check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kona Coast Vacations

Member since: 2001
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Mahuahua Place -5 Bedroom 3 Bath with great ocean views and pool!

37 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kailua-Kona House Rental Photos and Description

5 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 8

This resort-like ocean view 5 Bedroom 3 bath home with swimming pool, waterfalls, stream and outdoor gas firepit is ideally located on a quiet cul-de-sac in Kailua-Kona just minutes from the beach, Kailua-Kona and Keauhou. It is Eco-Friendly with full solar electricity and water heating.

From the moment you walk through the sculptured gate, into the private, tropically landscaped pool and hot tub area, the sound of the stream and waterfalls floods your senses. Stepping through the double front doors, the indoor/outdoor floor plan says “rest and relaxation”. Immediately you are drawn through the opened bi-fold doors onto the large covered lanai, and the ocean view captures your attention.

This home is perfect for family vacations with its six living and entertaining areas:

In addition to the pool and Jacuzzi in the gated front yard, on the main level you will find the living room and sitting room area, and a fully equipped kitchen with all the cooking, serving and tableware that you could ever want, along with the appliances you would expect, and some that just make life a little more fun – home made ice cream anyone? A great feature of the home is the very large, covered lanai with its living and dining areas where you can watch the famous Kona sunsets, breaching whales in the winter, and para-sailers all year long. The house is close enough to the water that you can hear large surf in the early morning (along with the delighted surfers’ yells), and will lull you to sleep at night. Also on the main level is the romantic and spacious Master Bedroom with hand-carved Indonesian furnishings including a four post Queen size bed, flat screen TV, with Blu-Ray DVD player, skylight, two closets (one is walk-in) and a newly remodeled en suite bathroom with a walk-in shower and another skylight. As well, there are two additional bedrooms (one with a Queen size bed, the other with two Twin beds and a lofted twin bed futon sleeping area) and second newly remodeled bathroom with bathtub/shower.

Downstairs is a fourth bedroom with Queen bed. The fifth air-conditioned bedroom doubles as a large game and family room with flat screen TV, high-top game table and pull out Queen size hide-a-bed (the mattress is a very comfortable 10” thick – combination coil mattress and inflatable mattress – inflates in just 30 seconds!). This family room also has a sliding glass door with access to the back yard lawn area. The lower level also has the third newly remodeled bath and a laundry room with a washer and dryer.

Ceiling fans in every bedroom and living area help carry the already cooling breezes from the ocean. To provide additional cooling when needed, each bedroom comes equipped with an oscillating raised fan. A wall-mounted air conditioning unit is in the downstairs family room.

Beach chairs, cooler, umbrellas, beach and pool toys are waiting for you in the large 2 car garage (with garage door opener, of course).

AMENITIES:

Five bedrooms

Three bathrooms

Ocean and mountain views

Private pool

Waterfalls

Hot tub

Gas outdoor firepit

Stream into pool with wading pool areas for little ones

Weber gas BBQ

Chaise lounges and pool chairs

Tropical landscaping

Grassy play area

Three Flat screen TVs with Blu-Ray DVD players

Free WiFi internet access

Eleven ceiling fans throughout the house

Additional oscillating fans in bedrooms

A/C in family/game room

Skylights

Solar electricity and water heating

Fully equipped kitchen

Dishwasher

Trash compactor

Glass cooktop

Convection oven

Microwave oven

Refrigerator/freezer with icemaker

Large capacity washer and dryer

Beach chairs

Umbrella

Beach / pool towels

Pool toys

Coolers

Not suitable for ADA, no smoking, no pets property. There is a 7 night minimum during Ironman and 10 night during Christmas. Hawaii Tax ID: W40943458-01

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Kona Coast Vacations (Property Manager)
Member since: 2001
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

"This house is an absolute dream vacation home. After walking into the front gate I heard the trickling of the water fall and a sense of calm came over me. The kitchen and living room are very open and extend into the large outdoor patio with an incredible view of the ocean. During one of my stays I even saw a whale out in the distance. Mornings in the home are wonderful because after waking up to the lovely signing of the birds I enjoyed my cup of coffee in the hot tub or in the hammock out on the lanai. The location was great and we were very close to the highway as well as just a short drive down to Alii drive. We would recommend this place to our friends vacationing on the island. "
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.7
based on 37 traveler reviews

Mahuahua Place -5 Bedroom 3 Bath with great ocean views and pool!
average rating of 4.675676 based on 38 reviews
Stanwood, WA
5

Absolutely beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

My mother, four boys, and my husband and myself decided to go to Kona for a vacation. Hotels would have been cramped, so we decided to rent a house. We were so happy we did! The experience was a truly authentic way of island life! Close to the beaches and main highway on the island made it convenient! The pool in the front yard is the perfect size to cool off in the heat or a night swim. The open Lanai was perfect for meals with a beautiful view of the ocean. We loved the colorful wild birds in the yard and welcoming geckos! The bedrooms are beautiful with comfortable beds and extra fans to help move the ocean breeze throughout the room! Highly recommend Kona Coast Vacations to help with your vacation! They were friendly, helped book excursions (Manta ray snorkel is a must) and made the experience that much better. Mahalo to David, Michelle and Amy for all your help!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

August 2016 Hawaii Vacation

  • 1 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was somewhat unhappy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

House was extremely hot with no A/C available and zero breeze. Ants ran rampant, even getting into closed containers. A large rat also greeted me one morning, in the kitchen. Had the ladies seen it, I'm sure we would have had to relocate. Pool was nice, tho the vacuum was very annoying. Would not stay there again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Kona Coast Vacations
Owner's Response: Aloha and Mahalo for the comments. As you can tell from many of the past reviews, any issues at this home are rare, and many find this property exceptional. The past few summers have had some hurricane or tropical storm remnants that have played havoc with our usually reliable trade winds. This does take the natural AC away (cooling trade winds), and makes it hotter than usual. The owners replaced the ceiling fan in the Master Bedroom to increase the airflow immediately after your stay. Of course our listing states what is available and this is the tropics. There is AC in the downstairs TV room, which is advertised in the listing. The best parts of the tropical islands are the weather, and the ability to live with open lanai/patio doors most of the year. As people like to come and go through those open doors, so do the pests. Along with the scheduled pest control visits, the pest control people visited immediately and they have sprayed, and baited for all pests. We do recommend to always tidy up any crumbs or spills asap, as well as taking your trash to the outside receptacles each night, so that pests are not enticed to enter. Our office is open seven days a week and if you have any issues we will address them asap on notification.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Michele H & friends

  • 5 of 5

Five of us arrived a day before the other three.

The home was clean with a welcoming tropical bouquet.

This was located fairly central to the best snorkeling there is. The home was not in a gated community but was safe and we felt that we belonged in the neighborhood.

Costco and Walmart were close by for our groceries and disposables.

The timing on the pool water falls and filter could have been on longer into the evening, but this is a group preference.

The managers were accommodating and helpful. We could not get a bank of electrical outlets to work, that was cared for the next day; the ice maker didn't work the first four days due to waiting for a part. ( That could not be helped).

We had an abundance of socializing areas and the lanai was our best gathering spot for laughter and sharing stories at days end.

We would sincerely like to return here and do this all over again. So much better than some hotel room or one bedroom condo.

Thank you for sharing!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place for family of any age

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We truly enjoyed our stay at Mahuahua. The best parts: pool was great for 3 & 8 year old lots of space for people to spread out in well decorated great location (you cannot walk to a great beach, but it is not far to walk down to the road along the ocean where there are places to access the water if you just want a scenic walk) 3/4 of bedrooms were great size, one was a little on the small side, but not horrible nice view lots of fans plenty of pool and beach gear (can you add a beach bag for toting stuff?) Negative: Most other reviews have not mentioned the lack of air conditioning, but we did find it noticeable at times, our first night was extremely humid and took most of the night with fans and open windows to cool down, one of our party broke her foot on day two and was not able to get out much. Sitting around all day in the heat of the house, even on the lanai or by the pool was hard at times. It might be nice if they had even a small ac unit for the back bedrooms (and maybe the basement bedroom) which don't seem to cool off as quickly as the master on the front. The kitchen has pretty much everything you need, but it is small, hard for two people to move around efficiently, but not a deal breaker The concierge offered us an orientation to the house, but didn't call to set it up until we were mid flight so missed the chance. Might be nice to have that set up ahead of time. Otherwise the rental agency and concierge were pretty helpful. One chair was broken and another one broke when someone sat on it. Seemed it had kind of been fixed before. Might be time to update some of the furniture, but in general seating was comfortable. overall we enjoyed our stay with some minor inconveniences. I recommend reading through the book first thing when you get there. We ran into a few snafus because, checking in at 4 with a five hour time change, we had to get on dinner right away and missed some in

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Kona Coast Vacations
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Renter

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a great time. Perfect house, location and view for perfect family vacation!! Only suggestion... Don't leave your fruit on the counter, the little gecko's (I think that's what they are) love bananas.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Kona Coast Vacations
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Beautiful home-everything we hoped for

  • Submitted: May 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: Kona Coast Vacations
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Discounts offered for booking less than 30 days and/or 60 days from arrival . For Last Minutes Offers and Coupon Codes:
    Please email KCV at reservations@konacoastvacations.com or call 1-877-322-2407

    Please add 13.416% Hawaii taxes.Choice between a Security deposit protection plan 49.00 or an equivalent security deposit.
    Booking fee and Departure Cleaning Fee Vary (please place an inquiry for amount).

    Deposit is equivalent to the 3 nights rent; balance due 90 days prior to arrival, travel insurance is available.

    Rates are subject to verification at time of booking. To book direct and save go to www.konacoastvacations.com
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2622 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 1 King bed, 2 Queen beds, 2 Twin beds, 1 Sofa Bed bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties