check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Beautiful Riverfront Antique Farmhouse

11 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Ferrisburgh Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description

Farmhouse, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Our antique farmhouse (Circa 1830) sits directly on the Otter Creek River for a perfect Vermont getaway with all the outdoor space you could need. Whether you like to be in a boat or simply enjoy watching them go by, our house on the river offers unprecedented opportunities to relax! Bring your own boat (or use our canoe and kayaks) and put it in right from the house to enjoy a quiet paddle down the river, or motor to the Vergennes waterfalls or right out to Lake Champlain. Both the river and the lake offer terrific fishing.

You will see beautiful sunrises over the Green Mountains from the River Room, and sunsets over the Adirondacks. Lake Champlain is a 5 minute drive as is the lovely city of Vergennes, where you can enjoy shopping and restaurants. A 20 minute trip in the car will bring you to Middlebury to the South or Shelburne to the North, and Burlington is waiting just beyond. Other nearby attractions include: Basin Harbor Club (golf, restaurants), Button Bay State Park, Maritime Museum, Shelburne Museum, Rokeby Museum, Vermont Teddy Bear Factory, and within 45 minutes you can be skiing at Sugarbush, Mad River Glen, or Middlebury College's Snow Bowl.

The house is very comfortable with a well-equipped, modern kitchen and plenty of room. The master bedroom has a queen bed and beautiful river views. Another bedroom has a double bed, the third has two twins, and the fourth has bunk beds as well as a trundle bed. There are two large living rooms, a breakfast nook, formal dining room, and a screened porch. We provide plenty of board games, puzzles, a DVD player and WiFi to enjoy during your stay. Gather around the wood stove in the winter or build a campfire in the fire-pit outside in any season.

This house offers a unique getaway in all four seasons, taking advantage of all Vermont has to offer. Come and enjoy our wonderful home with your family.

Attending a wedding at the Basin Harbor Club?

We're only 3 miles away.

Keywords: Farmhouse, Antique, Riverfront, Mountain Views, Champlain Valley

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Owner
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.9
based on 11 traveler reviews

Beautiful Riverfront Antique Farmhouse
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews
5

Idyllic Retreat

  • 5 of 5

This is the kind of place that makes you want to keep coming back. It is the perfect spot to explore the area around this part of Lake Champlain near Vergennes, with the incredible Shelburne Museum and even Burlington not far. But the best part is that after exploring, or kayaking down Otter Creek, you can come back to this wonderful setting: a well-appointed farmhouse with ample fields for kids and dogs to play, seated on a gentle sloping yard leading down to the river. Watching the mist on the water in the morning from the back porch, hearing big fish jump, and taking a turn in the swing under the apple tree are memories we all hope to repeat.

The house itself is a quaint and very welcoming combination of modern convenience and antique charm. A well-furnished, modern, and open kitchen ties the house together, between the old farmhouse and the newer addition, while the upstairs had more than enough room for the five of us to sleep comfortably.

Much of the welcoming feel to the house comes from its owners, who are friendly, very responsive, and accommodating, and ready to respond should a problem arise. We're lucky they decided to share this home with the rest of us!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wilton CT
5

Peaceful setting

  • 5 of 5

This was exactly what we were hoping for. The house is clean, well maintained and it's situated on a quiet stretch of a creek that leads into Lake Champlain. We enjoyed kayaking and exploring the surrounding area. The kitchen and pantry are very well stocked and the bedrooms are each very comfortable. The owners are very responsive and great to deal with. It's a very relaxing place and we would love to go back soon.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great experience

  • 5 of 5

Went to a wedding at Basin Harbor and couldn't have been more convenient- quiet beautiful home with pleasant terrific owners who responded immediately to our questions- would love to come back

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just lovely

  • 5 of 5

I just stayed at this rental for a 3-day Labor Day weekend. I got married on Saturday and used it as a place for my bridal party stay at the night before, the elderly guests that couldn't camp the night of, and me and my husband to stay the night after. It was SO fabulous. I'd recommend it to anyone. Very spacious and loved the hammock. It was a great place to do per-ceremony pictures at (there's a rustic barn) and was so cozy. I'd definitely look into this place if you're getting married at Button Bay State Park.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York
5

Lovely Property

  • 5 of 5

We spent a long fall weekend at this house and would love to come back. The house is much larger and spacious than the impression I had from the pictures, and the two large living rooms meant there was plenty of room for our group to spread out. In addition, we were pleasantly surprised at how well stocked the kitchen and pantry were. The property is beautiful and very private without feeling isolated, and the river location was serene. I highly recommend this rental.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vernon, CT
5

If you're looking for peace and quiet - even with a crowd of people - this is the place to go!!

  • 5 of 5

Our family needed down time, and this was the perfect retreat! Relaxing, peaceful & comfortable are only a few words that describe our family vacation at this lovely home. The kitchen, linens, games & movie selections are well stocked. The common rooms are comfortable & spacious. Use of the outdoor grill, fire pit, dock, boat launch & kayaks were terrific. Having Tom's Marina, down the road, was also extremely helpful. The children's favorite part was the swing in the apple tree (& eating the apples!). There are plenty of nearby activities, and a 20 minute ride up the river took us right into Lake Champlain. We can't wait to return next year!!

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Burlington
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Vergennes and Basin Harbor Club
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Charlotte
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Basin Harbor Club
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Hwy 7 and Hwy 22A
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Vergennes and Basin Harbor Club
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Middlebury Snow Bowl, Mad River Glen
Nearest Beach
25 Miles
Burlington

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ferrisburgh Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Payment by personal check, money order or wire transfer. $250 deposit to secure rental dates, balance 30 days prior to rental.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ferrisburgh Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
Notes:
Riverfront property with lots of outdoor space, canoe and kayaks available

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties