Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Jo Ann Askey - Bayside Owner

Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Adorable Upgraded Beach Condo! Parking WiFi Bikes View FUN!!

50 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalize payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

San Diego County Condo Rental Photos and Description

1 BR, 1BA, Sleeps 4. Looks like a model home!! View WiFi Bikes Parking!

Just imagine – 30 steps to a beautiful beach and affordable!!

This very cute, family-friendly, very romantic condo is designer decorated inside. Gleaming hardwood floors, super comfy queen bed with granite kitchen fully equipped down to the spices!! Many units at the beach are old and a bit shabby inside. Honestly - is that where you want to stay on vacation? You live in a nice place & you deserve to stay in a modern, spotlessly clean condo on vacation. This condo is the perfect location in San Diego to enjoy our legendary weather and surf inspired beach life!! Yes, there are surfers out there from sunrise until sunset everyday! Speaking of sunsets, have you ever seen a green flash?

From the condo, you can walk to the beach, ocean, markets, restaurants, bars, local shops, Belmont Park 's historic roller coaster & the Wavehouse. Drive or take a bus to Old Town, SeaWorld, the Zoo, Legoland, Seaport Village, La Jolla, Coronado, USS Midway, the Gaslamp, Qualcomm Stadium to watch the Chargers Football and Petco Park to watch Padre baseball.

Compare the extras – all Included! Check them out!: Don't you just hate it when you check into a vacation rental and have to go to the store to get the basics like paper towels, TP, salt & pepper? Not in this condo!!

We’ve tried to think of everything you would need to have a carefree, fun-filled time at the beach without having to pack a bunch of stuff or go to the store right away for paper towels. No kidding. Check out all that is included!! You'll find spices, paper towels, trash bags & dishwasher soap. Of course, the kitchen is fully equipped with with a full-size refrigerator, stove/oven, dishwasher, microwave, blender, toaster, coffee maker, plenty of dishes, glasses, silverware, utensils, pots and pans. There’s even wine & margarita & martini glasses! Just bring your food and drinks!!

Headed for the beach? Grab the beach towels, beach chairs, beach toys, cooler, boogie boards - all included!! You even get 2 beach bikes!! Enjoy free long distance phone calls, WiFi and an iPod dock.

Location in Mission Beach: This very cool condo is located on the bayside of Mission Blvd. on the corner of Redondo Court and Bayside Lane. So, exactly where is Redondo Court? Redondo Court is about halfway between the historic roller coaster at Belmont Park and Crystal Pier, so it’s the perfect central location in Mission Beach. This area of the beach has tons of restaurants and bars and local shops within an easy walk. Because there is very little public parking in this area, the beaches here are not crowded. Yes, you have a numbered, reserved parking spot!! Whew!!

Mission Bay is only 30 steps from the condo. You can see the bay from the living room window and the front entrance deck of the condo. Not direct bayfront and that’s why the price is very affordable!! The condos directly on the bay are at least twice the price!! But don’t forget - you’re only 30 steps to the sand and an easy 4 minute walk to the ocean. Walk the 30 steps to watch the Sea World fireworks nightly during the summer. Very fun. Location, Location, Location!!

Things to see and do in my city: I am a native San Diegan and I know you'll have a great time in my beautiful town!! In the entertainment center bookcase under the HDTV, you'll find a whole box of tourist brochures and info on what to do on your vacation in San Diego. You will also find restaurant recommendations - many within an easy walk from the condo.

You'll have a wonderful vacation in my town!!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jo Ann Askey - Bayside Owner (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Jo Ann Askey - Bayside Owner

I grew up at the beach in San Diego - just a mile from this condo!! I graduated from Mission Bay High School and San Diego State University! I have lived in Mission Beach, as well as the horse country in East County, Solana Beach in North County, Old TownCoronado and now I live downtown!!. Do include a visit to Coronado and downtown when you come to San Diego! I have been in the travel industry for many years and have been fortunate to travel much of the world. I always love coming back to my home - San Diego.

Very honestly, other than Hawaii, San Diego has the best weather in America. We can BBQ outside almost every day! You'll see bikers and joggers every day. I still enjoy watching the surfers and walking on the beach at sunset and, hopefully, lucky to see a green flash! Yes, there really is a green flash!!

The biggest mistake travelers make is not planning to spend enough days on their vacation. 3 nights is really only 2 days to see things! Spend a week in San Diego and I know you'll want to come back!!

Lots to see and do. Don't forget to enjoy some days of doing nothing on our beautiful beaches!!

Jo Ann Askey - Bayside Owner purchased this condo in 2005

Why Jo Ann Askey - Bayside Owner chose San Diego County

I grew up at the beach - just across the bay from this condo. I was so excited when I found this condo for sale in 2005. I had lots of fun furnishing and decorating with the help of my designer friend! Since it has a view of Mission Bay's Sail Bay, I decided to use a sailing theme. It is absolutely adorable. Check out the pictures and the reviews!!

I love the location of this condo. 30 steps to Mission Bay and a 4 minute walk to the Pacific Ocean! Perfect central location plus it's QUIET!! Within 3 blocks are a dozen restaurants, bars and shops! Walk or ride the beach bikes (2 included) on miles of flat bayfront and oceanfront sidewalks. Very fun!

Walk to the ocean at sunset to watch the surfers and hopefully you'll see a green flash!

What makes this condo unique

Terrific Location!

Walk, jog or ride bikes to restaurants, shops, bars and beautiful beaches!

Designer Decorated with a boating theme!

All included - beach bikes, beach towels, beach toys, boogie boards, long distance calls, secure WiFi, cable TV, fully equipped kitchen including the spices!!

A numbered, reserved parking spot!! That's the biggest benefit!!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Had a fab time. So close to the beach and then for a cycle on the boardwalk to watch the sunset. Absolutely gorgeous. SeaWorld was class and go out to Mission Bay @ about 10pm to watch the fireworks from SeaWorld. Thank you so much for all the useful information that was provided. For a great night out, go to Pacific Beach Bar & Grill. Three words to describe San Diego - sun, sea and sand :)
Jun 2009
  • 1 of 5

Reviews

4.6
based on 50 traveler reviews

Adorable Upgraded Beach Condo! Parking WiFi Bikes View FUN!!
average rating of 4.64 based on 55 reviews
Phoenix, AZ
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5

Jo Ann was wonderful to work with! The location was great! Definitely recommend the condo for a San Diego getaway!

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great condo with a great location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this condo from 03/08/16-03/14/16 and loved it. Condo is clean, well maintained and has a great location. Walking distance to bars, restaurants, grocery store, Belmont Park (or short uber/cab ride) if you prefer not to walk. Fantastic location in regards to the bay (30 seconds) and a quick 2 min walk to the ocean. Loved having all the amenities i.e. stove, microwave, grill, beach chairs etc. Highly recommended and we will definitely be back. Wifi and parking space are included which is a huge bonus. We have stayed at hotels in the area 3 times before discovering this place and have never rented a car due to the outrageous parking fees (and you really don't need a car, but it was nice to have). My only suggestion if you are coming and renting a vehicle is do not go any larger than mid/full size, it is a small space. We rented a midsize and it pretty much filled the spot end to end. Also I would like to mention that I found it pretty impressive that I received a text message for Jo Ann (owner) asking how our stay was going while we were there. I like personal touch and thought that was outstanding on her part. We had a small problem with the kitchen outlets and microwave not working one morning and I knew it was a simple fix by flipping the breaker switch, the only problem was that I could not find the breaker box. I loved the fact that I could text/call Jo Ann and ask where to find the box and that she responded quickly to tell me where it is. And yes that was the problem, everything worked fine after that and it never happened again. I have read some prior reviews saying that it's too small and that the floors were dirty, I would like to respond to them by saying yes it is a small condo (perfect for 2 people) but who cares about the size, I don't come to San Diego to hang out inside. And in regards to cleanliness and floors, I'm not sure how picky you are but we received the place clean and neat so no complaints there.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vermont
5

conviently located,clean, the perfect family vacation spot

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful place to stay. just steps away from bay and ocean took morning walks every day on the beach. always worry how comfortable the bed will be but this bed was great. worked out very well taking our 12 year old was a very safe neighborhood. and what a great price for all you get. also had great responds from Jo Ann even after our vacation when our security deposit wasn't automatically deposited by home away. Jo Ann quickly sprung into action and manually deposited our refund. we had such a great experience weve begun dreaming about using one of her other condos maybe Phoenix AZ? I rate this place as a five star

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am soooo happy you had a very fun vacation in my city. I am a native San Diegan and grew up right across the bay from this condo. It always makes me feel soooo good when my guests have an exceptional experience. You are always welcome back and, yes, I know you would also enjoy my condo in Phoenix also!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Cute, Great location, but needs some attention!

  • 3 of 5

Joanne was great to deal with. Instructions were very detailed regarding check-in, amenities and surrounding location. Our stay was in November 2015, and although the weather was fabulous, we didn't spend much time at the beach, as our days were quite full with sightseeing. If your plans include spending a large amount of time at the beach, this place may be what you are looking for.

The condo is small, but this was fine for us (a couple), but may be tight for 2 couples or a family of four. There were a number of maintenance issues that real should have been addressed, but were not. The dishwasher never did clean the dishes, even after 3X running it through, a few pieces of furniture were really damaged/falling apart (dresser, end table) and the tub/ toilet had "running on" issues that sometimes resolved themselves, and then would reappear (?!?) Finally, it took over a month to receive our damage deposit back, even though there were no issues. It wasn't until I pressed for it that it was returned promptly to our account.

As a vacation rental owner myself, I would not want my unit to be represented this way. For some renters, this may not be an issue. I know that my husband and I will look elsewhere on our next visit to SD.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As a fellow vacation rental owner, I know we both appreciate and value the input of our guests. This definitely helps to maintain and upgrade our rentals. The guests that stayed in the condo the week after your stay called me about the dishwasher. I had a repairman out there to fix it and all is fine now. My apologies for the late return of your security deposit. I have changed the settings on VRBO and Homeaway so all the security deposits are automatically refunded 7 days after a guest departs. I have never kept a penny of a security deposit, so this makes that process so much easier than having to remember and manually do the refund. I do hope you enjoyed Mission Beach - especially walking and riding the bikes. It is a very special spot.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Not quite so adorable

  • 3 of 5

We spent two weeks at this condo in January, 2016. The location is excellent very close to the Bay and the ocean, less than a mile to a good grocery store. The bed was comfortable and there are two good reading lamps in the living room but that is where the positive comments end. The kitchen floor was just plain dirty and the shelves in the kitchen need a cleaning and re-lining. The bathroom is small with a very antiquated tub and taps that don't work well. The leather sofa is certainly not new and uncomfortable to sit on.

This condo has potential but renovations are badly needed to live up to the write-up.

Denise R.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Denise. I am so sorry this condo did not meet your expectations. Many past guests have agreed it is "adorable" and the past reviews have been very positive. The location is perfect for walking the beaches on Mission Bay and the Boardwalk along the Pacific Ocean. I hope you enjoyed riding the bikes, too! I always encourage guests to contact me when they are staying in the condo if they have any issues. I wish you had called me.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

The vrbo property description met our expectation.

  • 4 of 5

The detailed description of the condo, central location and amenities were very helpful. For the overall cost of the accommodation location and amenities, we had a very satisfying time and hope to return at some future opportunity and explore further the relaxing life style mission beach and San Diego have to offer . We most enjoyed having the availability of the beach cruisers to ride on the extensive boardwalks under the blue sky and warm winter sun. Personal and readily available contact with our host gave us confidence that we we would have a nice place to stay and a quick response if something needed to be addressed.

  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
San Diego International
Car: not necessary

Come to San Diego and enjoy 'California’s Hidden Gem' with mild weather year ‘round. Actually, the only place in America with better weather is Hawaii!! If you haven't vacationed in San Diego, you're in for a treat!

Mission Beach is a unique California beach town. It’s a peninsula of high priced real estate surrounded by the Pacific Ocean on the west and Mission Bay's Sail Bay on the east. Two very different worlds and only a block apart! The Boardwalk and the beach on the Pacific Ocean is active, fun and busy. Body surf, board surf, boogie board, jump the waves, search for shells, build a sandcastle or just walk along the seashore. In contrast, Mission Bay offers another world - sail, kayak, swim or just gel out on the beach. You can ride bikes or walk, jog or skate on miles of oceanfront and bayfront sidewalks. There are tons of restaurants, bars & shops around every corner.

Other Activities: Ride bikes (included) on miles of beach sidewalks.

Walk to Mission Bay Aquatic Center to rent paddleboards, jet skis, sailboats and kayaks! Fun!

Golf: There are over 100 golf courses in San Diego. Torrey Pines is 15 minutes north and very reasonably priced. Book early because it is also very popular!

Other Things To Do - Mission Beach is central to all the fun spots in San Diego!! 12 minutes to the San Diego International Airport, five minutes to Sea World, 15 minutes to Seaport Village, the Downtown Gas Lamp, Little Italy, Balboa Park and the famous San Diego Zoo. It’s a 40 minute drive north to the Wild Animal Park and Legoland. Posh La Jolla, with all those expensive shops and restaurants, is just 10 minutes north. You might also enjoy the Scripps Aquarium while you’re in La Jolla. In the summer, try your luck at the Del Mar Horse Racing Track – just 20 minutes north - or indulge in a margarita in Old Town - just 10 minutes from Mission Beach.

Public Transportation - If you want to forget renting a car or just leave your car parked, there is good bus service on Mission Blvd. that can get you all over San Diego and also connects to the red trolley in Old Town. Take the red trolley to Petco Park - our baseball field downtown, or all the way to Tijuana, Mexico.

Ski: Ski??? ...no downhill snow skiing here! Closest winter skiing is at Big Bear Lake - 3 hours from San Diego.

But, you can water ski, jet ski, kayak, wind surf, kite surf, boogie board, and of course, surf in the Pacific Ocean!! Want to take surf lessons? There are several businesses within a block of the condo that offer beginning to advances surf lessons. Go for it!!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mission Beach Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring 2016
Apr 2 2016 - May 25 2016
3 night minimum stay
$150
$900
$2,800
 
 
Memorial Day Holiday
May 26 2016 - Jun 1 2016
3 night minimum stay
$185
 
 
June
Jun 2 2016 - Jul 1 2016
4 night minimum stay
$165
$990
 
 
4th of July
Jul 2 2016 - Jul 8 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
Flat fee
 
 
Summer, 2016
Jul 9 2016 - Aug 26 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
 
 
August Deal!
Aug 27 2016 - Sep 2 2016
3 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 3 2016 - Sep 5 2016
2 night minimum stay
$185
 
 
Fall 2016
Sep 6 2016 - Nov 18 2016
3 night minimum stay
$150
$900
$2,800
 
 
Thanksgiving 2016
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 26 2016
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,050
 
 
Winter 2016
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 17 2016
4 night minimum stay
$150
$900
$2,800
 
 
Christmas and New Years
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,050
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 4 2017 - Apr 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
$900
$2,800
 
 
Easter 2017
Apr 8 2017 - Apr 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,050
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $70
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 11.0%

$870-1500/Week
Summer: Weekly, Saturday to Saturday. 11% city rental tax and $70 for fresh linens and departure cleaning are additional.

Every 7 night FREE in the Fall, Winter & Spring - other than holidays!! 11% city rental tax and $70 departure cleaning are additional.

3 night min. September - May (other than holidays)

Rates are for up to 4 guests. Maximum of 4 guests including all children.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

San Diego County Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Town ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The bathroom is sparkling clean with travertine tile. It has a tub and shower with a really good shower head (not much better than a good shower - well, almost nothing). And, we found a curved shower curtain rod just like in the upscale hotels! You’ll find plenty of towels and a built-in hairdryer. We even include amenities like shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion!! We’ve tried to think of everything so you don’t have to pack so much stuff or go right to the store to buy the basics. You'll even have plenty of TP.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • At the end of a fun day in the sun or a busy sightseeing day, you will definitely appreciate the super comfy queen bed with a Temperpedic mattress topper and quality linens & comforter. The bedroom is a separate room from the living room with a door between the two rooms which can be closed for privacy. There’s plenty of room for your stuff in the mirrored closet and in the tall drawer cabinets on either side of the bed. You’ll appreciate the cool ocean breeze through the shuttered bedroom window. Check out the pictures!
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The sign on the front door welcomes you to the beach. Use the coded front door lock and step inside to see this modern, beautifully renovated condo with gleaming hardwood floors, granite countertops and new kitchen cabinets. We added plantation shutters on all the windows for light and privacy. From the mirrored wall in the living room, you can actually see the reflection of Mission Bay from inside the condo! Because the condo has a view of Sail Bay, it's all designer decorated with a 'sailing' theme! Very cute. Check out the pictures! There’s a sofa sleeper in the living room that will sleep 2 and a glass dining table for 4. Check out the entertainment center with a very cool flat screen HDTV, DVD player & CD/radio. Hey - bring your iPod! We even have an iPod dock!! ! You’re welcome to watch our classic DVDs and just in case you get tired of all that sunshine at the beach, there are books and plenty of games. You’ll also find lots of tourist brochures.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote