Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Hilltop oasis, breathtaking view of ocean, peaceful, close to amenities, pool.

Bedrooms 2
Space 2,045 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

2 full bedrooms, 1 bathroom with shower and bidet. Sleeps up to 5 maximum.


Property is just 40 minutes from the airport at Lamezia Terme. This is a villetta/bungalow style property, in its own private garden (a work in progress) with newly planted orange and lemon and flowering plant. The spacious 21 m2 large terrace is ideal for dining al fresco and with magnificent views of the Tyrrenian seas.. Just 5 mins.(1 km) drive to the beaches. Easy access to amenities, groceries, post office, bank in old Zambrone.

The longest beach in the region is Zambrone Marina, with crystal clear, turquoise waters. The secluded beach of "Marinella" can be accessed from the beer garden cafe/terrace behind the Zambrone railway station.

Villetta has A/C in summer, heat in Winter. Self-catering for all your needs. Secure access/enterphone.

Located 5 minutes from coastal highway.

Fresh seafood is often delivered to your door by local fisherman.

GETTING THERE: : UK flights to Rome, Pisa or Milan (and other European airports).

LOCAL AIRPORT: Lamezia Terme Airport (SUF).

(Bravofly offer good prices from Rome, Pisa etc.)

Skyscanner for as low as 15 GBP.

From Germany: Fights from Dusseldorf by Ryanair. Direct flights from Berlin.

From Canada: Direct flights via Air Transat, from Toronto, or Montreal direct to Lamezia Terme!

From Toronto to Lamezia (direct at specific times) via AirTransat, or Alitalia.

Alitalia is our favourite to Rome with regular connections to Lamezia.

Alternative airlines: Blue & Air One to Milan or Rome to Lamezia.

From UK: Cheapest flights - from London's Stansted, with Ryanair

TRAINS: Also from Rome/Milan to Zambrone and Tropea.

Airport transfers: Lamezia Terme, Bus (approx. Euro 0.70) from airport to train Service. Train to Zambrone Marina Euro 4.00

Rail travel in Italy is low cost and reliable. Rail routes service the coast of Calabria and all destinations.

Car hire with an assortment, Sicily by Car, Hertz, EuroCar, AutoEurope, etc.. at Lamezia Terme. Large selection of rental companies all in one location.

By car, property is ONLY 40 minutes drive from Lamezia Terme Airport.

Take AutoStrado signed to Reggio Calabria for approx. 10 minutes. Exit at Pizzo and follow coastal road SS522 to your destination.

CHECK-IN/CHECK-OUT RULES:: N.B.: Times of Arrival and Departure are important.

CHECK-IN TIME: 2:00 p.m. (or later)

CHECK-OUT TIME: no later than 11:00 a.m.

(unless previously arranged at time of booking).

More property and fees details.: Living/dining room. Large corner chaise lounge sofa, arm chair, flat screen TV and DVD videos. Fully fitted kitchen. Bathroom with shower and bidet, window and lighted vanity.

Laundry room has washing machine, iron and ironing board.

There are 2 bedrooms one with queen bed, and 2 single beds. Both have triple wardrobes.

A comfortable ottoman, in the living area, converts to a single bed with adjustable headboard.

Final Clean Fee: Euro 100 payable with final payment.

Euro 100 (CAD 140) Refundable security deposit (to cover breakages) returned to guest after inspection and returned within 10 days of departure.

Kindly leave your telephone number.

There is a separate laundry room with washing machine.


DVD/Music player.

Heat and Air conditioning.

Alarm clock/radio in master bedroom.

Wi Fi can be available.

Fees are inclusive of electricity/heat/Air conditioning (unlike other regions of Italy).

More Details

P. Eastwood
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, some Italian
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 5, 2018

Why P. Eastwood chose Zambrone

Great vantage point to everywhere. Only 5 minutes to beaches, main road and local sites, including Tropea 10 minutes down the road. Great agricultural region, surrounded by wild and wonderful flowers and fruit trees, olive, fig trees, and orchards. Air is fresh and invigorating. Many great walks, up and down hill. Room to spread out, relax. Enjoy a magnificent view, from the privacy of your own terrace overlooking the sea.

What makes this bungalow unique

Very Spacious dwelling. Peaceful, and private. Amenities not too far away. Easy access to a choice of destinations. Beaches close by. A walk onto your terrace in the morning is quite breathtaking. The large terrace allows you to sit outside, even if it rains and enjoy the view. Children can play in the secured garden.

Throw open the shutters and have views of both east and west!


Zambrone Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2045 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Guests are met by our caretaker and given the keys. On Departure the same procedure applies. Keys are NOT to be left, locked inside the property.
  • Guests must adhere to garbage and recycling methods and put out their waste before leaving the property.
  • Air conditioning equipment: We ask that guests DO NOT change thermostat settings, or turn a unit on or off.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Security System
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , bidet , lighted vanity/window
  • Bright, sunlit, tasteful with local ceramic tiling. Shower, WC and bidet. Lighted vanity and frosted window. Hairdryer provided.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Large Ottoman converts to Large Single Bed
  • Master bedroom with Queen size bed, bedside tables, triple dresser and drawers, Alarm clock radio. Second bedroom has twin beds, bedside table, triple dresser and drawers. A large ottoman (in the living room) converts to a large size single bed. Linens, winter and summer are provided. Bed linen and towels. PLEASE NOTE: WE DO NOT PROVIDE BEACH TOWELS. (They tend to want to stay at the beach!)
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Terrace
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
This self-catering bungalow/style Villetta is private, not in an apartment block, is self-contained. Kitchen has all necessary pots, pans, dishes, glassware and utensils. Kettle, European coffee pot, etc. Laundry room has washing machine, iron and ironing board. Hair dryer. Two parking spots are available, in front of the property. Security system access by Enterphone. Triple bolted lock front door. Secure windows. The shared, unheated swimming pool is now open, usually beginning in April. Internet accessible with FREE WiFi in the region. Swimming pool just strides away. ATTENTION: SMOKING IS STRICTLY FORBIDDEN ON THIS PROPERTY. AS A COURTESY TO NON-SMOKERS, KINDLY DO NOT SMOKE ANYWHERE ON THE PROPERTY.


3.7/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
Hilltop oasis, breathtaking view of ocean, peaceful, close to amenities, pool.
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 3 reviews
Perth, Australia

Excellent accommodation in a great location. The house has everything you need + superb views.

  • 5 of 5

We spent 6 weeks in Patricia's wonderful apartment.

The accommodation is spacious and clean with superb views from the spacious verandah. There is even a pool for local residents.

Patricia is an excellent host and communication was no problem.

The caretaker Francesco is an absolute marvel. Nothing was too much trouble and he often brought us fresh fruit and vegies from his garden.

The village of Zambrone is great starting point for exploring the many wonders of Calabria. The beaches in and around Zambrone are beautiful and plentiful.

The small village of Zambrone has a wonderful pizzeria as well as a seafood restaraunt. But we enjoyed cooking many meals at home from the ingredients we bought from local markets.

The community of Zambrone is very welcoming and friendly.

All in all we would thoroughly recommend Zambrone and in particular Patricia's apartment.

A car is highly recommended to be able to enjoy the abundant nearby attractions.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Rob and Yvette: We do so appreciate your kind reviews. If we were giving out awards for the ideal guests, you would certainly take it! Anyone would be lucky to have you as a guest in their home. All best wishes to you both, Patricia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

worst vacation rental owner, ever

  • 1 of 5

The place is nice and the price reasonable, but neither of these are worth dealing with an extremely inexperienced vacation rental owner with no respect for renter's vacation or money.

1) Owner encouraged us to book outside of - warning sign #1

2) Listing said internet was included but the person who let us in said no internet available, it took 36 hours and a large international cell roaming bill to get the internet password from the owner.

3) The listing said there was AC, however the AC was broken upon arrival. This was not a problem by day, but by night we had to close all the windows and deal with the heat to avoid mosquitoes. AC was broken for 3 out of 5 days for which we requested a 50% refund, but the owner refused to acknowledge this request and only commented on how lucky we were to have it fixed within that time. We were required to be at the house for the repairmen to come, great use of our vacation time.

4) No instructions were provided for check out so we left the keys in the house and closed the door. The owner later told us there was only one set of keys and it was our fault for lack of communication.

5) If you do stay there, clean everything (despite the very steep cleaning fee), the owner claimed we left the house "very dirty" based on information from the housekeeper. towels were in a pile on the floor and a couple plates in the sink.

The listing says the house is 2000+ sq ft. This is not true. It is closer to 1000. the higher number may take into account the two floors of the house, but the renter only has access to the top.

Overall, we found this to be a very poor experience. We hope that the owner takes notes of issues we provided them and improves their communication with renters in the future.

The owner has also not given us any indication if we will get our security deposit back, but it seems unlikely at this point.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was a short 5-day stay for these guests. From beginning to end, we were in constant communication. On their second night, A/C stopped working. I immediately contacted our plumber, who fixed the problem in 24 hours. The husband emailed enquiring about a discount for one night without air conditioning. I explained this was not a problem and could be addressed when time came to refund the security deposit (2 weeks after departure), and full inspection of the property. At no time were there disagreements, written or otherwise. We offered to get mosquito blinds installed, for their comfort (having to leave shutters open). Our contractor offered immediately installation. This was refused by the guest. (The company took their initiative, and actually arrived the following day. when no one was home). We had no problem whatsoever regarding that matter. It was never discussed again. On week of arrival, the guests were already somewhere in Calabria and said "did not have a secure communication signal". They needed contact information. We extended every assistance and before they arrived, they were quite happy, had called our keyholder/caretaker. Next day, I was concerned, contacted them by email to see they had key access, including new access codes for the internet. Again, all was well. When asked, on day of arrival, how everythings was, the guest said, "it's a beautiful place, we are very happy". A week before the guests arrival, we were informed they had a new baby. The wife had previously asked if we could provide a travel cot. This was waiting for them on arrival. They did not pay for the cot. On the morning of the guests departure, the husband was again sending email regarding his discount for A/C issue. He said they were just about to leave. His only question was about a discount. We thought this a typical guest stay, honest people. There were no arguments, complaints, as might have been inferred. On day of departure, our caretaker emailed, he was shocked to find they had fled, without leaving the key. He did not know where it was. He called many times - no answer. I emailed them to ask where the key was. A locksmith has to be called as this is a secure building. We have had many guests stay with us over the last 10 years - no complaints, OR character assassinations. This has never happened. At 71, I am hardly likely to start lying. No one wants to leave reviews when guests are rude or leave a place dirty.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Casa curata con ottima vista sul mare

  • 5 of 5

La casa è molto bella,pulita e luminosa.Il terrazzo è vivibile e con una bellissima vista,gli interni curati e arredati con gusto.La signora Patrizia e il signor Varone sono molto disponibili e pronti a rispondere ad ogni esigenza.Casa consigliata senza esitazioni

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and for being such a wonderful guest. We look forward to having you stay at Nosso Lar again. Patricia
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
47 Kilometres
Lamezia Terme (SUF)
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Kilometres
La Collinella, Bar Pizzeria Aramonese, Zambrone
Nearest Ferry
5 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
10 Kilometres
Feudo Montalto Club, Limadi
Nearest Train
1.5 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Kilometres
SA 3
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
La Collinetta
Nearest Beach
1.5 Kilometres
Marina di Zambrone
Car: recommended

Ruggedly beautiful, white sandy beaches and seaside grottos. A huge agricultural area, renowned for the patented red onions of Tropea. Calabria, Italy is a well-kept secret. Northern Italians, have been coming for years, to get away from mass tourism in other regions. The wide open spaces are amazing. Calabria boasts almost year round vacation climates. May through October is usually summer-like weather.


Steeped in diverse history and culture, with many regional festivals. The Blues Festival of Tropea is August/ September. Watch the sun set over Stromboli, stroll Tropeas charming streets which open onto large piazzas. Stores stay open late and the town comes alive. Many fine restaurants, serving local specialties.

Biking, water sports. Deep sea diving at Groticelle and Tropea. Sail to the Aeolian Islands from Tropea or Vibo Marina. Reggio and Sicily is about 1.5 hours south. Enjoy a day in the mountains of the Sila. Skiing in winter. East coast is less than one hour

Other Activities: Tropea is approx. 10 minutes away. Vibo Valentia and Pizzo half hour. Visit Santa Domenica, just south of Tropea, stopping at the restaurant Giardino (excellent coffee,Italian pastry, free pizza with drinks late evening). Try La Boheme Resaurant, Largo Duomo, Tropea, or sip a Prosecco at Bar-Gelateria Dell' Isola,Canone Square and watch the sun go down over Stromboli. Boat trips to the Aeolian Islands, stopping at the volcanic island Stromboli (also nighttime trips) leave from Tropea and Vibo Marina. Travel south to San Giovanni (approx. one hour) catch ferry across the Straits of Messina, to Sicily. See Vibo Valentia city (half hour inland from Zambrone/Tropea). There many sites including the castle and it's museum. There is a large shopping centre here for all needs.

Golf: Feudo Montalto at Lambadi (near Tropea) with 9 hole golf course, designed by Boldovino Dassu. 30 Euro fees for a whole day's golf. Club house and restaurant.

Close to amenities by car. 5 mins. to beaches, less to local stores, etc. bank or post office. Much to see locally. Only 10 mins. to Tropea. Best views in the region. Ideal for families or romantic vacations. Privacy is a plus. Property is secure and safe.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $114.58
Damage Deposit $114.58

The Refundable Security deposit Eurp 100 is paid at time of final balance payment..
Total Balance payment is due 60 days before arrival.
Standard Final Cleaninb Fee of Euro 100 Paid at time of final payment .

LATE AND EARLY (within 30 day/over 90 days) bookings are offered at discount and payment in Full is requested on bookings made within 30 days of arrival date.

We offer some reduced rate for UK Bank holidays (as reflected in listed rates).

Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund