Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Delightful Updated Home, Steps to Warren Dunes, 2 Porches & 1 Deck

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Charming and Comfy 3BR 2.5BA, Skylights

Linden House is nestled in the woods behind The Warren Dunes State Park. It features 3 bedrooms upstairs. The newly renovated Master bedroom/bath has one king bed, full futon, skylights, sundeck, mini fridge, in a beautiful forest setting. Second bedroom has a queen bed, desk, large closet space. The third bedroom has a full-size bed w/desk, closet, woodsy view. The queen and full bedrooms share 2nd full bath on second floor. First floor has comfy living with wood-burning stove, three-season porch with futon (can double as a 4th bedroom) with entertainment center. Fully equipped kitchen has dining space for eight. Half bath on first floor. The screen porch off the kitchen also has dining space for 8 or more. It's the most popular room in the house! Large yard features fire pit and swing for the kids.

Activities:: Swimming at Warren Dunes or other great beaches in the area. Hiking at the Dunes, Grand Mere State Park, lots of other venues. Cross-country ski out the door to the park. Captain Mike's fun park is minutes from the cottage. Four great wineries are within 10 miles (Little Sonoma Valley). Fan-tas-tic biking on little-traveled country roads. Great restaurants, antique shops, outlet mall, casinos and Heston Steam Museum.. the list goes on.

Area:: Sawyer is between New Buffalo and St. Joe and close to other great towns, but only 90 minutes from Chicago. Close to Saugatauk and Holland. You can make an easy day trip to Notre Dame for football and back. Lots of options.

More Details

Owner
Maggie
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 22, 2017

Amenities

Sawyer House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Lake
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Upstairs Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Half Bathroom - toilet
  • Both upstairs full baths have been fully updated in 2005/2006.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , en-suite bath, skylights, deck and mini fridge!
    Queen Bedroom - 1 queen , comfy
    Double Bedroom - 1 double , dreamy
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , queen
  • The master suite is gorgeous!!! You'll never want to leave. Al l bedrooms are very comfortable with all linens. Set in the woods, all views are pretty from the rooms.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Child's Swing
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The driveway is stone, therefore not very accessible for wheelchairs, but those with some mobility can get into the home. Three season porch on the first floor doubles as a fourth bedroom. Fully furnished kitchen, portable dishwasher, blender, coffee maker/grinder, microwave, toaster, all glassware, dishes, etc. Stereo, CD, cable TV with DVD/VHS, high-speed internet, washer/dryer, wood-burning stove, fire pit, tree swing, clubhouse, beach chairs, three-season porch, screen porch, sun deck, mini fridge, games, books.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
3% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Delightful Updated Home, Steps to Warren Dunes, 2 Porches & 1 Deck
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 27 reviews
5

Great house to gather your friends in

  • 5 of 5

Lovely house. Great location. Easy to find. Beautiful property that felt private yet accessible to grocery store, beach and other area. Maggie went above and beyond to accommodate. The futon was broken in the sun room before our stay. Maggie & Tom drove up from chicago late in the evening our first night to come replace it before other guest were to arrive. Only wish for the house is some non-stick pans to make clean up easier after cooking. We loved our stay and planning to rebook for next year. Highly recommend. Thank you Maggie & Tom.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Amy... We appreciate the feedback. Non-stick pans it is! It was lovely to have you guys visit and be so patient with the futon escapade. We look forward to seeing you again next year! ~ Tom and Maggie ~
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Had the best time!

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed our time with family, so nice to be together without Christmas holiday travel and everyone rushed and exhausted. Linden House had everything we needed, did bring extra Kleenex because of allergies. It is such a comfortable house and everyone felt at home and relaxed. So much to do in the area, we enjoyed wineries, breweries, Saturday Farmers Market on the bluffs in St. Jo, downtown shops like the Olive Cart and South Bend Chocolate Co., Greenbush Brewery and Sawyer Market in Sawyer and REALLY enjoyed Gravity Winery! Also really loved the beautiful Cliffords Coffee Canal. Next time I would not pack beach towels, there are plenty there and easy to forget in the laundry that we started when leaving :( The Cimms' are easy to work with and would definitely do it all over again!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great for Sister's Weekend

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was clean and roomy for our Sister's Weekend. Communication was great with the owner. Wi-Fi worked well. The kitchen is well stocked. The AC worked great. Plenty of bathrooms for four females! Only small drawback was we had to bring our own towels to use on our last night and had to wash the ones available at the cottage. (I was traveling beforehand and not coming from my own home and this may have been a problem since I only found out closer to our arrival date but was able to use my sister's.) However, this would not keep me from renting this cottage again as I did give it a 5-star rating. Enjoyed our time at this cute rental cottage.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Mary...so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is such a wonderful place to enjoy with family and friends. We look forward to seeing you the next time! Tom and Maggie...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent Value

  • 5 of 5

My extended family and I spent 3 nights in this charming cottage. The owner was very responsive and a pleasure to work with. The property was clean and well-appointed with everything we needed including beach chairs, a charcoal grill, and beach passes. We thoroughly enjoyed using the spacious screened-in porch for meals and playing board games and we also made use of the fire pit in the backyard.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Jeff and family! It's so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the house and the area. It is a wonderful place to hang out. Please come back and see us again! ~ Tom and Maggie ~
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Missing Bedroom, and Soap

  • 3 of 5

How a host/owner handles challenges that arise during a guest stay factors into a fair review. When sink pipes disassembled, creating a messy flood and preventing use of the kitchen, our host did what she could to rectify the problem. What was far more disappointing was the utterly unusable futon in the uncomfortably cold uninsulated porch, which the host had proposed as a 4th bedroom. We managed, by pulling a stained mattress from a bedroom and placing it on the floor of the master. This wasn't an ideal solution for 65 year old women. If its a three bedroom cottage, let's call it that. Also, it would also have been nice to find a bar of soap in the showers, if not shampoo and conditioner. Instead, we used the hand liquid soap until we got to the store. Small, gracious elements make a big difference in an overall experience, and memory.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Carolyn, naturally we are disappointed that your stay was not perfect. We appreciate your understanding that we did everything within our power to fix the sink immediately. Luckily, it happened late on your last night. It didn't bar use of the entire kitchen, but since having use of the sink for breakfast in the morning before checkout was the main concern, we offered to buy breakfast for the whole group at a lovely nearby restaurant. The three-season porch has heaters. If there were questions about the heat, we could have helped with that. This is the first time we have been told the futon is unusable. My friends have used it and we are just shy of 60. It clearly states in our description that the three-season porch can be used as a fourth bedroom, but it isn't listed as a four-bedroom house. The porch is delightful in summer with all the windows open. Also, there is another futon already in the master bedroom, so the mattress was not necessary. We offered an early check-in, which was taken advantage of six hours prior to the usual arrival time. We also offered a late check-out. We responded immediately when we were apprised of the sink. If we had been told of these other issues, we could have suggested some alternatives. We do provide many amenities at the house including all paper products, dish and hand soap, laundry soap, linens, towels, kitchen ware, appliances, yard chairs, beach chairs, Weber grill, etc. We have always assumed our guests would prefer their own personal hygiene products, but will take your suggestion and add shampoo and conditioner for the upcoming season. Thank you for your feedback, as we will use it to make our home more comfortable for the next guests. ~ Tom and Maggie ~
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Relaxing Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We only had a few days to spend with our friends and were so happy to see that such a beautiful house was ready and waiting for us! Very relaxing, great area recommendations, quick walk to the beach, and a lovely home all made for a very happy us. Thanks for such a great stay and experience!

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed having you! Lovely guests... Please come back and visit us again. ~ Maggie and Tom ~
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
0.7 Miles
Sawyer
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Bridgman
Nearest Train
9 Miles
New Buffalo
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I-94
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Sawyer
Nearest Beach
0.7 Miles
Warren Dunes

Linden House is situated next the Warren Dunes State Park. We are centrally located between New Buffalo and St. Joseph. Just a short drive to several beaches, casinos, outlet mall shopping and wineries. This is cycling country! Little-traveled roads provide a great cycling day from 10-100 miles. In winter cross-country skiing right outside the door into the state park... hiking... swimming... fun in the sun! Art festivals, concerts in the park and at the beach!

Other Activities: go carts

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sawyer House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
JULY-AUGUST
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$1,850
 
 
September
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,400
 
 
October
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
JUNE
Jun 1 2018 - Jun 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
JULY-AUGUST
Jul 1 2018 - Sep 1 2019
7 night minimum stay
$1,750
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $150
Pet Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $250

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties