check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Charming Home Next to a Stream

18 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Chichester Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-5)

Charming home, next to a stream, that is surrounded by mountains. There is a stone fireplace outside, next to stream, ideal for cooking or enjoying the fire at night. Walk up or down the stream, to find water holes for swimming, or fish in the stream to catch a trout.

There is a table out side on the back porch, for eating your meals and viewing flower gardens. Inside, there are two brightly colored bedrooms and an extra futon, a wood-burning stove, a cozy living room and an eat-in-kitchen.

There is hiking out the back door. A short drive to Phoenicia and a 20 minute ride to Woodstock or Hunter. The days are warm and the nights are cool.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Owner (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.6
based on 18 traveler reviews

Charming Home Next to a Stream
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 18 reviews
Arnold, Maryland USA
5

Truly Lovely Cottage and Surroundings

  • 5 of 5

Stayed at this delightful cottage for a 4 day weekend - wished it could have been for longer! The cottage is cozy, welcoming, interesting and peaceful. Every night we cooked our dinner over the stone fireplace and relaxed by the creek. The cottage is stocked with everything you need from pots and pans to music and books (and good ones too!),and unique eclectic furnishings. Brought our dog and she had a blast too!. The owner is lovely and stayed, despite our late arrival, and showed us everything and gave us all the scoop on the area. This area is beautiful and we packed in a lot in the four days. Phoenicia is really sweet and very dog friendly with some yummy restaurants (Sweet Sues) the area has loads of hiking, good antique shops and flea markets and great towns nearby such as Woodstock. We really fell in love with this area (and this property) and we will surely be back! - great vacation!

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
5

A blissful weekend stay

  • 5 of 5

This place had everything we were hoping to find: a peaceful backyard, a kitchen with anything and everything you'd need to cook your meals "at home," comfortable beds, and great location. We had fun grilling in the backyard, hiking on local trails, and exploring Phoenicia and local towns. Carla has a wealth of information to share and made sure we had everything we needed for a perfect stay. This is surely a fantastic place to stay in any season. Looking forward to the next time!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing weekend in a Great Place

  • 5 of 5

My girlfriend and I stayed in Carla's cabin over the last weekend. Carla met us there and she already had the fireplace up and running when we arrived, which made for a really nice and cozy first impression. She was incredibly kind and informative and we talked for a while. The home has a ton of books, paintings, DVDs, CDs, photographs, and other little treasures to discover.

We spent the next few days hiking and exploring Phoenicia and the surrounding areas, but for the most part we felt so at home on the property (in the cabin and the backyard) that we just stuck around there. I think my favorite night was when we lit a bonfire by the partially frozen stream and sat out staring at the stars through the trees. It was really exactly what we were looking for.

We went hiking on Diamond Notch trail our first day, which Carla recommended, and it was one of the most isolated, beautiful hikes I've gone on in my time living in New York.

This was our first time renting through homeaway and it was an absolutely positive experience. Carla is a wonderful host and the property and surrounding areas have so much to offer! All in all I can't wait to return and I would definitely recommend staying in this cabin!

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Westchester, NY
5

Charming indeed!

  • 5 of 5

What a great little cottage. It had everything we needed, including quite the DVD and book collections. The woodburning stove kept the entire place warm throughout our stay. The internet worked well, the kitchen had all we needed, and everything was clean. Though it should be noted that there is no cell service in the immediate area. Carla was a phenomenal host. Very easy to get in touch with and extremely helpful in suggesting some nearby hikes. I definitely plan on returning in the warmer weather to take advantage of the fire pit in the backyard.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Magical Home for a Magical Weekend

  • 5 of 5

My partner and I came up to for just a weekend and it just wasn't nearly enough time. We're already planning our next visit.

Carla's cottage is filled with beautiful details from her art, to music, books, and little meaningful trinkets throughout the home. The cottage feels like a classic romantic time warp filled with warmth and spirit. The property is something I would only make up in my imagination. There are flowers, wind chimes, outdoor chandeliers, and a beautiful running stream at the base of the property. My partner ended up proposing by the stream and I could not have imagined a more dream-like setting.

Carla was incredibly accommodating and provided information about the home, places to visit, and activities in the area. She also made sure our two sweet dogs were taken care of too in regards to the accommodations and play options!

This weekend was the most special in my life and I must say, this cottage was what made it even more perfect. Highly recommend it. Can't wait to get back!

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy winter cabin!

  • 5 of 5

My boyfriend and I stayed in Carla's cabin for a winter weekend and had a great time! This place had everything we needed, Carla was so kind and communicative & we were able to fully relax and enjoy ourselves. We hope to come back in warmer weather next time :)

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Waterfront, not Lake/Oceanfront. Ask for details

Water View

Other Activities: mini golf, rock climbing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Chichester Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
$900
$2,700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $35
cleaning fee $50

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Chichester Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Firewood
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Free Long Distance

Partner Offers