Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

4BedCharacterfulVillaEnSuitesPrettyGarden HugePool3minsToQuietBeach

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Villa, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 7-8)

WINNER: DECEMBER 2012 -TOP VILLA RENTAL, TOBAGO./Don't pass up this little jewel' (Review Jan 2013).

SPECTACULAR HOME; ACCOMMODATING OWNERS.(Review 2016) ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL: COULDN'T FAULT IT' (JAN.2017)

£160=$USD200 £180=$US225 £190=$US240 (AT TIME OF WRITING)

Huge pool. Cable & SportsMax.

Wifi Access. 3mins. to unspoilt beach.

QUIET & SECURE

Amazing flora & fauna. huge,well-equipped kitchen.

Dine by the pool or in the gallery looking out to sea

Or just chill in the hammock.

REGRETTABLY, we cannot rent to groups of SINGLES or have FUNCTIONS at the villa.

N.B. ALL prices are in POUNDS STERLING (NOT USD or TTD)

Dolphin Boutique Villa is your characterful, Caribbean home from home. It is child and disabled friendly and is run by a Tobagonian & an Englishwoman. It has been described by guests as a 'perfect place to chill & be pampered' and as 'paradise on earth'.

Dolphin Boutique Villa is tucked away in a secluded spot across from the beach in upscale Bacolet Point. Stylish, spacious,full of the vibrant colours the Caribbean,& unusual painting from various countries.It boasts a wealth of flora and fauna in its tropical garden, to the delight of all our visitors. Cooling sea breezes make it a perfect retreat.

20 minutes taxi ride from the airport (10 min from the port) & you'll be at the villa. Now you are ready to experience the laid-back island vibes in complete peace.

Chill by the 41' pool, relax on cushioned loungers while watching hummingbirds enjoy the Cape honeysuckle & butterflies fluttering round the zinnias; or just hang out in the hammock (there is one for baby too), swaying gently to the sound of the surf.

The hustle & bustle of city life is forgotten. No need to rush to the shops. You can book dinner for the first evening; Manager Kelvin's fish is legendary (he buys it straight off the boat); so are his red beans!

Slip into the pool after dark and marvel at the stars and the fire flies. It is 2 minutes to the beach, a huge stretch of golden sands next to a coconut grove where there is extraordinary wild-life. Here you can marvel at the majesty of leatherback turtles in the nesting season from March to September.

The Hibiscus room's massage shower will prepare you for a perfect night's sleep. Next morning wake to the sound of the sea and the birds; enjoy a leisurely walk on the nearby beach, visit one of Tobago's fabulous sandy beaches, or just chill at one of the many fabulous beaches, enjoy a local dish or two and then swim or snorkel to your heart's content. Arrange trips to bird-watch, to the rain-forest, on a glass-bottom boat, or a deep-sea boating expedition-all these can be arranged with the manager's help. No mean angler, as a young man he crewed on a boat that caught a record-breaking Marlin.And recent guests caught 12 tuna in only 4 hours!

Alternatively, you can enjoy an active life; a round of golf or scuba diving, followed by a beach party or a taste of the local night life.

Determined to make you entranced by his beloved island, manager Kelvin will do all he can to make you comfortable. Attention is paid to the little things that matter; flowers in your room, candles, a wine chiller, glasses for just about any occasion, from wine to champagne and tequila, from cocktail glasses to ones for beer. And there's no need to fill your cases with pool towels-these are provided too.

Nothing is too much for Kelvin-he will do as much or as little as you wish; he is happy to show you around on the first day and to advise on the best places to visit and eat. If you arrive on a Saturday, a visit to Buccoo's Sunday School (no connection with religion, except for the Hallelujah chorus played by a famous steel band) makes a perfect start to your holiday.

The manager just loves the opportunity to cook for you (ingredients are included in the meal price). Give him a shopping list before coming and he will buy in groceries for you which you can pay for on arrival.

Why not come and experience Carnival, or goat and crab races at Easter?There are fishing tournaments, yacht and power boat races to enjoy. Or just stay home and relish the delights of the villa. Step out of the back door straight to the pool area-no tedious steps to manoeuvre to go for a swim. Bask in the sun to the sound of the waves and the birds. Or chill while you enjoy the plasma TV, the selection of games and books-and you can even play majong.

Treatments of reflexology,aromatherapy massage, thai yoga massage or healing therapy can all be arranged so that you can enjoy them in the tranquility of the villa. After so much pampering, will you ever want to go home?

DETAILED INFO SHEETS PROVIDED ON BOOKING SO YOU CAN PLAN YOUR HOLIDAY

Festivals: CARNIVAL (March);

STEEL BAND COMPETITIONS THROUGHOUT THE ISLAND.

Goat and Crab RACES & JAZZ festival (Easter);

'HERITAGE OF TOBAGO' presentations (all July);

POWER BOAT RACE (Sat.3rd week in August)-FROM TRINIDAD TO TOBAGO.

TOBAGO FEST-September.

N.B. FLIGHT FROM N.Y. TO TOBAGO; (CARIBBEAN AIRLINES)

LOCAL FLIGHT FROM TRINIDAD TO TOBAGO (CARIBBEAN AIRLINES)

FERRY TICKETS FROM TRINIDAD TO TOBAGO CAN ONLY BE BOOKED IN TRINIDAD

.

Keywords: Luxurious,5* 1 storey villa, huge excellently equipped kitchen(see reviews), GE appliances, Spacious lounge, 40' private pool(pool towels provided) quality bed-linen, Child & Disabled Friendly, 2mins to uniquely unspoilt beach,

20 mins to night life & touristy beaches; 20 mins to rain forest; magnificent diving &bird-watching, turtle watch, hikes,kite-boarding

More Details

Property Manager
Kelvin Gordon and Marilyn Minto
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, french, russian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 27, 2017

About Kelvin Gordon and Marilyn Minto

I was a Russian and French speaking University Head of Modern Languages and Faculty Dean, before retiring to Tobago. I now spend any free time doing voluntary teaching with children with dyslexia and other learning difficulties, as well as working as a Director of the Institute of Literacy in Tobago.

Kelvin Gordon and Marilyn Minto purchased this villa in 1999

Why Kelvin Gordon and Marilyn Minto chose Western Tobago

Such immeasurable beauty around Minister Bay and its wetlands. Such a sense of freedom when surfing, boarding or swimming in this unique and unspoilt haven. How the shrimp and coral plants, Canna lilies and Pride of Barbados trees, blue tanagers and white owls in our garden have captivated so many guests. There are plenty of fresh herbs in the garden, and you are welcome to use them.

There's time to chill in the hammock and read a good book; to visit the oldest preserved rain-forest in the world, and wonder at how untouched it has remained. To have the pleasure of seeing a turtle lay. To listen to a Steelband live. To watch the Easter goat races. . The sky is blue most days. It is never cold. The people are fun-loving and carefree. The rain forest has a primitive magic. Tobago, sweet Tobago. What more could one want? So much to do, so little time is a constant refrain from our guests

What makes this villa unique

Sun nearly everyday, glorious beaches, unusual flora and fauna, the oldest preserved rain-forest in the world , wind-surfing, surfing, kite-boarding, turtle watching. Steel bands, Carnival, Easter goat and crab races and, not to be forgotten, Caribbean and European cuisine with a difference.

Amenities

Western Tobago Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • King size beds (1) Top Quality Super King bed in Hibiscus, Queen size Beds (1) Top quality Queen bed in Frangipani room, Twin or Single Beds (3) 2 brand new singles in Orchid room; they convert to Super King if preferred. 3'6' single bed is in child's room., Baby Cribs (1) Brand new high quality Greco cot with bassinet. also two travel pods for very young c hildren., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) This acts as a sofa in Orchid room, but can be moved to any room to act as bed.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
quality bed-linen; quality crockery/wine glasses and cutlery + ironed napkins for fine dining;40' plasma TV; hammock; relaxer chair; (for children) inflatable paddling pool;.child's high chair; baby's relaxer chair; cot; travel cots,baby's bath seat; etc

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
4BedCharacterfulVillaEnSuitesPrettyGarden HugePool3minsToQuietBeach
average rating of 4.85 based on 20 reviews
Trinidad and Tobago
5

Absolutely Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at the Dolphin Villa with my family and friends. Our stay was absolutely wonderful. When we arrived, we got Julie mangoes (the following day too, because we ate up all on the first day)and there was a little welcome note on the refrigerator. This was a delightful surprise.

Even before we arrived, I anticipated that our stay would have been good one because Marilyn had graciously accommodated a last minute request and arranged our stay quite competently. Kelvin was exceptionally helpful and accommodating to us and this added to our already pleasurable stay.

Marilyn and Kelvin really catered for everyone - the children (and baby)and the adults. There were books, games and toys. The rooms were clean, comfortable and just right. The kitchen is spacious and has ALL amenities. There is a laundry room. In short.... the Villa had everything. We wanted for nothing.

The pool was cleaned daily and there were lots of lounge chairs. Needless to stay, we spent most of out time out there. Very quiet area and safe. Ideal for family vacations.

I would definitely go back to the Villa. If you are vacationing with your children or others, the Villa is the place to be.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kelvin and I were delighted to be told that everything was just as you wanted it. We do try to maintain a very high standard, but it's still good to know our efforts were appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dolphin Villa some time. Marilyn and Kelvin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Brooklyn, NY, USA
5

Spectacular home; accommodating home owners

  • 5 of 5

A group of friends and I took a 2 week trip to Tobago. From even before we set foot on the island, Marilyn and Kelvin were already very helpful with their list of recommendations of things to do and companies we could trust. Once we landed in Tobago, Marilyn met us at the airport despite an almost 2 hour delay on our flight. The delay caused us to lose the car we rented, but Marilyn was able to get us to our home. The home is very spacious and all three rooms are beautifully decorated. Kelvin met us at the property and gave us a very thorough tour of the home. Throughout the entire trip, Marilyn and Kelvin were readily available via email and would email me about more local events that were happening that sounded interesting. Overall, the home is equipped with everything you need and Marilyn and Kelvin made our stay in Tobago extremely relaxing.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, Australia
5

A week of bliss!

  • 5 of 5

Warm welcome from lovely, helpful, friendly owners who will give you assistance with anything you may need, provide food for special occasions - lovely meals! if pre-ordered. But they also knew how to leave you to your own privacy as desired. The pool is lovely and surrounded by bougainvillea, the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. Everything in the villa is spacious, and you can also enjoy the amazing bird life while reclining on the front verandah, tho we also took a magical trip with Newton George into the bush and saw more kinds of birds than I could count, sleeping snakes and a trapdoor spider - unforgettable! Can't recommend this place too highly.

We mainly walked or booked a taxi to get around the island, and also enjoyed fresh coconut milk on the beach with Kelvin's athletic help. Ate in various lovely little cafes and restaurants. If you never normally walk, you might need to hire a car but we were very happy without.THANKS, Kelvin and Marilyn! We are saving up for the big trip from Australia and hope to come again

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great to meet you both during your May trip. and fascinating to hear so much about Australia. We were delighted to hear that you had a great time at Dolphin Villa. It was our pleasure having you stay at our villa. We hope it's not too long before you've saved up enough money to return, as you promise! Kind regards, Marilyn and Kelvin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Liverpool, Texas
5

A home away from home

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at the Dolphin Villa was wonderful . Beautiful views plant sand birds everywhere. Fresh mangos in the kitchen and beautiful flowers on the table and counters. Kevin and Marilyn were available at any time for any reason.

They are invaluable, and take a lot of pride in the property they shared with us.

I am recommending a stay here for anyone.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Doc Stephen, Thankyou so much for your kind words & for your praise of Dolphin Villa. It was a pleasure to have you and your delightful family stay. If you are ever in Tobago, we look forward to welcoming you all again. Don't leave it too long-you were all great fun, and we've remembered you saying that you would never stay anywhere else, Thankyou so much Keep well and happy, .Marilyn and Kelvin Marilyn and Kelvin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Austin, TX
5

Wonderful & Relaxing Getaway!!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I traveled from Texas to Tobago for a wedding in May 2016. There were 7 adults and 1 baby and we all stayed quite comfortably in the Dolphin Villa! Marilyn and Kelvin were awesome and helped us with everything from arranging airport transportation, to activity suggestions, to loaning us toys and a crib for the baby.

When we arrived there were fresh flowers all around the house, mangoes in the kitchen, and we were able to settle right in. The kitchen had lots of cooking utensils and dishes, so we cooked several meals at home. in between wedding festivities. Everyone enjoyed the pool in the backyard, which Kelvin took care of every morning for us. The gorgeous landscaping made relaxing on the porch even better and the hammock was a hit!! When we had to go into town, it was pretty easy to call a cab and we were given several great recommendations of professional and prompt drivers. We did not rent a car and were able to use taxis or walked all week.

All in all, I would absolutely stay at the Dolphin Villa again. Before our stay, Marilyn was very helpful. During our stay, Kelvin and Marilyn took wonderful care of us while giving us plenty of space to explore the island. And after our stay, they both followed up and wished us well on our travels. It was such a pleasure working/staying with them. Thank you so much Marilyn & Kelvin!!!

  • Submitted: May 21, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou so much for this, Helen. You and your family were a delight to have around-we got lovely hugs from your Mom in the morning,a great example of positive thinking from your Dad, squeals of delight from baby Jensen whenever we saw him and fascinating chats with all of you. We would SO love you to come back one day. People like you make looking after Dolphin Villa a pleasure, not work. Keep well and happy. Marilyn & Kelvin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Overall Disappointing - Poor Customer Service

  • 2 of 5

I really wanted to love this place but we had several issues from day 1. More concerning than the actual issues was the owner's responses. She seemed completely unapologetic or remorseful. I can only assume it is because we paid in advance and she knew we had no recourse for our dissatisfaction. Here is an overview of our experience. You can draw your own conclusions and make an informed decision before booking.

1. We couldn't take showers as the showers had zero water pressure. The sinks were fine and the toilets flushed most of the time but the showers in all 4 rooms we had were useless.

2. Wifi was only available in the TV room and kitchen. You don't get a signal in the bedrooms or in the backyard by the pool. We expected to have wifi throughout the house.

3. The beach that is within walking distance is not good for swimming. I guess I missed that on the website. Kelvin told us how to walk up to where we could swim but it was too far for me to walk with my 9 month old and my 70 yr old mom and aunt. You should rent a car to get to the beach if you want to swim.

4. There was a mouse in Room 3. He jumped from the floor onto the bedsheets and tried to climb up the sheet onto the bed while my sister was on the couch in there reading. My husband went in to kill it but it escaped through a hole in the wall into the closet. We plugged up the hole to try to keep it from getting back out.

  • Submitted: May 9, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry to hear you felt my reply lacked remorse. Kelvin did check with your mother, was assured that everything was.OK & asked her to suggest you communicate with him as he is on site. . I am so surprised by your review:let me help people draw their own conclusions. Kelvin checked for holes that a mouse might use & 1 has been blocked. He was pleased that you 'found the villa clean & has all the amenities as described'(April 16) so hopefully the mouse's appearance was a one off, though as I said, we can't do anything about the fact that the tropics is teaming with wildlife. Re Wifi, I explained to you that I advertised 'wifi access', and not wifi round the pool. Our system stretches some 90'(from the kitchen to the lounge to the gallery), which is better than in many households in the UK. You complained about poor water pressure, not useless showers. Dolphin Villa has been blessed with either mains water or reserve tank water for most of the time. Once reserve tanks are in use, the water pressure is low (detailed in our info.sheets). The plumber has checked the whole system & there is nothing wrong with it. All he could think was that, as you said you'd been able to shower for 3-4 mins(April 20), someone had the washing machine on at the same time or several were showering at once. The problem has now been resolved due to rain & the Authorities' opening of 3 new wells. Re:beach. Kelvin did go to the trouble of accompanying you to show you where to swim. I did say that the beach is great for long walks & observing wild life. The water was not very calm when you were here due to Spring tides.This means the beaches on the Caribbean side were calmer that week(& vice versa at other times). I'm afraid this is something out of our control. I was especially disappointed to note your point about lack of customer service. You booked for 9 days, then changed it to 7, then to 5. I acceded to each request with a good grace, even though we were inundated with requests for Jazz Fest & lost a great deal of custom. You even commented that I had been 'so flexible & accommodating'. I also spent hours getting quotes for a chef,, then finding a caterer who would deliver-you rejected both. You booked dinner for the first night, Kelvin bought ingredients, marinaded meat, only to have you cancel less than 24 hrs before arrival. Kelvin rented a van at your husband's request, went to fetch it, only to find you had booked another. Very embarrassing for Kelvin.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Pigeon Point
"The most well known beach in Tobago. Lovely in places; it has a playground for children; som..."
Buccoo Reef
Arnos Vale Reef
"One of the best places to snorkel."
Argyle Falls
"Quite fascinating hikes up to see them-several levels of difficulty for the fit!"
Englishman's Bay
"Fabulous view of this bay as you descend to the valley. Good snorkelling if the weather is a..."
Castara Bay
"A great beach to visit. Join in bringing in the Seine fishing nets. Good local food."
Fort King George
"A fascinating place to visit-especially the museum. The view from here over the bay is beau..."
Little Tobago
"Excellent bird-watching and excellent snorkelling off the boat that takes you to the island"
King's Bay Cafe
"Lovely view over the bay. No liquor licence, so get drinks from nearby bar. This photo was p..."
Tobago Forest Reserve
"The oldest preserved rain forest. Well worth a visit."
Island Girl Catamaran
"fabulous day on a boat. plenty of alcohol and bbq food and a great way to see the wildlife a..."
La Tartaruga Italian Restaurant
"Great traditional Italian food and an excellent wine cellar."
Botanic Gardens
The Fish Pot
"Great little place to enjoy fish well prepared and cooked at a reasonable price. Rated 5" on..."
Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Crown Point
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Havana
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Scarborough
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Magdalena hotel
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Claude Noel
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Havana Bistro Bar
Nearest Beach
Minister Bay
Car: recommended

Bedrooms have quality linen, shoe rack, laundry basket, drying rack outside bedrooms(great for drying towels). Area has 'Turtle Watching', 'Rain Forest Walks',bird watching;'kite-boarding'. For children, the villa has a small In The Nightgarden house; Fisher Price Doll's house, numerous children's cars and teddy bears etc. and a child's car seat.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $393.7

Price quoted is for 5-7/8 people. 12 1/2% reduction for up to 4 people.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties