check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Douglas Wake

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Awesome Kona, Hawaii Alii Drive Condo 30 Feet From the Ocean

20 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 10 nights

Overview

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Our 2BR/2BA condo directly on the ocean has magnificent 180-degree views to the west. While at the condo, your time will be spent on the Lanai. Eat breakfast watching the waves roll in to shore. Watch the surfers try their skill on the Banyans surf break at the south end of the building. Keep an eye out for dolphins, turtles, whales (seasonal) and even fish inside each wave as it breaks toward shore! Or enjoy pupus and happy hour watching the sun dip into the ocean. At night, the sound of waves washing over the lava at the shore will lull your worries away. The master bedroom opens directly onto the Lanai and the ocean beyond.

Ceiling fans throughout and ocean breezes cool the condo on the occasional hot day in the summer. Walk, drive, or ride the trolley the short 2 miles to Kona, with numerous shops and cafes and the extensive farmers/crafts market. Eat at one of the nearby restaurants that fill most niches and levels, or cook at home in our fully equipped kitchen, with supplies from Safeway to the north or KTA at Keauhou plaza to the south (free hula show on Friday night in season, and Saturday morning farmer's market).

Experience this at Kona Bali Kai, and you'll be back.

Keywords: Oceanfront, Vacation Rental, west-facing Lanai

Our TAT# is: W21071602-01

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Douglas Wake (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why Douglas Wake chose Kona Coast

My wife and I had been on a hunt for a condo in Hawaii for several years. In 2010, we found the incredible opportunity for a piece of paradise at Kona Bali Kai. It has the most stunning ocean views, a quiet comfortable building expertly managed, and a great group of condo owners. We hope our family will find it an attractive rendezvous. It is an easy 10 minute drive to most everything we need here, and since we have competed at the duplicate bridge table for about ten years now, we found the Kona duplicate bridge club to be a welcoming home away from home.

What makes this condo unique

Washer and dryer are in the unit.

Reviews

4.7
based on 20 traveler reviews

Awesome Kona, Hawaii Alii Drive Condo 30 Feet From the Ocean
average rating of 4.7 based on 20 reviews
5

WOW A Great Hawaii Experience ++++

  • 5 of 5

A big thanks to the owner and rental team. This is a wonderful place to home base for all of the big island. So much to see and do and the condo is a wonderful place to call home. The ocean is right there. with fans and ocean breeze this was a wonderful sleep. Lots of great restaurants in close proximity. Snorkeling, swimming with Dolphins, Luau's, Volcano's, Segway, Mule Carriage at Wiapio Canyon and if you are a history buff like I am, learned a ton. Turtles on the beach every day. One of the best surfing and body surfing areas on the East coast. Had super surf and got to watch both. Alas at 69, my hang ten is on the scales. My wife and I celebrated 30 years of marriage and her retirement with this trip. It gave us so many pleasant memories that remain with us for ever. Please take advantage of this wonderful retreat and enjoy the Big Island over and over.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful view, and well-equipped for a family on the go!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time staying at this beautiful condo with our tween children on our first visit to Hawaii. They loved visiting the turtles in the morning and coming back to the pool after a day spent climbing mountains or trekking across lava fields. Close to Capt. Cook, City of Refuge, Kekah'a Kai State Park, and an easy drive to Waipi'o Valley and Volcanos National Park. Breakfast and dinner on the lanai most days, taking in the stunning view. Stocking the condo with fins, boogie boards, and beach towels was much appreciated, also. It was perfect for us!! Mahalo!!

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great spot!

  • 4 of 5

We had a very comfortable and pleasant stay here. Loved watching the surfers and checking in on the turtles out front every morning. Close to shopping, snorkelling and restaurants. We were very happy with our choice.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Good sunset photography

  • 4 of 5

The best thing about this property is the view of the tide pools and surf right outside from the lanai. Good sunset photography location. Big turtles and eels are daily fun to watch. Stocked with snorkel gear, boogie boards, and beach chairs. Very comfortable. Parking was also nice and easy.

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Eden Prairie, MN
4

Enjoyable Condo

  • 4 of 5

Two couples shared this enjoyable condo for 4 nights. We loved the crashing surf just off the lanai and master bedroom. The second bedroom does get street noise, and the occasional meows of beach cats, but the noise generally died down after 11pm. The condo was well supplied with linens and cooking supplies, and there is a nice BBQ grill available for cooking. The pool was welcoming and never cold. We would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Falmouth, MA USA (Cape Cod)
5

Perfect Kona location for sunsets, surfers and lanai views

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying in this condo with a fabulous lanai for watching surfers, gorgeous sunsets, meals and reading. The condo was well maintained. Covered parking and the swimming pool/hot tub were great assets.

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Condo is adjacent to the Banyans surf break; the onsite rental shop provides boards and other gear and the onsite snack shop is a convenient place to grab lunch, or just a bite to eat.

Our Lanai is witness to amazing sunsets every clear evening, whale sightings (seasonal), turtles, dolphins, surfers (see pictures). It is a short distance south along Alii Dr to some great snorkeling beaches. Further away, take the excellent Mauna Kea summit tour to see the observatories. Drive to Volcanoes National Park and take a hike. Go see the botanical gardens and waterfalls of Hilo. There is so much to do here! -or simply take a nap on the Lanai with a book.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 1 2016 - Oct 1 2016
3 night minimum stay
$160
$930
$3,600
 
 
Ironman
Oct 3 2016 - Oct 9 2016
7 night minimum stay
$255
 
 
Fall to December
Oct 10 2016 - Dec 18 2016
3 night minimum stay
$165
$1,005
$3,720
 
 
Christmas, New Years
Dec 19 2016 - Jan 3 2017
10 night minimum stay
$270
 
 
Winter
Jan 4 2017 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$260
$1,600
$4,950
 
 
Spring
Apr 1 2017 - May 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$160
$1,005
$3,720
 
 
Summer
Jun 1 2017 - Oct 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$160
$930
$3,600
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$265
$1,500
$4,950
 

Additional information about rental rates

Exit cleaning fee $156
Tax Rate 13.42%

The dates for Holidays and Ironman minimum stays are flexible as long as 12/25, 1/1, or 10/11 are part of the stay.
Stays with additional days beyond the minimum will be booked at lowest price seasonal rates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Elevator
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Free parking, BBQs and picnic tables in grassy area near water, small sandy beach, and wading tide pools (turtles, crabs, fish).

Partner Offers