Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Directly on the Beach - New, Clean, Sun-Soaked Ocean Front Home

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10-11)

It doesn't get better than this! Gorgeous new house, no worrying about what you'll really 'find' when you arrive. Sits on an acre of land among a small handful of other lovely homes. Custom built in 2006. Along the full length of the house there is a back deck, and the house is shingle with white trim. Dining options at the house include an indoor table in the great room that seats 10, an outdoor table that seats 10, 4 barstools along the kitchen peninsula, and a screened in porch table that seats 6.

The bedrooms are as follows:

Main floor: Master Bedroom Suite, king bed, huge walk-in closet, jetted tub and separate shower and toilet. Direct access to outdoors from the bedroom.

Main floor second bedroom- bunk room, 2 bunk beds, sleeps 4.

Upstairs Bedroom 1: King Bed, TV

Upstairs Bedroom 2: Queen Bed, crib, sofa (not pull out)

Upstairs Bedroom 3: 1 twin bed, 1 full bed, 1 twin trundle bed. Large room with built in desk and room to play.

Outside facing the ocean are various areas to relax, including a shaded hammock, a pair of Adirondack chairs, and another pair of chairs closer to the water. Sofa and 2 conversation chairs on deck, as well as 2 teak steamers. The perfect house to lounge, cook, relax, and enjoy family and friends beachside. Truly away from it all, fall asleep to the sound of the ocean. Tide pools about at low tide with hermit crabs, baby lobsters, sand dollars and the occasional urchin.

Bowdoin College and Brunswick are about 20 minutes away, and Freeport (home of LL Bean and great outlet shopping) is about 40 minutes from the house. On island is a small general store and 2 low key seafood restaurants.

We've rented vacation homes ourselves many times, and have been happy sometimes, and often disappointed at arriving for a week's stay at a more tired, run down property. Rest assured, our home is new, clean, gorgeous. Top of the line, we love it here and we know you will, too, from the moment you pull into the landscaped yard and walk into your expansive ocean view.

Keywords: beach house

More Details

Owner
Rachel
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 24, 2017

About Rachel

We are a family of four, built this dream house of ours 8 years ago. We have 2 small boys, so we're on the move a lot. The house has brought us a world of happiness and relaxation - we love to make big meals, relax, walk on the beach, discover creatures in the tide pools, and run around on the grass.

Rachel purchased this house in 2006

Why Rachel chose Portland and Casco Bay Area

Bailey Island is clean Maine living. Connected by the Cribstone Bridge to the mainland (i.e. you can drive there), we've always felt it was a gorgeous place. The ocean, the land, the way the rocks jut out of the water - it's all just lovely.

What makes this house unique

We love to wake in the AM, make a big pot of coffee, and walk down to the ocean first thing in the morning, warm cups in hand. Repeat again in the afternoon with wine. Buy lobsters nearby (cheaper than chicken in the summer!) and indulge in 2-3 lobsters each out on the screen-in porch.

Amenities

Bailey Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub , private bath in master bedroom area
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , main floor bath
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , upstairs bath, standing shower
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , master bedroom on main floor with private bath and powder
    Bedroom 2 - 2 bunk bed , bunk bed room on main floor sleeps up to 4
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Upstairs king with ocean views
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Upstairs queen includes crib
    Bedroom 5 - 3 twin/ single , 2 twin beds plus a trundle in this large room
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) There is a real crib set up in an upstairs bedroom ( bedroom also contains a queen bed), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1) There is a bunk room with 2 bunk beds (sleeps 4)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Rare beach front property - a sandy beach down our private path.

Reviews

4.3/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

Directly on the Beach - New, Clean, Sun-Soaked Ocean Front Home
average rating of 4.25 based on 4 reviews
2

Positive and negative experience

  • 2 of 5

Rachel (owner) was very nice to work with and extremely responsive. We have stayed on Bailey Island once before (and 12 other locations/homes along mid-coast Maine over the years) and wanted to return. It is a beautiful island, and the actual location of this home is wonderful. Overall the house was lovely. The first floor (master suite, bunk room, living/dining, kitchen, screened porch and one additional full bathroom) was comfortable and attractive (although no window coverings in the master suite, which faced east - and no headboard for the master bed). The upstairs was extremely disappointing, and there were other issues that, when combined, made me regret my decision to stay here. The upstairs bedrooms (three total, with one shared bath) felt more like dorm rooms than relaxing bedrooms. There were few window coverings; missing (and mismatched) sheets; no closets; no extra blankets; poor or no reading lights; no headboards; and uncomfortable beds, pillows and sheets. The listing does not specifically mention providing basic soap/shampoo, but there was none (which I expected in this price range). There was a cabinet full of wide opened food (chips etc..); the coffee pot was full of used grounds and hadn't been cleaned; there were no fireplace tools (owner offered to order and expedite a set, which was nice); the fireplace was full of mostly used wood and several fires-worth of ashes; the house was clean enough, but certainly not to the degree we expected. The owner has been notified my concerns and hopefully she will make some changes to the house, ensure the "in-between visitors" cleaning is done and done well, include a more comprehensive/accurate description and photos in the homeaway listing, and/or significantly reduce the price.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Emily, Thank you for your kind words, and please know I am immediately addressing much of what you mention here. I was quite surprised by some of your criticisms, but I must take them to heart. I do wish that instead of waiting until you left to complain about things like cleanliness that you had reached out at the time - I would have had my cleaning crew over immediately to remedy any issues! I know they try to leave "staples" such as olive oil, unopened pasta, and salt for future renters. As you mention, the fireplace tools that you could not find I immediately amazon primed to you, as I would have for simple items like shampoo (not included but yes, I generally load the house up with all basic cleaners and paper products as a courtesy, and yes, sometimes I'm sure they do get finished by a previous guest). The house faces the beach and we are often there ourselves - we adore looking out at the ocean from 4 out of 5 bedrooms and falling asleep to beach breezes and waves crashing. We read each night and for us the bedside lamps are more than adequate - that said, I have already ordered additional ones to ensure the lighting needs are met for all who may require more. I have also ordered additional sheets so as to better match - with five bedrooms and one washing machine, my cleaners try their very best to match but often have to "do their best" on matching to have the house ready to go for the next renters. I regret was an irritant. More sheets en route! Again, I am sorry to hear your trip was not all that you hoped - as you noted that I am very responsive and I care a lot, I do deeply regret you did not reach out to me upon check in so I could have had the opportunity to make things right for you and your family - vacation time is precious and one should not be distracted or irritated with small, easy-to-remedy issues while on holiday. I have half a dozen return renters each season and I often ask them what can be improved or added to the house to enhance their stays - and I act upon these suggestions. Rest assured that yours, too, I will immediately address. Sincerely, Rachel
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Such A Happy Grandma

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing week we had! Traveling with babies and great grandparents can be stressful. We didn't experience a second of worry once we at the house. Everything you need is there. I love books, and every room was filled. We were also able to paddle board, raft, and puddle jump with the kids.

The amenities are as stated. You won't regret anything; especially if you love a beautiful view, great house, perfect appliances and an Island you will go back to again and again.

We have already rebooked another week in 2016. This is our THIRD visit to the house!!

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a great vacation!

  • 5 of 5

What a gorgeous house and place for a relaxing vacation! There was plenty of room for 10 of us in this well layed out home. The house was stocked with everything you could need. The beach was steps away down a rocky path...so close! The sound of the waves at high tide was wonderful to fall asleep to. It was private yet still close enough. Bailey island is a very small but gorgeous island. Sunrise from this house was awesome. The people at morse's cribstone restaurant were wonderful. We went down to lands end and giants stairs. We also visited Freeport and wiscasset. The owner was very helpful and responded almost immediately with any questions I had. If we do another family get together we will definitely consider this place again!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Hingham, MA
5

Amy

  • 5 of 5

My family and I recently visited this gorgeous home for a long weekend in September for a family wedding and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The home is beautiful, the views are breathtaking, and the private location lends itself to a peaceful retreat and getaway. The property has its own beach that is gorgeous and is great for wading and exploring at low tide. This was our first experience on Homeaway and the experience was wonderful. The homeowner was a delight to work with and I look forward to rebooking this home for another visit very soon.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bailey Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Should Season
Oct 21 2016 - Jun 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$900
$5,000
 
 
Summer
Jun 10 2017 - Sep 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$7,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$1,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Cleaning Fee $200
Tax Rate 7.5%

50% of deposit is required to reserve the reservation, the remaining 50% is due at least 30 days before check-in date.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties