check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Alexa Palmer

Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Call About Our Autumn Special!

52 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Walla Walla House Rental Photos and Description

House, Pet Friendly: 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

Experience the artful blend of historical elegance and modern convenience at the James McCool House in Walla Walla, WA. Originally built in 1895 by James McCool, son to a Walla Walla founding father, the home has served as the residence of some of the area’s most prominent figures over the past 100 years. In 2010, the home was completely and carefully restored. The large stately rooms, with soaring ceilings and wood accents, welcome you to a warm and inviting environment.

This 'pet friendly' guest home has approximately 3,000 square feet of living space, including 5 bedrooms (including 2 master suites) and 3.5 bathrooms and sleeps up to 12. There is 1 California King, 1 King, 2 Queen, and 2 Twin Beds. Additionally, there is a Queen sized pull-out couch in the family room. This guest home is wonderful for large groups, especially those that want more privacy than offered at a hotel or B & B.

Eat-in kitchen has brand new appliances and opens into the formal dining room, which seats up to 12. Slide open the original cedar pocket doors and connect the family room to the formal dining room. Outdoors, the private landscaped backyard is the perfect setting for a relaxed barbeque with friends and family. Enjoy a glass of wine on the wraparound porch, and the second floor master bedroom balcony is the perfect place to enjoy morning coffee. Further, to help kick off the celebration, a complementary bottle of wine will be waiting for you upon your arrival!!

Centrally located, The James McCool House is only one mile from downtown wineries, shops, weekend Farmer's Market and Whitman College. Short drive from Stateline wineries & airport tasting rooms. Visitors won't find a better value for a wine country guest home than The James McCool House in Walla Walla! (in the Walla Walla, Napa Valley and Sonoma wine country areas.)

Ideal for wine country getaways, family reunions, holiday gatherings, corporate retreats, golfing, hunting or to simply enjoy the wonderful town of Walla Walla.

Keywords: House, Home, Vacation Rental, Guest Home

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Alexa Palmer (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Alexa Palmer

Tracy and her brother Chris discovered this wonderful, but neglected home in 2005. Though the home was showing its age of more than 100 years, the home's underlying grand and proud features were clearly evident. Drawing on Tracy’s passion for historic homes, her talents as a designer, and inspired by their late grandmother, the next several years were spent painstakingly bringing the house back to its stately origins, while making sure it was equipped with all of the present day conveniences.

'Our motto throughout the restoration was ‘quality takes time’, and we think its effects can be seen in the details throughout the home. Welcome to our home and the fantastic town of Walla Walla, Washington! '

Alexa Palmer purchased this house in 2005

Guestbook comments from the manager

We love Walla Walla!! We had a fun time wine tasting and bachelorette-ing! Thank you!
Jan 2012
  • 1 of 25

Reviews

4.8
based on 52 traveler reviews

Call About Our Autumn Special!
average rating of 4.769231 based on 77 reviews
4

James McCool house stay in Walla Walla

  • 4 of 5

The house is very well kept and well stocked with everything that is needed in regards to cooking, relaxing and sleeping. the layout was great for us as we had two guests that would not be able to make it upstairs and the two rooms downstairs worked great. The house is very charming and made us feel that we were really in old times in Walla Walla. During our stay there was some very extensive construction work going on that had Chestnut street all tore up. This made it rather noisy and dusty. I would also add that during our stay there was a car show in town and all the cars paraded by the house on Friday night so that was pretty awesome.

I guess the only drawback we could see with the house was that it is located on a very busy street, 2nd so you get a lot of traffic noise.

Great stay and a nice house that met our needs.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Spacious and well equipped for celebrations

  • 4 of 5

The James McCool house is well equipped, spacious, and comfortable for a crowd. The various gathering spaces are great for flexible meals and dinner-gathering. The welcome wine bottle was great--I think we left one to pass on to the next guests. It is a great way to share good times and start things off with a glass to share on a celebratory note.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great size, great location

  • 5 of 5

This was a fantastic rental. We had a full house of 12 people and the large kitchen was stocked very well for our group! Plus the outdoor grill was fantastic. The couple that slept on the pullout couch said it was fine. Standard pullout couch. And the wrap around porch was a great area for us to hang out and play some yard games.

The house is in a fantastic location! It's short walk away from a grocery store which saved us! And a ~15min walk to downtown Walla Walla where we grabbed dinner one night and went wine tasting another day.

All in all a great rental for us! Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely home...vintage with great amenities

  • 5 of 5

There were 5 couples that stayed in the James McCool house for a weekend of wine tasting in Walla Walla, while 3 other couples stayed at nearby hotels and joined us for meals at the house. The spacious dining room AND the backyard with the great shade umbrella's accommodated all 16 of us around the tables! The kitchen had plenty of everything we needed and the historic "charm" was a huge plus as we celebrated our 60th birthdays together. The beds were comfortable and there were plenty of linens, towels, etc. Thank you so much for sharing this great home. We loved it and have been telling others about our great experience there.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great for our commencement gathering

  • 4 of 5

The house worked well for our family gathering. Lots of rooms - and bathrooms! The "yard" is small and you have to go out, around, and through a gate to get to it. But it was a nice area for sitting and having an outdoor BBQ. The house is situated on 2 busy streets so there was a lot of traffic noise that woke some people up in the early morning. Also, it's an old house so lots of creaking, especially the stairs. Some thought the beds were not so comfortable and did not sleep well. However, the kitchen was large and accommodated all 8-12 of us. The kitchen was well-supplied, even an extra wine refrigerator in the dining room.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home - comfortable and full of charm

  • 5 of 5

Plenty of room for our party of 10. Great location. Host was easy to work with and accomodating. We could not have chosen a better place to stay. Thank you!

  • Submitted: May 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

The James McCool House is located close to downtown Walla Walla, Washington. Enjoy ArtWalk, shopping on Main Street, visiting the numerous tasting rooms downtown and eating at the many gourmet restaurants. Enjoy a Shakespeare play at the newly renovated Power House Theatre or catch one of the numerous bands playing at downtown venues.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Walla Walla House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off-Season Rates
Jan 2 2017 - Mar 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$475
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.9%

Cancellation Policy:
A sixty (60) day notice is required for cancellation. Cancellations that are made more than sixty (60) days prior to scheduled arrival date will be issued a refund, less a 5% cancellation fee. Cancellations made within sixty (60) days of scheduled arrival date will be entitled to a refund for all days reserved (less a 5% cancellation fee) only if we can re-book the property for the same dates at the same rates. If we are unable to re-book the property for the same dates at the same rates, no refund will be issued. Early departures do not warrant any refunds.

AUTUMN SPECIAL ($395/night) VALID FOR STAYS THROUGH MARCH 31, 2016 ONLY!
Call Manager (509) 520 8975 prior to booking to receive discount for Autumn Special.

Payment due in full upon time of reservation.

Book online: www.wallawallavacationrentals.com

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Walla Walla House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Downstairs Master Bathroom.
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Updstairs Master Bathroom - full bath with shower.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , Downstairs Hallway Half Bathroom - toilet and sink.
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upstairs Hall Full Bathroom - Clawfoot Tub/shower combo.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Downstairs Master Bedroom, with full bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Downstairs queen bedroom. Adjacent to half bath in hall.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Upstairs Master Bedroom with Cal King Bed & private bath
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Upstairs Queen Bedroom, adjacent to hall bathroom
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , Upstairs Twin Bedroom w/2 twin beds, adjacent to hall bath.
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen , Convertible Queen sleeper sofa in living room downstairs.
  • King size beds (2) King bed in downstair's Master Suite; California King bed in upstair's Master Suite., Queen size Beds (2) plus, Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen size sofa sleeper in living / tv room.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • tennis

Partner Offers