check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Shannon Meddings

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

The Perfect Mountain Getaway - THE FAIRPLAY CHALET

25 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Valley of the Sun Cabin Rental Photos and Description

3 sleeping areas, 3 baths, one on each level, sleeps 5-6 comfortably

Location, Location, Location:

The Fairplay Chalet is located between Fairplay and Alma in the Valley of the Sun at 11,100 feet in elevation. Off the beaten path for a true peaceful mountain experience, yet close to mountain amenities. Less than two hours from Colorado Springs and Denver, it's only 23 miles to Breckenridge, and 35 miles to Buena Vista. Added bonus: the cabin location is easily accessed via Hwy 285, avoiding travel on the overcrowded I-70 mountain route.

Skiing:

Breckenridge ski resort is 25 miles away. Eight other ski resorts ranging from world class to small family friendly resorts are within a 45 minute-1.5 hour drive. (Beaver Creek, Vail, Loveland, Keystone, Copper Mountain, A-Basin, Monarch and Ski Cooper)

Hiking/Snowshoeing/Four-Wheeling/Snowmobiling/Cross Country Skiing/Biking/Fishing/Rafting/Kayaking: are just some of the other alpine activities within 5-35 miles away.

About the Owners of The Fairplay Chalet:: The Fairplay Chalet is a dream come true for two professionals who longed for a peaceful and relaxing weekend getaway close to great ski resorts, hiking and fishing yet within easy driving distance from the Denver Metro area. After searching hundreds of properties in Summit and Park Counties, the owners purchased land in South Park and set out to build their dream cabin in the mountains, which they finished themselves in 2008.

The fruits of this laborious effort - an aesthetically appealing mountain retreat that is too good not to share with others. The large deck is great for sipping morning coffee and bird watching. In the evening, relax by one of two fireplaces with a cup of hot cocoa. Read a book in the Loft Library. Play foosball, shuffleboard, darts or watch a movie. After relaxing in the cabin, step outside to enjoy numerous activities in winter and summer from snowshoeing and sledding out the back door to hiking 14ers and fishing gold medal waters just minutes away.

Colorado Towns Surrounding The Fairplay Chalet:: Fairplay:

Quaint town with several summer festivals, the Fairplay Fitness Center, South Park City Museum, bowling alley, grocery store, mountain shops and casual dining.

Alma:

Funky offbeat mountain town featuring music festivals, shops and a couple of bars/restaurants.

Buena Vista:

Art galleries, restaurants, shops, hiking, fishing, hot springs, rafting, kayaking, hot springs.

Summit County:

The towns of Breckenridge, Frisco, Dillon, Silverthorne and Keystone are all within a 30-55 minute drive offering fine dining, mountain shops, and all of the above mentioned outdoor activities.

Advantages of Staying at The Fairplay Chalet:: Avoid the congested I-70 corridor by traveling Hwy 285;

Drive a little (to ski resorts) and save a lot: unmatched value compared to Summit County properties;

Experience the Colorado mountains and serenity as it's meant to be enjoyed away from the hustle and bustle of a ski resort town;

For more photos and information, check out the owner's website at www.thefairplaychalet.com

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Shannon Meddings (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

We highly recommend the Fairplay Chalet. This beautiful cabin in the mountains is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beauty. Shannon thought of everything you would need during your stay. We loved returning to the cabin each day after skiing to cook dinner, play games and just enjoy being in such a beautiful place. My husband and I, along with 2 other a couples, stayed 4 nights completely comfortable with plenty of space for all. The chalet truly feels like a retreat. We would love to return in the summer time.
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 7

Reviews

5
based on 25 traveler reviews

The Perfect Mountain Getaway - THE FAIRPLAY CHALET
average rating of 4.96 based on 32 reviews
5

Beautiful Cabin in the Mountains

  • 5 of 5

Being from New York my family and I were looking for that unique mountain living experience and this cabin did not disappoint. It was very clean and came with tons of extras that made our stay even that much more enjoyable. It has 3 bathrooms on 3 floors and offered plenty of room for the 6 adults that were staying there. We made great use of the grill and game room and just overall loved the cozy mountain atmosphere. If you are looking for a high quality cabin up high in the mountains you do not have to look any further!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

nice retreat with all ammenities, just a little far from town.

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at the Mountain Getaway with our family (3 generations - 6 people) and there was plenty of room to spread out. We got a lot of information beforehand since the owners aren't living close by and we didn't meet them during our stay. They made sure though that we got there alright and felt comfortable during our stay. If you consider renting the Mountain Getaway you just need to know that it is a little far from everything - 5 miles up the hill from Fairplay, mostly gravel road. So we spent a lot of extra time in the car... (unfortunately it took us even longer to Buena Vista and Salida due to road construction.) Also be aware that you are high up in the mountains - we had some trouble falling asleep due of the altitude...

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peace of Tranquility

  • 5 of 5

The property was beautiful not too secluded but nice! The cabin itself...the pictures online do not do justice to how nice the cabin truly is. Shannon has gone out of her way to be so accommodating and attention to every detail. The owners were very responsive to any questions or concerns.

The cabin is in a perfect location to get to Fairplay and Alma with decent fishing at Montgomery Reservoir. We enjoyed horseback riding at Platte Ranch Stables. We hope to visit the cabin during snow season to take in the scenery in the snow. Thanks again for sharing!

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

I don't like this cabin, I love it!

  • 5 of 5

The pictures don't do this cabin justice. Our group was all pleasantly surprised at how nice and peaceful. Great starting point to go hiking, head into Breck, or simply relax at the cabin and make a fire in the outside fire pit. The owner was very helpful and responsive. We all plan to come back again. Thanks Shannon!

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fayetteville, AR
5

Absolutely beautiful -don't look anywhere else!!!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin is absolutely beautiful and can accommodate your needs whether it's a family centered vacation, girl's/guy's week away from the grind or a romantic get away!!! We loved our fantasy home away from home.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay in this beautiful home. It was so comfortable and had all the touches you would expect plus more. My kids were very happy about Internet and all the dvd's, satellite and game room. We were close enough to civilization but yet we were still away from it all. I loved taking a bath in the large tub in the master bedroom with the fireplace going...you can't beat that! I spent a lot of time on my laptop in the loft area and looking out the floor to ceiling windows...it definitely helped my writers block! We will definitely stay at the FairPlay Chalet again!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
South Park Saloon, ALB, McCalls Pub
Nearest Golf
30 Miles
Breckenridge
Nearest Motorway
9 Miles
Hwy 285 and Hwy 9
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Millonzis, South Park Steakhouse
Nearest Ski
23 Miles
Breckenridge

Welcome to The Fairplay Chalet. Nestled between the quaint towns of Fairplay and Alma, while only a 30 minute drive to world class skiing in Breckenridge, The Fairplay Chalet is the perfect destination for travelers looking for relaxation and comfort or alpine adventure.

The Fairplay Chalet is nestled in a recreational paradise allowing easy access to enjoy all that colorful Colorado has to offer.

Loaded with comforts and amenities, The Fairplay Chalet is not only the finest choice in cabins, it is an outstanding value.

Custom built log home finished by the owners with tasteful rustic furnishings;

Pristine secluded setting with views of Mount Silverheels;

Large deck with gas grill, patio heater and perfect setting for wildlife viewing;

Comfy beds, down blankets, quality linens, well appointed bathrooms;

Gourmet kitchen, gas fireplaces, hardwood and tile floors;

Game Room that will entertain for hours;

Loft Library, flat screen TVs;

And so much more ...

Other Activities: river rafting, downhill mountain biking, kayaking, snowshoeing, cross country skiing, fly fishing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Valley of the Sun Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall 2015
Sep 6 2016 - Nov 19 2016
3 night minimum stay
$185
 
 
Thanksgiving Holiday
Nov 20 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Early Winter
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 17 2016
3 night minimum stay
$185
 
 
Christmas/New Year's Holiday
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 1 2017
4 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Winter 2016
Jan 2 2017 - Apr 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$230
 
 
Spring 2016
Apr 3 2017 - May 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$185
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$230
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning Fee $150

*7th night free with week-long stay.

*Cleaning fee: $125

* $250 security/damage deposit due at the time reservation is made; half of total due 60 days before arrival with full aount due 14 days of arrival, cancellations within 45 days forfeit advanced payment.

*Payment accepted by check; Online credit card payments accepted - subject to 2.5% fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Valley of the Sun Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Backpack
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , soaking tub/fireplace in Loft
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Main floor bath
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Basement bath with heated floor
  • All bathrooms include toiletries and hairdryer. Five bathrobes included, as well as slippers for each guest at basement entry.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Day bed in game room with trundle
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Piano
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Binoculars
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Well equipped kitchen including coffee & hot cocoa makers with assortment of coffee, tea, cocoa Spices, condiments, flour, sugar; Basement game room with bar, piano, Foosball, darts and shuffle board; Expansive Deck with heated patio table and an additional patio heater; One car garage and other outside parking; Use of snowshoes, sleds and picnic backpack; Outside horseshoe pit; Outside fire pit;

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties