchen was well-stocked, the beds were comfortable, and the fireplace kept it cozy. :) Highly recommend!
Beautiful property, great summer getaway
We rented this home for a mini-family vacation. It was somewhat central to Ohio, Kentucky, and North Carolina where different parts of my family were traveling from. Overall, we really enjoyed it. We had 5 adults, 2 kids, and a dog, and there was plenty of space for all of us. We spent a lot of time outside the house--golfing, hiking, and horseback riding. We could have done more, too! When we were at the house, the bulk of our time was spent on the porch. The views from here are spectacular!
The house is fairly well constructed, fairly well maintained, and very functional. It serves its purpose well. Among the 5 of us, the biggest problems (problem is an overstatement) we had were the gravel driveway and the sliding screen door to the porch. The gravel on the driveway made it difficult for 1 of the cars to make it up the hill. I think pavement would make that easier. The sliding door to the porch kept sticking and didn't really slide which made it non-functional. We just had to go around to the main door to get in and out of the house which wasn't a big deal to us.
If you are going to Snowshoe to spend time inside, then there are probably better homes to rent. But, if you are going to adventure and take in what the town has to offer, this is an excellent home to come home to after a busy day exploring.
Overall, my family would recommend this property to anyone.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our home! When we redid the driveway recently we actually explored paving it. However the winters at Snowshoe are severe and we were advised not to pave the driveway in order to avoid it becoming a sheet of ice in the winter. The gravel allows for better grip in the snow. We wish you had notified us that you were having trouble with the sliding door so that we could have assisted during your stay.
We are happy that you enjoyed some of the great summer activities available at the resort and look forward to having your family stay with us again on your next visit.
Awesome cabin! Extremely close to the slopes!
Thanks for letting us stay in the cabin! We really enjoyed our stay. Loved the wood burning fireplace, we had it going most of the weekend. Great home, we'll be back. Thanks!
Nice property, as advertised and conveniently located.
My extended family stayed at this residence from 12/23 to 12/30 and we had a wonderful week. The home is roomie enough for 10, the living room area really seats quite a few people. The beds were some of the most comfortable I've come across in renting homes through Vrbo. The location is great, really close to the village, and the shuttle service made it very convenient. The location and shuttle service allowed everyone to come and go as they pleased which was fabulous! As Alaskans, we really loved the wood burning fireplace.
The main reason for the 4 stars instead of 5 is, there were a few minor issues, they didn't dampen the vacation but made things a bit challenging. We don't usually go on vacation to cook elaborate meals, but as it was Christmas we did have a couple good meals planned for the holiday. Unfortunately, the top element on the stove was burned out so it was quite tricky to cook. I would also recommend that if you plan on doing any cooking while staying at this property, you bring along a few basic pots and pans, frying pan, big pot. While there is plenty of pans there, they are in pretty bad shape and they stick and burn food.
In fairness to the owners, I would also like to point out that we did not contact them to report any of the issues. For one reason, the land line was not working and we mostly had no cell service and two it was the holidays and as I said--these issues didn't make or break our good time. I did report all the issues after we returned and the owners responded that they would check into them immediately.
The towels are not great. There really are not enough of them if you have 10 people. I think we only had about 3 wash cloths. In the kitchen, there was nothing to wash and dry dishes with. There is a dishwasher, but there was no soap for it there so we had to wash dishes until we could get to a store. We ended up using washcloths and bath towels to accomplish this task until we got the soap.
I still highly recommend the property. We would not hesitate to rent this place again.
As advertised, most of us had no cell service. However, I might note that my niece has AT&T as her provider and she had service the whole week.
Thanks for the wonderful week!
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Since this is our second home, we really do want it to be comfortable. Having stayed in other rentals, we found that after a long day of exploring having a really nice mattress makes a big difference so we worked hard to find the most comfortable beds that we could.
We were sorry to hear after your stay was over that you had some maintenance and housekeeping concerns and wish that you had called us from your cell phone. We do have the numbers for both housekeeping and maintenance in the welcome book that we leave in the cabin as well. We are always happy to have our guests contact us during their stay, especially if there are any questions or concerns as we want to do whatever we can to make your vacation a wonderful one. Our housekeeper would have gladly brought you more towels as he lives just down the road less than a mile away. We did call the phone company after you alerted us and learned that there was an external problem that they have now repaired. While we have two and a half sets of pots and pans, some of them (actually the more expensive Chantal set) are not non-stick. Thank you again for staying with us. We very much look forward to having you back to our home on your future visits to Snowshoe!
Great house for large group!
We loved our stay here! A group of 10 of us went for MLK weekend 2016 and this fit our group perfectly. The driveway fit all 5 cars and the house had everything we needed. The beds are so comfortable, the living room space is much larger than what the picture conveys (and is so warm and cozy), there are fun games in the coffee table, wifi works great, dining room table fit everyone, the kitchen was fully stocked with all of the essentials, and you can't beat the view. You definitely need 4WD for the driveway in the winter - one friend had FWD and couldn't' make the turn, but she left her car at the turn in the driveway, which worked out fine. A huge thank you to the owners for being so helpful and responsive with questions regarding our stay - she gave us lots of good tips and information for the ski resorts. We would definitely stay here again!
We are so glad that you guys had a great vacation! The chalet really is our second home and we try to make it feel like that for our guests as well. We look forward to having you back soon!
At nearly 5000 feet, Snowshoe offers the mid-Atlantic's best skiing with over 190' of annual snowfall. The resort offers numerous activities, including snowboarding, hiking,mountain biking, and golf on a Gary Player championship course ranked #1 in the state, a lake with activities in summer and indoor/outdoor pools, multiple restaurants, shops and a spa. World-class fly-fishing, the Green Bank telescope, and Cass scenic railroad are all within 15 minutes as are thousands of acres of national and state forest. The area hosts several music, food, art, and heritage festivals throughout the year. Our chalet is located in Snowshoe Resort, near the top of the mountain, and on the only road with private homes and personal shuttle service throughout the resort. Located on an acre of land, our home offers privacy and personal space, while retaining all of the convenient amenities of being located in a resort.
Additional information about rental rates
12% West Virginia tax $120 Cleaning Fee 3% fee for credit card charges $49 security deposit waiver