Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean View From Lanai! Hear Ocean Waves From Every Room!

Bedrooms 1
Space 704 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Vacation in Paradise! Great Neighborhood Eateries and Beaches!

Unit 713 at the Maui Sands is a one bedroom, ocean view condo situated just steps from the ocean. There you will experience breathtaking sunsets and gorgeous views of the islands of Lana'i and Moloka'i. The condo, located on the west side of Maui, is minutes away from Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach. Golf, shops and restaurants are nearby. When you plan your next visit to Maui, we invite you to consider our home away from home for your stay. Then relax in our condo as you enjoy the beautiful island of Maui.

Property Manager
Heather Buono
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

This is our 3rd trip to Maui. We enjoy staying in this area, close to several beaches for snorkeling. This condo is very nice, comfortable furnishings& well stocked. We often cook meals when we travel and appreciated the nearby stores and Farmers Market. The kitchen is small but had everything we needed (thanks for spices, baggies, foil, coffee filters, etc.). We saw an eel, turtles & of course whales! So much closer and more active than any other visit. We enjoyed being able to sleep to the sound of the ocean, didn't need to run AC. We were very grateful for beach chairs and umbrella (we have had to purchase at other condos and then left them in the unit). The other beach items are great to have too (if we had our kids/grandkids along with us we would have use them). It's not possible to bring all the beach stuff by air. Your guest information notebook is a great resource!

Mar 2015
  • 1 of 2


Lahaina Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 704 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Boasts both a tub and shower.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Comfortable Cal King bed. We have a queen size sofa sleeper as well.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
• The front door has a security screen installed making it easy to open the front door to allow the breezes to flow through. This unit is situated perfectly to swim, snorkel, paddle board & kayak right off the shoreline! There are 3 volcanic reefs parallel to our shore. • During low to mid-tide, the inner area, amid the seawall & the 1st reef is a well protected area. Between the 1st & 2nd reef is a natural channel we refer to as 'the tub', only 4-7' deep, the reefs protect this area from ocean swell and is great snorkeling along some of the healthiest reef on the west side of Maui! We see turtles daily, as well as tons of fish, Eagle rays, sea birds and the occasional Monk seal. From December through mid April this is a great location for whale watching. Past the 2nd reef and among the lava labyrinth of the 3rd is the best area to observe a large variety of sea life while snorkeling! This unit is perfect to snorkel, paddle board and kayak right off the shoreline!


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

Ocean View From Lanai! Hear Ocean Waves From Every Room!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 29 reviews
Fairbanks, AK

Perfect Place to be!

  • 5 of 5

You have a beautiful view of the ocean from the lanai, or you can walk down the stairs and you overlooking the ocean. The condo was spacious, clean, equipped. We even did a couple massage in the living room. Heather gave us a name of a massage therapist and she came over one day. We opened the sliding doors and listened to the ocean as we got a massage. The condo was in a perfect location - you can walk to everything you need - coffee, farmers market, groceries, restaurants. There were days that we didn't leave the condo. You are just a few minutes from the crowds in Lahiana. It was so very perfect. Did I mention Heather was great from the time I contacted her to rent the condo, I had questions and she was always there. Thanks Heather!!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Unit Needs Updating / Refreshing

  • 2 of 5

Maui Sands is a good location. Bldg 7 is also well located though folks should know that this building is independent from the other buildings so there is no pool or laundry room access. This was not an issue for us, but again, folks should know this.

This Unit is "tired looking" and in deep need of an update. The carpets are stained in many places, cabinets old and worn around the handles, tiles chipped, and the counter top has been "painted" rather than refinished or replaced.

We made friends w/ others staying in this building and visited their units, and bottom line the other units were much nicer, in better condition, and the cost is the same.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are always very disappointed when a guest is disappointed. However, we feel it is very important to point out that Al S. inquired about the pool and laundry before booking the unit, and after being informed there was no pool or laundry on site, booked his dates anyway. It is also interesting to note that he has stayed at Maui Sands before and is familiar with the property. -This unit is in Maui Sands II, and we do not advertise the pool or the laundry with it. This is the way our listing reads under Amenities: “Although we do not have laundry facilities on site, we have a local drop off wash and fold service. We are happy to provide you with their information. We also have 2 coin operated laundromats. We do not have an on-site pool. There is a beautiful Olympic size community pool in Lahaina.” We are very sorry that this guest missed that part of our advertising. -This unit is scheduled for a major renovation in one month, and even though we knew this was coming up, we had the carpet cleaned a short time before the guest checked in. This is the owners 2nd home, and they stay here quite often. The "paint" on the counter is actually an epoxy resin they applied to the counter to keep the counter in good shape until it can be replaced. It is made for counter tops. I think it is important to note that other than the initial inquiry concerning the pool and laundry, and a text asking me for directions to the local laundry during his stay, this guest at no time let me know there was an issue with his stay, and for that we are very sorry as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Our vacation in Maui

  • 2 of 5

The condo was convenient, great location, great neighbors...however the unit itself was a bit less than what we expected.

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: One of the things we try to do is make sure we have a good match, and can provide for our guests what they are looking for. We are always sorry when we don't meet our guests expectations. This is why we always welcome feedback from the guests to help us understand what we can do better. This is an older property and we are in the process of updating the unit. It is very clean, has a beautiful oceanfront property view from the lanai, and is appropriately priced.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Vancouver, Canada

Cozy well-stocked beachfront condo

  • 3 of 5

Our family of 4 thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay at this property. The condo was very well located just north of Kaanapali beach. The condo itself as very cozy. We particularly enjoyed the Hawaiian coconut cookie and coffee samples. The supplies provided in the condo are excellent. 2 Beach chairs in good working order, 3 boogie/body boards, a cooler, and lots of snorkel get equipment. A very good number of bath and beach towels were also provided. AC in living room works very well.

The ocean waves in early January were unfortunately too loud for us, and did not have any calming effects. Sleep was challenging, further hindered by a creaky bed. THe sofabed was surprisingly comfortable. Pillows need replacing.

Overall a 3* stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great location, clean space, nicely equipped with all the necessities!

  • 5 of 5

Staying so close to the water was such a treat! We fell asleep to the sound of the waves crashing every night. The condo was stocked with everything you could ask for and so close to the farmers market and grocery store so getting groceries was very convenient. We cooked breakfast almost every morning and watched whales breach from the lanai and seating area along the water as we ate. The on site parking was great as well. Being close to Kaanapali and Lahaina was so nice, but being able to escape the activity of the busier areas was a huge plus. Definitely loved staying at Maui Sands! Heather was great and available to answer any questions or concerns. Will definite stay here again! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love the Farmers Market too! This is a truly lovely spot for whale watching during the season. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed this sweet spot! We'd love to have you back, be sure to ask about discounts for returning guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful condo to call home during our stay on the beautiful island of Maui. We thank you, for sharing your condo with us. This condo is centrally located in between so many wonderful beaches. Our personal favorite was Kapalua. The condo is in great shape, was very clean and stocked up with everything imaginable. The beach chairs, umbrellas were so nice to have, and you could never run out of clean towels, they provide so many. The on-site manager of the building and her dog, were fun, very friendly and helpful. As for those that have mentioned the parking spot being far away, I never found it to be a problem. We saw many whales from the observation deck. Having a grill right there so close to condo was nice. I would highly recommend this unit to anyone I know, you wont regret it:)

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're thrilled that you had such a great time, and that you found some of your neighbors so helpful! It is truly a lovely spot, and we would be thrilled to have you come back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
32 Miles
Kahului International
Nearest Barpub
0.15 Miles
Java Jazz
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
Pi'ilani Highway Insterstate #30
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
The Fish Market
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Honokowai Beach Park
Car: recommended

Maui Sands II is a lovely property that epitomizes that 'Old School' Hawaiian feel. We have beautiful grounds with mango, banana and a myriad of tropical plants and flowers blooming. The property is low density with 20 units sitting on a little over an acre.

The real gem of the property is the Pacific Ocean View. The property sits on a stretch of oceanfront facing the Island of Lana'i just to the south, and Moloka'i across the channel for one of the more spectacular sunset views on the island of Maui.

Our shore has three volcanic reefs running parallel to the shoreline, providing a mini snorkeling/swimming channel 4-7' deep, perfect for viewing our parade of turtle up close! The inside of the 1st reef is perfect for smaller kids to build sandcastles at low tide, and play in the water, as the reefs serve to protect our narrow stretch of sand from the rougher high tide surf.

A short 3 minute walk to the north brings you to Honokawai Beach Park, with a playground. To the south is the Honolua Kai Park and a fabulous beach walk going all the way to Whalers Village and Black Rock.


Rates & Availability

Lahaina Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Whale Season 2017/18
Dec 20 2017 - Apr 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
cleaning $110 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

• Bookings canceled at least 60 days before the start of the stay will receive a 100% refund. Cancellations must be made by 12:00 PM (Central Standard Time) on the appropriate day.
• All cleaning and damage deposits will be refunded for cancelled reservations.
• Please note it is VRBO/HomeAway practice to refund 100% of service fees they charge, but these fees are the sole purvey of VRBO/HomeAway, and not a part of this agreement.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send Email Send Email

You might like these similar properties