check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Carol Binder

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Waterfront Cottage on Puget Sound

12 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Port Orchard Cabin Rental Photos and Description

1BR/1BA cabin, full kitchen and living/dining area.

This can be a romantic retreat for 2 or bring the friends and family for some fun on the shores of Puget Sound. This charming one bedroom waterfront cottage is set on a private acre. The sleeper sofa makes room for 2 additional guests. Bring your kayaks, binoculars for bird watching, shoes for hiking or simply relax and enjoy this one-of-kind waterfront retreat. Located just outside of Port Orchard, near the Southworth ferry landing, Candle Shore Cottage is only 40 minutes by ferry from Seattle or 35 just minutes from Tacoma via the Narrows Bridge. Only minutes away yet you will feel years away as you enjoy your peace at this wonderful waterfront retreat.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Carol Binder (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.3
based on 12 traveler reviews

Waterfront Cottage on Puget Sound
average rating of 4.25 based on 12 reviews
Harrisburg, PA
5

Candle Shore Cottage

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was everything I had hoped it would be. What a wonderful respite, up close and personal with Puget Sound wildlife and neighborhood canine visitors during their daily beachcombing routine. The owner is a very gracious host and extremely accommodating, even providing freshly ground Starbucks coffee for breakfast! Perfect for one or two people. Short distance from the Southworth Ferry, so very accessible. Cozy and warm. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Great central location to venture out to see other Washington sites. Can't say enough and can't wait to go back! Thanks, Chuck!

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2006
  • Stayed: Sep 2006
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0
5

Fairytale Retreat

  • 5 of 5

What a Peaceful Place! Highly recommend! The Bed is SUPER comfy & we got an amazing nights rest. The kitchen has all you need. The view is beautiful. The high tide drifting against the side of the rocks are hypnotizing. Port Orchard is just 10 minutes away and has many restaurants and grocery stores to stock up for the week or weekend. Seattle is a Ferry ride away. We would for sure come back again! My only recommendation is a 'Candle Cottage' sign at the trail that leads you down to the cottage, at first you get to the end of the road and it feels like you've missed something. Then you find this sweet little rock lined trail that takes you to your getaway. Also, maybe an upgrade on the life jackets... the little boat was so much fun to take out. Great Sunset View!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Unique, clean, and everything worked

  • 4 of 5

First off, if you are the type that looks for St Regis or Ritz Carlton accommodations, don't stay here. This cottage is uniquely situated right on the seawall of the bay it overlooks and is as small as it is old. On the bright side, it was a beautiful, peaceful, romantic, and enjoyable stay. The cottage was clean and everything worked during our stay. I recommend it for all who like a little peaceful adventure in their travels, isn't much over 6 ft tall, and enjoys feeling like you are away from everything when you are really a 20 minute ferry ride to downtown Seattle. Enjoy the high tide lapping at the side of the cottage, the sunset, walking the shore at low tide, and a peaceful evening fire. It was a positively memorable stay and I am glad I found this little gem. The owner was easy to work with and pleasant. The pictures and descriptions on the website are accurate, although they may not fully capture the coziness of the cottage.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Like something out of a fairy tale!

  • 5 of 5

Adorable little get away! The second we walked through the door we were sad we only had this place for the weekend, we were looking for a quiet romantic weekend away from our busy lives and this was all that and more. Very cozy, gorgeous views from all windows...very unique! Sat out on the dock and watched the seals and fed the birds, beach combed when the tide was out, shared some wine, and cozied up when the rain storms hit. Coffee shop on the other side of the bay was a treat! Thank you for sharing your cottage with us, we will return for sure!

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
2

Southworth Cabin

  • 2 of 5

If you are looking for an idyllic, PNW beach cabin experience, in the summer, this is the absolute, ideal setting. Beautiful view, salt air, quiet, beachcombing and bird watching opportunities, solitude. However, the cabin is in much need of attention, if to be rented to paying guests: poor maintenance related to the plumbing/septic and operations of the shower, flushing of the toilet, kitchen sink; lack of cleanliness in the refrigerator and kitchen cupboards; significant, lack of cleanliness (and comfort) with the mattress and bedding, all of which needs replacement due to stains, dust, and age; several bath towels which had been used for dog washing, confirmed by smell; lack of repair and consequent safety, as related to a broken picnic table, and severely broken bench on the dock, a dock which sits 15’ above the rocks below, during a low tide. Further, this is not a dock for children, as it has no railing. It is disheartening to write such a review for a person’s business, but we felt compelled to share this honest and clear review of our experience at this cabin. May these factors and difficulties be corrected for the cabin’s future visitors.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: All maintenance issues described by "renter" have been fixed. Unfortunately we were unaware of these issues prior to July. And interestingly, we did not rent to a Home Away client during the time noted on this review.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
2

Nice place

  • 2 of 5

Nice little cottage on the water, everything was fine except the plumbing, shower did not drain , toilet slow flush. She said she was sending a plumber but I guess he did not show---had to stand in water two nites for showers.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Slow shower drain has been snaked and is now fixed.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
SeaTac
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Faunlteroy/Southworth
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Seattle
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Nearest Beach
On the beach
Car: necessary

Just far enough to get away... Candle Shore Cottage is less than 60 miles from SeaTac airport. It is only a 40 minute ferry ride from West Seattle . The cottage is less than 1 mile from the Southworth ferry landing and is also accessible via the Tacoma Narrows bridge.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Port Orchard Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$135
Fri,Sat
$750
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $50

Renters pay owner directly, deposit required with rental agreement, balance due 2 weeks prior to stay

Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Port Orchard Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront ...
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
    Sleeping Loft - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , (Hide-a-bed)
  • There is a queen bed in the single bedroom. There are additional sleeping accommodations on the hide-a-bed in the living room and/or on a futon in the loft.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat Dock
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Full kitchen, bed linens and towels, Weber BBQ, TV, DVD tape player, outdoor fire pit, picnic tables and outdoor chairs.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties