Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Summer Special $75/n 2pp. End unit on golf course. 10 mins to beach.

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wireless Internet
  • Hot Tub

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Laughing Gecko Golf is a delightfully tropical 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom designer furnished ground floor, end unit located on a secluded seasonal waterway overlooking the Waikoloa golf course with beautiful mountain and golf course views.

This special unit is placed in a quiet location at the rear of the complex away from the street and parking areas. The condo has a lovely private lawned area in front with shady trees, birds and gentle views. Laughing Gecko is a cut above the rest; quiet and private with lovely views.

Sitting right on the Waikoloa Robert Trent Jones Jr. course, it’s the perfect spot to base yourself for a great Big Island vacation. The Waikoloa Village course is a favorite of local golfers, who consider it one of West Hawaii's best kept secrets with low green fees that make it a superb value. Guests at this condo pay as little as $50 a round with cart (discounted fee)!

The condo has a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher and microwave, washer and dryer, and everything you need to make your vacation enjoyable. The master suite has a queen sized bed and luxury high thread count linens. The bathroom is spacious and has a shower with tub.

This condo is designer furnished and decorated. It's beautifully appointed; affordable luxury. (Traveler tip - not all rentals are well furnished. Check carefully.)

The complex is right opposite the golf course club house, Banjy’s restaurant, pool and tennis courts. The recreation area features a large pool, spa, BBQ area, and well equipped workout room; the only complex in Waikoloa that has a gym. Everything you need is right there and it's just a short stroll to the shops. A very good grocery store is a short walk away, along with banking, medical, post office, etc.. The Resorts and world class beaches are just 5 - 10 minutes away by car.

Waikoloa Village is a planned community with underground electric, world class golf course and amenities conveniently located between Waimea, Kona and Hilo, just minutes from the best beaches. It is the perfect central location to base yourself for your Big Island vacation. The condo complex is gated and wrapped on three sides by the golf course.

In home massage therapist, maid service, private hiking guide, professional photographer, gourmet pastries available. Ask owner for details.

Keywords: condo, vacation, rental, ocean, view, mountain, golf, two, one, bedroom, Hawaii, Big Island, beach, designer, furnished, resort, luxury, affordable, pool, hot tub, tennis, gym, waikoloa, village, fairway, terrace, apartment, flat, lanai, kohala, coast, golf, tennis, vacation, holiday, big island, kohala coast, waikoloa villlage, fairway terrace

More Details

Owner
Bookings
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 23, 2017

About Bookings

Ali Blackmore is a Zimbabwean who has traveled the globe, living in eight different countries over four continents. Dual careers in real estate and design have traveled with her and continue on Big Island, Hawaii where she works as a real estate Broker & designer specializing in Kohala Coast property. A lifelong real estate investor, Ali knows a good property when she sees one and bought Laughing Gecko because it is one of the all-round best view condos and locations in Waikoloa Village. If you are visiting Big Island to look at or buy property Ali would be delighted to assist you with your search or purchase.

Bookings purchased this condo in 2005

Why Bookings chose Kohala Coast

In searching for a condo as a vacation rental my criteria included a superb location, golf course frontage, established and landscaped common areas, privacy and quiet. A tall order indeed but I found the perfect unit in the perfect place, that met all my criteria, and then some! For a couple this is a delightfully affordable luxury getaway.

What makes this condo unique

The complex is located right on the golf course and just opposite the golf course club house, pool, tennis courts and restaurant. As a ground floor end unit set away from the street and parking areas the condo is private and quiet. Fronting the golf course with a private lawn in front the condo is a lovely place to relax. It's a very sweet spot within easy walking distance of shopping and dining and a quick five minutes to the beach by car.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hey Ali, we appreciate your place. It's very quite and pleasant. The decors are beautiful and it made us feel right at home. Thank you
Mar 2017
  • 1 of 11

Amenities

Waikoloa Village Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Golf Course View
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Gym, work out facility. Tennis. Discounted golf.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

Summer Special $75/n 2pp. End unit on golf course. 10 mins to beach.
average rating of 4.428571 based on 32 reviews
4

Good central location

  • 4 of 5

We paid $79 / night for 10 days, I guess the discount came later. Regardless we had a good stay. The apartment is in a residential unit, therefore we felt like intruders at first. It took a couple days to settle in to the local life. The space was inviting, comfortable, well equipped. We made good use of the coolers. Close proximity to kohala coast and all the best beaches. We also had a good shot to Volcanoes NP. Because we had such a great deal, we splurged for an overnight at Volcano Inn. Excellent inn and time well spent. The pool, hot tub and barbecue were well used. Very nice surroundings. Nice KTA store close by and near to even more in Waimea. Big Haus beers were a favorite.

Lots of snorkeling and beach fun. All in all a great experience for less $$$.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I Mary, Thank you for your review. The standard rate on this condo is $98/n, so you did get a fantastic discount. The $75/n is truly a last minute rate to fill open nights and would not apply at the time of your stay. I'm so glad you settled in and had a great visit. It is an ideal central location for exploring the island, as you discovered. Kind regards, ali
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice Condo at a Great Price

  • 4 of 5

Condo located in a quiet, safe location. The location made it easy to explore all the beachs and sights on that side of the Island. Pool area is very nice and most of the time we had it to ourselves. Ali was very responsive to any questions and her directions to the condo were easy to follow. The condo is small but perfect for two people. Great value for the price.

My only suggestion to the owner would be to replace the sliding patio door.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Wanda, Thank you for your kind words. It is a sweet spot. These units are well located because they were built earlier than others and "the early bird gets the worm". The flip side of that is they are older. Replacing the patio slider is a great wishlist item, that costs a couple thousand dollars. While it would be nice it would also mean raising the rental rates and it's hard to justify the expense because travelers appreciate an affordable stay. So, we do run on "Hawaii style", namely a length of dowel to 'lock' the door. Actually I have seen that in multi-million dollar homes funnily enough. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the amenities. Aloha, ali
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Spokane
4

Quiet, well appointed, clean, great bed!

  • 4 of 5

This place was all the reviews and description said. I felt really at home and the manager was quick to respond to all my questions . Would recommend it highly .

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, and thank you for your review. I think that sums it up well - felt at home. It's a comfortable space at an affordable price. glad you had a great stay. regards, ali
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great comfortable and quiet location

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic getaway in a very comfortable location. Owner was excellent and extremely accommodating. I'd highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay. Much aloha, ali
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Condo located in a quiet area. Kitchen very well equipped and the living areas ver comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

Would highly recommend this listing

  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Donna, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope your travels are safe and holidays relaxing. It will seem like no time at all till you are back on our beautiful island. Kind regards, ali
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice condo in a lovely, quiet location

  • 5 of 5

Ali was very helpful and responsive to any request we had or help we needed. The condo was just right for a couple. The kitchen was complete. The bed was comfortable. Waikoloa Village is an ideal place to stay; it's a close commute to the best beaches on the big island and shops at Waikoloa Beach Resorts but away from a lot of traffic and its noise. Its higher elevation makes for pleasantly cool nights. The weather was delightful and varied. It was our first time to stay here but we intend to revisit it. Its a great place for birders, golfers and enjoying the lovely flowers in Springtime. The condo has a great pool and the gas grills are useful. The condo management was friendly and helpful. In summary, we recommend it.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was lovely to meet you both and I'm so glad you had a great vacation and enjoyed all the beauty our island has to offer. Thank you for your kind words. I look forward to your return. aloha, ali
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
19 Miles
kona
Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
Banjy's
Nearest Golf
0.01 Miles
Waikoloa Village Course
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Queen K
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
Banjy's
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
A Bay
Nearest Point of Interest
Shopping Center
Nearest Point of Interest
USPS Post Office
Nearest Point of Interest
Golf Course Club House
Nearest Point of Interest
Police Station
Car: recommended

Observatories / Star gazing, Botanical Gardens, Historic Homes, ATV Tours, Farm tours, Whale watching, Sailing, Zip line, Jungle hikes, Waterfalls, Swim with dolphins, caving.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Waikoloa Village Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer Special
May 1 2017 - Jul 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$75
From
$85
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Year end holidays
Dec 15 2017 - Jan 12 2018
3 night minimum stay
$113
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$98
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $95 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 13.46%

Rate is for 2 person occupancy only.
Ask about last minute rentals, stays under six nights and discounts.
Cancellation 60+ days prior to rental full refund less processing fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send Email Send Email
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties