Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Direct Waterfront Condo on Sapphire Beach and Marina

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 767 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

As beautiful as Sapphire Beach Resort and Marina are, the use of the word resort would tend to indicate something else. The amenities that you may find at all-inclusive are not available at Sapphire. This is a no-nonsense, laid back, beachfront condo with the waters edge just feet away. There are no tennis courts or spas. There is 1 small, beachy restaurant on the other end of Sapphire for drinks and some pub food. Each condo is individually owned and managed by that person. Sapphire does have the most amazing snorkeling and marine life. The sunrises over St. John with unobstructed views are breathtaking. It is a peaceful, zen-like experience. If this sounds good to you then this is your vacation spot! Sapphire Beach resort and marina are situated on the eastern end of the island. Just minutes to the town Red Hook where you can find fine dining, shopping, a grocery store, sports bar, pizza, and live music. For the adventurous type there are many attractions including Blackbeard's Castle, sky tram, underwater submarine tour, and a hands-on aquarium. There are many boat excursions and ferries to the BVI and other islands for a day hike. So much to do and see or just feel the breeze and sun in this awesome island oasis.

Keywords: direct waterfront unit with newly renovated kitchen and bath.

More Details

Owner
lee passios
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 27, 2017

About lee passios

CREDIT CARD PAYMENTS For your convenience, payment via PayPal (no account needed) is available for use.

lee passios purchased this condo in 2010

Why lee passios chose East End

My brother and his family have been coming to Sapphire Beach for many years and convinced us to join him this year. I could barely contain myself when I saw the view and put my feet in the water(as angel fish swam around me). My 6 year old went snorkeling and saw sea turtles and sting rays in their natural habitat. My 12 year old met some new friends; they played volleyball and swam together joining in an immediate friendship. I knew I found paradise and a place to call my own.

What makes this condo unique

Great restaurants and shopping nearby. Local attractions including an aquarium with hands-on exhibits. Safe environment for families with children. Many weddings have been accommodated on the 'point' overlooking the coral reef.

Guestbook comments from the owner

In response to this 1 bad review after 3 years of renting, my belief is that this couple are miserable to begin with. They stayed 2 hours. They never gave Sapphire a chance, and experienced its TRUE beauty. When they arrived there were keys in the door and the cleaning lady was next store. If they had bothered to bring a copy of their contract which contains all the pertinent information, they would have know this. I never pretended to be the Ritz- Carlton. This is a quiet waterfront condo that has its own security staff. The water is pristine with a thriving reef in front. Sapphire is a very special place. I am not sure what these renters standards are?! I am down there every 4 to 6 months. I bring quality towels, linens, knives etc. Just read all my past reviews and you will see how awesome Sapphire really is. Sincerely, Lee the owner
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Estate Smith Bay Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 767 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) New mattress and box spring on a new frame with headboard, Queen size Beds (1) comfortable pull-out in new couch, Baby Cribs (1) play-n-pack and a full size air matress, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) new couch has a full size matress in it.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)

Direct Waterfront Condo on Sapphire Beach and Marina
average rating of 4.711111 based on 46 reviews
5

Highly recommended beach front condo

  • 5 of 5

My boyfriend and I had the absolute best vacation experience. The condo had everything we needed, including snorkeling equipment, plenty of beach towels and cooler bags. Being right on the water, we got to watch the amazing sunrise every morning. We loved sitting by the beautiful pool, but what made it even better was that our condo was only a few yards away which was really convenient if we needed beverages or snacks. We also walked down and enjoyed lunch at the beach bar. Another plus about this condo is how great the location is to everything else. The ferry to St. John and Tortola is five minutes down the road in Red Hook. We also shopped at Moes grocery store and ate at several of the restaurants located there. There were many shops run by the local people as well as more touristy gift shops which gave me many shopping options! This way I was able to avoid the cruise boat traffic that exists in Charlotte Amalie. Lastly, the owner Lee was very helpful and easy to contact. She was able to send us maps and brochures and answered any questions we had quickly and thoroughly. Connie, the onsite property manager was also a delight. It was nice to have someone available incase we really needed anything. It was a beautiful condo and I have already booked with Lee for next year!

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rescue, CA USA
5

A Stay in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at the Sapphire Beach Resort immensely. The condo unit was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. We enjoyed the ocean view, the beautiful white sandy beach and having access to snorkeling close by. We would recommend this condo to anyone.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review. Sapphire is a very special place and I look forward to your return. Sincerely, lee
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The condo and the view were spectacular.

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Lee and Connie, for making our stay so enjoyable. The new restaurant and beach bar were a great bonus to the property. We also enjoyed the pool overlooking the ocean. Thank you again for all your help.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review. I am actually down here now making sure there are plenty of supplies for my guests. I hope you will come back and visit us again soon. Lee
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cary, NC
2

Poorly stocked...no soap, only two bath towels, a/c not working, only two rolls of toilet paper.

  • 2 of 5

Great view of water. Parking lot not paved and full of ruts. Hard to find parking space. Pool bar was closed.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry that your experience was not what you expected. There is a reason I have a property manager that lives on the island. If you wanted extra towels, extra toilet paper or had a special request all you have to do is call her. She would have been there in a heartbeat to accommodate you. As for the A/C you called at 7 pm and I had someone there the next morning. The parking lot and pool bar are next on the list for being fixed. Any construction is done during the summer as not to disturb the winter guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good location and experience

  • 4 of 5

overall the stay was good and the condo was very nice and in good condition. You do have to get your own bathroom supplies - so be sure to bring those with you including toilet paper.

The reports of Deferred Maintenance on the overall property condition are still applicable - I did not see any construction work during my stay so it may take several years for the overall property to be repaired. i booked 6 months in advance when i read the reviews on deferred maintenance and expected them to be substantially complete by the time we stayed there.

one other comment specific to the condo - the photo view of the beach is not its current condition - the beach is all rocks and gravel in front of the condo. but still a great location and view.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry about the toilet paper issue. There should have been plenty for your stay. My manager may have forgotten. Anyways construction is only done during off season and this is one of the reasons it is taking so long. The beachfront is changing constantly. Sometimes storms bring sand and sometimes it brings rocks....just depends on which way the wind blows. I hope you will come back to see as Sapphire continues to restore and renovate. Stay well. Lee
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Sapphire Beach Resorts

  • 5 of 5

We have been to STT almost 20 yrs., renting at Sapphire Beach Resort. Lee is the best host and answers our every need promptly. Could not ask for better. We love the ground floor unit with easy access to beach and pool.

As far as this area is concerned: best snorkeling on the island less than 100 yds away, very quiet beach at our door, lovely patio for sunning and a roof to help when the occasional sun shower creeps up. Snorkelers see rays swimming and jumping out of the water, many reef fish and turtles.

At the other side of the resort (within 400 yds) is a white sand beach with crystal clear water and gradual sandy bottom. A fresh water swimming pool is 200 yds away with great views.

Next door is a marina from which fishing charters, parasailing, sail boats or jet skis can be rented. Everything you can imagine to make a great vacation.

Dollar bus is short walk so there is really no need for a car.

Have already made plans to come back.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review. I have your dates booked for next year and look forward to your return. Sincerely, lee
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rates & Availability

Estate Smith Bay Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,925
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Photos

Partner Offers