check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Lynn Doussan

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Splish Splash! Swim, Fish, Kayak, BBQ & More! Book 3 nights, get the 4th FREE!

8 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Pass Christian House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Book 3 nights in Sept or Oct and get the 4th night FREE!

The 'Casual' recently got a facelift! New paint, new decor and spring cleaned. Ready for you to come relax and enjoy all The New Getaway has to offer!

Visitors can enjoy swimming and volleyball in the beautiful pool, kayaking and canoeing along scenic Bayou Johnson, 9 hole putt putt course, new swing set for children, horseshoes, basketball goal, soccer goal, bird sanctuary, beautiful sunsets overlooking bayou marshes and a quiet safe environment for a vacation to remember. A unique amenity to the 'Casual' are 3 TV's n the sport's room. Sports enthusiasts can enjoy all the 'big' games. Also a cozy new fireplace. Many sporting events and festivals and big name entertainment at casinos are prominent along the south Mississippi Gulf Coast as well as 5 Star Restaurants and malls. Also, Prime Outlets to delight the shoppers!!

Other amenities include: fishing, kayaking, canoeing, out door fireplaces, miniature golf, playground in Pelican Park, Boating (boat slip on the property. Overflow parking for trucks and trailers)

Property has access to deep water outlets leading to the Gulf of Mexico.

This home is smoke free, pet friendly and occupants have use of all amenities on the New Getaway property at no extra charge!

We have 4 houses total on the property. All with the same amenities. Ask us about specials for renting more than one house! We are ready to host your wedding, family reunion, church retreat or party!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Lynn Doussan (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Lynn Doussan

The New Getaway

In 1975 our family purchased a beautiful waterfront lot along a slip of Bayou Johnson. We built a summer home for our family. Within months a friend of ours asked to rent our home for their vacation. That we did. From that day, we began purchasing property for sale from our neighbors & other sources. In 1991 after our 4 children graduated from college, we built our home on the resort site. By 2005 the Getaway had 10 water front vacation homes for rent. Hurricane Katrina (2005) blew away 4 homes & left us with 6 homes to completely rebuild. By 2008 we completed the above better than before. The Getaway purchased 1 1/2 acres along Bayou Johnson & developed a park (Pelican Park Wildlife Conservatory) for our guests. In 2010 we changed the name to The New Getaway and the resort rests on 8 acres of beautiful water front property. Our staff consists of the following: Mr. Dan Parker - General Manager, Angie Daniels Reservation Specialist, 3 part time builders. We are very proud of our staff & resort. We thank God for our Success.

Lynn Doussan purchased this house in 1975

Why Lynn Doussan chose Mississippi

Its the most beautiful area on the coast! Tons of wildlife. Piece and quiet.

What makes this house unique

Lots to do! Fishing, canoeing, kayaking, Boating. Relaxing atmosphere!!!

Also a perfect place for a family reunion, wedding, party, etc.

Reviews

4.5
based on 8 traveler reviews

Splish Splash! Swim, Fish, Kayak, BBQ & More! Book 3 nights, get the 4th FREE!
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews
Austin, Tx
5

Family reunion vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our family rented out all for houses for a family reunion.

This place did not disappoint! The houses were so clean and maintained.

There was so much to do here, they had canoes, kayaks, piers to fish, decks to grill.

Words cannot describe how beautiful this place is. Working with Tanya on this vacation

was a blessing, she was so helpful. We look forward to seeing this hidden gem again!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great for our Family Reunion

  • 4 of 5

We rented two houses for our family reunion. We were 14 people and a small dog. The accomodations were comfortable, and everyone had enough room. Since we booked two houses next door to each other, we had a pool to ourselves. The elderly family members enjoyed the views from the porch and could watch the little ones playing in the yard, playing putt-putt or basketball across the street, or in the pool. There is plenty to do on the property. I especially enjoyed going for early morning rides in the kayak and canoes. The scenery on the bayou was lovely. (Boats, paddles and life jackets are provided). There is also a lot to do on the Gulf Coast (beaches, water parks, antique shopping, excursions) so we were always entertained. It was nice to grill outside, Although the kitchens were well equipped, the Lodge did not have a dishwasher. (Luckily there were enough of us to chip in so the dishes always got done quickly). Grilling outside on the shady porches with a view of the bayou was a definite highlight. There were also lots of good dining options nearby from down-home seafood places to more elegant dining on the beach.

The owners made sure we had everything we needed, and were friendly and helpful. We'd definitely recommend this for larger get-togethers!

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Anniversary and Birthday

  • 5 of 5

It was great friendly owners. Lots of activitysy to like crabing , fishing on the byou ,swimming , grilling , golfing. Just a lovely private clean beautiful views we loved was a different experience than at home we will go back soon.

  • Submitted: May 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location!

  • 5 of 5

We rented three of the four properties to accommodate family members for our wedding. The location was very nice because it was at the end of the street so no worrying about traffic. All three houses were well maintained and the property manager was very quick to resolve any hiccups we encountered. We had some guests that couldn't get around too well, so we really appreciated the use of the elevator. Most of our time was spent getting ready for the wedding and it rained almost the entire day on one of the three days we were there so unfortunately, we couldn't take advantage of the pool and kayaks. Weather permitting, there would definitely be lots to do! We would absolutely recommend this property to others!

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Can't wait to come back!

  • 5 of 5

I absolutely can not say enough goods things about The New Getaway!! The owners are super nice and made us feel welcome. Really by the end of our visit, we felt like family!

I am sure it is going to take several visits to enjoy everything we had available to us during our stay. Mini golf, canoes, kayaks, a park, fishing. Too much to do during one stay.

There was something for everyone and we are all looking forward to our next trip.

Thank you again for everything!

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fairhope, AL
3

almost great!

  • 3 of 5

We took a great group of sailors over for a regatta. We were not home during the day to enjoy all of the amenities, but the owners insisted on harassing us anyway. They accused us on two separate occasions of bringing a dog, which we did not. They even sent a person over to check the property. We took very good care of everything and would have otherwise had a good time during our stay, but were made to feel unwelcome.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Gulfport - 30 minutes, New Orleans - 1 hour
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Daddyz In The Pass, Ricky's Bar & Grill, Shaggy's
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
The Oaks, The Isles
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
10 Mins
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Bacchus Food & Drink Pirates Cove Old Cuevas Bistr
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
10 mins away
Car: recommended

Pass Christian, Mississippi -- city in Harrison County, Mississippi, United States, along the Gulf of Mexico. It is part of the Gulfport–Biloxi, Mississippi Metropolitan Statistical Area. There are many attractions and activities nearby - beach, golf, five star restaurants, shopping - mall and outlet stores - sailing - water park - casinos - deep sea fishing - ferry boat rides to nearby islands - scenic drive to view mansions - Stennis Space Center - Memorial park facing gulf with picnic tables,swings and Kaboom set for children and more. Oldest yacht club in south, harbor for commercial shrimp, oyster, pleasure and sail boats.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pass Christian House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Cruisin The Coast
Oct 2 2016 - Oct 9 2016
4 night minimum stay
$275
$1,750
 
 
SNow Birds/ Off Season
Oct 10 2016 - Feb 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
$2,300
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$240
$1,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Cleaning $85
Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 12.0%

Rates are subject to change. Stays longer than 30 days will be charged $125 for cleaning. All pets must have a manager's approval.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pass Christian House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Towels, wash cloths and hand towels in all the bathrooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Bunk
  • Bedroom 1 - tv, dresser, closet, nightstands, bed Bedroom 2 - tv, closet, bunk bed Bedroom 3 - tv, closet, nightstand, bed
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Two Pools w/ Volley Ball Net Basket Ball Court Soccer Field Horse Shoes Kayaks / Canoes Kids Play Sets 12 Hole Putt-Putt Golf Free WiFi Wharf Behind Each Home For Fishing & Crabbing Walking Path Asphalt Street with safe Cul-de-sac Over Flow Parking Lot.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers