check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Larry & Jody Thomas

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

The Perfect Escape, Luxury Mt. Home on 5 Acres of Privacy, 1 Mile from Resort

18 Reviews
Sleeps13
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Snowshoe House Rental Photos and Description

Perfect Escape, Gorgeous 5BR 3BA Home with Hot Tub, 1 mile to resort

The Perfect Escape at Snowshoe

#10 Fassifern Fields

5 Bedrooms, 3 Full Baths, Sleeps 13

This stunning home is nestled on over 5 wooded acres of privacy. Relax with family and friends in front of the 55' wide screen satellite TV, complete with HBO, DVD/VCR. New for '09 season - high speed Internet access!

After a day on the slopes, you'll want to slip outside under a blanket of stars into the soothing hot tub. Beautifully appointed home features a large deck, a one-car garage and a 60,000 BTU gourmet outdoor grill.

Minutes from 57 Ski Slopes with a 1500’ vertical drop & a fabulous Gary Player-designed mountainside Golf Course, Dining, Shopping, Spa and more!

BR B Amenities: /B BR General:

Hot Tub, Washer/Dryer, Dishwasher, TV's, Satellite, HBO, DVD/VCR, Huge Furnished Deck, 1 Car Garage, Gas Fireplace, Gourmet Gas Outdoor Grill, Stereo/CD, Videos/Games

Upper Level:

Bedroom 1 – King w/TV, Satellite, DVD

Bedroom 2 – Queen w/TV, Satellite, DVD

Main Level:

Bedroom 3 – Queen

Lower Level:

Bedroom 4 – Queen

Bedroom 5 – Bunks + Twin w/TV, Satellite, DVD

Activities: Hiking/Biking, Canoeing, Fishing, Golf, Horseback Riding, Skiing, Snowmobiling, Tubing-Snow & White Water Rafting

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Larry & Jody Thomas (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why Larry & Jody Thomas chose West Virginia

We pulled up and a six-point buck was resting under the deck of this brand-new, cedar home nestled in the midst of mature trees at the end of a peaceful lane.

Reviews

4.9
based on 18 traveler reviews

The Perfect Escape, Luxury Mt. Home on 5 Acres of Privacy, 1 Mile from Resort
average rating of 4.888889 based on 18 reviews
5

This house was just what we needed.

  • 5 of 5

This house was beautiful. It is secluded and has enough space for your whole party. If in snowshoe I would definitely like to stay here again! If you come in the winter time you WILL need 4 wheel drive.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're delighted you liked The Perfect Escape! We furnished it to be a sanctuary where our family and guests could get away from the hustle and bustle and recharge, while enjoying the Wild and Wonderful mountains of WV. The resort's name underscores the need for winter 4WD:)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property and quick communication from the owners

  • 5 of 5

First of all, the property is gorgeous and we were lucky enough to have fresh snow on the ground to greet us. There is a large wrap around porch that we made frequent use of and a hot tub located close to the front entrance (which was also a big plus). The house is nice, the beds are comfortable (and plenty), and the kitchen is large enough to have three to four people comfortably cooking at the same time.

We would certainly stay here again, but I'd recommend taking the warning about needing four wheel drive seriously. We did fine with various 4x4/AWD vehicles, but access would certainly be a problem with a 2WD with snow or mud on the ground.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a great vacation and enjoyed our home! Golfing, rafting and fishing is great in the summer and you can leave the 4WD at home. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

AWESOME stay for ski weekend!!

  • 5 of 5

Stayed in this home for a holiday ski weekend with several other couples and we had an ABSOLUTE blast! The home is gorgeous and well equipped, and within a 5-10 minute drive to Snowshoe mountain for skiing. Already planning our trip for next winter! Just be sure you have 4WD during the winter months!

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted to help guests make great memories at The Perfect Escape! Return trips mean we got it right (well, and that Snowshoe delivered on it's name).
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Potomac Falls, VA
5

A Wonderful Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from The Perfect Escape yesterday, and wow- it was, indeed, The Perfect Escape. In total we had 9 people, just looking to have a relaxing weekend in the mountains of West Viriginia. The Perfect Escape fit what we were looking for. With 9 people, only 3 of us went skiing, so the house had enough space for others to play cards, watch a movie, read a book, or take a walk around. There were plenty of cooking utensils for us to have a family meal on Friday night at the dinner table. It's locted at the bottom of snowshoe, and just a 7 mile drive up to the top of the mountain - perfect location to escape the traffic and congestion of the weekend on the mountain, but not so far away to slip up for dinner and drinks at the restaurants, or visit the shops. The owners are very responsive and very very nice. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be booking the house again next year, if not sooner. HIghly recommend!

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking time out to let folks know about The Perfect Escape! We love getting away too and do our best to give our guests a comfortable and relaxing environment to enjoy wild and wonderful West Virginia.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time in this fantastic place. Plenty of room for the entire family and just a great place in the woods. We loved big dinning room and the hot tub. Definitely pay attention to part about needing 4 wheel drive when there is snow. We would and will come back here again.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful large cabin in a great location!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the Perfect Escape during Christmas break. The cabin was very spacious giving our large group enough room with its three levels. Jody is very nice and responds to emails quickly. The location of the cabin is very close to the snowshoe resort which we visited frequently. Unfortunately the weather was too warm for snow so we were unable to ski. We did find other things to do during our stay including golfing and hiking. A few negatives were that the wifi at the cabin was very spotty and didn't work most of the time. There is no cell or gps service and the cabin is hard to find in the dark if your not familiar with the area. Overall we were very pleased with our stay and would definitely return to the Perfect Escape.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Raven Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Fiddlehead
Nearest Ski
7 Miles
Snowshoe Mountain Resort

Beautiful Mountain resort area of West Virginia featuring nature, skiing, golf, biking, fishing, canoeing, kayaking, swimming, sightseeing, hiking, and other activities. Beautiful mountain cabin located on a secluded mountainside location 1 mile from entrance to Snowshoe resort. Tastefully decorated to make your stay as comfortable as home. Snowshoe features musical events year round as well as special events for every age and interest. This area is a great location for experiencing all that West Virginia has to offer.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Snowshoe House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer - Fall 2016
May 3 2016 - Nov 22 2016
3 night minimum stay
$320
From
$340
Fri,Sat
$1,800
 
 
Shoulder Season
Nov 23 2016 - Dec 22 2016
3 night minimum stay
$350
From
$375
Fri,Sat
$2,099
 
 
Holiday
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 1 2017
5 night minimum stay
$690
 
 
MLK Holiday
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$675
 
 
President's Day Weekend
Feb 16 2017 - Feb 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$675
 
 
Bluebird Ski & Board
Mar 6 2017 - Apr 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$365
From
$385
Fri,Sat
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$425
From
$475
Fri,Sat
$2,549
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $125 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 12.0%

Guests must be at least 24 years of age to rent our home.
Cancellation policy: Full refund 60 days or more prior to check-in.
Excessive well depletion/water delivery fee of $150.
All rates subject to change without notice.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Snowshoe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Resort
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , TV
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , TV w/DVD
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , DVD only
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double , 3 twin/ single , 2 bunks, TV w/DVD
  • Each bedroom has a ceiling fan, carpet, alarm clock, central heat/AC.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 14 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Ground level has two bedrooms and 1 bath. New bunk with dbl lower bed and twin to replace single twin in bedroom 5 before Thanksgiving 2010.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties