check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Moosehead Lakefront Log Home

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

About the property

Experience the log home difference (Sleeps 8)

(Moosehead's most popular lakefront rental has gotten even better with many additions and upgrades. including a completely new kitchen/dining area with new appliances, several new premium cedar furnishings in the great room, new premium bedding sets and curtains in bedrooms, an all new and larger dock, larger front deck/steps and more)

'Spencer View' provides the optimal blend of rustic charm, wilderness feel, modern comforts, and access to a vast variety of outdoor activities. Few who visit are unaffected by this home's 'spell of relaxation' by day-two. Tasteful lodge decorating touches throughout. The home is much larger than photos suggest. Subtle wildlife themes in baths and guest bedrooms. Always impressive, and often exceptional views of Little Spencer Mountain and Sugar island from the front sliders and the 25 foot deck. The great room features two story vaulted ceiling with fan and massive fieldstone fireplace. Carpeted loft has four double beds with privacy curtains. Six person hot tub with integral stereo system, waterfall and light effects. Two car log garage and room for up to an additional 4 vehicles. Sandy beach area adjoins the dock. Water levels in the inner cove are sometimes low in the late summer and fall. Stereo system with speakers in great room and basement. Direct satellite TV. Pool, foosball and ping pong tables, dart board, treadmill, rowing and XC ski machines, Soloflex and more in heated basement. Crisp, clear, warm September and early October days allow provide even more peace and quiet. Late Spring is another season not to be overlooked, with few mud or bug issues due to lake point location. Almost daily spotting of deer, loons and waterfowl, and occasional sightings of fox, grouse, bald eagles and more. Situated 2.5 miles down a 3 mile long well maintained gravel road that dead-ends on the tip of Black Point. Boat access from nearby Lily Bay State Park. This property is a great 'base lodge' for access to the regions legendary hunting and fishing opportunities. In the magical winter season you can XC ski out the front door 1/3 mile along the shore to groomed trails in the park. There is easy lake access to ITS snowmobile trails on both sides of Black Point. Downhill skiing at Big Squaw is about a 25 minute drive to the other side of the lake, although only the lower mountain lift is currently operational. For a more accurate map location enter 'Black Point Beaver Cove Maine' on Google Maps. The 'A' locator will be very close.

Keywords: Lakeside, Log Home, Moosehead, Wilderness, Quiet, Mountains, Serenity, Pristine, Comfortable, Convenient, Garage, wildlife, moose, Lily Bay, Greenville, fishing, snowmobiling, hunting, Northwoods

More Details

Kim Adams
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 12, 2017

Why Kim Adams chose Moosehead Lake

The active outdoors have been an indepensible part of most all our lives. Some comination of bicycling, kayaking, rowing, hiking, skiing, snow shoeing, fly fishing and target shooting are at the core of most all our recreational plans. This area offers exceptional levels of quality access to all these things, while also providing a unique feel of 'near-wilderness'.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

Moosehead Lakefront Log Home
average rating of 4.8095236 based on 21 reviews
South China

Our Second Visit Was Even Better Than the First!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second year celebrating our somewhat belated Christmas at Spencer's View. It was like returning home. We arrived to find the neighbor kindly sanding the driveway as icy conditions were prevalent throughout the state. Despite driving winds, below zero windchill factors and even a short power outage- we were warm and cozy!! Again we skied at Squaw with it's unbelievable views and we added dog sledding to our adventures on a ride with Mark and Ashley Patterson in Shirley- just down the road a bit. It was a trip of very special memories with our 4 grown children and two spouses. The house afforded us plenty of room. There was amble room to enjoy evenings gathered around the dining room table and recount the days events before adjoining to the comfy couches around the fire and a late night trip to star gaze in the hot tub. Of course, once again one of our favorite past times was watching the deer in the yard as we sipped morning coffee. Another magical, memory making Christmas. We are dreaming of our return!!

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Location!

  • 5 of 5

This house is a wonderful rental in the beautiful area around Moosehead Lake! Everything is in the house that you will need to have a fantastic vacation. It was secluded in the woods and a wonderful setting on the bay. We used the kayaks available to us and it was great paddling on the lake. Huge washer and dryer available too! It was nice to have the owner call to check in twice to see if everything was OK! Lots of wonderful hikes in the area and good meals too. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook numerous meals. We enjoyed our morning coffee on the deck with visits by the ducks every day! We did see numerous deer in the yard but no moose.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Porter Corners, NY

Amenities should be in working and safe order.

  • 2 of 5

We have spent many vacations on Moosehead Lake and unfortunately this rental was disappointing. Sure the setting is quiet and Moosehead Lake is beautiful . The log cabin is quite nice and cozy especially with a fire in the fireplace. However for the money the amenities listed should be working. The washing machine was full of water and when I questioned the owner he said it would be repaired by Tuesday. That never happened. The gas grill was unuseable. Besides being so dirty that you could not see the burners there were large holes in the metal bottom of the grill. Some one should spring for a new grill. The grill sits on a wood porch making using it dangerous. The charcoal grill listed as an alternative to the gas grill also had holes in the bottom. Useable but the gas would have been preferable. The game room in the cellar is an is a cold damp cellar which is not inviting especially since you could smell the stale water sitting in the broken washing machine.

It is a nice cabin but somethings need replacement and /or repair. I would not return to Spencer View since there are many better rentals available on Moosehead Lake. In this case you do not get what you pay for.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate this review and value all input and suggestions that enable us to focus our efforts on issues that ensure an exceptional rental experience and value. The issues that this group encountered are not acceptable to us, but we do not feel they represent the typical rental experience at Spencer View. When informed of the washer problem, we had a service person there within a couple days. Unfortunately, it was unrepairable and the new replacement Maytag machine could not be delivered and installed for approximately another week. I apologize again for the inconvenience. The gas grill has been replaced with a much newer model and cleaning it now is now a regular part of the changeover process. The charcoal grill, as confirmed during last week’s inspection, is past its useful life and will be discarded. The dehumidifier in the basement game and exercise area normally keeps it dry and comfortable and may not have been turned on. We have never been content to rest on our laurels, despite consistently enthusiastic renter comments and five-star reviews. We have made, and will continue to make, substantial investments in time and money on improvements, upgrades, and the replacement of worn or outdated items. We will continue to respond as quickly as possible to issues, as we are made aware of them, utilizing when required, highly qualified area contractors and technicians.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Spencer View is absolutely breath taking

  • 5 of 5

My family spent the week at Spencer View 7/9-7/16. It was amazing from the time that we came over the hill in Greenville and saw the lake. It was absolutely beautiful. We got there a little early so we stopped in Greenville. Greenville was such a quaint and charming little town with the nicest people. When we arrived at the house, we were blown away by the atmosphere and the decor of the cabin. It was so comfortable, clean, spacious and homey. The kids loved the game room down stairs. (So did the adults)!! The house is perfect in every way! We loved spending time on the lake and kayaking. The sunsets are picturesque from the house and out on the kayaks. The chipmunks were the cutest little things and would come up and get food. We did have a deer that came and visited us a couple times a day. We named her Speckles. She would come right up and eat out of your hand. We saw 14 moose while there. We loved going out at dusk to moose watch. We did not have to go far!!! Then came back for a soak in the hot tub, bonfire in the fire pit and late night ping pong & pool games. The owner covered everything possible to see and do. The recommendations were great. We cannot wait to go back again and would love to experience it in the winter. Spencer View is perfect. Completely exceeded any expectations that we had. Thank you!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Spencer View is Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

I searched a long time to find the perfect place for my family and I to stay in the Moosehead Lake region. I kept coming back to this cabin. I am so glad that we took the plunge and booked this cabin. With the three bedrooms on the main floor and the 4 beds in the loft, we had ample space for my family. The cabin was neat and clean and very spacious. We felt very secluded like we were in our own world. The yard opened to the lake and we had access to the floating dock and a small beach. Nightly visits from the deer and other wildlife was always a treat. The view from the cabin in the morning with the fog rolling in off the lake was amazing. Only being a handful of miles from the Town of Greenville, we were remote enough to be secluded, but close enough to get our amenities. The whole purpose of this trip was for my family and I to celebrate my 40th birthday and to see a moose. Well we saw 5.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
South China

The PERFECT Memory Making location!

  • 5 of 5

We feel as if we have found a piece of heaven. Our family celebrated a belated Christmas in this lovely home. We had transported gifts to exchange, but the true gift was being able to share time together in this special place. We had plenty of room to accommodate the 9 adults we traveled with. We were able to enjoy the openness and ability to be together as we enjoyed cooking in the well-equipped kitchen, playing games on the large dining room table, and cuddling on the luxurious couch under cozy blankets provided. We could be all together and when desired could also enjoy quiet time in the many rooms afforded us. We had an amazing day on a guided snowmobile tour with Northwood Outfitters and the following day spent the day skiing at Squaw Mountain where the price of an all day ticket is just 25 dollars- I'm not kidding. We skied Squaw years ago and forgot just how amazing the view is! We had skiers of all levels from novice to our son who instructs at Sugarloaf and is also on Ski Patrol. No one was disappointed!!! And the food at the ski lodge is gourmet- absolutely delicious- my one son declared it would be worth a two hour drive just to eat there! Then at the end of the day- HOME to a roaring fire and a glorious hot tub to sooth the aching muscles. And did I mention the deer!!! They greeted us on our arrival and were there everyday- numbering as many as 13 at one time- close enough to see those gorgeous eyelashes winking at us. As another reviewer stated- I'm almost leery to let the cat out of the bag on this one! We have stayed at many VRBO homes- but never one as wonderful as this! I guess we will just have to make sure we make our reservations early for our return trips- as you can be guaranteed we will be back!

PS- My 23 yr. old daughter is a huge fan of the show Heartland- she has dreamed of staying in "Heartland"- with it's rustic feel- wildlife- and country magic- She has declared she no longer feels the need- she has found that magic in this lovely home at Beaver Cove.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Nearest Barpub
9 Miles
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Greenville Junction
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Lily bay Road
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Big Squaw
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Beaver Cove House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Dec 24 2016 - Jan 27 2017
3 night minimum stay
Jan 28 2017 - Mar 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
Mar 4 2017 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
Apr 1 2017 - May 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
Early June
May 27 2017 - Jun 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
Summer 2017
Jun 17 2017 - Sep 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
Sep 9 2017 - Sep 29 2017
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Cleaning $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

$25 discount on cleaning fee for three day rental with three or fewer guests.
Base rates only apply to groups of six guests or less.
$25 per person/day additional charge for each guest over six.
$50 additional fee for a dog.

Deposit required to complete reservation. First half of rental costs due 60 days prior to check-in date, second half due 14 days prior.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Beaver Cove House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Loft - 4 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • Queen beds in master and one guest bedroom., Double bed in one guest room, and four double beds in loft.
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Floating wood dock, Picnic table. Full heated walk out basement with treadmill, foosball, ping pong, pool table, treadmill, solo flex, dart board, in basement.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties