Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxurious Beach Front Property with Spectacular Ocean Views

Bedrooms 5
Space 3,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

5 bedrooms, 2 full baths, sleeps 14

Have you ever dreamed of vacationing in a beachfront home on the Caribbean ocean? Now you can make this dream come true. Located 45 minutes from San Juan International Airport is the quiet town of Humacao. Casa Palmira is a newly remodeled spacious 2-story 3,800 square foot villa with tile floors throughout that is steps away from the warm waters of the Caribbean Ocean that boasts 3 bedrooms and 2 master suites that sleeps 14. The main master suite is over 600 square feet with separate seating area and a private entrance steps away from the private pool. Our kitchen has been completely remodeled and includes granite countertops, custom cabinetry, custom appliances, and an added extra, a wine refrigerator. Upstairs is a private balcony that overlooks the ocean, directly under is a street side terrace with the same magnificent views of the ocean. The outside of Casa Palmira has lush manicured landscaping, decorative pots, and mature palm trees throughout. washer and dryer !

Around Villa Palmira: Located 5 minutes away is the town of Humacao, which has all of the amenities that one would want, shopping for food or clothing and world class fine dining. Casa Palmira is situated next to many of Puerto Rico’s main attractions like the “EL Yunque” rain forest that has some of the best hiking trails in the world. Old San Juan is a 45 minute car ride away, that has some of the best shopping and fine dining in the world. Puerto Rico’s pearl is a 7 minute plane ride or 40 minute ferry ride away, Culebra Island has been featured on many travel channel shows and is said to have one of the top ten beaches in the world. Whether you want to relax on the beach or by the pool, there are also many outdoor activities you can participate in, such as, scuba diving, snorkeling, surfing, windsurfing, parasailing, kayaking, fishing, and much more. If golf is the game for you, there are many world class golf courses around.

More Details

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 31, 2018


Río Abajo House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Town
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking On Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Suite - toilet , tub , shower
    Guest BAthroom - toilet , shower
  • Master Bath has split showers with bathtub, Guest bathroom has custom marble tiles and vanity.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Private Siting Area
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Private Siting Area
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 4 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Private Patio Balcony
    Bedroom 5 - 2 double
  • Master Suite has King size bed with private seating area, Second bedroom has King size bed with private seating area, Third and Fourth Bedrooms have Queen beds, Fifth bedroom has double twin beds with Private Balcony
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Gated Community
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

59% Complete
34% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Luxurious Beach Front Property with Spectacular Ocean Views
average rating of 4.46875 based on 32 reviews

Perfect Relaxing Vacation Home!

  • 5 of 5

This is our second visit to this home and it just doesn't get any better. We were a party of two couples who were very excited to get reservations for this end of January stay. Relaxed by the pool with perfect temperatures, while listening to the frogs. The eco park a few blocks away can be entered at the end of the beach, or the main gates, a must see. We also highly recommend the local restaurant Bocata, they have live music on the last Thursday of each month. Great food with a wonderful wine list, we recommend a bottle of Jaros, a 2014 red blend. We also recommend visiting the Palmas Del Mar resort and hitting the beach bar, beautiful ocean views. Enjoy a drive to Hucares not too far and breathtakingly beautiful, it's a small village.

Renato's house is very spacious with lots of room for multiply families and friends. We couldn't have asked for a better stay and Annie the manager is very efficient with your entrance and exit. Thanks Renato!!

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your beautiful review, for ys slways is a pleasure receive you in our property. Annie,
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We were a large party of adults and children and had plenty of room for everyone .It was comfortable and great to have everything we needed on hand !!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cute Puerto Rican House!

  • 4 of 5

This house is just as described and looks just like the pictures on the website. Ana (house manager) met us when we arrived and walked us through everything. The rooms were very spacious, lots of appliances, comfortable living room, and everything else that you could need. The pool was a little cold so we did not use it as much but it was still convenient to have. The ocean is also visible from the house but there is not much of a "beach" to lay out there. However, it is very private if that is what you are looking for. It was nice to have a laundry room to wash towels and bathing suits for multiple uses. It was also helpful to have soaps and paper towels and such all included. The only reason I gave 4 stars was we encountered two small issues. One was that there was a leak in the room in one of the bedrooms and they weren't able to repair it while we were still there. The leak was close to the bed but thankfully not directly over the bed. The second reason being that we looked for a blow dryer and could not find it. When I called Ana she said maybe the previous guests took it out of the house and she said she would bring one over but never did. Not a huge deal, but I was expecting a blow dryer to be in the house so for future visits maybe do an inventory of everything to make sure it is still there. Other than those issues, I would recommend this house for other visitors!

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Safia,thank you for your review,as far as the leak we had the roof fixed a few month before you arrived,i was told we had a lot of rain while you were there well they missed a spot,at the time it was raining you cant repair the roof while is raining,as far as the hair dryer in 7 years we have never had anything missing,Annie told me you bought one and she offered to pay you and you said no,thank you but if you want I will pay you,i am glad we only had a little leak and not the whole house,again thank you,have a great year!PS the leak was fixed as soon as it dried up. Sincerely,Renato
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 4 of 5

This is a very nice, clean, well-equipped home with a nice pool and patio. There were 9 adults and 2 children in our party so that every room was used. For the most part, the vacation was great; however, it was a nuisance to get in and out of the gated community as we had three cars (which usually went their separate ways) and only two remotes. There wasn't anyone in the security booth or answering the phone to give us access, and more often than not, we had to wait for someone going into the complex to let us in. My biggest complaint is that the air conditioning unit in one of the bedrooms was broken forcing one of our couples to sleep in the heat. We were told by Annie, the property manager, that it would be repaired in two days but it never happened during the week we were there. Instead at the end of our stay, we heard a sad story about the expense of the unit, which is TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good evening Evelyn,i read your review and i want to thank you for the 4 stars,i am sorry to hear about the problem with the air conditioner and the remote for the gates,we have never had any complaints regarding the gate opener or having problems with the gate,if you read my reviews no one has ever complained,as far as Annie again the reviews will tell you that i couldnt ask for a better manager,lets start with the gate openers we give you 2 it has always been plenty,you said you had 3 cars,we figure that usually the families stay together but if someone wants to go their seperate way when they have 3 cars well again we never ran into that problem,i already asked Annie to get another remote control so renters can have 3,now if renters show up with 4 i will be truthful i wont give 4 remotes,as far as the air conditioner,it was working when you got there,it broke,we have a company that takes care of all of that and almost all the air conditioners have had to be replaced,we are on the ocean and that is tough on everything,Annie contacted the company and they had to order it,we have no control over that,Annie told me she spoke with your son because you werent there and he was very nice and told her that that happens were you live and some times it takes them a few days to fix it,well i have the same in my house here in the good US,i preciate you staying in my home,i dont know what else to tell you,except thank you and god bless and wish you and your family a healthy and happy life and GOD BLESS AMERICA,sincerely Renato!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Memorable and accommodating

  • 5 of 5

The property was beautiful! I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the house and how roomy the house was. There were 13 of us and we were very comfortable. The house had plenty of towels, the beds were clean and comfortable, and the laundry room was very much appreciated. The pool was private and well maintained. The beach was walking distance and although not a swimming beach, it was beautiful and clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Corin,thank you for your review on my home,as far as the beach not been swimable i cant agree,remenber we are on the ocean that brinigs seaweed depending on the weather,thats nature my beach is swimable,we are not a hotel were they rake the beaches everyday,the ocean brings them in and takes them out,thats nature,i have never had a complaint about it,i watch alot of travel chanel on beaches and some of the most beautiful beaches have seaweeds,including south beach in miami,i have been to tahiti several times and even in Bora Bora has had sea weed,i really thank you for your review,and it was a pleasure having you stay at my home,Annie my manager spoke very highly of all of you,have a great year and God Bless You and yours,take care!!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Comfortable, Inviting and perfectly located

  • 5 of 5

This home was so much more than we expected. The owner, Renato, made it very easy for us to meet with his manager Annie, who showed us everything about the house and answered all of our questions. My husband and myself were traveling alone and enjoyed all the space. We would come back with friends and family, being how there's so much space with plenty of areas for privacy or visiting. The next door eatery has the best "Shrimp Momofongo" with a great staff, very friendly and affordable. We enjoyed the Humaco Nature Reserve next door, with all of the wildlife and Iguanas, loved this park, lots of trails to walk through or you can rent bikes and kayaks.

The pool in the backyard was very relaxing, especially in the evening with the lights on and the frogs in the plants sound like birds singing. I actually taped them, because they sounded so surreal. We also went to the El Yumque National Forest, taking the unpopular side entrance, we had the road to ourselves until we came to the day picnic camp area, which was closed from the popular entrance, beautiful river with cascading little falls. This park, which is the largest rainforest in the US represents a true rainforest experience. Thank you again Renato for extending your great home. Perfect vacation!

Richard and Liz Halliday

  • Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
San Juan Airport (Luis Munoz Marin)
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Right outside the gates
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Palmas del Mar Country Club, Humacao, PR
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Carretera #3 PR
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Metres
Right outside the gates
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Villa Palmira


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties