check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Winter Way Cabin with Hot Tub in Pinecrest

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

Description

Strawberry Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 8

Private vacation cabin near Pinecrest Lake and Dodge Ridge Ski Area, in the central California Sierras. If you are looking for a home away from home in a peaceful forest setting, here it is. This vacation rental is owned and personally operated by former Pinecrest resort owners, in the lodging business for over 10 years. Our Winter Way cabin in Strawberry is set in a peaceful forest surrounded by trees, hiking trails, the S. Fork Stanislaus river and Strawberry meadow, with a cabin neighbor on only one side. Sit and relax on the large deck overlooking the river, walk down and throw a line in the river for a morning of fishing, or just sit and soak in the Hot Tub.

Top things to do in Pinecrest: : * Pinecrest Lake swimming, fishing, boating * Dodge Ridge Ski Area * Fishing * Horseback Riding * Hiking

Top things to do on a budget:: * Pinecrest Lake swimming, fishing * Fishing * Hiking * Biking * Scenic Drives

Top things to do with a family:: * Pinecrest Lake swimming, fishing, boating * Dodge Ridge Ski Area * Fishing * Horseback Riding * Hiking

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
High Sierra Cabins
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 9, 2016
Call Owner

Guestbook comments from the owner

We loved the cabin so much we would like to live here!
Jan 2016
  • 1 of 10

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

Winter Way Cabin with Hot Tub in Pinecrest
average rating of 4.8125 based on 42 reviews
5

Wonderful Stay!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at the winter way cabin! The kitchen has been remodeled since the pictures were taken, and the place had plenty of room for 8 people. The location was great. We hiked around the lake, and ate at Mia's nearby. We were also very close to Dodge Ridge, so this would be a great place to stay if you are a skiier. Karen was very helpful with giving hiking advice prior to our trip. I would definitely recommend Winter Way cabin to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great! Glad to know the hiking tips were helpful and worked out for you. We'll see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming cabin, great location

  • 5 of 5

My friend and I, two middle-aged women who wanted to hike in the Emigrant Wilderness with our dogs before the cold set in, loved this cabin and its location, at the end of a woodsy secluded street, yet close to Pinecrest Lake and its grocery store and restaurant, and many hiking trails. The kitchen is well appointed with newer appliances, the beds and pillows were comfortable, the decor charming and the owner kindly accommodating. The hot tub was a little disappointing as it was heavy on chlorine and the water, to be honest, felt a little slimy maybe from the chemicals, but we enjoyed drinks on the large deck with its peek-a-boo view of the Stanislaus river and a glowing fire in the wood-burning Franklin stove in the living room. We will be back, next time with friends with whom to share our hiking discoveries and this lovely cabin.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review with feedback for us and other guests! So glad you enjoyed the cabin. Very sorry that you didn't enjoy the hot tub. I do recall that the water was clear and tested well for your visit, as it has been within-normal-range and consistently clear for several weeks. (This is easy to recall because I've been so pleasantly surprised to find it continuously nice and clean after each guest!). It tends to get heavy use, so we routinely put in a fair amount of enzyme stabilizers to counteract the oils that may get into the water from users' body lotions and sunscreens. These seem to work quite well, but may cause their own sheen that you detected. Perhaps you'll decide to give it a dip if you are able to come again :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Another Excellent Stay

  • 5 of 5

This is the fifth year in a row that my Dad and I have stayed at the Winter Way Cabin on our annual fishing trip to Pinecrest Lake. As usual, the cabin was clean, tidy, and felt like home. A cold front had come through the day before we arrived and we were pleasantly surprised to find a fire going in the wood stove when we got there. The owners truly go out of their way to make your stay is as pleasant as possible. The view of the river and surrounding scenery from the back deck is beautiful and you can't beat the peace and quiet. The cabin is located a few minutes from Pinecrest Lake which makes it ideal for anyone wanting to fish or hike. We had another excellent stay and plan on staying there many more times in the future.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you liked the fire! I will pass this feedback to the fire starter :) Also a tip for other guests: the fire is the best way to heat the upstairs as the only air vents are part of the hot air system produced by the wood burning stove. Not sure that this is readily apparent to most guests. We also have electric space heaters upstairs for those who don't want to rely on the wood stove. The downstairs is completely heated by forced air heat from the furnace, and some of this heat makes its way up the staircase, too.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Modesto, Ca. Central Valley
5

summer fun in strawberry

  • 5 of 5

This was a great cabin, it had everything we needed and the view from the deck is breathtaking. We cooked outside on the bbq every nite, it was so enjoyable to eat and relax on the deck just made everything better. Nice secluded location almost felt like we were the only one's around. It had everything we needed and we will plan our next stay there for sure.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay and found everything you needed. We think the location is a plus, too!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great stay as always. We love this place. It's always clean an Cozy. Looking forward to returning.

  • 4 of 5

Details. Could use a better mop. Swiffer pads don't stick on mop. No cleaning rags to be found except one big towel in rag box.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello! Glad you had a nice stay, and thank you for taking time to write a review as help for others. FYI for future (hopefully!) and for other potential guests, the smaller cleaning rags are in a bucket under the kitchen sink and the larger rag towels in the box under the stairs may be helpful for wiping feet or taking down to river, etc. The Swiffer was actually left there by a previous guest, and we just leave it in case someone wants to use it (I haven't checked it out in detail and personally don't like mops preferring the down-on-hands-and-knees approach with rags, using the bucket under the kitchen sink). Hope this helps!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Moss Beach, CA
5

This is a great cabin!

  • 5 of 5

The Winter Way cabin is in a perfect location, so quiet and peaceful, and yet close to Pinecrest Lake and more hiking than we could ever do!

The kitchen has everything you need. Five of us had plenty of room, and the beds are all comfy. We didn't use the bunk beds, so I don't know about those. The deck is fabulous. The weather was quite warm, but the cabin is very cool during the day.

We were extremely at home during our 2 week stay, and hope to return!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are happy to hear that the cabin was like home, and so glad you enjoyed your stay. We'll see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Highway 108
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Dodge Ridge Ski Area

Two Miles from Pinecrest Lake, six Miles from Dodge Ridge Ski Area. The area abounds in outdoor activities such as swimming, fishing, hiking, horseback riding, ATV enjoyment or simple scenic touring. Day trips can include cavern tours, a visit to historic Columbia, antiquing, a drive over Sonora pass to Bodie ghost town, wine tasting in Sonora or Murphys, or fun and games at Black Oak Casino.

Other Activities: Boating

Photos

Rates & Availability

Strawberry Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall2 2016
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 15 2016
2 night minimum stay
$165
$900
$4,000
 
 
Christmas/New Years 2015
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
$235
$1,300
$4,000
 
 
Winter1 2017
Jan 8 2017 - Jan 12 2017
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$235
Fri,Sat
$1,300
$4,000
 
 
MLKing 2017
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$235
$1,300
$4,000
 
 
Winter2 2017
Jan 16 2017 - Feb 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$235
Fri,Sat
$1,300
$4,000
 
 
President's Week 2017
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$235
$1,300
$4,000
 
 
Late Winter 2017
Feb 26 2017 - Apr 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$235
Fri,Sat
$900
$3,500
 
 
SpringA 2017
Apr 2 2017 - May 24 2017
2 night minimum stay
$165
$900
$4,000
 
 
Memorial Weekend 2017
May 25 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$165
$900
$3,500
 
 
SpringB 2017
May 29 2017 - Jun 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
$165
$900
$3,500
 
 
summer 2017
Jun 15 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$235
$1,300
$4,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$165
$900
$4,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 12.0%

Rates subject to change until reservation confirmed. Taxes subject to change at any time. Reservation bookings through HomeAway, VRBO or VacationRentals.com are preferred, but please contact us to discuss alternative arrangements.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Strawberry Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • River ...
  • Rural
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Hallway/Loft Area - 2 twin/ single , Bunk Beds
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • forests
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Fully-equipped modern kitchen including dishwasher, cable TV with DVD and VHS, wood-burning stove, central heat, all linens provided (including extra blankets and pillows), outdoor Hot Tub, pet friendly. Cabin sleeps up to 8 people in 3+ bedrooms: 2 bedrooms with Queen Bed in each, 1 bedroom with Double Bed, upstairs hallway/loft area with Bunk Bed (2 Twins). There are 2 full bathrooms with large showers but no bathtubs (8 sets of towels provided for use at cabins only -- not to be taken to river or lake).

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties