check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Spectacular Blue Dolphin Walk-on Waterfront Home Away from Home

8 Reviews
Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
3 nights


Nanoose Bay House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms + 3 Convertible beds, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 8 adults, 4 children)

Welcome to your home away from home!! ATTENTION Canadian residents due to the current high exchange rate please ask for a quote that will be on par with the USD from Sept 2015 to June 2016. Our 3,000 square foot home is situated on a walk-on waterfront beach with tidal pools, sandbars, and the natural beauty of eagles in flight and a variety of oceanside delights. The home boasts everything you need including 5 fully furnished bedrooms including a sunroom and a 1,000 square foot music studio in a glass room that overlooks Wall Beach.

This mid-island location offers close proximity to the beautiful beaches of Parksville/Qualicum Beach and day trips to Victoria or Tofino as well as many local attractions including horseback riding, marina/boat rentals, world famous spas/resorts, and a private family atmosphere. Musicians, artists, and media enthusiasts will be delighted by a studio which will indulge and inspire your senses as the home has been featured in a variety of film/music/radio broadcasts as well as CD recording launch parties, concerts and the Bard to Broadway Home and Garden tour in July 2007.

Keywords: Beach house

More Details
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Dr. Sherilene M. Chycoski
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 12, 2016
Call Owner

About Dr. Sherilene M. Chycoski

Arnie and I bought our beautiful home eight years ago and we love sharing our wonderful property with others including our friends, children, students, and grandchildren as well as folks on vacation or potential owners in the Nanoose area. This is our second home that we bought in Nanoose and we have been renting our properties since 1991 when we bought our first home on Dolphin Bay, Nanoose.

Dr. Sherilene M. Chycoski purchased this house in 2004

Why Dr. Sherilene M. Chycoski chose Vancouver Island

The location of the beach house is situated on a private beach with neighbors who have owned their properties for generations. The beach is a combination of executive beachfront homes and cabins. We bought the home as it is one level with only a few steps up for easy access for seniors as well as for our guests.

What makes this house unique

The most unique feature is sitting in the glass studio and having the eagles fly over while you are sitting on the sofa bed and enjoying the cruise ships passing by at night over the cruise boat season. Lastly, the property has extensive gardens that need a lot of time and attention. Thanks goodness for our wonderful cleaning lady and team of gardeners.


based on 8 traveler reviews

Spectacular Blue Dolphin Walk-on Waterfront Home Away from Home
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews

Amazing view and increadible stay

  • 4 of 5

This is an amazing property. Large house with very flexible owner who communicates well with her guests. The property was exactly as expected. Some issues with the septic system, but this was communicated in advance. Not a major issue. The Oven did not work well. However, this was not a major issue and am sure the owner is working on getting this fixed. Specialized oven and difficult to find repair people for it. Beds were comfortable and large living room accommodated us perfectly. Thanks Sher for the use of your home!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate your praise and review of our updates of our home. The septic system is under constant review as we are in a rural area. Over the last year, we have made $3,000 in repairs and limited water flow usage which is also beneficial during the dry summer. This summer our experts informed us to not use the dishwasher over the summer as it can overflow the outflow so we will take this into effect during our busy summer month next year s as it not an issue in the off season. We will also offer the use of a local resort and pool facilities for use of their ammenities and shower as we do during the off season months. In terms of the oven, we have been waiting for the hinges for our Gagganeau appliance from Germany, if not received soon, we will be looking to replace with a new or refurbished Gaggenau such as floor model from an appliance store. Lastly, we were so honoured to host your wedding on our lovely beach and we hope to offer our hospitality again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Met our needs. Needs some repairs and some TLC

  • 4 of 5

10 adults 2 small children. Room for everyone. Great great location and ocean view. Large deck and kitchen and living room. Not crowded. Loved that there was no tv in the main areas!! Used the water toys and kayaks. Need water shoes for beach. Kitchen big enoughthatmany people could help cook at same time. Close to many happening places and tourist things. Spa 10 mins away.

Cons: oven not working Washer and dryer worked but not well. BBQ out of propane when we arrived. Bedding old and worn but useable. Furniture old and worn but again useable. Reminded me of our summer lake cabin where items worked but was all the old stuff from home. Although again very big and spacious main living areas.

We would rent again because it worked for our large group and the location was awesome for us. But I would hope some repairs would be made ( or general upkeep).

Overall 4/5😎򓠽𦑙🍷󭰽𣑍

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My team and I appreciated the review and constructive comments about the property. Please note that the washer (new rubber liner) and dryer (new belt) were fixed two weeks before this guest's arrival and outfitted with new parts as the machines are only 6 years old at a cost of $400 and the oven was fixed June 8, 2016 as the previous clients had accidently locked the oven which is a high end oven that will require maintenance again in the fall. I will put in future contracts that clients are responsible for the propane which has been the protocol since we listed the property. I have written notes on the oven and the laundry room to explain how to use the appliances. We have noted your concern about the the home needing TLC. Please be assured that the home receives extensive TLC and repairs to the septic systment this spring at a cost of the $3,000 as well new electrical as clients in summer 2015 turned off the septic system. In addition, the yard and home are cleaned and cared for weekly in the summer and bi-weekly in the winter. In terms of your concern about the linens of which we provide as most of our clients travel from afar and prefer that we include the bedding. We have bedding and towels for 3 separate changes (or 36 beds) that we wash and ready for the bookings. The team and I rotate the bedding and we have bought new bedding over the last year. Lastly, in terms of the furniture, the home is a beach house that has an ecletic mix of expenseive antiques, a Steinway grand piano, local artist paintings and furniture that we have acculumated over the years. We clean and maintain the furniture. The bunkbeds in the children's room are two years old while the antique beds is from the 1820s in the teen bedroom room. As more funds become available, we will continue to update the home to continually meet the needs of our clients. Please note that beach homes (especially rented) can accomodate over 150 people in the summer so we strive our best to keep the property "beach style" and that there is a lot of normal wear/ tear over the years. Overall, we appreciate the VRBO/Homeaway community comments and we also wanted to respond to this particular review as we accomodated the guests with early check-in as well as bag storage option beyond their stay. As the owners of the property who have another VRBO/Homeaway listing, we know that our home is a great option for large families. We are also excited to see that they will stay again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Prince George, BC, Canada

Lots of Space!

  • 4 of 5

Several families can stay and relax in this beachfront home. Good swimming, beachcombing, sea kayaking(kayaks and lifejackets are provided), sheltered deck for tanning and relaxing, bright livingroom for reading, napping, visiting. The kitchen appliances need a little maintenance but we found all that we needed to prepare meals and keep snacks handy. We invited our adult children, their significant others and my 86 year old mother to stay and we all had a great time.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Branford CT

Our vacation at Blue Dolphin

  • 5 of 5

Fabulous house for a big family and a wonderful location. We had a great time cooking in the spacious kitchen, kayaking and walking the beach at low tide. For the 20 something's plenty of hiking and adventure close by. Homeowner made us feel very welcome and plenty of room and beds for everyone to have their privacy and babies to have quiet nap time.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Calgary Alberta


  • 5 of 5

Just a great , great setting, and gorgeous house. The pictures and description are bang on. The HUGE sunroom is just a special spot for everyone to gather, and read, play games or watch the ocean. The kitchen is huge and really well equipped, and wanting for nothing. Our 2 families ( 9 people) had loads of room for sleeping, hanging out, cooking and one person could actually play the piano, so she did for 4 days. Great place to launch kayaks right in front of the house, tour the bays,and look for starfish. At low tide everyone had fun wandering around the flats and seeing what was there. The owner was good enough to meet us there and explain all the workings of the house, the great kitchen, air conditioning and heating, and fireplace ( if needed). We bicycled into Parksville a couple of times and to Rathtrevor Beach as well. The road is narrow, but very doable on a bike. Lots of restaurants to choose from. Thanks and looking forward to going again.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are grateful to hear that you had a wonderful time and we are looking forward to your visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


  • 5 of 5

We had 2 families stay. The owner was helpful in describing the area and all the home had to offer. We enjoyed beachcombing (being careful not to step on the varied seafloor wildlife) in low tide and kayaking the quiet bay in high tide. Our weather was mostly overcast so we were grateful for the large sunroom letting in all the light available. We were warned that the septic system may easily saturate, but we had no problem with 8 of us in the house. The beds are hard, but comfortable. The kitchen is large and well stocked. There are deck chairs, but no table for eating outside. It is close to Parksville and Rathtrevor beach if you want to see something different for a day or eat out. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to go back.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We aim to accomodate all the needs of our guests and appreciate that the house met all your expectations. After purchasing $1,600 of all new deck furniture including a small side table and a Broil King BBQ at the beginning of August, we realized that our old outside plastic table that seats 6 that can be moved may not be large enough for bigger gatherings. We are in the process of buying an outside dinning table in addition to our two large kitchen tables inside and folding chairs. We appreciate that you were able to follow the septic instructions as we have a 500 galloon per day capacity and that it met your needs as we are in a rural location. Looking forward to your next stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Nearest Airport
40 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Rocking Horse Pub-great food and theme nights
Nearest Ferry
30 Kilometres
Departure Bay or Duke Point
Nearest Golf
11 Kilometres
Fairwinds Golf Course
Nearest Train
1 Kilometres
Southern Railroad of Vancouver Island-few stops
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
Island Highway
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Kilometres
Pacific Shores Restaurant and Facilities
Nearest Ski
108 Kilometres
Mount Washington (about 1 hour and 20 minutes)
Nearest Beach
House is on Beach near Rathtrevor Park
Car: necessary

Artist Galleries, Organic Farm, Eggs for Sale Down the Street, Meat/Sausage Stand, Flower Stand


Rates & Availability

Nanoose Bay House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Clean/linen (10 guests) $160

Week long summer renters are responsible for removal of all garbage and recycling at the Church Road transfer station as the home is located in a rural area and pick-up is bi-weekly throughout the year.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Nanoose Bay House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • All bathrooms have handicap toilet heights and the powder room and master bedroom have handrails
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Oceanside Queen/Sleep sofa-Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , The sleep sofa is double/full size bed
    California King Sleigh Bed/Twin bed-Master Bedroom 5 - 1 king , 1 twin/ single , The twin bed can be removed at request of renter
    Living room studio-1,000 square feet - 2 sleep sofa /futon , Two queen size pull out sofas-great views of ocean
    Child/Teen/Single Adult room-Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single , 1 child bed , There is an extra mattress under the bed
    Blue Room/Teen or Cozy Couple-Bedroom 4 - 1 double , Late 1800s antique bed double/full extra twin mattress under
    Sunroom/Playroom-Bedroom 1 - 1 twin/ single , 1 child bed , The bed is a day bed with a mattress underneath
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Child Beds (Mattress) (3), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Our Home Also Has a 1,000 Square Foot Music Studio with a Grand Piano Available for Serious Musicians Only. The Piano is Always Covered when Not in Use.

Partner Offers