check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Lori Kuykendall

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Caddo River Cabin, Near Lake Ouachita/ Hot Springs Outdoor Kitchen Hot Tub

66 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Norman Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Open concept 1 King bed & Loft w/Queen, full bath, living area. Sleeps 4.

The 'Guest House' cabin is located on 23 acres in the Ouachita National Forest overlooking the Caddo River. Well equipped outdoor kitchen w/gas grill & cook top. No indoor kitchen. Multiple outdoor entertainment areas. Relax on the gazebo deck, lay in a hammock or jump in the hot tub with views of the Caddo River and the Nat'l Forest. Picnic table, fire pit and horseshoe pits at the rivers edge. Year round area attractions include Hunting, ATV trails, fishing,and hiking, biking, canoeing, golfing and antique shopping. Fall offers local festivals and scenic drives. Great area to ride your motorcycle. Abundance of wildlife, great bird watching. Hunting/Fishing guides available. Ouachita Mountains/Lakes are hunters/fishermen’s paradise. Area lakes offer some of the best striper/bass fishing in the country. Everyone welcome. Located in Black Springs, Montgomery Co, AR on Hwy 8, near Lake Ouachita, Mt. Ida & Glenwood for canoeing, Little Missouri Falls for hiking.

Firm NO pet policy. No Smoking allowed in cabins -- outdoors only.

Hunting Season in Montgomery County, AR: Welcome Hunters.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Lori Kuykendall (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Sorry to disappoint my Houston guests. Rick & I had no idea you were looking for a romantic hideaway! If we made you uncomfortable in some fashion I do apologize. We are so accustomed to having guests stay we no longer suffer from “Gladys Cravits” syndrome thus not focusing on what is going on at the guest house. The amenities section of both VRBO.com and homeaway.com are accurate for what we provide. I would venture a guess I provide more than what is listed. Yes the tank less hot water heater is finicky – sorry you did not bond with the system – we like the eco friendly nature of the unit. Oops, the auto temp button was not pushed on the HVAC unit. When engaged, the unit works with a thermostat while controlling the temperature. I have added the instructions to my “helpful hints” provided for all the guests. Rick & I consider the guest house an extension of our home and pride ourselves in providing the accommodations we advertise and each guest agrees to when making their reservation. We enjoyed having you as our guests and welcome you back anytime!
Mar 2012
  • 1 of 5

Reviews

4.9
based on 66 traveler reviews

Caddo River Cabin, Near Lake Ouachita/ Hot Springs Outdoor Kitchen Hot Tub
average rating of 4.878788 based on 71 reviews
5

CAddo River Cabin

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at several cabins using home away but this was our favorite. This was nestled on 32 acres of wooded land with a stream running thru it. Although the cabin was close to the owners home this was never an issue as we had complete privacy. If you can't leave the city and come to this cabin to relax, you can't relax. Plenty of rivers (rated from 1 - 5) to kayak/canoe. I would definitely recommend staying here. The hosts made it so easy and enjoyable.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice & relaxing .Beautiful creek. Enjoyed it .

  • 4 of 5

Great property. Loved how the guest house was decorated & the outdoor kitchen& the different areas to relax around the cabin . It could have been closer to town but that is why it's called a getway.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Too close

  • 3 of 5

The cabin was beautiful and very clean, however the cabins porch was only about 30 feet from the owners bedroom. Whether you were sitting on the porch trying to enjoy a cup of coffee or you were in the Jacuzzi you are looking at their bedroom or porch. I knew the owner lived onsite but wasn't expecting it to be so close. Also one evening when we were cooking dinner at the outdoor kitchen, it was raining and the electric cook top was drenched, not our idea of a safe environment.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately I cannot control Mother Nature. When raining the side burner on the propane grill is a great option. I do everything possible to provide privacy to all my guests allowing them to enjoy the property. Although my house is visible (not my bedroom) as is the second rental unit there is ample space for everyone to enjoy.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing!!!

  • 5 of 5

I was so surprised how beautiful the cabin was on the inside!! The river is amazing!! We loved it and never wanted to leave! I wanted to take Lilly home with me!!! She is the sweetest dog ever!! Thanks for sharing your bit of paradise with us!!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The perfect place to getaway from the hustle and bustle of every day life!

  • 5 of 5

We just spent a whole week here and it was absolutely wonderful. We loved the outdoor kitchen and even in the dead heat of summer it was nice enough for us to cook outside every morning and evening. The creek was perfect for our 4 kids. They spent every day catching crawfish and little fish with bait nets. We also did some fishing with our fishing poles using small rooster tails and caught a lot of little fish that we threw back. There are plenty of places to sit back and enjoy the cool river water without worrying about the depth of the water for children. The owners provide beach chairs, lawn chairs and picnic tables down by the water. The hospitality was the best. Although the guest house is right by the owners house, you truly feel like you have all of the privacy you need. They provide towels, cooking utensils, pots, pans, even cleaning supplies. All you need is food, good drinks and a swimming suit. Lori even brought over fresh homemade blueberry muffins one morning. The hot tub was perfect after spending the day in the cool river water. The only thing that would've made the stay better would have been a better grill. We used it at least twice a day and the starter wasn't the best. You had to use a long grill lighter to get it lit but even when the one that we were using (provided by them) ran out of fuel, they provided us with another one. Honestly, we are usually anxious to get home following a vacation. This time, we wished we could have stayed another week or longer. We will definitely be back!

Thanks,

The Burns'

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Place

  • 5 of 5

This was a charming cabin! We loved our stay here! The owners live onsite they were wonderful!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Hot Springs, AR
Nearest Barpub
35 Miles
Crystal Springs, AR
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Glenwood Country Club
Nearest Motorway
Hwy 8
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Norman, AR
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Norman Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,050
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Tax Rate 9.75%

2-night minimum stay -- 3-night minimum stay on holiday weekends
Discounted weekly rate is $1,050.
There is a $25 charge for any insufficient item or charge backs on credit cards. Processing fees by credit card provider are NOT refunded if reservation is cancelled.
Firm NO Pet Policy
Minimum age for guests is 25

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Norman Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • River
  • Rural
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - outdoor shower
  • All towels are provided and will be laundered daily. Shampoo, soap and toilet tissue provided. Outdoor shower is cold water only, but really refreshing after playing outdoors.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Open concept with loft. For six people an air mattress (available) would be required with additional fee/guest/night. Children 8 and under no add'l charge. All bed linens are provided. On weekly rentals one linen change per week.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Gazebo
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 12 garden chairs
  • 8 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
No smoking inside Guest House. Lots of outdoor entertainment areas and local attractions. Fire pit and firewood available for guests use. You may want to bring a fire starter log.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties