Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Folk Cottage - Lakefront Cottages on Semi-private Lake, Beach, Boats, Fun!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Space 600 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Lakefront Cottages on Semi-Private Lake, Beach, Boats Fun!

Seven musically themed cottages, all with at least two bedrooms, a setting of rolling hills and a rustling creek, all on a semi-private lake for swimming, canoeing, kayaking and fishing. Enjoying the outdoors in year round cottages with lots of wildlife yet near many local attractions.

Our Folk Cottage is the most popular with four bedrooms, sleeping up to eight. It is located in the corner of the property, next to the creek and closest to the lake. It has a covered porch, its own camp fire ring, and Dish network for the television.

Lots of water sports - Fishing, canoeing, kayaking, swimming. The area has many lakes and rivers to discover. Not one moment of boredom at Lakeside Melodies.

Enjoy folk music - Bill and his friends are often together in the Summertime to share music by the evening fire.

Kids have a blast! - They can play in the water, on our sandy beach, run around on our spacious grassy fields and have fun at the playground.

A nature lover? - Then you will like Little Pleasant Lake and all the lakes surrounding us. The area is great for biking and hiking.

See us at: www.lakesidemelodies.com: Bring your camera, sometimes deer and other animals come visit the property! We'll do anything to make your vacation the best you ever had!

Music/banquet hall available for weddings or family reunions. Call for information.

Activities: Hiking, Biking, Golf, Basketball, Horseshoes, Fishing, Hunting, Wildlife Viewing, Shopping, Restaurants, Live Theater, Cinemas, Museums, Sightseeing, Swimming, Boating, Sailing, Water skiing, Jet Skiing, Downhill Skiing, Cross Country Skiing, Snowmobiling, Sledding. River Country has 55 lakes, 6 rivers and many streams for canoeing, fishing, etc.

More Details

Owner
Lakeside Melodies Resort
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, german, dutch
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 28, 2017

About Lakeside Melodies Resort

We are Bill and Carla, the couple behind Lakeside Melodies. The first time we saw this place, we fell in love with it. The rolling green hills, beautiful Little Pleasant Lake, the peaceful creek and the three happy ducks living in it. We bought the place and renovated it into a resort, where we would like to stay ourselves. Our goal is to make our guests feel at home. Call us and we can tell you all about Lakeside Melodies and its rich history.

Why 'Melodies'? Bill is a music fanatic. He's been active in music since he was twelve years old. He played drums since high school. Eleven years ago he discovered a peculiar instrument: the hammered dulcimer. He has played nothing else since and already recorded three cd's and performs frequently. In summer he often plays outdoors at Lakeside Melodies, so lots of free concerts!

Bill is an information technology consultant and Carla is a travel journalist, writer of books and magazines. She's Dutch by the way. So for anyone who wants to practice Dutch or is dying to know more about wooden shoes, tulips and windmills, she's the one. Both are sportive people, love canoeing and biking, so ask them for the best routes in the River Country.

Lakeside Melodies Resort purchased this cottage in 2006

Why Lakeside Melodies Resort chose Southwest Michigan

Escape to nature! With only one other house on the lake and no motor boats buzzing around, you are really out in nature with all the comforts of a cottage. We are also only 3 miles from Three Rivers where you can find lots to see, do, or buy supplies.

What makes this cottage unique

A quiet nature get-away without going too far away. :-)

Guestbook comments from the owner

We just started our guest book in 2009. We get many wonderful comments from our guests and hope that they will also add them here for all to see. Keep watching as the year progresses and stories are added. We hope to see you soon at Lakeside Melodies!
Apr 2009
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Three Rivers Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Raft
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

Folk Cottage - Lakefront Cottages on Semi-private Lake, Beach, Boats, Fun!
average rating of 4.3 based on 11 reviews
Columbus Ohio
4

Loved our Stay

  • 4 of 5

We recently stayed the first of Aug. and loved every moment of it. The private setting was perfect. Our daughter loved swimming and our dogs were in love with the water. Our Cabin was just the right size for us, the AC was not working right but when we brought it to the owners attention, they fixed it right away. Property was clean and well kept. Will Deff. come back next year.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Toledo
4

Nice!

  • 4 of 5

We spent a couple days there recently, and found the place to be like a step back in time. I am a history geek, and love stuff from the past. The place was built in the 1920's, and it is in a setting, and by that I mean the area, of old trees, winding roads, a slower pace and a different feel altogether. The cottage (the Folk) was long and hand 4 bedrooms. It was cozy and comfortable. We would go back again. The owners are friendly and personable. Our dog ran around and enjoyed herself. Nice relaxing time!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

Quiet getaway

  • 4 of 5

We got a late start and did not arrive at the cabin until after dark. We drove past our cabin twice because there aren't any street lights. Fortunately our friends had gotten there when it was light out and were able to direct us to the cabin. Turns out it is better there aren't any street lights because that would detract from everything. It was a lot of fun, our dog had a lot of fun running around playing. The beds were A LOT! more comfortable than I was expecting. I slept really well there. There was a lot more kitchen staples provided than I expected, it looks like people leave their extra cups and plates that they don't want to bring home with them. We had a little issue with the bathroom, but a little bleach goes a long way.

There was two other couples and a group of college kids staying there while we were there. We really did not interact with anyone or hear them. It was really nice, I was dreading the college kids thinking they would be loud. BUT they weren't plus, where ever they were staying we couldn't hear them.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. We're glad you had a nice weekend and hope you will visit again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Beautiful Quiet resort!

  • 4 of 5

Just what the doctor ordered... peaceful bit of nature. Nice owners, clean cottage.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Had some problems, but the owners made it right

  • 3 of 5

The bed in the blues cottage was way too hard for me to sleep on. I am pregnant, so I'm sure that contributed. We enjoyed to closeness of a few parks with our young kids. We did have to leave a night early when we found tiny mites on all the cabins pillows. We packed up late at night and went home. I messaged Bill the next morning and he gave us one night's refund and said he'd call an exterminator first thing. We've had better vacations and we've had worse.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Being so close to nature, we have to keep an eye out for anything. The pillows and bedding were replaced and the cottage exterminated. We haven't had any problems since.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 1
Salem, Indiana
5

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Great vacation spot! The fishing was great and the weather was perfect. The family had a outstanding time. Wish we had more time to spend up there. Spent one day at Lake Michigan.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a good time and hope to see you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
6 2

Map

L A 'S Coffee Cafe
"Nice, friendly coffee shop with tasty treats!"
Applebee's
"It's Applebee's. :-) "
C J's Fisher Lake Inn
"Great views of the Lake, nice menu, friendly staff. Always nice seafood selections."
Goodrich Three Rivers 6
"The latest movies at a nice price!"
Riviera Theatre
"Nice mix of live music, movies, and a little bar too!"
Lowry's Books
"Great bookstore! People come from all over the region just to browse the shelves of this pl..."
South Lanes
"Bowling and mini golf, always good on a rainy day (well, the bowling anyway)."
Brewsters Junction
"Nice menu, friendly bar, just good home town food."
El Camino
"Nice, authentic, Mexican food at a great price!"
Skate Galaxy
"Another indoor, rainy day activity for all ages. Strap on those skates and go!"
Liquid Therapy
"Rent some canoes or kayaks and explore one (or more) of the three rivers that make up the ci..."
Jack's Family Pizzeria
"Our vote for the best local pizza!"
Meyer Broadway Park
"Hiking trails, disc golf, and tubing hills in the winter."
Nearest Airport
26 Miles
Kalamazoo International (AZO)
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Pineview or Sauganash
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Lots of them
Nearest Ski
9 Miles
Swiss Valley Ski
Nearest Beach
50 Miles
White Beach, St. Joseph, MI
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Three Rivers Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2017
May 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$130
$750
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$100
$575
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $40
Pet Fee $30
Refundable damage deposit $100

Must be at least 25 years old to rent a cottage.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties