Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy Cottage in the Heart of the Historic District!

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 850 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 3)

**ALL of our houses remained high and dry through Irma! Beaufort is up and running and ready for business! COME ON DOWN!*** This adorable home is a quirky little 2 bedroom 1 bath 1940's cottage located in the heart of Historic Downtown Beaufort. We have completed the addition of a beautiful, private, back yard patio. Duke Cottage is adjacent to our other property, Baby Charles, VRBO #282865. We have just added our Health and Fitness Destination, #631501, just 4 houses from the Spanish Moss Trail in the Hermitage Neighborhood.

From this location, you can easily walk to our gorgeous waterfront park where there are lots of restaurants, galleries, and shops. There are porch swings lining the waterfront and it is a lovely place to sit and enjoy the ‘yacht parade’ on the Beaufort River, which is part of the Intracoastal Waterway. The Point neighborhood, filled with antebellum mansions used in the filming of many movies, is just 4 blocks to the east and a wonderful area for leisurely strolls.

Inside the house there is central AC (and heat), as well as whisper quiet ceiling fans in the living room and both bedrooms. It has a cozy living room with a 40' Sony Bravia flat panel TV, HD cable and a DVD player.

The kitchen is large and bright and has been completely redone with a glass top electric range, dishwasher, and refrigerator/freezer with ice maker, and a stacked washer/dryer unit. All cabinets and countertops are new, with a deep stainless steel sink and a pull down spray faucet. All pots, pans, dishes, glassware, flatware, and necessary gadgets are provided - as are small appliances like a coffee maker, toaster, blender, and a hand mixer. The kitchen is also stocked with staples such as salt and pepper, coffee, tea, and sugar - just to name some. We found a cute little 'nesting' table and 2 chairs for casual dining.

The Dining Room has large windows on 2 walls. The dining table is round glass and seats 4 comfortably. There is a lovely curved metal chandelier for ambience.

The master bedroom has a 2011 Sealy Posturepedic mattress and boxspring with 100% cotton high thread sheets and fluffy new pillows. We have switched out all of our Queen bedding to white European Duvet & Shams during the cooler months - IF we have any - so there will still be the high thread count sheets, but instead of our white cotton Matelassé Coverlets, now you will have a duvet cover and shams. These are washed and changed between guest. It's more work, but it as we discovered, it is a better sleeping experience!

The second bedroom has a single bed with the same mattress, except that it is a twin. We tried having a trundle, but it is too cramped to be comfortable, so the house is limited to 3 guests.

There is one bathroom, and while it isn't large, it is bright and fresh and comes stocked with plenty of 100% cotton fluffy towels. Amenities and a blow dryer are also provided.

The private patio has a dining table with 4 chairs and an umbrella, and 2 chaise lounges and a huge umbrella at the other end. It is a lovely place to relax and enjoy the outdoors.

Pets are allowed with prior approval and a refundable deposit. Please let me know what kind and size of pet you wish to bring so we can discuss it's appropriateness!

All you have to bring is you and your clothing - we've got the rest!

Oh - ALL of our properties are NON-SMOKING, inside and out.

*NOTE: ALL 4 OF OUR VRBO PROPERTIES ARE LEGAL SHORT TERM RENTALS IN THE CITY OF BEAUFORT, SC. WE HAVE BUSINESS LICENSES AND PAY ALL TAXES REQUIRED TO OPERATE THEM. ALL ARE CODE COMPLIANT, AND WE ARE ALLOWED TO RENT ALL OF THEM FOR A MINIMUM OF 2 NIGHTS. WE ADHERE TO THE MAXIMUM OCCUPANCY FOR EACH INDIVIDUAL PROPERTY.

Keywords: Cottage, Bungalow, Single Family House, House with Fenced Yard

More Details

Owner
Erica
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 10, 2017

About Erica

After growing up in FL and spending many years in Texas and Arizona - living in the Washington DC Metro area for 22 years was enough COLD weather for us. As soon as our son went to college, John sold his computer business and we headed to Beaufort! Now he focuses his energy on alternative energy and enjoying the outdoors. I used to do Hospitality Interior Design for a major hotel chain, but now spend most of my time on our properties, and enjoying this gorgeous area. Our son visits as often as he can, as do our many wonderful friends. Life is good here in Beaufort!

Erica purchased this house in 2009

Why Erica chose Beaufort

We bought this little house because it backs up to our other property, VRBO #282865. We love the location and the neighborhood, and we wanted to be able to offer additional accommodations! We recently finished #631501, 1.4 miles from here in the Hermitage Neighborhood - by the rail trail!

What makes this house unique

Our guests comment that it is a perfect distance to the waterfront and Bay Street. They love being immersed in the history of the area and being able to walk to everything. It is just far enough to be away from all the weekend noise and traffic, yet still in the heart of it!

Amenities

Historic District House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • Min. age of primary renter: 27
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single
  • Queen size Bed (1), Twin or Single Bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • tennis

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(94 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Cozy Cottage in the Heart of the Historic District!
average rating of 4.9468083 based on 94 reviews
Bayville, NJ
5

Cozy and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Cottage was just as pictured and described. It was very clean and comfortable and perfectly suited our needs. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Greenville, SC
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

Good location. Just what I needed for a weekend escape. The patio was really nice! I would rent again. Great value.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute, cozy, and quiet

  • 5 of 5

Thank you so much for letting us stay in your sweet house. We had everything we needed and felt very comfortable. The outside area was a wonderful place to enjoy coffee in the AM and a beer in the evening. So happy we found this place tucked into a quiet street in Beaufort and close enough to downtown to enjoy the shopping and restaurants. Thank you again.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quaint Little Cottage

  • 4 of 5

It was a lovely, well-maintained cottage in a great location. It was within walking distance to downtown and to many restaurants. The owners did a great job of making sure it felt like home, and our dog was also allowed to come. They had a welcome binder with all the checkin/checkout info, restaurants recommendations, and nearby attractions. The kitchen was well stocked if we wanted to cook. Towels, washcloths, travel sized shampoo, lotion, were also provided. The only downfall was Beaufort was very hot and humid during our stay, and the cottage wasn't cold enough for us northerners.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Awe - I'm sorry you weren't cool enough! Beaufort is hot and humid in the summer, but all of our properties have high quality air conditioners and had you let us know that you were uncomfortable, we would have gladly made the house cooler for you. All bedrooms and all living rooms have ceiling fans. That said, our dear realtor, Rhonda, said to us when we got here, "In August, Beaufort is hotter than the hinges of hell! (But there is usually a nice breeze and we have lots of shade!)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

SWEET LITTLE CABIN

  • 5 of 5

TOTALLY ENJOYED OUR STAY IN THIS LITTLE HOUSE. WITHIN 1 HOUR(PLEASANT DRIVE TO SAVANNAH and HILTON HEAD. WELL KEPT AND CLEAN. THE ONLY DOWNSIDE IS THE 10:00am check out time. Unfortunately we are not morning people.:)

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for your kind words! We strive to provide the best, cleanest, well maintained properties possible. Because of that, we ask for a 10 AM check-out. IF your property isn't a FLIP (new people arriving at 4PM same day), we try to accommodate late check-out requests. Unfortunately we did not get that request from you, or maybe it was a flip .... We have had to replace refrigerators, washing machines, all kinds of stuff between guest check-outs and new arrivals - so sadly we have to plan for the worst case scenario. Please come again and if we can extend your check-out time we GLADLY will! Thank you again for staying with us! Erica & John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Smyrna, Georgia
5

The property was absolutely lovely! Will definitely come again.

  • 5 of 5

Great location in historic Beaufort. The accommodations are very comfortable. Truly you don't need anything but your clothes. Everything we needed was provided. Great restaurants close by and we were able to safely walk everywhere. The owners were responsive and flexible to requests. We will definitely come back in hopes this property is available!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
46 Miles
Savannah
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
Emily's
Nearest Golf
3.9 Miles
Secession Golf Club
Nearest Train
26.2 Miles
Amtrak - Yemassee Station
Nearest Motorway
23 Miles
I-95
Nearest Restaurant
0.4 Miles
Emily's
Nearest Beach
17 Miles
Hunting Island State Park
Car: not necessary

We are located in the heart of the historic downtown - lots to see and do all within walking distance! Our waterfront park is the loveliest on the east coast, and it is just a short walk from the house.

*NOTE: ALL 4 OF OUR VRBO PROPERTIES ARE LEGAL SHORT TERM RENTALS IN THE CITY OF BEAUFORT, SC. WE HAVE BUSINESS LICENSES AND PAY ALL TAXES REQUIRED TO OPERATE THEM. ALL ARE CODE COMPLIANT, AND WE ARE ALLOWED TO RENT ALL OF THEM FOR A MINIMUM OF 2 NIGHTS. WE ADHERE TO THE MAXIMUM OCCUPANCY FOR EACH INDIVIDUAL PROPERTY.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning $75 + Tax
Pet Fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

***We DO NOT offer special Monthly Rates at any of our properties - it is the weekly rate plus weekly cleaning multiplied by the number of weeks you want to stay.*** Also - winter is one of our most popular seasons, so if we did offer a winter rate, it would be higher than the usual rate!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties