check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Island Home in Bocas Del Toro Panama, 100 Yards to Beach

59 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 nights


Big Creek Village House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedroom 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Beautiful island home on Isla Colon in Bocas Del Toro. The ocean and a swimming beach are only 2 blocks from the house. In fact, you can see the water from the deck! Night life and restaurants in town are only 2 miles away. The surfing beach is only a 5-10 minute bike ride from the house. The jungle is in the backyard and howler monkeys may wake you up in the morning.

Also, the property managers live directly next door and they can help with anything you need, including scheduling excursions and setting up boat rides. We are fully equipped with wireless internet and the house has a washer and dryer, which is always helpful when on vacation!

If you are looking for an amazing house with comfortable amenities, stay with us!! Thank you!!!

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 25, 2016

About Tera

We live in the chilly state of Minnesota, USA and on vacation, we absolutely fell in love with Bocas. Once there, we never wanted to leave! After we saw this house and the location, we saved up and made our dream vacation home purchase happen. We are most excited about having our children experience another culture when we are lucky enough to visit Bocas. We also can't wait for our friends and family to stay in the house and be woken up by howler monkeys!

Nothing would make us happier than renting this house to anyone who chooses to vacation here! We want everyone to love it as much as we do. We hope you will stay at our house and enjoy your dream vacation!

Tera purchased this house in 2006

Why Tera chose Bocas del Toro

This house is in the perfect location on the island. It's 2 blocks from the beach and only a short bike ride away to great surfing, restaurants and Bocas town. As for the property, it has a beautiful deck, beautiful scenery and amazing wildlife and vegetation. Also, it's an extremely safe area, as is the entire island.

Also, we have wireless internet that works great at the house!

What makes this house unique

We have caretakers who live next door. They can set up fishing trips, cave tours, snorkeling, whatever you wish to do!

Staying with us, you get to enjoy the large, open deck. You also get the sites and sounds of monkeys and birds in the jungle in the backyard. This house is in the best location on the island, near the beach and surf spots yet it is close enough to town but far enough to be quiet and private.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Don:

We had a wonderful time last week at your home in Bocas. As everyone says I'm sure we spent a lot of time on the deck. Enjoyed swimming in the ocean just on the other side of the bridge too. Javier was great. He was always available if we needed him. We rented bikes from him and enjoyed doing a ride each day. We rode to del Drago- took the bus back with the bikes on top- out to Bluff beach and had lunch at Carolina- what a view. Was also great to be able to ride into town. Loved it
Feb 2012
  • 1 of 2


based on 59 traveler reviews

Island Home in Bocas Del Toro Panama, 100 Yards to Beach
average rating of 4.576271 based on 61 reviews

Comfortable home in a quiet location

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed staying at Tera's home. It was comfortable with a huge porch and wildlife all around us. There is one large bedroom with a very comfortable bed. There is a smaller bedroom with bunkbeds. The living room and kitchen are plenty big for a small group. It would be nice if they could stock salt and pepper and perhaps sugar so you don't have to buy it. Lots of towels available which was very nice and appreciated. I thought the shower was fine and the water got very hot if you wanted it to get hot, my friends thought it could have a little bit more water pressure. No one had any real complaints though! We felt very safe there.

You are really in the wilderness out here which we enjoyed. We saw howler monkeys outside in the trees right behind the house. One day it rained very hard and we saw a caiman in the water below the bedroom window (2nd floor). So cool. Javier even killed a poisonous snake in our driveway. This is not a complaint. We were happy to be in a natural environment. I say this because if you are bringing children, I would stay with them in the yard just to be careful. We didn't get to see the sloth but we looked for it. The house is about a 5 minute taxi ride into town. You could walk into town but we didn't quite feel comfortable walking down the road because of the cars, but several locals were walking. You can walk the other direction and go over to a little beach place called Skully's. To go to a big beach, you will take a taxi into town and then hop on a water taxi, or you will take a taxi about 30-45 minutes (round trip was $35) then a water taxi.

Javier was attentive, polite, friendly and helpful. He can call the taxi's for you and help make arrangements for trips if you like - this was very helpful. We were on a "girls trip" and we are well-traveled and independent. He checked in on us a couple times a day. Personally, we wanted a little bit more space from Javier, but we understand he was trying to be helpful and make sure we had a good visit. He is a very nice gentleman.

All around great location, great house, great people! We had a very wonderful, amazing trip and this house was perfect for us. We appreciate Tera letting us stay here.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear you and your friends had a great time at the house, and in Bocas! We appreciate you staying with us and thanks again. You were great guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great porch, howler monkeys, and fresh coconut water

  • 5 of 5

This house is STUNNING! It is set back on the street with a few other houses, and very quiet at night (save for the sometimes tumultuous rain). In the morning, you're surrounded by the sounds of howler monkeys, parrots, and the rain. The large porch out front is wonderful (and where we spent most of our time), and it's great that the house comes with a grill. The kitchen is fully stocked, the house has a bunch of movies and games, there is wifi and a/c (we never used the latter), and it also has a washer/dryer for use. We rented bikes to get around the island, and I would highly recommend it, rather than using taxis. It's about a 15 minute ride into the center of town, with restaurants, tour operators, and the bus, which will take you to beaches on the other side of the island. If you head north on the bikes for about an hour (much of it on a gravel road), you reach the northern end of Playa Bluff, which has golden sand and you will likely have it all to yourself. The very helpful man next door, Javier, can help you with the bikes, and will also give you fresh coconut water (yum!) or help you set up tours if you like.

Our only qualm about the house was the beach at the end of the driveway. It might have been the time of year we visited or the amount of rain, but there was really no beach to speak of. The sand that was there was covered in wash-up and garbage, and it is right next to a large drainage culvert, which muddies the water significantly; it is also very close to the road. The thin strip of sand wasn't even wide enough to run on in most places. It wasn't the kind of place you could lay out or spend the day at, and we went up to Playa Bluff instead.

Overall, we were slightly disappointed in the beach across the street, but the house was wonderful, the porch was relaxing, and it was in a great location for getting into town and going on day tours. Tera, the owner, was responsive and helpful, and Javier provided tons of information about the surrounding area and made multiple restaurant recommendations (check out Ciao about a quarter mile up the road - great wood fired pizza!). It was a great way to spend the two weeks of our honeymoon :)

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review of Casa Oceana! We are so glad you had a great time and loved the house! Javier is always so helpful and everyone just loves him! I'm sorry to hear about the beach across the street!! We have been to the house a few times where the beach was completely gone due to high tides, or recent storms. There aren't high/low tides on a daily basis, but there are monthly tides. And the amount of rain must affect the beach too. We were just there and swam with my son and he and a local boy built sand castles on the beach. I guess it really just depends on the tide and the weather. I'm sorry it wasn't nicer for you!!!!!! Thanks again for your review! I like everyone to know exactly how the house is, so everyone's expectations are met!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Whitehorse, Yukon Territory


  • 5 of 5

Casa Oceana is lovely house. It's well equipped with everything you might need...kitchenware, blender, utensils, lots of towels. The house was clean & we had no maintenance issues. The bed is comfortable; the AC works well. My favourite part of the house was the large's the perfect place to lounge & enjoy the sounds of the jungle any time of the day. The house is close enough to Bocas Town to access restaurants & activities, but far enough away to be quiet & peaceful. The yard was beautiful, full of birds & was regularly visited by a troop of howler monkeys.

The caretaker, Javier, is a great resource for learning about the area & arranging tours. He'll even order pizza for you when you can't be convinced to leave the deck & your Spanish isn't good enough to give directions to the delivery guy! He will help as much or as little as you want.

Tera, the property owner, was super easy to communicate with right from my first inquiry. Even when our arrival was delayed & I was emailing from El Salvador, she was always quick to respond.

We enjoyed our stay in Bocas del Toro; it's a funky, quirky bit of tropical fun! If/when we return, we'll definitely stay at Casa Oceana again. Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you enjoyed Bocas and liked the house so much! You were a great guest! Please, come back to Bocas and stay with us again. We'd be thrilled to have you!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wow....what a place!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Special thanks to Tera and Jesse for the opportunity to spend time in their Bocas home! My wife and I, along with our 2 boys, had such an awesome time in Bocas, largely because of this great home! As everyone else states, the deck is the best feature. We found ourselves outside almost the entire day enjoying the ocean sounds and the great views.

The Howler Monkey's as a 6:22 AM alarm clock was something else. We would wake up to these cool sounds, and sit on the deck and soak it in with a great cup of Panamanian coffee. Then, we had the opportunity to watch the monkeys during the afternoons as they played in the treetops right in our own backyard....what an experience!

The house is perfectly situated for a family. It is a close cab ride to town (5 minutes), but far enough away to enjoy the solitude of the jungle. Also, very close to some fun places that you can walk. I would highly suggest having dinner at Ciao Pizza just down the road. Great little place where the lady makes wood-fired pizzas one at a time. It takes some time to get the pizzas, so plan to sit and enjoy the space while having some drinks. Also, you can keep walking from their and you will end up at Paki Point. Awesome food and drinks...and you can watch people surf from a distance. This was one of our absolute favorite spots. Lounge on one of the many beds, grab a drink, read a book and watch the waves. Awesome!

Lastly.....the caretaker Javier is an awesome guy. He will help you as much or as little as you request. He will call taxis...set up tours....and even cook for you (for a small fee). Definitely have him cook, as he is an awesome of the best meals we had on our trip. I read some reviews on here stating that people think he is somehow potentially making money on these tours and such. I just don't see it. He just seems like an awesome guy that wants to ensure you and your family enjoy your time in Bocas. Case in point, my wife and son ended up in the local hospital (son injured his ankle) late Saturday evening before we left. When they hadn't gotten home by 10:00 PM, Javier came over and volunteered to go to the hospital to make sure everything was OK, and to help where needed. He was genuinely concerned....seems to be his nature. Great guy, and we loved his dog Pelu as well.

Anyways, if you are coming to Bocas, and want to be away from the hustle and bustle of the town....this is your place!

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you had a great stay and enjoyed our house! Thank you for booking with us and please, come again!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Minneapolis, Mn

We love Casa Oceana!

  • 5 of 5

We are in love with Casa Oceana. The house is lovely, clean and comfortable. The large wood deck was a favorite spot for lounging and reading. The kitchen was well stocked and cooking meals was nice and easy. The location is ideal. 5 minutes from the airport, a short bike ride to town and steps away from the beach. Bocas is a seductive group of islands. You will want to return for the amazing people, food, nightlife and scenery. We are already planning a return trip and stay at Casa Oceana.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you loved the house and we look forward to you staying with us again. You were great guests! Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Pics were deceiving

  • 1 of 5

We do not need 'fancy ' (like granite countertops etc ) but we do need clean and maintained for basic comfort and enjoyment This property upon arrival was neither . We will post pics of what we experienced although since we e mailed the owner they have said they would fix some of the issues like dirty and mouldy cushions . We hope that there are other improvemnts if you book . We have noted some qualifying descriptive changes to the initial description of the property so hopefully the owner will spend some money and time on upgrades before you arrive . Our advice would be to be very specific with your requirements before booking and e mail your questions to the owner . We are very disappointed that to do date there has been no offer to return at least some of our rental cost for the inconvenience as in our opinion it would have the appropriate professional gesture since these issues can really ruin a vacation that you have planned and looked forward to as we had . Although the cleanliness was our biggest issue we never had a hot "finicky " shower the whole time we were there( six nights ) the water trickles from the shower and the kitchen sink . On the positive note again what is normally expected in a rental of this price range were the new dishes , pots and pans etc and some newer beach towels. The BBQ was also newer and functioned. You do hear and see the monkeys as you would in other properties in that area . The ' maintenance ' person is very nice and certainly friendly . We enjoyed his company . There is a phone to use which can be useful but the property should have bikes included in the rental .

Not much more to be said .

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We take this review very seriously. We want our guests to have a great vacation!! Please read all other reviews and book accordingly. We addressed the complaints below: • Shower- The shower absolutely works and there is hot water • Kitchen Sink- Yes, the sink has low water pressure. • Mildewed Pillows- This complaint was valid. I called the caretaker and he immediately replaced the pillows. Unfortunately, due to the high humidity, everything mildews immediately. • Bikes- We bought new bikes, came back 3 months later and they were covered in rust. It’s a much better experience for our guests to get bikes from a company in town for $5 per day. They need continuous maintenance in this climate! Again, I cannot stress enough, please research Panama prior to booking with us. Things in Bocas rust and mildew. It’s part of the package. You get monkeys in the back yard, but rust on the refrigerator. Please read our other reviews, as well as the reviews on Airbnb (all 5 stars) and Facebook and come stay at our lovely home! Thank you and happy and safe travels to everyone!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1


Nearest Airport
2 Miles
10 minutes away on Isla Colon, Bocas Del Toro
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Skully's Restaurant and Ciao Pizza
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Skully's Restaurant and Ciao Pizza
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Bluff Beach
Car: not necessary

The house is located in Big Creek and is about 2 blocks from the beach and ocean. The beach across the street is great for swimming and sun tanning (weather permitting). Great surfing is only a 5 minute bike ride away and it's only a 10 minute bike ride into town. In town, there are markets for food and beverages which can be enjoyed on the spacious deck!


Rates & Availability

Big Creek Village House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Please leave the home as you found it! We would appreciate it if dishes were done when you left and if towels and bedding were piled on the floor. It's helps considerably with the turn around time for the next guest. Thank you!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Big Creek Village House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Small bedroom - 1 bunk bed , Small bedroom with bunk beds
    Master Bedroom - 1 queen
  • Queen size Bed (1) Master bedroom, Small bedroom with twin bunk beds.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • caves
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
The house comes with a washer and dryer which is always helpful while on vacation!

Partner Offers