check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Mike

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

Beech Mountain, Banner Elk....The Perfect Couple Fall Getaway....with WIFI

30 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Beech Mountain Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Looking for that perfect fall getaway weekend in the mountains? You've found it!

The leaves will soon be turning and early forecasts are calling for ideal foliage this fall. Beech Cabin is on Beech Mountain in Banner Elk NC. Easy access to hiking and biking on Beech and Sugar Mountains. At an elevation of 4,650 feet, the cabin is less than a mile drive to the top of Beech and the ski resort on Beech. Beech Cabin is ideal for a couple looking for that perfect getaway in the Blue Ridge Mountains. This Non Smoking, pet-friendly cabin has many special features such as authentic stone walls, hardwood floors, covered front and back decks and a rushing stream outback. After a day of exploring the mountain scape or sightseeing, you can unwind in the Jacuzzi tub. With cable lcd tv, wifi, and a full kitchen you can enjoy the comforts of home while tucked away in the perfect little cabin on Beech Mountain. The cabin, built in 2006, is very attractive with vaulted cedar wood ceilings and a king size sleigh bed. Enjoy the highlands mountain air on the large front deck or listen to the stream and enjoy the scenic nature on the smaller back deck. Either way, relaxing and unwinding is easy.

The kitchen is fully equipped with stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, coffeemaker, and toaster. Or you can prepare those steaks or hamburgers on the gas grill on the covered back deck.

Head up the mountain to the mountain top shops and activity of Beech Mountain, including Fred's Mercantile Store, a personal favorite. Or head down the mountain to quaint shops and great restaurants in downtown Banner Elk, such as Louisiana Purchase New Orleans style restaurant, Stonewalls Steakhouse or Banner Elk Winery. Sugar Mountain is only a few miles away if you prefer the slopes on Sugar.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Mike (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

Why Mike chose High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains

We love the mountains and actually rented this unit in 2005 for a Thanksgiving holiday. We found the unit for sale the following year and made an offer promptly. The cabin is on Beech Mountain so its very close to skiing Beech and and a short drive to Sugar Mountain, Grandfather Mountain, and Blowing Rock.

What makes this cabin unique

The property is centrally located. We enjoy the full kitchen and the covered decks, especially the back deck, because you can hear the creek that runs through the property's back yard.

Reviews

4.6
based on 30 traveler reviews

Beech Mountain, Banner Elk....The Perfect Couple Fall Getaway....with WIFI
average rating of 4.5666666 based on 30 reviews
5

Perfect match

  • 5 of 5

The little cabin was a great fit for the two nights my boyfriend and I stayed there. Everything was clean and well maintained and we loved that it had a studio floor plan. We brought Out dog and he enjoyed being able to explore a little around the hillside. We will definitely want to stay here again on our next visit to Boone.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

I'd have given less than one star if I could. Extremely disappointing.

  • 1 of 5

We expected a mountain view and beautiful surroundings. As soon as we pulled up to the cabin, we knew that was not what we would get. While the inside was nice, the front porch had a view of a parking lot with a horse trailer and propane tank. The back porch was tiny and filthy with dirt and bird poop, and had no view of anything but overgrown trees and bushes.

We were supposed to stay 2 nights, but left after about 5 minutes.

Fortunately, the wonderful people of Banner Elk helped us and we decided to stay an extra night in this amazing area!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Beth, Thanks so much for your compliment on the interior of the cabin. We agree that the cabin is very nice on the interior. I appreciate that fact that you took the time to leave a review. That said, your review is very confusing to read. It honestly appears to have been almost written about another property. Frankly, we found you to be a very disappointing guest. The fact is, our cabin's average review is a 4.6 stars out of 5. The majority of our reviews our 4 and 5's, mostly 5's and we have a significant number of return renters. Our renters consistently find the cabin to meet their expectations. It appears that maybe you were having a bad day. The kind of day where a spot of bird poop and a propane tank were simply too much to handle. With respect to your stay, if you would have called me as soon as you arrived at the cabin, I could have immediately responded to have the back deck power washed. We have never had anyone complain about the decks, but if the back deck didn't meet your expectation all that you needed to do was call. With respect to the spot of bird poop, as much as we would like to take responsibility for Mother Nature in the summer, we simply can control birds or where they might land. I'm not sure what "parking lot" you are referring to, we have a small driveway which is our property and there was not a trailer in our lot during your stay. Instead of calling me or emailing upon your arrival, you waited until over night to email telling me that you were leaving early. I was given no opportunity to satisfy your expectations or meet your needs. Our assumption is that you did in fact use the cabin on your first night as our cleaning company said that the cabin showed signs of interior use, bath and bed appeared to have been used. You failed to flush the toilet after your use, which was really unfortunate. As far as your desire to have different surroundings outside the cabin, Beech Cabin is on Beech Mountain with an elevation of 4,600 feet. There is plenty to do and see on Beech Mountain. If Beech Mountain and our street didn't meet your vista needs, you might have paid closer attention to the pics in our photo section. I might add that each pic was taken with my iPhone and perfectly matches the real time views from our front and back decks. We make no claims to long range views, although you can see Sugar Mountain in the distance when the leaves have fallen from the trees in winter. Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Diego
5

Cosy little cabin

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed staying in this cabin for our three nights to explore the area. We loved the large bed and the jet bathtub. We arrived with no propane for the grill but Mike was able to send someone over to refill it so we were able to use it our last night. We enjoyed and recommend seeing grandfather mountain with the mile high swinging bridge, elk falls which is only about 15 minutes away and walking around the shops of blowing rock. We would love to come back to ski and see the area during winter. Thank you for opening up your home to us, and our furbaby enjoyed it as well!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Columbia SC / Charleston SC
5

Perfect mountain getaway......great location!!

  • 5 of 5

The pictures are spot on, so there were no surprises! Such a quaint and unquie cabin. We stayed during the recent 2016 Blizzard and had to extend our stay. The cabin was our safe haven, but the local highway did an excellent job keeping the roads plowed. Setting was beautiful with the almost 2 ft of snow! The back deck is a little tight, but we were able to grill out every night. Even with all the snow & ice; you could still hear the creek. We were treated with sighting a large family of deer every morning!! Our furry family member of only 10 lbs enjoyed this the most. A trip we will never forget!!

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect place for two!

  • 5 of 5

My significant other and I were fortunate enough to find this beautiful cabin on beech mountain and it was perfect. Unfortunately the weather was a little warmer than what we were hoping for but none the less, there is still plenty to do and we had a blast. From hiking the mountains to visiting the local Banner Elk Vineyard we definitely made the best out of our trip. We would agree that the highlight of our trip was hiking the difficult trail leading too the very top of grandfather mountain (**experienced hikers only**), the views from that trail were spectacular and breath taking. Our original intent of visiting was to enjoy a week of winter sports and snow, though due to unseasonable weather we did not get too ski until the very last day. The cabin itself self was really great, we enjoyed coffee in the mornings on the back porch and relaxed in the Jacuzzi at night. We cannot wait until our next visit to beach mountain and we will definitely be staying at this cabin again.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Trevor, Thanks so much for your feedback. The weather was warmer than normal for this time of year for your stay. But it sounds like you made really good use of the warmer temps and explored the incredible hiking and biking trails near the cabin and on Beech, Grandfather and Sugar Mtns. The slopes are open now and we would love to have you comeback. Thanks again for your stay Mike and Missy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Banner Elk

  • 4 of 5

Place was well. Dusty but ok. Only 3 towels for 2 for 5 days. No complaints close to town. Quiet except construction going on across road from cabin.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Herbert, Thanks so much for your response. We are glad that you found Beech Cabin convenient to Beech Mountain and Banner Elk. It is a quiet spot on Beech. Our location is a nice feature of our cabin. With respect to the towels, we offer linens and towels free of charge. If you would have called with questions on the quantity of towels, we would have been happy to give you this info or supply more towels at a cost. With respect to "dust", we never gotten that feedback before. If there was something that you found to not meet your satisfaction, I truly wish you would have just picked up the phone or sent an email and we could have had the cleaning company dust the areas the you found "dusty". Thanks again for choosing Beech Cabin for your get away. Best Mike and Miss
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Beech Mountain Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$135
 

Additional information about rental rates

Booking Fee $18
Cleaning Fee $65

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Beech Mountain Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • King size beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties