check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Sea Grass Cottage...Ocean Front with Beautiful 180 Degree View

42 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights


Yachats House Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

This wonderful oceanfront cottage is located 2 miles north of the village of Yachats. Located on a quiet street off of Highway 101. It includes a propane fireplace, fully applianced kitchen and views from every room. Easy beach access allows you to go for long walks either north towards Waldport or south towards Yachats.

Watch the summer sunsets or winter storms from the bank of windows in The 'Captain's' room/sunroom. Settle in for an afternoon nap on the comfy couch or overstuffed recliner. Enjoy your favorite book in the reading nook. Bar-B-Que on the HUGE deck, perfect for entertaining. Celebrate a wedding, birthday or anniversary at this charming location.

Come to Sea Grass prepared to relax, renew and refresh your spirit and soul. It's the perfect coastal get-away.

Every effort is made to keep our calendar as current as possible. PLEASE CHECK available dates for a time you might be able to experience this wonderful get-away.

Keywords: Oceanfront, Ocean View, Cottage, Beach Access, Beachfront, Cozy, Comfortable, Quaint

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 16, 2016
Call Owner

Why Belinda chose Coastal Oregon

The quiet beachfront location was a perfect answer to life's busy schedule.

What makes this house unique

We have seen whales, seals and abundant wildlife which is so much more amazing in real-life. The time spent with family and friends is unique when 'water is added'.


based on 42 traveler reviews

Sea Grass Cottage...Ocean Front with Beautiful 180 Degree View
average rating of 4.7619047 based on 42 reviews

Happy Anniversary Indeed

  • 5 of 5

We celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary here this past April and couldn't have enjoyed our stay more.

The deck is incredible - it's as though you're sitting right on the beach but with all the comforts of home a few feet away. We spent a great deal of time outside relaxing while enjoying the panoramic view of the Pacific.

Sea Grass is well stocked. The kitchen is the best stocked one of all the places we've stayed before (there was even a salad dressing cruet!). There are puzzles; games; and even a pair of binoculars.

We slept in the bedroom closest to the deck and were able to leave the door open enough to let in the sea breeze. My husband usually never sleeps in but even he did while we were there. Comfy bed & plenty of bedding (extra in the chest in the room). There's fun vintage dressers in the bedrooms, and the other bedroom includes a charming painted "By the Sea..." saying on the floor in red.

The TV is new with a built-in DVD player (we brought our own DVDs - I can't remember if there were any there), and there's also a gas fireplace in the living room.

The cottage is at the end of a lane, and it was nice and quiet during our time there. Beach access is very close - just out the front door, right for a few yards and left then down to the beach. The access itself is rocky, so we went down slowly (old legs amongst all three of us, including our dog) but it was do-able even for us.

Sea Grass is well located - about two miles from Yachats. We enjoyed the Drift Inn and the crashing waves at Smelt Sands); Cape Perpetua and Hecata Head Lighthouse just a bit further south; and the Aquarium at Newport about 30 minutes north. There is a small grocery and post office in Yachats, but get before you get to Yachats.

Overall, it was just a great stay in a wonderful cottage with a stupendous view and all three of us felt very comfortable and at home here (and there was even an anniversary card & plant there for us when we arrived!). We would not hesitate to stay here again should we ever find ourselves headed that way and look forward to the opportunity.

Thanks! Kim, Gregory & Dickens

  • Submitted: May 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful View!

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed for a short weekend, we were thrilled by the new deck! We stayed about 18 months ago so this was a pleasant surprise.

The beds are very comfortable, the kitchen was well stocked with dishes, flatware, pots and pans, etc.

The best part was leaving the door open to the deck at night while we read and listen to the ocean waves. WOW very relaxing.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your return visit. We are working to update all of Sea Grass so stay tuned for the changes coming over the next year. We appreciate all our guests and are glad you were able to rest and relax. See you again soon!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Happy Travelers!

  • 5 of 5

After reading Jon's review, we were a little reluctant to stay at Seagrass. Yet, after reading other comments about the amazing location we decided to stay there. It looks like the owner responded because we have no complaints. The home had a fresh paint feel, it was clean and the huge deck out back is brand new. We are glad we went. Go see for yourself.

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

beautiful location, dirty house and much deferred maintenance...

  • 1 of 5

We just spent 6 days at Sea Grass - the filthiness of the house finally pushed us over the edge and we left a day early. From the tattered shade in the bathroom window that we had to continually try to jerry-rig (using tap and bobby pins in order to get privacy in the bathroom), to the clearly filthy and incredibly uncomfortable chairs in the living area, which appeared to have not been cleaned in ages. The dishes were grimy and the utensil drawer full of crumbs. The screens leading out to the porch were broken, clearly much deferred maintenance around the exterior of the house - crumbling brick paths and rot around the porch and exterior of the house. My wife nearly fell by the garbage can, because of the rotting wood under the trash and recycling receptacles, and we appeared to be the 1st people in weeks to bring the garbage to the street on garbage day, as the can was full to the brim. There were maggots in the garbage receptacle after it was emptied. It seems as if nobody is really looking after the place and only doing the most superficial cleaning in between guests.

The location is beautiful and the huge deck looked west towards an amazing beach. It was disappointing and odd that there were no comfortable chairs whatsoever on the big, sweeping deck - one might think that would be an ideal place for some lounge chairs. Additionally, there was a dirty grill in the garage with no grilling utensils - seemed to be consistent with a general neglected feeling of the rental.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Joh: Thank you for writing a review of the house and the concerns you had. I just returned from Sea Grass and saw many of the items that you mentioned in the review. As an update: we have hired a new cleaner who should be able to address many of the issues especially the ones related to overall cleanliness. And while everyone's standard of "clean" is different, we don't want anyone to feel as uncomfortable as you did We repainted two rooms and washed all the linens and bedding. There are new towels and carpets have been cleaned. The bathroom curtain has been removed and replaced. The outside of the house was power washed and being prepared for a paint job. A new deck is scheduled for mid-October. We don't put chairs outside because of the high winds which occur. They just don't make it through the storms. I personally spoke with the garbage man about the lack of service and we are working on a way to make that better. Since we allow pets that brings special challenges for our home, however, we will continue to allow furry family members and hope that guests are responsible and respectful of furnishings and bedding. You are absolutely correct that there is a lot of deferred maintenance at the house. The first few years of ownership were difficult times for lots of folks and our goal was to keep the house and items which were neglected are now being addressed. It will take us some time to catch up but we are hoping to be going forward instead of backwards in the coming years. I appreciate your input and can assure you that we will continue to work at making the inside/outside of the cottage as wonderful as the oceanfront setting. We are committed to making our guests feel comfortable and having a wonderful stay. And, we appreciate our loyal guests who have stayed with us for years. They should see new changes to the cottage with the intention of maintaining the same charm and feel that they have enjoyed over the years. Belinda
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Quiet and comfortable

  • 4 of 5

We've been going to Yachats off and on for the past 40 years and never stayed North of Yachats. The beach access and quality of the beach from Sea Grass is spectacular. Sea Grass Cottage has everything you need to stay comfortably and the deck is a wonderful extension of the cottage allowing for outdoor stays to watch the tide, wildlife and sunsets. We actually watched 2 coyotes on the beach scavenging for food and they didn't pay any attention to people or vice versa so

they didn't seem to be any threat. Quiet area of homes that seemed to always have quiet and respectful guests coming and going.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for posting a review. I have never seen wildlife like many guests do but it is always fun when it happens. We appreciate your stay and hope to see you again soon....
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho

Great Cottage

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this same cottage twenty years ago and everything was as we remembered it. Enjoyed our stay and will come again. Enjoyed the deck and easy access to beach and flying kites.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Luna Sea, Ona and more
Car: necessary

Oregon Coast Aquarium (Newport), Outlet mall (Lincoln City), Heceta Head Lighthouse, Sea Lion Caves


Rates & Availability

Yachats House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
Nov 1 2016 - Nov 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
January Special
Jan 1 2017 - Jan 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
February.. 4th nite free
Feb 1 2017 - Feb 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
March Madness
Mar 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
Peak Season Booking thru 4/30
Jun 16 2017 - Sep 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Cleaning fee $70

Peak season bookings that occur prior to April 30th require a minimum 5 night stay but qualify for our pay ahead discount. Bookings beginning May 1st for Peak season require a 2 night minimum stay. Peak season is June 15th to September 14th. Mid-season is September 15 thru October 31 with a 2 night minimum.
"Base rate" refers the rates for non-peak season November 1st thru June 14th.

We require 1/2 down and the remainder within 30 days of arrival. We take VISA and Mastercard for payment. We will contact you directly to get payment information.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Yachats House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 bathroom with tub and shower.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2) 2 Queen beds in private bedrooms, Double Bed (1) Double bed in sunroom/ 'Captains' room
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sound/bay fishing
Oversized deck, easy beach access,

Partner Offers