Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Winter Way Cabin with Hot Tub in Pinecrest

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 8

Private vacation cabin near Pinecrest Lake and Dodge Ridge Ski Area, in the central California Sierras. If you are looking for a home away from home in a peaceful forest setting, here it is. This vacation rental is owned and personally operated by former Pinecrest resort owners, in the lodging business for over 10 years. Our Winter Way cabin in Strawberry is set in a peaceful forest surrounded by trees, hiking trails, the S. Fork Stanislaus river and Strawberry meadow, with a cabin neighbor on only one side. Sit and relax on the large deck overlooking the river, walk down and throw a line in the river for a morning of fishing, or just sit and soak in the Hot Tub.

Top things to do in Pinecrest: : * Pinecrest Lake swimming, fishing, boating * Dodge Ridge Ski Area * Fishing * Horseback Riding * Hiking

Top things to do on a budget:: * Pinecrest Lake swimming, fishing * Fishing * Hiking * Biking * Scenic Drives

Top things to do with a family:: * Pinecrest Lake swimming, fishing, boating * Dodge Ridge Ski Area * Fishing * Horseback Riding * Hiking

More Details

Owner
High Sierra Cabins
Member since: 2009
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 20, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

We loved the cabin so much we would like to live here!
Jan 2016
  • 1 of 33

Amenities

Strawberry Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • River ...
  • Rural
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Hallway/Loft Area - 2 twin/ single , Bunk Beds
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • forests
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Fully-equipped modern kitchen including dishwasher, cable TV with DVD and VHS, wood-burning stove, central heat, all linens provided (including extra blankets and pillows), outdoor Hot Tub, pet friendly. Cabin sleeps up to 8 people in 3+ bedrooms: 2 bedrooms with Queen Bed in each, 1 bedroom with Double Bed, upstairs hallway/loft area with Bunk Bed (2 Twins). There are 2 full bathrooms with large showers but no bathtubs (8 sets of towels provided for use at cabins only -- not to be taken to river or lake).

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(78 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
21% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Winter Way Cabin with Hot Tub in Pinecrest
average rating of 4.705128 based on 111 reviews
5

Another Great Trip

  • 5 of 5

We just arrived home from another great stay at the Winter Way Cabin. As always, it was clean, had all the amenities, and was nice and quiet. We primarily visit Pinecrest to fish so it's nice to be able to cook and take a hot shower everyday. We've been staying at the Winter Way cabin for a few years now and we've always had a great time.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review, and so happy that you had another great stay and have made Winter Way a home-away-from-home! "See" you next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

I love this place.

  • 4 of 5

Had a great stay at winter way. However there are a couple issues I tried to resolve by calling the owner and I got no responce. Outside lights would not come on at all at night. And was in need of extra towels. I've been to this place many times and I still love it. I brought guests the last 2 times and both times there were complaints that the bunk beds mattresses are extremely uncomfortable. So maybe some changes would make it better. Still we will likely return because we love the cabin and it's location.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It sounds like you did not receive our email explaining that we were out of town, the reason you did not get a response to your phone calls. We were answering email while away, but too difficult to monitor and respond to phone calls when out of the country, and because we receive so very few calls we felt we were covered. The lights are new and have been working properly (they come only at night), so yours was the first report of them not working. I had someone look into this following your report and I know they are working now but do not know what caused your issue. I did confirm with the person cleaning and servicing the cabin during our absence that 8 sets of towels were provided, which is our standard because the cabin sleeps 8. We cannot handle additional laundry, so unfortunately extra towels are not an option. We are looking into replacing a couple of the mattresses right now, which includes the bunk beds. Typically, they are used only by children who are lighter and less sensitive to a mattress on a hard platform. But we know they can be an issue if adults sleep on them, and since we have some money in the budget we've decided to allocate it to these.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Secluded, peaceful, a perfect getaway from the city noise.

  • 4 of 5

From the moment we stepped inside we felt we were inside “the three bears” house. We loved the indoor and outdoor and we all inmidiatley went exploring! The kids went in the hot tub in the afternoon while my husband and I sat by the outdoor fire listening to the birds, the river and looking at the beautiful trees surrounding the property. The deck is amazing and that’s where you barbecue, I recommend sitting on the deck at night looking up at the stars. We played a bunch of board games and hide and sick and went fishing in the river.

Thank you so much for letting us stay at your home, it is a beautiful place and we hope to come back! Best wishes,

The Burns family

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you enjoyed the cabin! In the summer, we bring out more deck furniture (too hard to shovel the snow around it in the winter and spring), so you must come back and experience summer, or fall when the aspens further up change color and it is a bit quieter again. Thank you for your detailed review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Well-equipped, comfortable cabin in the woods conveniently located for numerous outdoor activites

  • 5 of 5

My family and I spent two days together in the cabin at Winter Way and it was wonderful. It was spacious, comfortable, and extremely well-equipped (we are big cooks and in terms of cookware the cabin had everything I needed). The weather can't decide if it's cold enough to have snow or warm enough to be summer yet and so we snow shoe'd as well as had a really lovely walk around Pinecrest Lake in the hot sun (and were even able to walk from the cabin).

Great location for all year round activities. Would definitely come again! Thanks!

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the cabin and your stay in our area! Also nice to know that the cabin is well stocked. Having not cooked there ourselves, we have no way of knowing without feedback. Thanks, and hope you can come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stayed a long weekend and everyone loved it!

  • 5 of 5

We had two families with a total of 4 kids. Original plan was to go to Leland Snow Park and/or Dodge Ridge but unfortunately we were late in the season and both places closed when we got there. However there is a hill in the back of this cabin that still had a good amount of snow on it. Kids were able to go sledding in the back. We had a great time and the cabin is really roomy and cozy. Only thing we would've liked more is if there was a washer and dryer available. Will definitely be booking this cabin again next time.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to write a review, and so happy to hear you had a good time. Yes, a washer and dryer would be great amenities to offer guests! Unfortunately we have no safe freeze-free space to put them (the ones we use to wash the linens are under the house where the ceiling is low, the floor is uneven and multiple levels - essentially they are perched on steps - and where the washer freezes at least once per winter) . Glad you were able to make do without them and we hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Everything about was great - as advertised.

  • 5 of 5

This place was a great weekend getaway for our 4 person family group. Cabin is in a great location with easy access and nice big back deck overlooking the meadow and river. Spacious, and very clean and all the basic necessities for cooking were provided. Dodge Ridge ski area is only 10-15 minutes away, and a very nice, less crowded low key resort compared to the large resorts around Lake Tahoe. The owner(s) were very communicative and quickly responded via email to question we had prior to our stay. We would definitely come back again.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your detailed and helpful review! VERY HAPPY to know that you had a good stay despite having to work around the lack of functionality of some of the appliances that were disabled by a huge PG&E voltage fluctuation. All of the repairs have finally been made and we'll look forward to your next stay when you can enjoy even more!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Highway 108
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Dodge Ridge Ski Area

Two Miles from Pinecrest Lake, six Miles from Dodge Ridge Ski Area. The area abounds in outdoor activities such as swimming, fishing, hiking, horseback riding, ATV enjoyment or simple scenic touring. Day trips can include cavern tours, a visit to historic Columbia, antiquing, a drive over Sonora pass to Bodie ghost town, wine tasting in Sonora or Murphys, or fun and games at Black Oak Casino.

Other Activities: Boating

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150

Rates subject to change until reservation confirmed. Taxes subject to change at any time. Reservation bookings through HomeAway, VRBO or VacationRentals.com are preferred, but please contact us to discuss alternative arrangements.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties