check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Book 2016 Now - Gorgeous Large Lake Front Home, Easy access & Awesome location!

8 Reviews
Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 5 nights


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
5 nights


Topton Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 5 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

A modern log home, completely wood inside and out. Just a small glimpse of heaven from this beautiful lake front log home with breathtaking views of Lake Nantahala and the mountains that surround. The majesty of the mountains rising out of the crystal clear cool mountain lake waters is magnificent. This large body of water towers at a height of 3013 ft above sea level.

The spaces inside are large and comfortable for 10 people. The kitchen is fully equipped and modern with a Jenn-Aire dual fuel gas stove top cooking and electric baking. The dining table will seat 8 people comfortably and has a view of the lake. The bedrooms all have queen or king beds. The basement, which has a pool table, an air hockey table, a dart board and a TV for your entertainment. It also has an additional bathroom with shower and tub and a laundry room with washer and dryer.

There is an outdoor fire pit for roasting marshmallows and making s'mores, or just build a fire outside and enjoy. If you choose to bring a boat, there is a deep water, concrete, public ramp for launching nearby and we have a deep water dock for keeping your boat during your stay.

The gentle slope from the house to the lake and dock is easy to walk along the gravel path, which has a few landings created for sitting outside and to enjoy watching the water activities on the lake. There is a kayak that is available for your use.

A new casino is planned to open sometime late in 2014.

Must be 25 years or older to rent.

We require all wheel drive to drive down our steep driveway. Without all wheel drive, tires will spin and causes damage the gravel drive. No 2 wheel drive.

Keywords: Lake Front Log Home, very private dock, easy access to dock, lake frontage, nearby rafter, casino.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 21, 2016
Call Manager

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had an amazing time here at this "Little Choga Hollow". Everything is so beautiful here! The house was amazing, the lake was gorgeous and so clean. We had an awesome first day hs we just swam on the pier all day. The second day we took a pontoon boat out and had a blast! We found a really neat waterfall hidden away. It was breathtaking. Thank you so much for sharing your family's home with us. We will soon be back here, 100 percent sure. This is for sure a little piece of heaven. From Bell Buckle, TN and Tacoma, WA
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 21


based on 8 traveler reviews

Book 2016 Now - Gorgeous Large Lake Front Home, Easy access & Awesome location!
average rating of 4.5 based on 29 reviews

Stoney Brook is fabulous!

  • 5 of 5

Stoney Brook is fabulous! Our family had the best time ever! The house is all that you could want and more. The pictures do not do it justice. It is well equipped and so very comfortable. They have thought of everything you might need. My wife and I loved the screened in deck with gas fire place, it was perfect for morning coffee and meditations. Our sons enjoyed the down stairs rec-room and the great access to the lake. However, the fishing was less than stellar. This beautiful home is just a short drive from rafting, and the lake is truly stunning. Bring your boat, it is worth the effort. This place is quite and secluded, it feels very private, yet we never felt bored. There is much to see and do. It took a few days before our kids (4 college students) figured out they could access the wifi for their mobile technology, and we didn’t experience any outages or problems with satellite or utilities, and the hot tube was a welcome pleasure, especially after a long day of rafting. Everything was in proper working order, however, I would suggest a new gas grill. At night, we played cards, fixed outrageous meals, watched movies and roasted marsh mellows on the spectacular fire pit just off the deck. We took late night boat rides, and spent much needed time getting reacquainted, laughing and making memories. We will be back!

Dereck Fields & Family (Columbus, IN)

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Palm Harbor

Stoney Brook is a piece of Heaven on Earth!

  • 5 of 5

We had 11 family members (5 boys ages 11-15) and Stoney Brook was the most perfect house for our big family vacation. The lake was clear and not too cold (for these FL toes) and we had the cove all to ourselves. We brought a boat (highly recommended) for tubing, fishing and exploring but all of us enjoyed the kayak as well. The boys loved the rope swing and jumping off the "cliffs" by the damn. The views are spectacular and the house has everything you could want. We especially enjoyed the screened in deck/fireplace area for reading in the morning and really all day enjoyment. We couldn't believe it but there wasn't one mosquito all week! The house is set up perfectly for multiple families with lots of room (and separation) for kids and adults. While the walk down to the lake is a bit steep, we felt it was much easier than hundreds of steps (like other rentals we had considered). I really can't imagine a better location or home. The whitewater rafting at NOC was a highlight of our week with a guide ("Lee") that made it a most memorable experience. I recommend the 9:00 run as it is beautiful, peaceful time before the river fills with rafts. In all honesty, the steep driveway was challenging but Roy warned us (and all of them are like this around the lake). We had a 4 wheel drive vehicle which was fine but there was no way my in-laws Kia Sorrento could make it so we had to park it off site. (the steepness is no exaggeration.) Finally, Roy was wonderful to deal with; very helpful at every turn, answered my many questions and was prompt with paperwork, etc. He even mailed back a forgotten item which I greatly appreciated. This is a gorgeous property built on a slice of Heaven and we have memories for a lifetime. Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Saudi Arabia

Location was great. BUT that is it!!!!

  • 1 of 5

Location was great. When we arrived the hot tub was cold, dirty, and not working. Fireplace on screened porch did not work. Toilet in master bedroom did not work. Hard line phone not working until the day before we left. Management company kept deposit for hot tub repairs and told us we should have called them and since we did not it was our responsibility. Would not recommend as management company is very unprofessional. If you rent just assume your deposit as part of your stay. Do not recommend!!!!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, this is a great location! We think our consistent 5 star review/rating speaks for itself. The lodger that wrote this review damaged several items in the home, including hot tub (our hot tub is serviced after every rental and was working flawlessly) and was upset because of losing their deposit. The fireplace was working fine as well prior to their arrival. After they departed, besides the damages, we were surprised to find broken glass all over the patio and beer cans left around property, toilet that was stopped up and gas fireplace broken.... the house was left a wreck. The phone land line was down for a few days, but in the mountains phone lines can be problematic in that Frontier doesn't always respond immediately (its not like the city) but they do get up within a few days. However, most people make use of the satellite based internet which is up/running constantly for communication. Most reasonable people understand that from time to time issues will happen and the most important point is that we are extremely responsive to resolve issues. We don't like a negative review, never had one in fact! We hope the readers will appreciate that our consistent 5 star review/rating ( over past multiple years) speaks for itself.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Carrollton, GA

Beautiful house and location

  • 5 of 5

We came to Lake Nanatahala on a family vacation (ages 5-70) and the house fit our group comfortably. We spent a lot of time down on the dock...the kids loved jumping right into the clear water, we made use of the kayak that came with the house, and we brought our own boat for fishing and wake boarding. We also enjoyed just sitting and enjoying the beautiful view. A few other activities that we enjoyed were the waterfall hike, the rope swing on the island, and going for walks along Tom Hay Drive and Vista Loop. You definitely need 4 wheel drive to get to the house and the walk from the house down to the dock could be considered challenging for someone who has limited mobility. We spent a couple nights at the outdoor fireplace, making smores and enjoying the cooler nights and liked having the downstairs game room also. We had a wonderful time here and would definitely come back.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Durham, NC, USA

Great Time at Stoney Brook

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful house and location. We spent a week with our two grown kids and their families. The age range was from 3 to 69. The house was very clean and well appointed. We loved the lake. Located in the back of a deep bay, the dock was great for our flotilla of a bass boat, 2 fishing kayaks and the owners kayak. Fishing was tough although we did catch a salmon and nice bass.

We were also able to take advantage of surrounding activities. Most popular for the adults and teens was zip lining at the Nantahala Center and the gem mining for the little guys.

We had no problems with the drive way but agree that 4 wheel/all wheel drive is mandatory. However, without a steep drive way to get down nearer the water, the proximity and views would not be as nice. Even so, note that the "gentle" slope down to the water is a relative term.

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others. It would be hard to beat the views and tranquility

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston, TX

Stoney Brook

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a fabulous time at Stoney Brook. The house is amazing. Great weather and amazing lakefront view. A four wheel drive is a must as stated to get all the way down the driveway but it didn't hinder us to do a little walking. Thanks so much for allowing our family a place to come together. Thanks also to Roy and Robin for keeping us up to date and making sure we had everything we needed for a fun week. The saddest part was having to return to the 100 degree heat of Texas!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

Zip Lining, pontoon boat rental on the lake at Lake's End Marina, guided/training fly fishing, local wineries and breweries offer live music most weekends beginning with Thursday.


Rates & Availability

Topton Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.75%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Topton Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3.5
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (3)
  • Air Hockey
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
We have available for our use conveniences listed above. You may use these as well. There are events that occur that prevent your use of some of these or all of these conveniences during your stay, including, but not limited to, landline telephone service, satellite internet services, wireless services, Directv services, electronic games, and fireplaces (the gas may be disconnected for maintenance and therefore we make NO guarantees. There may be no wood available for you to burn, there are local places you may buy wood, we do not provide it, however, you may use what is there). The agent will do all he can to resolve any problems with these amenities, however, this is the wilderness and the mountains and the folks in this area can usually take several days to respond to needs. This is beyond our control during any stay. AWD is necessary for you to maneuver on these gravel roads. Max of 3 cars allowed. A surcharge will be applied. TOW AT YOUR OWN EXPENSE

Partner Offers